Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars THE ILLUSION OF FREE WILL
Do I even have to mention the plot? The movie has been updated for modern times. The idea of security vs freedom/constitution is not really a debate in this film. The debate centers around using robots for a more effective police state. The film opens with the liberation of Iran using drones and robots and goes on to question, "Why not domestic use?"

I...
Published 1 month ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why ?
I watched it up to the point where they customised him for the 'kids' When will film makers make something original ? Another, pointless remake, of a good film !
Published 4 days ago by Russ Nutter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars THE ILLUSION OF FREE WILL, 23 Feb 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Do I even have to mention the plot? The movie has been updated for modern times. The idea of security vs freedom/constitution is not really a debate in this film. The debate centers around using robots for a more effective police state. The film opens with the liberation of Iran using drones and robots and goes on to question, "Why not domestic use?"

I did have some simple plot issues. The robot aspect was made in China. Alex/Robocop is used in Detroit, but when he goes back to the shop, the shop is suddenly in Detroit.

Alex's plea to "kill me" once he lost his limbs reminded me of "Johnny Got His Gun" but the film never returned to that theme.

Samuel L. Jackson plays a TV newscaster who favors the Bots and has some bleeped out words. Is it as good as the original? Does it matter? The plot was not as interesting as Asylum's "Android Cop" but the overall production was better.

Good mindless popcorn entertainment. Not weighed down with theme. No sex or nudity. IMDB claims one f-bomb which I missed.

3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First-Rate Reboot!, 11 Feb 2014
By 
D. Woods (DURHAM, DURHAM United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
I grew up with the original Robocop film. I've always loved it - the great action, the wonderful swipes at consumerism and yuppie culture and the beating heart of the film that is Peter Weller. I was as sceptical and as annoyed as many people out there when I heard a re-boot (re-make, re-imagining - whatever!) was in the works, but was more than pleasantly surprised when I went to see it. It is a vastly different film from the original. While the central concept remains the same, different themes are explored and in great depth. Sure, it is nowhere near as violent or gory, but it doesn't need to be. The action is brief but well executed and the performances from the leads are all top-notch. There are enough nods to the original (including certain line-readings and a hint of the original score over the main-title) but they are not over-used. This is clearly trying to be it's own film - and it succeeds beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why ?, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Robocop [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I watched it up to the point where they customised him for the 'kids' When will film makers make something original ? Another, pointless remake, of a good film !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is America so robophobic?, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Like a lot of people, i groaned when i heard that Robocop, a classic 18 certificate adults only scifi action film was getting a modern remake and getting a 12a certificate making it suitable for kids just to sell extra tickets like the recent Total Recall remake and last Die Hard film. But, somewhat unexpectedly, much to my surprise and like Total Recall, the new family friendly Robocop is actually a pretty enjoyable remake! It's the near future and Detroit cop Alex Murphy is blown up by a car bomb and left for dead and brought back as Robocop by Omnicorp who want to replace the police and armed forces with robots. Murphy then sets out to solve his own murder by going after the drug dealer responsible. Yes the over the top cartoonish violence has gone and so has the satire that made the original such a hit but in its place is some dark humour and questions about what it is that devides men from machines. that and a good cast make the remake a pleasant surprise. Joel Kinnaman is fine as the new Robocop and is well supported by Abbie Cornish as his wife, Michael Keaton as the head of Omnicorp, Gary Oldman as the scientist that creates Robocop and the film is stolen by Samuel L Jackson as a tv talk show host. In any other original scifi film this would be a fine cast and there are some good though toned down action scenes. To tell the truth Robocop has been toned down for kids since the dire Robocop 3 and tv series so this toned down reboot shouldn't really be that much of a shock and while not as good as the classic original 1987 film it's at least better than the 2 sequels and tv shows that followed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless Inferior Remake, 11 Feb 2014
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE MOVIE ONLY & NOT THE BLU RAY AS IT NOT YET BEEN RELEASED.

Running time 118 minutes,12a.

Trivia.
1)Micheal Keaton & Gary Oldman have both featured in two separate Batman Franchises as Michael Keaton played Batman in the two Tim Burton movies while Gary Oldman was Commissioner Jim Gordon in Christopher Nolans Dark Knight Trilogy..
2)Jessica Alba, Kate Mara & Keri Russell all autioned for Ellen Murphy.
3)Michael Fassbender was considered for Robocop.

Review.

In the new near future of 2028 a husband, Father & Detroit police officer Alex Murphy is critically injured when his car explodes.

The multinational Omnicorp corporation see this as a ample opportunity to build a part man part machine police officer the name as Robocop.

The Omnicorp corporation wish to capitalise on Robocop & see there share prices rocket in creating billions as Murphy will be the first of many cyborgs created by Omnicorp as there aim is for a Robocop to be in every town & city worldwide.

As Murphy returns to the crime ridden streets of Detroit he must face human issues of who he has now become & the effect it has on his emotions that are conflicted within him & can he still be a husband & father & honest cop?

Timelord Thoughts.

I loved the 1987 Robocop as Director Paul Verhoeven directed a fantastic sci-fi hardcore violent political satire movie that at the heart of the movie had a great story about a former cop named Alex Murphy who becomes conflicted with emotions about his past life when they made him into a cyborg named Robocop.

I was 13 when this can out on video & I begged my mum to hire me the movie from the video shop & eventually she relented & I got to see what all the kid's were talking about at school & there's always something fun & exciting about watching a 18 rated movie when your not at age to view it.

This 2014 remake is just a 100 million dollar kiddie friendly toned down 12a piece of crap that has limp lacklustre action scenes, A Power Rangers type looking Robocop & a uninspiring dull script.

Let's take Terminator 1 & 2 as demographic which both movie's are R rated & both are deemed classics & then compare them to Terminator 3 & Terminator Salvation which are 12a which are deemed the weakest of the franchise why?, Yes James Cameron's non involvement doesn't help matters but I think it is because they toned down the sequels so all that was good from the first two movies is taken out of the later sequels to obtain a PG-13 rating so what you end up with is just a diluted inferior set of sequels.

Fox did exactly the same to Alien Vs Predator two R rated franchises brought together & then release a PG-13 movie diluting the movie of all that was originally good about each franchise hence an inferior movie as you know due to the movie's PG-13 rating not to expect any hardcore violence or gory scenes.

Even the original Robocop franchise didn't escape the ratings as the studio decided to make Robocop 3 a PG-13 & just look how well that movie turned out!

Anyway back to my Robocop 2014 review.

Why the talents of great actor's such as Gary Oldman, Michael Keaton & Samuel L.Jackson calibre agreed to be involved in this movie is a mystery as they deserves much better than appearing in this shambles.

Jose Padilha doesn't inject any heart or soul into his movie giving us toned down 12a action sequences as once again Hollywood have literally run out of idea's & no longer care about quality movies for mature audiences & would rather dilute classic movie's into kiddie friendly remakes to sell as much movie tie-in merchandise as possible than come up with something new & original.

Joel Kinnaman isn't in the same league as Peter Weller who made you care & sympathize with his version of the character s you felt what his Robocop was conflicted emotionally but with Joel Kinnamans version he's just going through the motions & his performance left me not caring at all about his interpretation of the Alex Murphy character.

The suit looks like either a cheap Power Rangers knock off or somebody has gone & crushed K.I.T.T from Knight Rider & moulded it as a suit on to Murphy's body as it looks like a inferior version compared to how excellent the suit looked way back in 1987 as you felt that Robocop was actually a cyborg in that movie but here in the remake it's just a man in a poor fibre glass suit.

This remake even lacks any decent villains for Robocop to go up against as the original movie had 2 great menacing & threatening villains in Dick Jones & Clarence Boddicker which were so brilliantly played by Ronny Cox & Kurtwood Smith

I given up on Hollywood ever making something new & original as they seem content to rehash classic movies & stick a 12a/PG-13 rating on there action movies.

Yet R rated comedys like The Hangover trilogy or horror films like Friday The 13th generate big box office & are less likely to have a lower rating so why not keep the action movies R rated?.

Reader's of this review may argue that the tone & story differs from the satirical version of Paul Verhoeven which maybe so but this remake has also stripped away the heart & soul from the original leaving a just a metal man in a empty shell.

I maybe stuck in the 80's were action films are concerned but at least they had mostly well written scripts & hardcore action that were made at a time when Hollywood took risks & made movies to cater for all audiences.

I've received unsavoury criticism on this review & had those comments removed so please respect it's my opinion even if you don't agree with it, I got no issues with people who have enjoyed the film but I don't need the fanboys preaching because my opinion of this film won't change.

I wont conform to writing fan pleasing review's of rubbish like this remake as I believe in always writing a honest review or what's the point in reviewing, Hollywood need to stop taking the easy lazy option of remaking classic movies & try & write something new with a bit of originality.

I came out of the cinema from seeing this film disappointed but not really surprised, So my advice would be buy the original movie on Blu ray & give this inferior remake a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what this lacks In other things made up for it a movie what should never have worked but it did, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
When I heard about this like everyone else I was skeptical about It but truth be told I enjoyed It to me It was a movie when first heard about should never have worked but it did.

Nods to the original such as the theme and and line's were made to be there own but still kept to original.

Joel Kinnaman own version of robocop was done beautiful In the original they never really touch too much on how he had to adapt to being a machine where as this one did.

the rest of the characters such as murphys family who were hardly involved In the original told a tale of how a family have to cope and adapt a loved one on death bed being turned into a cyborgand what effects it has on them.

characters like gary oldmans was brilliant.

only thing I didn't like about this movie that was the villian wasnt a big enough role In the movie but as i said what it lacked In something else took its place

people may or may not like my review of this couldn't care less my point is i enjoyed this movie and if anyone is interested In story telling movies and not violent action movies should watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Robocop as a superhero, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Like the existence of a bad book adaptation, this has no effect on the original - this is a film in its own right with its own set of tricks (read: satire of republican media in Samuel L. Jackson). The 1987 Robocop was always the best Judge Dredd in cinema only with an added Jesus complex, in this 2014 version they have turned him into a superhero and this - his origin story. Superheroes have been commoditised way past the point of being bland; the major problem though is what is done with the antagonists. There is a nicely defined big bad for most of the film (barely there but he's a figure in the film) but because there is so little in the way story they resolve that conflict far too soon. This leaves 15 minutes of "that'll do", with character logic driven into a brick wall in hilariously misguided fashion.This outing for Robocop is far from good; all it gets by on is the ever classy Gary Oldman and some energetically shot action sequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I’d buy that for a dollar, 10 Feb 2014
By 
R. J. Harvey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Expectations were low. The trailers were flashy and slick and seemed to be packed with lifeless CGI – but then, watching the finished film, you realise that’s the point. The action is shot with the eye of a modern gamer, clean and bloodless: this NuRoboCop is a film about sanitisation; about how we use technology to scrape the dirty human elements from our pristine institutions.

Joel Kinnaman plays Alex Murphy, the decent cop left for dead by a mob hit, but then brought back to ‘life’ with the help of a sleek metal exoskeleton. The scene in which Murphy sees what’s left of him – not much – is quite chilling. There are various forces fighting for or against the acceptance of a robot enforcer on the streets of America. There are also those who worry about how much of Murphy is really human, and how much is just a human face. Thematically, the film probably bites off more than it can chew, but that’s preferable to a film without bite.

There are a lot of dialogue scenes, many of them straightforwardly debating the ethical dilemmas at hand. Remember that lunch scene in Jurassic Park, where the only guy in the room to support Hammond’s vision is the “bloodsucking lawyer”? RoboCop has half a dozen such scenes, always relevant, never dull or dry. It’s a smart movie.

Samuel L. Jackson is the narrator for this tech-age tragedy: a Fox News-style conservative tubthumper, espousing the value of social discipline at the expense of the values of humanity. Michael Keaton is brilliantly slimy and charismatic as the appropriately named Sellars, a corporate emperor controlling every ingredient of his snake oil. Between Sellars and Murphy is Gary Oldman’s Dr Norton, a sympathetic Frankenstein with Murphy’s best interests at heart, but who’s too busy watching his tree grow to see the forest burning around him. And there is also Mattox (Jackie Earle Haley), a military man who fears he’ll no longer have the chance to scratch his itchy trigger finger.

There are a few flaws. As I said, the film touches on many themes, asking pertinent questions along the way, without exploring in great depth. Perhaps it could have been more focused. The music – other than the classic theme – is bland and characterless. Speaking of characterless, poor Abbie Cornish is wasted as a cypher again, reduced to holding back tears and defiantly swallowing grief as Mrs Murphy. The scenes between Murphy and his family are far less engaging than the banter between Sellars and Norton. And finally, the iconic ED-209s are disappointingly underused.

At the risk of incurring the wrath of fans, this is one remake which improves on the original in many ways. It may lack the boldness and humour of Verhoeven’s satire, but it also brings the story into a new era, with its concerns about drone technology, the perception of law enforcement in the context of competing 24-hour news, and the blurred role of government-approved media. It seems like the critical consensus on RoboCop is quite cold – but let’s be clear, this is no lazy reboot like Clash of the Titans or Total Recall. It’s a film that deserves to be taken seriously on its own merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oldman gives this lacklustre if brave attempt some heart., 16 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robocop [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The well known title is the same, some of the famous quips are present, hell even the ED209s make an appearance but this Robocop is a different beast(or should that be cyborg) than the 1987 version.
Jose Padilha in his English language debut as director, has the difficult task like all persons taking on the mammoth task of rebooting a franchise, in restoring our faith that 'this remake will be worthy'. There is some mindless fun to be had and some tough questions are asked but ultimately Robocop misses the mark.
At its heart the original Robocop was an allegory about a man rediscovering his identity. However, this new rendition chooses to abandon this central theme – due to Murphy's memory remaining complete throughout. Instead the story is more about his battle to overpower his programming, and overcome the changes which he has been forced to endure (although he does so through a somewhat implausible process during the second act). While this element was always present previously, the films decision to dwell on it exclusively meant that the most interesting aspects of the human drama were lost. The film is given the merest glimpes of greatness with the great pathos oozing from Oldmans performance(the spine and heartbeat of the movie, and a brave performance from Kinnaman as our hero cop, the film would become completely redundant without these two redeeming factors.
I know many that will hate this film and tell me why its nothing like the original(and i would completely understand that viewpoint)..but despite all its frustrating flaws it is a vision that has to be given at least one star for effort, one star for the cool effects, thought provoking opening and great suit design and one star entirely devoted to Oldman. Though it does have the potential on a second and third viewing to lose my intrigue enough to deem my rating obsolete. Dead or alive..I am giving it three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless, but not as awful as you would expect from a 12a (spoilers), 20 Feb 2014
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Alex Murphy is critically injured after a bomb is planted on his car, following his almost apprehension of a criminal.

His wife signs a consent form giving Omnicorp access to his body to turn him into the titular character.

But obviously there are sinister things going on because Michael Keaton is just too nice throughout the film.

It was a gutsy move to remake one of the defining movies of the eighties. The original Robocop was damning toward consumerism and how people are duped into everything, and also Robo was a Christlike allegory.

Not to mention a little bit of the old ultra violence. Truly groundbreaking stuff.

Now this movie is nowhere near that film, it's been watered down for the teens, and black was a horrible idea, but it's nowhere near as terrible as you would have thought.

It takes a while to get going, and surprisingly, the bits with the titular character are the weakest parts of the movie.

It's the scenes with Oldman, Cornish, and Keaton that make the film worth watching. Cornish is wonderful as the grieving wife, coming to terms with a decision that will change her life forever.

An underused Keaton is good, but like I've already said, he's just too nice that its a little bit of a giveaway.

Oldman owns the film, and he's the heart and soul of the whole movie, he's truly brilliant.

Jackson bookends the movie declaring that America is the greatest country in the world. Ironic considering that the movie is playing really poor there, and doing very well elsewhere.

There are a few nods to the original, especially the 'I wouldn't buy that for a dollar' line, but at the end of the day,its another pointless remake where the titular character is the weakest thing in it.

Worth it just for Cornish and Oldman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7a98fd8)

This product

Robocop - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2014]
£21.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews