Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sniper Elite 3 Xbox 360 Review!
We all remember how it was in Sniper Elite V2, you're there crouched behind a wall holding your breath looking down a sniper scope and deciding the fate of your chosen opponent, which was the nazi standing 200 yards down the road or looking out of a window. Often there would be more than one and part of the fun was deciding which to take down first and whether you could...
Published 2 months ago by MrE

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I was looking forward to this but it's a massive disappointment. Not to mention the bugs
I'm sorry I don't see why this is getting 5 star reviews, this is not a patch on the previous version even though it's basically the same game in a different environment. I was looking forward to this but it's a massive disappointment. Not to mention the bugs, I saved a game at an important point only to find that every time I loaded it I was immediately discovered and it...
Published 1 month ago by daz777


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sniper Elite 3 Xbox 360 Review!, 27 Jun 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
We all remember how it was in Sniper Elite V2, you're there crouched behind a wall holding your breath looking down a sniper scope and deciding the fate of your chosen opponent, which was the nazi standing 200 yards down the road or looking out of a window. Often there would be more than one and part of the fun was deciding which to take down first and whether you could use background noise to silence your shot. Before firing you would also make a judgement of where you are going to shoot them i.e. in the head, chest or even testicles. You'd pull the trigger, BANG and we were treated to a slow motion x-ray kill cam in real time and could marvel at the destruction we had brought.

Sniper Elite 3 is very much the same as V2 in that regard with the whole x-ray kills being retained and integrated further into the game and trust me when I say you'll never get bored of watching it. Now to tell you what Sniper Elite 3 is and what it's about. This is a third-person based (so you view the character from an over the shoulder perspective) and is a tactically based shooter, stealth is absolutely key in this game so I wouldn't advise you run around guns blazing as you won't last very long, besides the close quarters mechanic just like the last game has been specifically designed to be a bit inaccurate so you only use it as a last resort. The game is based in North Africa during the 2nd world war and you play the part of Karl Fairburne (again) who is a German/American special Sniper. The aim is to take on the Germans yet again and bring as much destruction as possible.

There are three modes, you get the single player campaign, Full Co-Op mode and the online multiplayer. The campaign is a total blast, it's fun and more enjoyable than I was expecting and the maps are certainly more open compared to what they were in V2, Length wise I'm over 5 hours in and it still feels like there's a long way to go, there are 4 difficulty settings and the difference between the easiest and the hardest are like the difference between chalk and cheese. On easy everything feels very arcade like with very little brain power required to progress, on the hardest difficulty (Realistic) you have to factor in wind, bullet drop and you lose the ability to mark enemy positions and indeed your own position on the map. Many of the weapons remain the same as the last game although there are a few new additions to give you a few more options of how to take enemies out. The famous "Welrod" pistol is fantastic for extremely short range but inaccurate as hell if you're more than 10ft away, so it's best to sneak up to an enemy and pop them off from behind or perform an silent execution. You can pick bodies up and move them into darkened rooms or just out of sight to help keep you hidden especially if there is a passing patrol.

Now the AI have the same intelligence as V2, there is a period where they may spot something but are not alerted to your presence and other occasions where I have been spotted while hidden behind a wall. This is an area that needs addressing as on a few occasions it has spoilt gameplay and forced me into restarting the mission. Of course if they detect movement and start to move in your direction you can throw a rock to distract them and hopefully send them a different way. As I said earlier, you can play this game in full co-op mode with a friend and I must say it totally transforms the game into an even more enjoyable shooter. You can position yourselves in different locations and use this as an advantage to pick off enemies at the same time, while maintaining field of vision of each other so you can help protect them if they get spotted. There are also Overwatch and survival modes which can be played with a friend, very much like V2. Multiplayer simply consists of massive maps taken from the campaign and slightly modified. It's tense and edge of the seat stuff!

Pros: This takes all the good things from Sniper Elite V2 and builds upon them * X-Ray kill cam is back * Stealthy from start to finish * You require tactical thought * Full Campaign Co-op * lots of different objectives during each mission and the maps are huge * Lots of things to collect * you pick up a lot of stuff including ammo off enemies * Graphics are pretty good for the 360 version and the audio sounds great * Great value at £25 and the replayability is huge as you can play on your own or with a friend and indeed go about each objective differently * You get to kill Nazis * "No Cross" mode (team deathmatch but the map is split into two with each time on a different side, close quarters combat is therefore stopped and leaves sniping as the only option)

Cons: Aside from a few new things it's largely the same as Sniper Elite V2 but based in Africa * The AI do lack intelligence at certain moments * The story isn't as enjoyable as V2 (personal opinion) * Can be a bit buggy as I have been spotted and shot through a solid wall but I'm sure that will get patched * Multiplayer feels like a bare bone experience and I hope more people play it compared to Sniper Elite V2

VERDICT: If you liked Sniper Elite V2 then you will love this game, it builds on all the good things but brings a few new things in to keep it interesting, the bonus being that they haven't mucked with things too much (if it isn't broke then don't fix it). If you like Stealthy gameplay, sniping from start to finish and enjoy the thrill of the hunt then this is a game to get. Playing it in co-op with a friend simply takes the experience to the next level.

A worthy successor to Sniper Elite V2 and old school fans will love it from start to finish. Ignore people that say it looks poor in the graphics department as they're trying to stir up hate, trust me when i say it's on a par with other 360 games and looks pretty good. Sure there are a few problems like the ones I list above but when you factor in the price I doubt anyone can, nor will complain. I Hope you enjoy it as much as I am!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you loved the second game, you are definitely going to enjoy this title. Sniper Elite 3 is a massive improvement from the sequel adding in non-linear and open world environments where planning executions and completing objectives makes the game a hell lot more fun.

The story is far more enjoyable and interesting which also includes other various challenges apart from your own main objective. Each missions will have a challenge or secondary objective which will help you raise your XP so you progress to another level. These are also fun while you are trying to complete the main objective. Also mentioning XP, you can gain experience and actually level up your ranking in Single Player this time, which also adds to unlocking various items or equipment as mentioned later in this review. Objects in the environment can be interacted with, but not so much.

When it comes to movement, it feels less robotic and dodgy than before with smoother turns and a refined camera movement system.

Weapons and Gadgets are now fully customizable, giving you access to each of your rifle's components allowing you to add your own scopes, stocks, triggers and even recticle sights. There are plenty of equipment available to unlock throughout the story too allowing you to edit each loadout rather than choosing basic equipment like before. Considering how much equipment you'll be carrying, 505 Games have used their brains perfectly in adding a Weapon Wheel which I love but unfortunately it's very clunky and frustrating for me, but it seems to be smooth for some other people so it could just be me. Guns have different stats, meaning not all the rifles work the same way. Some may have less zoom or more than others, less muzzle flash or even control itself as some rifles may be harder to hit the target depending on wind velocity, but this is also why we are able to customize the rifles.

Sound designs are great. You will notice when starting up the game on the menu that 505 Games have remixed the original theme from Sniper Elite V2 giving it deeper basses and more fluency. Ingame sounds are perfect, along with sounds that activate depending on AI status from suspicious, searching or attacking. Weapon sounds are similar from before but have a more realistic effect towards shots and kills. When bullets during X-Ray hit bones or organs, all the squelching and bone snapping sounds will make you cringe wanting you to repeat this over and over again. There are also environmental sounds helping to cover up gun shots so your approach is more silent and discreet.

The x-ray killcam is so much more gruesome and highly detailed showing arterial structures, muscle structures and perfectly textured skeletons which stand out from the well designed organs which tear and burst when the bullet hits them. Talking about detail, the graphics are more superior to Sniper Elite V2 with more reflections, textures and beautiful level designs making the scenery so gorgeous that this game must look outstanding on Next Gen.

Multiplayer features Deathmatches, Team deathmatches as well as keeping older game modes such as Kill Tally and Co-op Campaign. But there is more to experience in online mode other than these.

In conclusion, is Sniper Elite 3 worth the money and more outstanding than before? Well yes of course it is! I advise those who are Sniper Elite fans or even general shooter fans to buy this game. It's simply brilliant.

8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 28 Jun 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Loved Sniper Elite 2 so had to buy 3 as can't stand games like COD where you run around like a bull in a china shop where in Sniper Elite its more about sneaking around which is more my playing style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I just love how you can take people out with a take ..., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got this months ago, but with my 'games pending' queue it took a while to find it's way in to the tray of my X-box. You take the roll of an American sniper (does it really matter what his name is) ? I just love how you can take people out with a take down move, even when you have been spotted ! and they are proper take downs (I felt like I was back doing Jujitsu) ! I was working my way through the mountains to take out the mortar crews, I had to perform six takedowns as a secondary objective, I did about fifteen ! You don't get much ammo, so I thought, why waste it ? Next I had to cross through a German camp, using the long grass and broken walls as cover, taking people out and hiding their bodies, not before taking any weapons and ammo they had,it felt just like a war movie ! games like this is why I set my alarm to let me know when to go to bed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... on the old playstation 2 and finding it very good i also played sniper elite two a couple of ..., 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
having played sniper elite on the old playstation 2 and finding it very good i also played sniper elite two a couple of years ago and found this a most enjoyable game also i had to buy the third installment.

first impressions were dissapointing as i was used to the fast paced gameplay of borderlands 2, however once i got to settle down with the control system and what the game was all about again i really started to enjoy it!

the game tries its best to really immerse you in the role as a sniper, once immersed you begin to "get it" and start to get very cunning with your strategy, the kill shots are amazing and are worth the extra effort to acheieve, i find myself trying to get a headshot or testicle shot just to watch the satisfaction of taking down an enemy that has been bugging you for a while.
you really can get some long shots in, its as if the game knows that you want to have a go at some impossible shots and gives you an opportunity to do so.

once you understant the games thinking you should have a go at multiplayer co op with a friend, the waves keep coming and it really is tense as you both try to survive working as a loose team, the enemy 99% of the time is very crafty and you have to try very hard to take em out.

the only dissapointing bit is the two player head to head deathmatch boring boring boring, omg you both just sit there waiting for the other one to show themselves to be shot which is dumb as why would someone do that?
bring on the next sniper elite i will def be making a purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I was looking forward to this but it's a massive disappointment. Not to mention the bugs, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm sorry I don't see why this is getting 5 star reviews, this is not a patch on the previous version even though it's basically the same game in a different environment. I was looking forward to this but it's a massive disappointment. Not to mention the bugs, I saved a game at an important point only to find that every time I loaded it I was immediately discovered and it was game over forcing me to restart the whole level and the levels are huge, needless to say I couldn't be bothered so I have traded it in.
Definitely not recommended even if you enjoyed v2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing game, with bad alterations, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After sniper elite V2 i was looking forward to this game so much, however after completing it i found it rather disappointing. 505 games have removed so many things that made the last game enjoyable. You can no longer search for online games, now they are all by invite only and their revamped x-ray kill cam wasn't that improved from V2. The AI are rather predictable and the missions are often very linear and the story line is predictable and often repetitive, often following the format of 'go here, kill them, blow this up'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Game, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Massey (Stoke on Trent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Played this game kept going back to previous missions it was great 3 weeks later I finally completed it

But when I wanted to play on it again it kept crashing on the main menu

Phoned amazon and received a refund

I Will Not buy this game AGAIN on the xbox 360 or PS4

Avoid at all costs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It has a few bugs but I do love the sniper series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... game is a step up on sniper elite 2 excellent., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is a step up on sniper elite 2 excellent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360)
Sniper Elite 3 (Xbox 360) by 505 Games (Xbox 360)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews