Customer Reviews


323 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Final SATC film?
I did enjoy this film and am glad I bought it as I now have the complete set of all series and film No. 1 but I have to say that I didn't think it was as good as the fist film and nowhere near as good as any of the series - however as I said already I am glad I bought it - maybe if I watch it again I will enjoy it better.
Published on 22 Jun. 2011 by Anna

versus
55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It saddens me how bad this film is.
Firstly, like many people, I was a huge fan of the original Sex and the City series. I have the box set and have watched it numerous times. I equally enjoyed the first movie and was therefore excited for the second movie.

What a huge disappointment. Fancy (and somewhat ridiculous) clothes do not make a movie.

The plot of the movie is basically poor...
Published on 4 Jan. 2011 by Amy


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It saddens me how bad this film is., 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Amy (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Firstly, like many people, I was a huge fan of the original Sex and the City series. I have the box set and have watched it numerous times. I equally enjoyed the first movie and was therefore excited for the second movie.

What a huge disappointment. Fancy (and somewhat ridiculous) clothes do not make a movie.

The plot of the movie is basically poor Carrie Bradshaw, after finally getting married to Mr Big she is stuck in a rut. They have this fabulous apartment full of designer clothes and both have ridiculously well paid jobs. But boring old Mr Big wants a TV in the bedroom! And he doesn't want to attend movie premieres with vapid people! And he wants to stay in for dinner! So Carrie has a moan and then when a book reviewer calls her out on her bull crap, her and the ladies head of to Abu Dhabi. Queue lots of ignorance about Middle Eastern culture and some embarrassing scenes topped off with ridiculous clothes. Charlotte is afraid her hubby is cheating on her with the bra-less nanny, Miranda has quit her job because her boss doesn't like her and Samantha is the same old Samantha. Also, poor Charlotte is having a hideous time because as a full time Mum with a full time Nanny, she is finding it very difficult raising her two children in the Fifth Avenue apartment.

The film is basically offensive to anyone who watches it. They seem to have forgotten their audience and why the TV series was so popular. Yes viewers loved the fashion aspect of the show, but it was mainly the story of four women in a big city looking for love that captured the viewers attention. Carrie moaning about having to stay in for dinner whilst millions of people are struggling in the current world wide economy just angered me. I remember when the film first started production and there was rumours that the storyline would revolve around Big losing his job. I feel that would have made a better storyline for the movie and allowed for the audience to relate to Carrie, instead of her flaunting a different outfit in every scene. The real problem with the film is a lack of a real storyline. In the first movie we had Carrie planning her wedding, the wedding and then the outcome of being left at the alter. This movie just didn't have any real focus, none of the characters went on any sort of journey or improved themselves.

If you take this film with a pinch of salt and just appreciate the two hour fashion show, then it is mildly entertaining. But I would recommend watching the box set or the first movie, and just forgetting this ever happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as awful as some have said, 19 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sex and the City - in my humble opinion - should have ended after the series finished to leave its superb finale intact. Nevertheless, a money-spinning movie was commissioned which appealed to fans of fashion but not to fans of good films. Or to put it more bluntly: The series was great and the movie stunk.

So, the inevitable sequel was released and it got absolutely panned by the critics and even the fans. In truth, it is not a good film. But in honesty, it's not as bad as some people have suggested.

The opening sequence is quite painful. Central characters like Harry and Steve are wheeled on to say a line to include them in the movie before being wheeled off again and the idea of the Stanford and Anthony getting married is as ridiculous as their wedding - Liza Minnelli and all.

It is at this point that stories begin to develop with Miranda showing frustration at her job, Charlotte feeling insecure about her beautiful (and bra-less) nanny and Carrie seems to be settling into a rut with Mr Big. Unfortunately, only the last of these stories is properly developed with Charlotte's story being a 'blink and you could miss it' sub-plot.

Over to Abu Dhabi, where the girls are being treated to a luxury week away by a client of Samantha, the film begins to develop more like an extended episode of the series. Samantha is constantly at odds with the patriarchal society which eventually lands her is series hot water with the kind of hilarity which could only accompany her. There is also a lovely, albeit all too brief scene with Miranda and Charlotte, talking about the difficulties of motherhood and the pressures it puts on them.

Unfortunately, the ludicrous - secret society of fashion hungry (and English speaking?) women of Abu Dhabi and the absurdity of Carrie meeting Aiden half way around the World drag the film down. The film does lift itself at the end with a satisfactory conclusion to the women's problems, but not enough to make up for the many faults that have gone before it.

Ultimately, the film succeeds in a way that the first did not because it plays out like a long episode, and so owes more to the brilliant TV Show than the awful first movie that preceded it. But it ignores key plot elements, contains some outright absurdities and tries to get by on its glitz and fashion. Certainly not my first choice of films or even close to it but I can think of worse ways to spend an evening than watching this film, albeit not many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My eyes are bleeding, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many other reviewers on here, I loved the TV series and the first film. They were funny, observant and great entertainment. This film, however, is none of these. It is atrocious.

From the outset, it is buttock clenching stuff. The wedding between Anthony and Stanford is just awful with a cameo from Liza (with a zee) Minelli "singing". Awful stuff. It doesn't get any better.

The "girls" (I use this word advisedly) are all now a bit older and they look it. They are all far too thin and this makes them look drawn and haggard and for a franchise that is really all about looks and clothes, this is not good. They go on a jolly to the middle east where there are the usual cliches about burkhas, etc etc. For four supposed women of the world not to know about this mode of dress is highly unbelievable. Embarrassing really. Carrie and Big seem to be having a bit of spat about him staying in every night (well, he is nearly 60) and she's not happy so off she pops with the "girls" only to meet old love Aiden in a market. What are the chances, eh? Miranda quits her job (as you do on a whim) but can afford to go on holiday. Charlotte is having problems with her two children despite having a full time nanny in tow. She also does her baking in a vintage Valentino skirt (as you do). And as for Samantha, for a character who was funny, independent and sassy, she is now just a dirty old woman. Oh, and there's a scene where the four of them get up and do karaoke. Actually, I admit I fast forwarded this bit due to my own embarrassment for them.

This is a disappointment in the extreme. There is an extra DVD with stuff about the making of. Michael Patrick King (producer, etc) waxes lyrical as if he was making War and Peace. My only conclusion is that the four main characters did this for the money. It certainly was not the for the calibre of the storyline.

Avoid this rubbish at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could unsee this!, 22 Nov. 2013
This film makes a mockery of the TV series and the smart, sassy characters we knew and loved. The women in this film are superficial beyond belief, there is none of the spark of the original girls. Miranda has changed from a cynical,witty, successful lawyer who looked good but wasn't obsessed with fashion to a woman who quits her job as her boss is sexist and doesn't like her and is constantly dressed from head to toe in top designer clothes! Samantha has changed from a sexy, in control PR exec to an embarrasing exhibitionist who doesn't know how to behave in public. Carrie, a quirky,funny, independent writer who mixed and matched thrift shop clothes with high end is now a designer clone who is constantly nagging Mr Big. The worst though is Charlotte, lovely Charlotte who was desperate to be a mother and who was caring and adored children..shes now a spoilt princess who doesn't work but but has a full time nanny for her much wanted beloved children and she STILL can't cope with them!!! The nanny even bathes them while Charlotte does important things like flower arranging! Shes basically become Trey's mum Bunny (and Trey once said she'd never be that kind of mother) Plus shes now neurotically obsessed with Harry cheating! The characters (including Stanny and Anthony) have been destroyed (sorry but none of them would ever do karaoke!!!!!) . I havent even touched on the bits where the Abu Dhabi people are patronised and looked down on. I really can't believe this is written by the same people that wrote the TV series.. a hilarious, edgy look at four gorgeous friends lives and loves with excellent support from other great characters like STanford. I'm just going to pretend I never saw this and end it at the last film (which had its flaws but nothing like as bad as this). And I wanted to love this film so much!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vile., 27 Jan. 2012
By 
H. Pearce "thechosenmonkey3" (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Racist, Misogynist, Condescending, Vile, Filthy, Trashy, Tasteless, Vapid, Classless, Smug, Nauseating, Retrograde, Inward-looking, Consumerist Pornography.

I can scarcely express in words how much I loathe, hate, and am repulsed by this film. It has a rotten heart, and represents everything that is wrong with the Western World.

And to anyone who says "you don't understand it because you're a man". No, I understand it perfectly. It's utter bilge, and there is no chasm on the planet which is deep enough to dispose of every copy of this "film".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sex Drive All Gone, 28 April 2015
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the first film actually stayed grounded in the pursuit of developing and expanding the stories of the 4 leading ladies made famous by the globally successful TV series, this film takes a thin story and drags it out over 2 hours in a narrative that adds little to their overall interest and simply amounts to an excuse for the Hollywood cash cow to revisit a successful franchise and promise the heavily influenced female audience just what they love – sex, not much city, fashion, crass humour and girls just having a fun time.

Sadly, the series regulars this time take a backseat to events as the majority of our film takes place in the Middle East and just revolves around Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda getting up to all sorts of crazy, wild and brainless escapades. The result is something that comes across as racist, ignorant and disrespectful of the Middle Eastern culture and religion for the sake of mighty America being brave enough to laugh at sensitive topics all for cutting-edge comedy.

While we are treated to locations in New York and Abu Dhabi that really are exotic and nice to see that paint a picture of the decadent world the girls are living in, the depth of the story isn’t interesting or powerful enough to make it feel worthy. The first film was very faithful to the TV show, dealing with heart-breaking lows and heart-warming highs that felt very real, and actually made revisiting the characters worthwhile with a decent payoff. Here sadly we are given a weak story for Charlotte worrying about a bra-less Nanny running away with her husband as she struggles being a Mum, and Carrie kissing an ex-boyfriend when it’s apparent she actually want to kiss him, but then panics when she does. It’s nothing compared to the first film, and even the girls themselves fail to come over as strong and unified as they did the first time.

We get supporting cast full of Middle Eastern servants, old market sellers, disgruntled sheiks and women in traditional Muslim attire that are all the basis of low humour and observation by the girls that makes them come across more disrespectful then we wished them to be. In fact, most of these people end up being belittled, embarrassed, humiliated or looked down upon by the ladies and their plight to overrule tradition with doing what they want because they are American. It doesn’t come over natural or funny at all.

Suffering a long running time that pads out minor moments for great lengths of time, it does outstay it’s welcome where you just want them to get home and get back to normal. Dragging out sequences where we have our ladies running around Abu Dhabi dressed in black robes in some silly farce trying to escape them disgruntled men chasing them thanks to Samantha offending them with her sexual ignorance. It makes the clever, independent and grounded women of the first film come over as stupid, crass and disrespectful which isn’t something I wanted to see.

In the end, I felt Big would be better off without the “me me me” attitude of Carrie, and Harry would be better off with the buxom Alice Eve over the ditzy Charlotte, and Samantha would be better off in the menopause instead of the desperate woman she became here.

It’s just an over-long mess that obviously will give women a great giggle thanks to drowning cocktails and kicking back, but overall there’s little in it to satisfy hardcore fans who want a resolution – this film ends far more weaker than the first, and it’s a shame we have wrapped up their stories with this weak entry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity!, 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like any other SATC die hard fan I was not put off by the critics annihilation of this movie. They had been less than complimentary about the first SATC film but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I purchased this film and waited with girlie anticipation until my husband was away golfing for the day and I could escape back into the world of four fabulous women and their entourage of gay friends, lovers, fashion and Cosmopolitans. While this film takes us back to life with Carrie, Miranda, Samantha and Charlotte I felt that there was too much focus on the girls as a foursome and John, Steve, Smith and Harry were surplus to requirements! Very little screen time was given to the men in their lives and to me this was a waste of the talents and pure watchability of the actors who, having always played second fiddle to the girls, were at least vital to the plot. The relationship between Charlotte and Harry in particular has always been written superbly and is often hilarious. The main problem with this film was the lack of plot. It was just rapid outfit changes, a few cocktails, one drunken girlie chat and little else of any substance.
The reintroduction of Aidan was a hugely welcome piece of excitement and intrigue in an otherwise dull and lacklustre film. This was then just thrown away after a spine tingling kiss and an immediate long distance phone call to confess all and we never saw the wonderful John Corbett again! On several occasions I actually wondered how long it was until the end and found myself checking my watch and the back of the DVD box!
When all is said and done I felt that this was a missed opportunity for the SATC franchise and if a third movie is planned then the producers and script writers must get back to the basics of what made this one of the funniest and most enjoyable TV series I have ever watched. What should be top priority is to remember that the comedy element of the series was paramount to its success - there used to be laugh out loud moments in every TV episode and the first movie.
If you're looking for classic SATC and a good old girlie giggle then look elsewhere. Having said all that I can almost guarantee that if a third movie is made then I will purchase the DVD so I suppose they have me hooked regardless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sex and the Fashion, 24 Dec. 2010
As a devoted SATC fan, like many i own all 6 series and own the 1st movie and have even been on the tour in NYC (2008), this movie was a little disappointing, as to me it had no structure, it was almost like the producers were still brain storming the plan of the movie, and this was the final cut, also not to be picky love SJP but why is she the only one on the front cover, they all EQUALLY, to me, contributed to making the movie, for fashionesta's you are in fashion heaven, the Adien scene was a bit of a let down, the male characters were more played down in this one...............

apart from that, if your an obsessive fan you will enjoy............

ps i'm devoted, not obsessive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Final SATC film?, 22 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did enjoy this film and am glad I bought it as I now have the complete set of all series and film No. 1 but I have to say that I didn't think it was as good as the fist film and nowhere near as good as any of the series - however as I said already I am glad I bought it - maybe if I watch it again I will enjoy it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 3 Dec. 2010
Loved the first film, hated this. Not funny, not interesting, script was dire, some scenes were so desperate it was embarrassing to watch, the acting from all the characters gave me the feeling that they would all rather have been somewhere else, in fact I thought overall it was all quite depressing. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex and the City 2
Sex and the City 2 by Michael Patrick King
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews