Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was a surprisingly good film
I'd heard poor reviews about this film, but it was surprisingly good. An excellent addition to the comic book genre. I'd recommend it.
Published 19 months ago by david howell

versus
87 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disfigured anti-hero caper
Jonah Hex (played by Josh Brolin - No Country For Old Men) is another graphic novel to silverscreen conversion about our heavily-scarred & super-natural bounty hunter of the same name. Hex betrays his confederate General Quentin Turnbull (John Malkovich - Afterwards) killing Turnbull's son as an unintended consequence. As vengeance, Turnbull kills Jonah Hex's family...
Published on 6 Oct. 2010 by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disfigured anti-hero caper, 6 Oct. 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Jonah Hex (played by Josh Brolin - No Country For Old Men) is another graphic novel to silverscreen conversion about our heavily-scarred & super-natural bounty hunter of the same name. Hex betrays his confederate General Quentin Turnbull (John Malkovich - Afterwards) killing Turnbull's son as an unintended consequence. As vengeance, Turnbull kills Jonah Hex's family forcing him to watch - tied to a post. When Crow Indians find him days later, near-death and with a brand on his face, their shaman work their magic but fail to "bring him back all the way". As a result our hero Hex has the uncanny ability to talk to the recently deceased as he has a foot on either side, one in life, one in death - it also gives him the useful knack of being able to dodge imminent death.

Hex swears revenge on Quentin Turnbull and is robbed of his vengeance when Turnbull appears to have died in a hotel fire. When several armouries of the fledgling United States are raided for key components of a weapon the world has never seen the likes of - Hex is roped into service to stop an enemy he thought had been laid to rest.

It may have been a box-office bomb - no argument there - but this film has been pretty much universally panned by critics saying it's incoherent, the plot is flimsy and that the acting is poor - but I would like to disagree. I'm not a diehard Jonah Hex fan or anything - I hadn't actually seen much of the character before watching the film - but I really liked the experience.

Megan Fox's (Transformers) acting IS dire but in fairness I fail to see how that could sink the whole film as she only has about 10 lines and is onscreen for around 5 minutes in total. With that said, Brolin plays a fantastically stoic & gritty Jonah Hex, a man who no longer cares whether he lives or dies - he suits the character perfectly. Malkovich plays the deranged madman with poise and grace (sipping sugar-strained lemonade, whilst watching - with opera glasses - the death of hundreds of innocents by his new weapon) and the supporting cast are more than adequate.

What enamoured me to this film was how good the Western feeling was to the whole experience, the opening scene could have been out of anyone of the decent cowboy-tales of yesteryear. Pair this with a great take on some steampunk-styled weaponry - horse-mounted Gatling cannons and dynamite-launching handheld crossbows for example - all courtesy of The Smith (Lance Reddick - Lost) and you have a millieu worthy of the best. The film is exceptionally well directed, with some really great shots of bandits on horseback chasing a train across cornfields for example (well done Jimmy Hayward) and really captured my attention for the duration - which admittedly is a little light, clocking in at 81 minutes (including credits!!). The score is good as well, with some of the dream sequences having some extremely surreal pink-floydesque tracks, juxtaposed with the heavier rock during the action scenes.

The one disc version comes with a little extra content, a few deleted scenes and an animated short which is very good even as a stand-alone. However I have no idea what was worthy enough to fill an entire other disc but there is also a 2-disc version should you want the works.

In conclusion, this isn't the best graphic novel adaptation out there by any means but it's nowhere near as bad as people have made out, it's definitely worth a watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More than a bit boring, and I couldn't see the picture it was so dark!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonah Hex [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Not a great deal happened, and what happened was shot in such a way I couldn't see it happening a lot of the time! Did none of the production crew have a light-bulb or something?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hex of a lotta' fun, 17 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Jonah Hex [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Okay, so this is a daft popcorn revenge movie - pure entertainment; nothing more, nothing less. Brolin is solid in the title role, as a kind of supernaturally sensitive and stoical Spaghetti Western Clint Eastwood type character, seeking the man who murdered his family and disfigured his face with a branding-iron, and keeping busy in the meantime by bounty hunting.
Megan Fox plays the love interest - as hardened whore Tallulah she fulfills a role, and her acting seemed reasonable to me. John Malkovich is his usual reedy-voiced reptilian self as maniacal villain Quentin Turnbull, and Michael Fassbender is his psychopathic henchman; the bowler-hatted Irishman Burke. Set against the backdrop of the turbulent post-Civil War years, the movie plays it pretty straight, but there is a fair amount of padding in the form of repeated flashbacks, and it struggles to fill the relatively short running time of 75 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'A COMIC-BOOK TREAT', 2 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I'm not familiar with the comic-book character myself however was drawn to the film by the inclusion of ''John Malcovich' ( allways value for money especially as a 'baddie' as is he in this )
'Hex'(Josh Brolin) after the violent death of his family becomes a bounty hunter, the goverment approach him to track down 'Turnbull' an old advsory who thought 'Jonah' had died in a fire ( Turnbull' had been responsible for 'Hex's' family's death )
It seems that 'Turnbull' has stolen the plans and components for a super-weapon and plans to use it to bring down the goverment and claim the victory the 'South' had failed to achieve in the civil war.
'Hex' full of hate for the man and is the only one that can stop 'Turnbull'
It's a good if but short 'action-packed' comic-book style western---worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Sergio Leone Type Anti-Hero., 2 Feb. 2011
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jonah Hex [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The western has had many variants during it's long history, including the supernatural western, of which this is one. I recall one many years ago involving Jesse James and Frankenstein. Not a good recollection! This time they have brought DC comics anti hero Jonah Hex, created by John Albano, to the screen. In this film Hex is played by a disfigured Josh Brolin, and is pitted against megalomaniac John Malkovich. Like any self respecting megalomaniac he has his little ambitions that include blowing up Washington and president Grant. Next the world! Think Lex Luther! With some distinctly nuclear age looking weapons of mass destruction at his disposal, this admirable goal looks a distinct possibility. The two protagonists have some history between them, so the scene is set for a few fireworks. As the advertising screams "revenge gets ugly". It most certainly does!

After the first fairly traditional western opening, you begin to wonder if Hex is in the Sergio Leone anti-hero mould. This is very soon dispelled when you see the arsenal of weapons he has at his disposal, which reminded me much of the gadgetary on display in Will Smith's dire "Wild Wild West". He also has that handy knack of being able to Lazarus like, bring the dead back to life, which comes in useful. Even Clint Eastwood couldn't do that. Most useful of all is that he can bring himself back to life with the help of some Indians, who must have had very strong medicine indeed. This helps a lot when there are bucket loads of bullets flying in your direction, and there is a mad Irishman who looks like Ewan McGregor on steroids after your blood. His girlfriend played by Megan Fox is also quite a lass, who despite working in the world's oldest profession, manages to remain remarkably untouched by the demands of this work. She also happens to make Lara Croft look like a shrinking violet, which makes her a very handy ally to our hero.

As you may have guessed, this is not a film to take too seriously. John Malkovich certainly doesn't. He simply has fun playing a panto villain, and then as any good actor would do, runs off to the bank with a big fat cheque. Most of the budget for this film seems to have literally gone up in smoke with the fest of explosions. The film has a sensibly short running time, which is probably because the bill for the explosives arrived. Any longer might have stretched the patience. The supernatural western is certainly not my cup of tea, and If you are after a cinematic classic on a par with "Citizen Kane", then don't bother. It is best watched with a nice can of suitable liquid refreshment, then it might not seem such a bad film. If all you are after is some simple "no brainer" entertainment, then it passes the time pleasantly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was a surprisingly good film, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonah Hex [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I'd heard poor reviews about this film, but it was surprisingly good. An excellent addition to the comic book genre. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonah Hex [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
worth watching for the megan fox interest , has other good bits though .. ... ... ... ... ... ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge gets ugly, 26 April 2011
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jonah Hex [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Never having read any of the DC Comics featuring Jonah Hex I had no pre-conceived ideas when I bought this. After having watched it I'm in two minds as to whether I should bother with the comic.
It's not irredeemably bad, however, it's one of those movies where there are no good guys, just various shades of grey which doesn't help for what is basically a Wild West based superhero movie.
Jonah Hex (Josh Brolin) himself seeks revenge on Quentin Turnbull (John Malkovich) who made him watch as his family were killed, he then brands his initials QT on Hex's face before leaving him for dead. Others have delved into the plot so suffice to say that Hex is brought back to life by a Native American Indian mystic and has developed the ability to talk to the dead along the way. Believing Turnbull has died he becomes a bounty hunter who carries an extensive range of firepower on his horse.
The Government approaches Hex for help and he finds out Turnbull is still alive and threatens to interrupt the centenial celebration of their independence from Britain using a new weapon of mass destruction, capable of "destroying continents".
There are some decent set pieces such as the destruction of a train and the final attack on Washington is impressive but it all seemed too disjointed lurching from one action scene to another with brief interludes, cue Megan Fox in a corset.
Although the scenes where he talks to the dead look good we never get to hear about how he got his powers; there's a brief animated cartoon voice-over at the start but it leaves most questions unanswered. Some of the scenes like the all-holds barred fighting may have been relevant to the comic but take up too much of the extremely short 78 minute running time.
I half expected the deleted scenes to fill in gaps but there's only 5 minutes of deleted scenes and, to be honest, they add nothing.
Megan Fox as Lilah only appears for about 10 minutes, she has very few lines but has a decent action scene late in the film. Michael Fassbender appears to enjoy himself as Burke though.
This Jonah is certainly a lot harder to swallow than the Biblical one but as an action movie it passes away 80 minutes interestingly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A supernatural Western that never reaches full speed, 18 Mar. 2011
For anybody who's seen 'Ghost Rider', Jonah Hex will be a familiar feeling - a great idea that never quite seems to fly.
Like an airliner taxiing, you're waiting for that surge of acceleration...but in this case it never comes.
Strangely - since all the requisite pieces are in place. There's a script by insanity merchants Neveldine and Taylor (Crank), it's adapted from a graphic novel about an ex-soldier bounty hunter who can talk to the dead and who has an on-off relationship with a smart-ass hooker played by Transformers star Megan Fox. Josh Brolin growls his way through it with enough menace and firepower to level a small Western town as he seeks vengeance against John Malkovich's psycho general for slaying his family and disfiguring him.
So why doesn't it quite work?
Maybe it's the character. Hex is damn ugly, but not smart-mouthed or likeable enough for us to overlook the disfigured view.
Fox is sassy, but gets given little beyond 'sassy' to do.
And there are lots of dream-sequences of similar events replayed a little too much.
Malkovich has a nasty plan for the country but somehow it feels hard to care. Maybe it's because it doesn't feel like the hero has a soul.
Michael Fassbender is excellent as Malkovich's henchmen - a tattooed whippet of a pychopath with an Irish accent and a nice line in lithe, slippery violence and cruelty. He's easily the standout star of the show.
In the end it's flashy, nicely filmed and has some loud, flashy action sequences, but it got panned at the cinema and is unlikely to receive a sequel. If you want superhero action, you could easily do worse. But damagingly? You could easily do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD CHEAP FUN..", 28 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If your a fan of the comics or not it dont matter, this is a great fun film, the story is your basic revenge theme with Hex helping the military capture the villain who is building a super weapon (and killed Hex family) along with the help of an old flame the beautiful Megan Fox!! Its fun filled with shootouts and explosions, the only problem is that it has a short running time of 1hr 20mins. The film has some great ideas and is probably the most fun comic book style western in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jonah Hex
Jonah Hex by Jimmy Hayward
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews