Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2014
I downloaded the first of these books as a freebie and very quickly downloaded the entire series, I love that each book has some kind of mystery as well as romance. I loved seeing a bit more of Sean in this one as you don't know a lot about him from the other books in the series, but he comes into his own in this one, it's great to see his relationship with his father change and develop and you get to find out why Sean didn't want to follow Callaway tradition and go into some sort of emergency service, he has secrets from his childhood that no one knows, till Jessica comes along and changes his world and unlocks mysteries and secrets, together they discover a history of blackmail, arson, deception, lies, adultery and maybe even murder! It's very exciting! I would definitely read these books in order though as each book, although about one specific Callaway, also includes each member of the Callaway clan and how their lives are progressing from one book to the next. I can't wait for #6!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
All a Heart Needs (Callaways #5) Barbara Freethy

3 Stars

We first meet Jessica in the previous book when her son, Kyle was kidnapped along with Nicole and Ryan’s son Brandon. It turned out the boys were identical twins so once they had been found safe and sound Jessica decided to move closer to Brandon so they could grow up together. The house she moves into just happens to be the one where a fire broke out twenty years earlier killing a Seans best pal, and was the incident that caused Sean to not want to carry on the family tradition of being a fire fighter.

The Callaways are a force to be reckoned with, and the majority of them serve the public in one way or another, mainly in the fire service, so obviously the series does tend to lean strongly toward fire related issues. I had kind of hoped though that as Sean is the black sheep and decided to go into music instead that this book would give us a rest from fires and focus more on musicians…..rock stars are exciting too! But there was still a strong fire related storyline here and I was rather disappointed that it went in that direction.

I really really don’t want to start having a downer on this series, I love this genre and I want to love all the Callaways, but for heavens sake how much drama can one family have and why does each half of every couple have to have an issue? I just feel like it’s all getting too much and perhaps it’s time I had a few days rest before reading anymore of the set.

Copy supplied for review
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
The black sheep of the Callaway family finds himself reliving the biggest tragedy of his life when a young single mother moves into the home where his childhood friend died in a fire.

Sean Callaway has broken from his family's tradition of service to the community through work as a fire fighter or something equally useful. Instead, he's thrown himself into his band and is in the process of launching his own recording studio. He's an easy going guy, but his friendly personality masks a deep guilt over the death of a little girl he knew as a child. He believes it was his fault she was in her home when a deadly fire broke out. Worse, he believes his own father blames him, too.

All hell breaks out when widow Jessica Schilling moves into that very house. We (and Sean) met Jessica back in BETWEEN NOW AND FOREVER. Her stepson is Sean's autistic nephew Brandon's twin brother. Brandon's condition seems to improve when he's around his twin, so Jessica has moved to San Francisco so the boys can grow up together. Sean insists he's not getting involved with Jessica--too much baggage there, too much at stake if things don't work out. Nevertheless, he's drawn to her and to the mystery that her home represents.

It is soon apparent that there's more to that fire twenty years ago than careless smoking. Someone wants the truth to stay buried, and is willing to kill--again--to make sure that it does.

The mystery here is intriguing, but I just didn't sense a real connection between Sean and Jessica. He's too emotionally unavailable. I get that there's a reason for this and that it is something he struggles with over the course of the book, but I never quite warm up to him. Jessica is a sympathetic character, but she's probably the least unique of Freethy's Callaways series heroines. No firm convictions. Her dance aspirations are vague and don't really impact the plot until the end.

This one just doesn't sparkle for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Another must read no putting down book. Lots of twists and turns, surprises and loving. All the Callaway books just flow and get better an better.
Can't deside if it's the best, because they are all the best . I can't wait for more
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Have read and enjoyed many of her books and borrowed this one from the library. Was disappointed by the cover art in the first place, these people look about 17 and 18, not the 27 and 28 of the characters, and also not how I would picture them from the story. I would prefer not to see figures on the cover and keep the people in my imagination. I found it difficult to believe that a woman who was a professional dancer would not keep her body fit with any exercise or dance classes over the years, and could then just take up being a dance teacher without any training.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Yet another brilliant book by Barbara Freethy. Was definitely worth the wait. Read it in one sitting as I couldn't wait to finish it. Looking forward to the next one already.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Read via local elibrary. I liked this story but did get bit fed up with sean and jessicas no romance attitude. The suspense part was good, but issue re PC was predictable. Overall good, just not great.
Some issues, whiskey or whisky, son or stepson. Both used.
Story is 88% of book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Barbara Freethy sure knows how to write a great book that keeps you enthralled and wanting to know more. It was great to read, can't wait for the next episode in the lives of the Callaways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Another fab book from Barbara Freethy brill storyline as usual and a most enjoyable read. Can't wait for the next book in the series. I've read every book of hers and they never disappoint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Another great book love them all got the next one ready to read the callaways family is great the author gets you so involved with them would recommend this book as it is great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.