Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like her blog you will love this book
I am a huge fan of Bernadette's blog. As a small business owner with lots to do and very little time, it provides me with quick reminders a few times a week of what really matters in marketing and has changed my mindset enormously.
This book is really a recap of many of the blog posts, a bit more fleshed out and in order so it makes sense. It is really easy to...
Published 10 months ago by K. Castle

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks substance
Every product or service needs to be differentiated in some way - to stand out in the crowd. This book tries to offer a new perspective on how to achieve this. The premise on which it's based is so weak I cannot even recall it having read the book a few weeks ago, in a couple of hours, and having been unimpressed by it. It left me feeling that it lacks substance; just...
Published 6 months ago by Adrian Mark Dore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks substance, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Kindle Edition)
Every product or service needs to be differentiated in some way - to stand out in the crowd. This book tries to offer a new perspective on how to achieve this. The premise on which it's based is so weak I cannot even recall it having read the book a few weeks ago, in a couple of hours, and having been unimpressed by it. It left me feeling that it lacks substance; just another flimsy idea being peddled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like her blog you will love this book, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of Bernadette's blog. As a small business owner with lots to do and very little time, it provides me with quick reminders a few times a week of what really matters in marketing and has changed my mindset enormously.
This book is really a recap of many of the blog posts, a bit more fleshed out and in order so it makes sense. It is really easy to read and will quickly get you to the point of thinking the right way about presenting your business. I would highly recommend it to anyone with a small business starting to find their feet with their marketing activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Genius? No... just a light read., 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"This book is a generous work of genius" so says Seth Godin on the cover. "Huh? What? I don't agree" I say in this review.
The first thing you notice about "the book" is that it is quite thin - 79 pages in total with over 20 pages given to case study examples - more of a paper than a book. It starts bright with a nice pre-amble and yet another regurgitation of silicon valley folklore story and then continues to do the same by re-spinning what marketers have known for a long time - you need to put yourself in the shoes of your customer, speak their language, understand your value from their perspective.
The book is light on evidence and heavy on anecdotes - I am always wary of authors who use quotes from TV shows in a bid to support an argument; that's not evidence, it's just laziness. I had a wry smile on my face when the author criticizes the 4 P's classic model then introduces her own "Difference Map" model with 6 P's.
Genius it is not - I'll be wary of anything Seth Godin endorses from here on - I feel I have been duped!
On the plus side, it's a very light read - anyone new to marketing will find it a good introduction to the basic concepts. I've given it 2 stars because I like the style of Bernadette and I suspect she is well regarded (how did this get on the TED recommeded book list???). If I were using it as a study text it would only receive 1 star - although the concept is sound the content is largely anecdotal and post rationalised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get this, read this, do this, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Kindle Edition)
Small book,big impact. Read it and reread it. Great case stories, a common sense approach and revealing insights. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully simple, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure that all Godin fans (like me) will enjoy this book. It is not particularly new stuff. It is full of stripped back important reminders of where marketing has now moved to - which is away from the advertising model of old. This book's one thing, it's own 'Difference', is that it delivers on it's promise in less than a few hours reading and culminates in a one page model that you can immediately go and apply to your projects. And that's the stuff I love. I wish more marketing and business books got to the point quickly and delivered practical take-aways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to combine difference thinking with empathy to reveal truth, recognize the opportunity in that truth, and then act on it, 7 July 2014
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
According to Bernadette Jiwa, Steve Jobs was a "difference thinker," one who had a highly developed talent for connecting dots. In fact, it involves much more than that. "It's about seeing the truth, recognising the opportunity in that truth and [begin italics] then [end italics] acting on it. You need to learn how to see the dots and understanding the significance of connecting them before you can begin. And you can do that only identifying with and understanding somebody else's feelings and frustrations. That's what Steve Jobs did intuitively; he had the ability to stand in a potential user's shoes and understand the impact that an innovation and its design might have on that person's life (and thus in the market). This is something you can train yourself to do."

The Japanese term "kaizen" means continuous improvement and is a never-ending process, a philosophy, a business way-of-life, rather than a destination or specific project. The title of one of Marshall Goldsmith's recent books suggests that "what got you here won't get you there." In fact, I presume to add, what got you here won't even keep you here, wherever and what "here" may be. One of the most difficult challenges for business leaders is to make certain that their organization is significantly different (i.e. significantly better) from its competition but also from what it may be now. In fact, what has been a strength (size, scope, diversification of products, etc.) can become a weakness or vulnerability.

These are among the dozens of business subjects and issues of special interest and value to me, also listed to indicate the scope of Jiwa's coverage.

o Thinking Difference (Pages 1-3)
o The Lost Art of Marketing (11-14)
o The Secret if Disruptive Innovations (18-19)
o The Elephant in the Marketing Room: The Power of Emotions (20-22)
o What You Measure Matters, But What's Hard to Measure Might Matter More (31-32)
o Rethink Groupthink (35-36)
o The Currency of the Future: Deeper Connections (39-41)
o Difference Core Principles (44-46)
o Using the Difference Map: Eleven mini-Case Studies (53-72)
o Using the Difference Map: The Template (74-75)
o How You Create Difference (77-79)

In essence, Jiwa suggests this approach: Creating difference "is about seeing things in a whole new light. It's about re-imagining what the problem or the need might be, and then deciding that you [and your associates] will do whatever it takes to be the one to solve the problem for people. This approach leads to the creation of innovations and solutions that redefine the rules of the game, that reinvent a category or experience."

I agree while suggesting that, when abandoning traditional mindsets, questioning long-held assumptions, and killing sacred cows, business leaders would be well-advised to keep in mind this observation by Richard Dawkins: "Yesterday's dangerous idea is today's orthodoxy and tomorrow's cliché."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A a Story Well Told Leads to Business Success, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Kindle Edition)
Bernadette's book has a real passionate message with a sensible, understandable approach. If you are running marketing for any business I would highly recommend reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great & Inspiring Little Book, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really love this book. I think that the author has such a warm and likeable style. For me (an artist) and a beginner in the world of business and marketing this book bridged a gap beautifully. I recommend it to people who like a simple, empathic and engaging style as well as good information. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting perspective, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Kindle Edition)
A good short read, with fresh ideas on marketing in the digital world. The author proposes a simple, appliccable model for creating difference. I believe the book and model could be very useful for marketers and entrepreneurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put this book down, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Kindle Edition)
Bernadette Jiwa has written a brilliant book. Totally on the ball. Her message was insightful and with a totally practical model to create the story and the strategy of a business. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews