Customer Reviews


346 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (53)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually pretty good
This isn't the Robocop I remember but on its own terms I found plenty to enjoy. It's almost impossible to watch this and divorce it from the original (brilliant) film from back in 1987. That was a very different film - this one is a 12 certificate which perhaps tells you all you need to know. It doesn't have the wit or stylish verve and certainly not the violence of its...
Published 2 months ago by Richard Morton

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The new future of law enforcement
A remake/reimagining/call it what you will of Robocop (Special Edition)[DVD] [1988], the 1980's action with dark satire near future movie that remains a very fond memory for those of a certain generation.

As with the original, this version is set in near future Detroit, and sees Police officer Alex Murphy left on the brink of death by criminals, and brought...
Published 3 months ago by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robocop [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
very exciting film we loved it better than the original
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Deadpan Remake, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Robocop is the latest in a long line of remakes/reboots as Hollywood seemingly runs out of original ideas. Unfortunately unlike Dredd, which was pretty good this is more akin to Total Recall (albeit without the lip sync problems).

In fairness to the writers and producers they did try to make the new Robocop not a direct re-telling of the original, but that is to some extent where they went wrong. Samuel L Jackson's right wing opinionated TV host gets far too much air time and the opening segment, showing the deployment of US robot troops and drones in Iran (!) has little direct connection to the rest of the film. As for the rest of it, without giving too much away...

Michael Keaton is no Ronny Cox as the main protaganist. The original did have the malevolence of Cox's Dick Jones offset by the still devious but well meaning "Old Man" (Dan O'Herlighy) but none of that here.

Gary Oldman dials in his Inspector Gordon persona as the put upon scientist.

Total lack of gore.

Total lack of any humour (no "Mind if I zip THIS up?", or "guns, Guns, GUNS!" moments).

Far too much screen time devoted to the relationship between Murphy and his wife/son. In fact the whole premise of the film seemed to revolve around the mutual angst whereas in the original this element was relegated to a minor segment.

No charismatic police partner. Just an injured guy who spends most of the film in hospital.

No charismatic villain! Just a merc type guy with a beard.

The Blu-ray quality in terms of picture and sound is good enough, though with all the cgi being used hard not to get that part right.

If there was anywhere left to rent discs these days I'd recommend you do so before buying. Otherwise might be worth watching via streaming or Sky before splashing out money on this lacklustre title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars RoboFlop!, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: RoboCop (Blu-ray)
A huge disappointing remake. The film has no feel of its original and this new Robocop is no match for Peter Weller! Badly executed story and begs the question why this film had to be remade. Despite all of the CG effects there is no way you can beat the original ED-209's menacing voice and stand off with Robocop in the original. The story for me just didn't work. A cheap and nasty reproduction. Big thumbs down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgetful film not like the 80s classic, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. S. Coupe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robocop [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Not bad but not good too.. Still prefer the 80s version because I think this type film should had been made into a 18 rated so it shows a violent future of crime like the 80s version, but this version seems to be focused on disabilities and coping with life has a Robocop. Oh Robocop on a motorbike reminded me of the series Street Hawk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE ILLUSION OF FREE WILL,, 23 Feb 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Do I even have to mention the plot? The movie has been updated for modern times. The idea of security vs freedom/constitution is not really a debate in this film. The debate centers around using robots for a more effective police state. The film opens with the liberation of Iran using drones and robots and goes on to question, "Why not domestic use?"

I did have some simple plot issues. The robot aspect was made in China. Alex/Robocop is used in Detroit, but when he goes back to the shop, the shop is suddenly in Detroit.

Samuel L. Jackson plays a TV newscaster who favors the Bots and has some bleeped out words. Is it as good as the original? Does it matter? The plot was not as interesting as Asylum's "Android Cop" but the overall production was better.

Good mindless popcorn entertainment. Not weighed down with theme. No sex or nudity. IMDB claims one f-bomb which I missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Not as good as all the hype make out it to be not a good remake at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK but not great, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robocop [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
It's ok. I much prefer the original even with the clunky special effects. I did however watch this film with the outlook of a stand alone movie which is only fair. As that its ok a average sci-fi movie compared to the original it lacks black humour and bonding with the lead character. All this has been said before and by movie critics. It's enjoyable to watch. The best action is in the final scenes. Robocop the original has far more action and depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robocop [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Not a patch on the original, kept waiting for it to get going! Not enough action scenes,probably because they wanted a 12 rating? Jackie Earle Haley as the 'bad guy' is rarely in it,but Gary Oldman is good, I don't see a sequel any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas but they are diluted down to almost meaningless., 9 July 2014
By 
D. MALTBY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RoboCop (DVD)
On the whole there is a lot wrong with this film, but I can see the intentions behind this poorly executed endeavour. There needed to be some obvious changes to the original, not just to make it original but to fit with the events and attitudes of the day. The basic presence still stands however, that its just about as wrong as it gets to put the ability to kill in the hands of an emotionless machine. Furthermore as wrong to take a person and suppress those emotions to simply make them a better killing machine. When the original was made, the very idea of drones and profit making private armies vying for government contracts were more glimpses of the future than they are now. As we have made these steps forward, however ugly they are. Its a better time to retell this 80's core vest. However the subject matter, relating to the brutality of serious crime and the trauma of what would be done to such a person, warrants more than a 12 certificate. Which is why in almost all ways it really matters, this version falls short of the original. It fails to have the emotional impact needed because its held back on a leash by the unnecessary need to make it a more marketable film to a younger generation, who know nothing of the original. It's like putting a Disney stamp on a remake of something like Apocalypse now, Full metal jacket, Platoon, or saving private Ryan. Simply pointless. Even the great talents that are Samuel L Jackson, Michael Keaton and in particular Gary Oldman are not enough to save this watered down version of an 80's classic. In the mind vault of seen but wish I hadn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Update of the 1980's classic - not a bad re-make, makes some interesting points about the use ..., 7 July 2014
By 
T. Watson (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robocop [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Update of the 1980's classic - not a bad re-make, makes some interesting points about the use of drones in our own time. Only real gripe is that this is fairly violent film but no blood is shown really - it is like modern video games - should have been made as an 18 like the orginal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robocop - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2014]
£21.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews