Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Centre Stage At Last
I have been an admirer of Benmont Tench's keyboard skills for so many years. As well as being one of Tom Petty's Heartbreakers he is a remarkably prolific session man whose work has graced some of my very favourite albums including "Mystery Girl" by Roy Orbison, "Lost Dogs & Mixed Blessings" by John Prine and "Stones In The Road" by Mary Chapin Carpenter...
Published 9 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointly underwhelming
So far I find myself in a minority of 1 among reviewers. This is just dull. Now Tench is a great player and a priceless sideman (see my review of Don Felder's lamentable effort), but the opening track and the instrumental piano track seem to me the only ones with any spark of individuality. The songs could have been recorded and sung by anyone, they are mostly...
Published 1 month ago by Franimi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Centre Stage At Last, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: You Should Be So Lucky (Audio CD)
I have been an admirer of Benmont Tench's keyboard skills for so many years. As well as being one of Tom Petty's Heartbreakers he is a remarkably prolific session man whose work has graced some of my very favourite albums including "Mystery Girl" by Roy Orbison, "Lost Dogs & Mixed Blessings" by John Prine and "Stones In The Road" by Mary Chapin Carpenter.

Indeed, he has been performing for so many years and with so many artists that it is easy to forget that he is an important thread in the fabric of Americana. It would be simpler to list those performers upon whose albums he hasn't played so perhaps he's never had the time to release a solo album of his own and to take centre stage as a vocalist, but now that time has come.

Tench wrote ten of the selections, co-wrote "Duquesne Whistle" with Bob Dylan and includes the traditional "Corrina Corrina" on this delightful debut album. His material is lyrical and melodic and Tench has a kind of homespun voice - warm and relaxed - that just lets the songs flow. From the arresting lyrics of "Today I Took Your Picture Down.......

.....Your cruelly faded lips spoke without a word,
The eyes that followed me around
Daring me to try and stare them down......"

to the evocative jazz tinged instrumental "Ecor Rouge" from which he manages to coax words unspoken, this is a diverse and eclectic piece of work embracing jazz, country, roots rock, blues and pop.

"Blonde Girl, Blue Dress" is West Coast with swirling organ, "Duquesne Whistle" is a Dylanesque blues shuffle, "Why Don't You Quit Leavin' Me Alone" is a heartfelt country blues and the 12 string guitar of "Like The Sun" is a majestic piece that recalls Roger McGuinn. But all the time the sound of those commanding Tench keyboards is what sets this album on fire and proof that he is a master of modern American music.

With the legendary Glyn Johns at the helm and a band featuring Don Was, Ethan Johns, Jeremey Stacey and Blake Mills, Benmont Tench is in his element as he lets the words and the music weave their spell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Should Be So Lucky (Audio CD)
Spotted the write up in Uncut and bought it unheard. What a find. Despite his limited vocal range the writing and musicianship are fantastic. If you like JJ Cale then that is the style of vocal delivery and feel for me although the playing is decidedly tighter and no worse for that. All the tracks are excellent and I am surprised, with the strength of his original material, that he felt the need to cover any Dylan songs, excellent though they are. A great disc, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY IS THIS HIS FIRST???, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Should Be So Lucky (Audio CD)
In the first verse of the opening song you can hear Dylan's influence on BT's writing, more in melody and phrasing than lyrically.
Then, of course, are the two Dylan related covers.
Luck had nothing to do with the quality of this effort. It's all talent.
I think BT's advantage here is that he has always had a fulfilling outlet for his creativity in his role as a much sought after 'sideman', and sounds justifiably comfortable with the opportunity to express himself on this, his first solo release.
It's a nice album to listen to.
Flows well and sounds good.
With so many purchases listened to once, maybe twice, and thrown in the corner, it's cool to find a new album that I'm sure I will return to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointly underwhelming, 10 Nov 2014
By 
Franimi (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Should Be So Lucky (Audio CD)
So far I find myself in a minority of 1 among reviewers. This is just dull. Now Tench is a great player and a priceless sideman (see my review of Don Felder's lamentable effort), but the opening track and the instrumental piano track seem to me the only ones with any spark of individuality. The songs could have been recorded and sung by anyone, they are mostly sub-Heartbreakers fodder, and there's only so much that great musicians and T-Bone Burnett can do in the sow's ear/silk purse department. Sorry, I really wanted this to be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the quiet heartbreaker steps into the spotlight!, 6 April 2014
By 
Mr. C. Lloyd (treherbert/rhondda valley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Should Be So Lucky (Audio CD)
excellent album from the heartbreaker! the playing by the band is brilliant and I was very impressed with his own songwriting skills.
The choice of covers was inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Should Be So Lucky (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: You Should Be So Lucky (Audio CD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 July 2014
By 
Mr. S. K. Moyser "moyserman" (west yorskshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Should Be So Lucky (Audio CD)
A great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Should Be So Lucky
You Should Be So Lucky by Benmont Tench
Buy MP3 Album£7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews