Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like her blog you will love this book
I am a huge fan of Bernadette's blog. As a small business owner with lots to do and very little time, it provides me with quick reminders a few times a week of what really matters in marketing and has changed my mindset enormously.
This book is really a recap of many of the blog posts, a bit more fleshed out and in order so it makes sense. It is really easy to...
Published 16 months ago by Kirsty

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Genius? No... just a light read.
"This book is a generous work of genius" so says Seth Godin on the cover. "Huh? What? I don't agree" I say in this review.
The first thing you notice about "the book" is that it is quite thin - 79 pages in total with over 20 pages given to case study examples - more of a paper than a book. It starts bright with a nice pre-amble and yet another...
Published 12 months ago by Honest John


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like her blog you will love this book, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of Bernadette's blog. As a small business owner with lots to do and very little time, it provides me with quick reminders a few times a week of what really matters in marketing and has changed my mindset enormously.
This book is really a recap of many of the blog posts, a bit more fleshed out and in order so it makes sense. It is really easy to read and will quickly get you to the point of thinking the right way about presenting your business. I would highly recommend it to anyone with a small business starting to find their feet with their marketing activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to combine difference thinking with empathy to reveal truth, recognize the opportunity in that truth, and then act on it, 7 July 2014
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
According to Bernadette Jiwa, Steve Jobs was a "difference thinker," one who had a highly developed talent for connecting dots. In fact, it involves much more than that. "It's about seeing the truth, recognising the opportunity in that truth and [begin italics] then [end italics] acting on it. You need to learn how to see the dots and understanding the significance of connecting them before you can begin. And you can do that only identifying with and understanding somebody else's feelings and frustrations. That's what Steve Jobs did intuitively; he had the ability to stand in a potential user's shoes and understand the impact that an innovation and its design might have on that person's life (and thus in the market). This is something you can train yourself to do."

The Japanese term "kaizen" means continuous improvement and is a never-ending process, a philosophy, a business way-of-life, rather than a destination or specific project. The title of one of Marshall Goldsmith's recent books suggests that "what got you here won't get you there." In fact, I presume to add, what got you here won't even keep you here, wherever and what "here" may be. One of the most difficult challenges for business leaders is to make certain that their organization is significantly different (i.e. significantly better) from its competition but also from what it may be now. In fact, what has been a strength (size, scope, diversification of products, etc.) can become a weakness or vulnerability.

These are among the dozens of business subjects and issues of special interest and value to me, also listed to indicate the scope of Jiwa's coverage.

o Thinking Difference (Pages 1-3)
o The Lost Art of Marketing (11-14)
o The Secret if Disruptive Innovations (18-19)
o The Elephant in the Marketing Room: The Power of Emotions (20-22)
o What You Measure Matters, But What's Hard to Measure Might Matter More (31-32)
o Rethink Groupthink (35-36)
o The Currency of the Future: Deeper Connections (39-41)
o Difference Core Principles (44-46)
o Using the Difference Map: Eleven mini-Case Studies (53-72)
o Using the Difference Map: The Template (74-75)
o How You Create Difference (77-79)

In essence, Jiwa suggests this approach: Creating difference "is about seeing things in a whole new light. It's about re-imagining what the problem or the need might be, and then deciding that you [and your associates] will do whatever it takes to be the one to solve the problem for people. This approach leads to the creation of innovations and solutions that redefine the rules of the game, that reinvent a category or experience."

I agree while suggesting that, when abandoning traditional mindsets, questioning long-held assumptions, and killing sacred cows, business leaders would be well-advised to keep in mind this observation by Richard Dawkins: "Yesterday's dangerous idea is today's orthodoxy and tomorrow's cliché."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Genius? No... just a light read., 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"This book is a generous work of genius" so says Seth Godin on the cover. "Huh? What? I don't agree" I say in this review.
The first thing you notice about "the book" is that it is quite thin - 79 pages in total with over 20 pages given to case study examples - more of a paper than a book. It starts bright with a nice pre-amble and yet another regurgitation of silicon valley folklore story and then continues to do the same by re-spinning what marketers have known for a long time - you need to put yourself in the shoes of your customer, speak their language, understand your value from their perspective.
The book is light on evidence and heavy on anecdotes - I am always wary of authors who use quotes from TV shows in a bid to support an argument; that's not evidence, it's just laziness. I had a wry smile on my face when the author criticizes the 4 P's classic model then introduces her own "Difference Map" model with 6 P's.
Genius it is not - I'll be wary of anything Seth Godin endorses from here on - I feel I have been duped!
On the plus side, it's a very light read - anyone new to marketing will find it a good introduction to the basic concepts. I've given it 2 stars because I like the style of Bernadette and I suspect she is well regarded (how did this get on the TED recommeded book list???). If I were using it as a study text it would only receive 1 star - although the concept is sound the content is largely anecdotal and post rationalised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get this, read this, do this, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Kindle Edition)
Small book,big impact. Read it and reread it. Great case stories, a common sense approach and revealing insights. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully simple, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure that all Godin fans (like me) will enjoy this book. It is not particularly new stuff. It is full of stripped back important reminders of where marketing has now moved to - which is away from the advertising model of old. This book's one thing, it's own 'Difference', is that it delivers on it's promise in less than a few hours reading and culminates in a one page model that you can immediately go and apply to your projects. And that's the stuff I love. I wish more marketing and business books got to the point quickly and delivered practical take-aways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks substance, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Kindle Edition)
Every product or service needs to be differentiated in some way - to stand out in the crowd. This book tries to offer a new perspective on how to achieve this. The premise on which it's based is so weak I cannot even recall it having read the book a few weeks ago, in a couple of hours, and having been unimpressed by it. It left me feeling that it lacks substance; just another flimsy idea being peddled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book if you're in business in 2015 and want to be in 2016, 7 Jun. 2015
This book was bought for me as a present.

There was something bugging me about how I have been setting up my business and Bernadette nailed it. Without giving spoilers in my review this easy to read book has given me the opportunity to rethink how I'm coming at my business.

With real life examples mapped onto the mindset Bernadette recommends I have not got some real life ideas and the beginning of a new direction. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read book about gaining love, trust and engagement from your customers, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bernadette's latest book is a pocket sized gem about increasing engagement with your target market. The Difference model she's created looks at six core areas and helps you to delve deeper into what matters to your audience. You can see examples of the model at the website she's a set up for this www.difference.is
At just under 100 pages it doesn't take long to read and could make a big difference to how you do your marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great & Inspiring Little Book, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really love this book. I think that the author has such a warm and likeable style. For me (an artist) and a beginner in the world of business and marketing this book bridged a gap beautifully. I recommend it to people who like a simple, empathic and engaging style as well as good information. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A a Story Well Told Leads to Business Success, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Kindle Edition)
Bernadette's book has a real passionate message with a sensible, understandable approach. If you are running marketing for any business I would highly recommend reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews