Customer Reviews


679 Reviews
5 star:
 (327)
4 star:
 (143)
3 star:
 (89)
2 star:
 (60)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'STUNNING VISUAL CONTENT'
How many movies have we seen in which the 'Golden Gate Bridge' is
destroyed ? ....well, I haven't got an answer, however seems to me
it occurs during just about every disaster movie....and yes, if but
briefly 'Pacific Rim' joins that ''elite'' club.
The Film....Over-sized alien beings 'The Kaijus' begin to arrive on
earth arriving through a...
Published 13 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If It Only Had a Brain
If you told me that there was a large budget film that had giant man driven robots fighting creatures that have risen from a rip in the fabric in space found under the sea – I would be all ears. I was the person that enjoyed ‘Transformers’; I love large action set pieces, so why does ‘Pacific Rim’ fall so flat? This is a film that would...
Published 1 month ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'STUNNING VISUAL CONTENT', 13 Nov 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How many movies have we seen in which the 'Golden Gate Bridge' is
destroyed ? ....well, I haven't got an answer, however seems to me
it occurs during just about every disaster movie....and yes, if but
briefly 'Pacific Rim' joins that ''elite'' club.
The Film....Over-sized alien beings 'The Kaijus' begin to arrive on
earth arriving through a porthole below the waves of the 'Pacific'
Five major cities are destroyed before the military are able to combat
the new enemy.
The invasion continues, man has to come up with a monster of their own
....Giant Robots called 'Jaegers' controlled to do battle by two pilots
on board.
However, it seems this may not be enough to stop the 'Kaijus' coming,
the 'Jaegers' program seems too be failing, the world is on the verge
of defeat.
A former pilot is teamed up with an unlikely co-pilot to operate an
outdated 'Jaeger' to do battle.
This may well be man's last stand ahead of an ''almost'' certain alien
victory bringing about the end of human existence.
The visual effects which are indeed impressive make the movie well worth
watching,
The 2D and 3D imagery will almost certainly keep the film alive for viewing
pleasure.
Great picture and sound quality throughout.
A 3-Disc set which includes the usual commentary.........'Disk three' is all
about 'Special Features' with hours of content which includes,,,featurettes
providing in-depth looks at 'Kaijus' ....along with a look at 'Sets' 'Stunts'
'Sounds' 'Effects' and the Mythology of making the film....and so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real surprise!, 17 April 2014
This review is from: Pacific Rim (Blu-ray)
I rented this in 3D for little other reason than wanting to explore the special effects. What I got was a blockbuster of a movie, non-stop action and thrills with amazing special effects, really brought to life in 3D. The story is pure sci-fi but the cast, acting and edge-of-the-seat pace make it a 'join in' movie. You can't help but want to cheer on the underdogs, worry that this is one movie that won't end in success for the all-American (British actor) heroes. One of the best sci-fi movies I have seen in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OH NO! THERE GOES TOKYO!, 21 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The film opens with a narration. It explains that a portal has opened connecting us to another universe in the Pacific Rim. Through this hole emerges destructive creatures from 60's Japanese films, updated of course. In a missed plot point, conventional means of fighting them seem to be useless, so we construct 100-150 foot tall robots called Jaegers to combat them. Missiles fired from Jaegers are effective, but...okay I tried not to think too hard about it.

The Jaegesr are controlled by 2 people, dressed in "Star Wars" storm trooper gear, that are in a mind meld that would make Spock green with envy. They are called pilots because Jaeger masters might be a copyright infringement.

The film combines elements of "Independence Day," "Starship Troopes," "Transformers" and "Ironman" and sets them into a stolen Japanese plot. Of course the rule is if you steal a plot from Japan you have to hire someone from Japan to be in the film, hence we have Rinko Kikuchi as Mako Mori. She will eventually team up with John Rico, eh ah Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam because Casper Van Dien is too old) to fight against the monsters coming at an increasing rate. There is a subplot that includes Ron Perlman and Charlie Day.

There are two schools of thought. One is to use the Jaegers to kill the creatures, the other is to build a war to keep out the illegal aliens. When the wall fails to keep out the illegal aliens, the Jaegers can defend the world thanks to "stand your ground" principles. Pardon my attempt at political humor.

The supporting characters were better written than the main ones.

This is an over dramatic, action packed popcorn film. The language is designed to appeal to a teen/young adult audience. Looks good on the big screen.

Parental Guide: 1 F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giant Robots Rules, 2 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: Pacific Rim (DVD)
Great movie. Good actors, likeable characters, cool special effects, good story as well. For those who remember shows like Ultraman, this would be the update with better special effects, and more grown up fighting. Or even the Guyver live action movies on a much bigger scale.

We are not alone in the universe, but instead of attacking from the sky the aliens are using a portal to attack us from another dimension. Sending giant Godzilla type beasts. The army manages to Handel the first few, but as the beasts attacks become more frequent, a new measure is put into place. Giant robots. The problem is linking a human brain to the robot is too much for our neural system, so two humans are linked together and work in unison to share the load. Simulating the two hemispheres of the brain.

The other problem is mass producing giant robots is expansive and taxing all if the worlds resources. The program is put on hold. Now years later nothing else has worked but the attacks are getting more frequent. Now there is a last effort to the war once and for all using all the remaining Robots and pilots.

I really enjoyed the movie, it is pretty hard to go wrong with Giant Robot for me, but I was surprised my wife enjoyed it more that I did, despite her hatred for SciFi and aliens. She claims she liked the whole idea the effects and it was a bit different. That probably deserves a sixth star simple for the fact that she watched the thing loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought this would be another boring sci-fi action film. You know the sort; humourless, monotonous clones of all the other boring sci-fi films that have gone before. Well it wasn't. The action gets going right away and we are shown the monster from the very beginning. Not only is the film a sci-fi action film, it also manages to weave in some convincing humour and comic relief. It is a big Hollywood film but somehow it feels different, the pace of the film stops you getting bored; it isn't constantly pushing forward. I was getting so bored of watching sci-fi without imagination and this film has been a refreshing watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If It Only Had a Brain, 27 Nov 2014
By 
If you told me that there was a large budget film that had giant man driven robots fighting creatures that have risen from a rip in the fabric in space found under the sea – I would be all ears. I was the person that enjoyed ‘Transformers’; I love large action set pieces, so why does ‘Pacific Rim’ fall so flat? This is a film that would appear to be tailor made for my tastes by the director of one of my favourite films, ‘Hellboy’. However, whilst the story of the cigar chomping demon had heart and character, ‘Pacific Rim’ appears to have been made with neither of these.

The world of the film is by far the best thing about it. In the future humans have retreated inland because the coastlines are sporadically attacks by Kaiju, giant alien beasts. To combat them we have designed enormous mechanical warriors known as Jaegers. By the time the film is set humans are on the brink of defeat as the attacks are increasing and the Jaegers are failing. It is an evocative idea and Del Toro has attacked the idea with all the depth and gusto you would expect. There appears to be layers of information beneath the surface, which makes being given this fluff to watch even more of an insult.

The film is split between action set pieces and character drivel storylines; neither of which set the world alight. The battles are of a large and imaginative scale, but they feel too loose and have that slight fakery that comes with CGI. Del Toro is unable to get across a sense of heft that the better ‘Transformer’ battles do. If the battles are merely average, the acting and dialogue is awful. All the characters speak utter nonsense and those that you can understand speak in abysmal accents. Robert Kazinsky seems to have been brought up in England only to jump back and forth to Ireland and Scotland – he is meant to be Australian. Charlie Hunnam plays the main protagonist Raleigh and does a decent job with what he gets. Unfortunately, this is a character arc that feels so light that it would be an embarrassment in a 90s ‘Wing Commander’ game.

The story and characters are truly awful in ‘Pacific Rim’ and lack any real humour. This in turn undermines the otherwise solid action. However, I have no interest in watching characters wrapped in CGI come under peril – I cannot really bring myself to care. More time should have been spent polishing the script and not the visuals, and then the film may have had a heart, rather than just lacking a brain.

There are some immense battles in ‘Pacific Rim’ so it should be seen on Blu-ray if you can. If you are a fan you can grab the editions which are loaded with extras. I actually found many of the making of elements more intriguing than the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visual spectacle, 17 July 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loud and brash, Pacific Rim doesn't pretend to be anything else. It's an all action film with cheesy dialogue and predictable script but it does entertain. The visuals, especially in 3D are quite spectacular and certainly gives your TV's motion handling a workout. If you enjoyed watching the Transformer movies or indeed are a fan of Anime you should give this one a go, just forgive the plot holes and it's slightly overlong run time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome is an overused word. Not in this case., 1 Dec 2014
This review is from: Pacific Rim (Blu-ray)
I was surprised to read a few reviews suggesting this film was all action and no plot - not because it did have a particularly good plot - it didn't - but because they may as well be reviewing a dog for how well it meows. This film is a massive, epic, beautiful and surprisingly uplifting action blockbuster that will knock your socks off and possibly cause you to forget to breathe. My only regret is that I didn't see it in the cinema.

The cast was generally strong, with the kind of sparkling, extremes you might expect to see in an anime or comic book. If anything, the weakest link lay with the leads, who may as well have been off fighting while the action and humour went on around them. A special mention for Burn Gorman and Charlie Day, whose double act, I'm not the first nor the last to say, stole the show.

While the plot wasn't particularly mind blowing, it was exactly what it needed to be - perhaps excluding a few irritating one liners.

Sit down to watch this movie expecting a faceful of giant robot awesome, and you won't be disappointed. If you're looking for a compelling character piece I suggest you try the drama section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you'd expect, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim (Amazon Instant Video)
If you want a visually stunning film that's all about giant robots punching giant monsters, you can do no better than this film. There is just enough story to give the action some context, and that's all it needs to set up some colossal fights.

I'd recommend it to anyone that wants a fun action film that doesn't take itself too seriously and knows what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure fun., 14 July 2013
The biggest praise I can give Pacific Rim is the fact that I was grinning from ear to ear for the vast majority of it. Guillermo Del Toro's passion and flair are evident throughout and the attention to detail in both the Kaiju and Jaeger design deserves a lot of credit. Del Toro said his aim was to make you feel like an excited 12 year old again whilst watching Pacific Rim, he certainly succeeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pacific Rim
Pacific Rim by Guillermo Del Toro
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews