Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

  • Pilot
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars65
3.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2012
The first season of 'Parks and Recreation', a mere six episodes long, has been overshadowed by the fact that the seasons which have followed it have produced some of the wittiest, most perceptive and genuinely poignant moments of any US sitcom of recent years. But the fact that Season 1 was the show's weakest shouldn't take away from the fact that the episodes gathered on this disc are uniformly excellent, and suggestions in another review to skip straight to Season 2 ignore what is a great few hours of TV. For the uninitiated, 'Parks and Rec' stars the excellent Amy Poehler (SNL, Baby Mama) as Leslie Knope, deputy director of the Parks and Recreation committee in the rustic-but-not-redneck town of Pawnee, Indiana. Poehler is supported by an excellent cast, including Aziz Ansari as Leslie's right-hand man Tom Haverford, and Nick Offerman as the department's head, a man disinterested in Leslie's project to build a community park, and who claims he would "rather work for Chuck E. Cheese". The show is extremely well-scripted and the characters are refreshingly complex and likeable. 'Parks and Rec' is shot in a format very similar to that of 'The Office', where the characters are filmed by a documentary crew, and often speak direct to camera.

There's nothing bad as such about the first series of 'Parks and Rec', though, unlike in later episodes, Season 1 has a tendency sometimes to go for the 'obvious' joke, meaning that there are some dud moments which land alongside the show's plethora of superb one-liners. It also does feel a little too much like 'The Office' in the earlier episodes, and one or two characters, such as the bored intern April, add nothing to the show; but annoy a little. Still, Season 1 of 'Parks and Rec' is sharply comic, fresh and contemporary, and even has a knack for handling the series side of adult relationships. The best was yet to come, but fans of shows such as 'The Office', 'Party Down' and 'How I Met Your Mother' will likely take to this release like a duck to water.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
After watching season 1 I wasn't sure whether to carry on watching this show as it didn't seem as funny as I'd hoped or anywhere near as funny as a very similar show The Office US.
But I decided to carry on watching and started season 2. I was hugely surprised at the difference between seasons 1 and 2. Season 2 is brilliantly funny! The plot is funnier and more entertaining and the jokes are much smarter and funnier. If you don't find season 1 to be as good as you'd hoped just give season 2 a chance, it's worth it.
Thank you to the other reviewers who said to give it a chance because I would've given up if I hadn't read your reviews!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2013
It's absolutely criminal that it took so long for someone in the UK to pick up Parks & Recreation for broadcast when it is one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time.

I came across this show whilst on a long haul flight to America and with nothing else to watch I gave it a go. And even in the space of two episodes, I had fallen in love with it.

Anyway, with BBC Four now showing the series the first season is belatedly available on Region 2 DVD. It's a mere six episodes long and whilst it doesn't reach the heights of season 2 it is still a painfully funny programme.

The main problem in the early going is the focus on Amy Phoeler's Leslie Knope who at times seems to be too intent on being the female Michael Scott (Steve Carell, on The US Office) than being a character in her own right. By season two, with the focus more on the ensemble, Knope becomes a more interesting character in her own right. The likes of Aziz Ansari and, especially, Nick Offerman (as the downright brilliant Ron Swanson) are great in this series though and whilst the best is yet to come, anyone who has enjoyed the subsequent series will find a lot to enjoy here once the shock of seeing the story from the beginning wears off - certain plot developments in future series (episodes of which I watched before getting this DVD) certainly left me disorientated in parts here.

One final thing though; there's not enough Aubrey Plaza for my liking in this season (a fact acknowledged on the DVD commentary) but then again, Rashida Jones more than makes up for that.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
It's a shame that a show as good as Parks And Recreation remains largely undiscovered to a potential UK audience who would no doubt love it if they only knew about it. To be fair, it was still finding its feet in season one but nevertheless there are still clues of the genius to come.

A previous reviewer hits the nail on the head that the problem with season one is that there is too much focus on Lesley Knope and not enough on the rest of the cast. It's not that Lesley Knope isn't an entertaining lead character, it's just that other great characters like April, Tom and Andy in particular don't really come into their own until season two. Even the anti-government Ron Swanson, while clearly already recognisable as a brilliant character, is underused in season one.

I actually first watched Parks And Recreation on my friend's recommendation, with the cautionary note that the first season was a shadow of the greatness to follow. Although I would have to agree that it's not until season two that it reaches its peak, I nevertheless still enjoyed season one. It doesn't contain the belly laughs of season two, but is still worth checking out.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
I have seen the first 3 series and it is so much more than what meets the eye in the first few episodes. You need to be in the right frame of mind. I hope Amazon puts the remaining seasons on Prime soon. The thing with modern video using online providers is that it would perfectly fine to watch these type of series with gaps in between as to avoid a series fatigue. Unfortunately they are not always available on Prime or Netflix.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was on my watchlist for ages before I round to watching it. As expected, it's like The Office, but set in local government, and the good news is that it's very funny. The main character is very likeable, as are most of the cast, and there are many laugh out loud moments. The good news is that season 2 is even better and much longer too, so there are many laughs ahead.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
...and I am that seven people did not find Parks and Recreation funny, I can only assume that these reviewers are weird - although if you were weird you would love P & R. Ron Swanson is a God and Leslie Knope one of the funniest people on TV. If you have ever worked in the public sector you will be nodding your head all the way through each episode and if you haven't you will never apply for a job there - unless of course your boss is going to be called Ron Swanson; anarchist, secret saxophonist, Lothario and all round good egg.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
This was recommended to me and it's totally brilliant.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2011
It's absolutely criminal that this show has not made it onto one of the multitude of channels that pervade our satellite/cable universe in the UK (and I'm waiting for someone to point out the errors of my thoughts and say it appeared on some obscure channel at 3 in the morning) when it is one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time.

All hail long haul flight TV choice huh?

Anyway,this is the first season, a mere six episodes long and whilst it doesn't reach the heights of season 2 it is still a painfully funny programme.

The main problem is the focus on Amy Phoeler's Leslie Knope who at times seems to be too intent on being the female Michael Scott than being a character in her own right. By season two, with the focus more on the ensemble, Knope becomes a more interesting character in her own right. The likes of Aziz Ansari and, especially, Nick Offerman (as the downright brilliant Ron Swanson) are great in this series though and whilst the best is yet to come, anyone who has enjoyed the subsequent series will find a lot to enjoy here once the shock of seeing the story from the beginning wears off - certain plot developments in future series (episodes of which I watched before getting this DVD) certainly left me disorientated in parts here.

One final thing though; there's not enough Aubrey Plaza for my liking in this season (a fact acknowledged on the DVD commentary) but then again, Rashida Jones more than makes up for that.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
I discovered this series by watching a few episodes from season 2 on BBC iPlayer. Although season 1 is only 6 episodes long, it is worth watching as it sets the context for the series. Clearly the characters were undergoing initial development during this season and it isn't up to the same standard as the following seasons, but it is still well worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)