Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2014
You would be hard pressed to find a laptop with better bang for your buck than this; £360 for 6GB of ram and a 1TB hard drive is good value by any standards. The only model that comes close to matching it is the Toshiba Satellite series, and having previously ordered one of those and subsequently returned it I can confirm that the HP beats it in every respect.

It looks far sleeker for a start, with the incredibly stylish deep blue design and slimline body giving the impression of a much more expensive machine. It also sounds impressive; you are never going to get audiophile quality sound from a tiny, tinny notebook speaker, but the HP has considerably more satisfying sonics than any laptop in the price range, with a chunky, balanced output. You could easily watch a film on here without feeling the need to hook it up to your main system. The CD/DVD drive works quickly and reliably to both rip and play music/video.

The overall performance of this laptop lives up to the specifications. Once you get rid of all the unnecessary rubbish that comes bundled in it runs smoothly and efficiently. It is easy to set up, easy to run and can run lots of software simultaneously without compromising on speed. My computing needs are essentially functional; MS Office, browsing the internet, watching videos online and from disc, listening to music, creating documents, chatting on Skype etc. You will have zero problems doing any of those things on here, and it works extremely fast out of the box. I don't use any high specification games or video editing software so can't speak for their functionality, but my music editing software works quickly enough. The screen on this model is excellent, clear and bright and high quality pictures look beautiful on it. The amount of hard disc space is huge, so you can keep massive collections of files, although I would advise users to partition the drive so if C: develops a problem and needs a complete reinstall all your stuff won't get wiped out. 18GB of the drive is reserved for disc and settings backup, which some users may find useful, especially if the machine crashes.

The laptop comes with a lot of modern features; you can sync it up to a smart television wirelessly, and it also has a HDMI socket making it very easy to hook up to your TV, and watch downloaded or streamed content on your big screen. The webcam is pretty good. People have complained about the touch pad but it works fine for me. You can get a cheap wireless or USB mouse if it bothers you too much.

Windows 8.1 has come in for a lot of flack, and it does take a bit of getting used to. Programs are now 'Apps' and there is a horrible start screen that puts you off instantly. Luckily, with a bit of simple tweaking you can get rid of all the unnecessary changes designed for touchscreen devices, and get the interface looking and working like Windows 7. I expected to have to buy an old disc and downgrade, but in reality the operating system is perfectly fine once you become accustomed to it. The initial setup sees Microsoft wanting you to register an email account and sync everything up with your computer - with the recent controversies about privacy and data sharing this can be quite alarming. However, it is easy to counteract this once you get running, by turning off all the synchronise and online backup features, and using a local account to login to the computer rather than an email account.

Cons? It is a bit noisier than my last laptop - you can hear the hard drive whirring and the fan will be whistling away if running on battery until you change the power settings. It isn't consderably louder than a Macbook, though. The keyboard can also make a bit of noise, especially if you are a heavy typer like me. The body can feel a bit frail, due to the sleek, lightweight design. Some users will consider Windows 8.1 as a drawback, although since you can't actually buy a new machine with W7 installed this is a problem common to all new machines.

On the whole, though, this is an excellent laptop for the price. For most regular users it will be fast, functional and easily sufficient for their needs. In terms of looks and sound it outperforms many more expensive notebooks. Hopefully it will have reliability to match the high performance, only time will tell on that front. Reccomended.
22 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Great looks - the blue makes a great change from the silver or black of the masses !,Ultra slim but still with an optical drive (CD/DVD player) Stacks of memory and quick to respond. Only down side, the touch pad - the computer works much better with a mouse attached.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Stars are for build quality, not the Windows8 OS and installed software.

Computer would be used for professional workflow (not graphics/video/gaming) so production set up really important.

Computer has very good spec. In terms of what software comes with it, it would work better with a leaner initial W8 installation. I did replace the Windows 8 tiles and other bobbing bits. A lot of stuff comes preloaded that I had to spend a ton to time deleting. Would have been nice to have had a choice of what to install.

Could not get external HP monitor to work with it.

In my view, not enough USB ports (1x3.0 and 2x2.0). Would have liked one more. (run keyboard, mouse, usb headphones, printer, external hard drive, scanner)

Blue is stunning and very good screen. Very nice build quality.

I use linux OS, so obviously tried to install. The new boot system makes it virtually impossible to wipe the Microsoft operating system to install Linux. Didn't get dual boot to work either. Will keep the computer as fall back system or until I can figure out how to get Linux on the system.

Would be nice if HP could help with installing the alternative operating system (hint!).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Bought this to replace my Dell desktop pc - I always find it amazing how much can be packed into such a small package. It's got 1 tb storage, 8 gb memory. All in all I'm pretty pleased with it - don't use it for socialising - only for e-mailing, a bit of shopping and a bit of web browsing. It does the job very well - would definitely recommend this.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 January 2015
Straight out of the box, I was very impressed with the refined, sleek look of the laptop. There is a nice smooth finish all round, while the laptop is lightweight and slimline. I bought the 4GB of memory version, with the intention of immediately upgrading it to 8GB. The laptop has two memory slots underneath, which are a little fiddly to access. A big plus is that the 4GB of memory is in the form of one 4GB module, rather than the annoying 2 x 2GB configuration that you often get which of course requires you to discard the existing memory modules if you wish to upgrade. 8GB is the maximum stated supported memory. Others may disagree, but even with 8GB of memory, I think that this laptop takes a bit longer than it should to boot up and open Windows when you switch on. After that, internet browsing (including watching videos), editing documents and all other basic functions work quickly and efficiently. The display is of a very good quality, and for a laptop the sound is more than acceptable. A lot of similar laptops come with 500GB hard drives, so the 1TB included here should provide enough storage for the vast majority of people (although it is 5400 rpm rather than 7200 rpm). The battery charges fairly quickly and holds charge well. I got several hours of web browsing on one full charge, albeit with the screen brightness turned down a little. Included is a 45W AC power adapter and the battery is a 4-cell (41 WHr). As far as additional connectivity ports, you get 1 multi-format SD media card reader, 1 HDMI, 1 headphone/microphone combo, 1 USB 2.0, 2 USB 3.0 and 1 RJ-45.

Windows 8.1 itself is the main problem for me. You can read more extensive reviews elsewhere and of course it does all depend on your personal preference, but the interface is horrific in my opinion. This version of Windows is almost trying to make the laptop seem like a phone or a tablet with the way the programs are listed as apps. The desktop looks cluttered and is hard to navigate unless you rearrange things. Before you have even opened Windows 8.1 for the first time, during the initial set up it asks you to sign in with existing Microsoft account, or to create a new one. This is really unnecessary. Clearly you can reconfigure things to make Windows 8.1 resemble Windows 7 to some degree, but it still is not ideal. Naturally, this laptop also comes with bundled software, or trial versions of the software, which is largely superfluous and is better removed. Next time I purchase a computer with a pre-loaded operating system, I will wait until I can choose something other than Windows 8.1.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
This is a replacement for an H.P. which has been used so much that it's almost worn out. I do like H.P. and I'm looking forward to many hours of use on my new one. This is my first Windows 8 and I'm learning but enjoying the challenge. One minor detail: a silly thing, but I love the colour! ( A womans thing )
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
love it always have last one was a hp pavilion desktop pc and loved that but this time decided to get laptop instead and not been let down getting used to windows 8.1 soon get used to it all in all great product and recommend this machine to any one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Deserves five star so far it was able to handle games like warframe and ghost recon at 30fps, system incredibly fast intel i5 hasn't let me down..battery life is pretty great...its hard to find laptops with these kind of specs, i recommend it to people who enjoy a bit of gaming too
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Only after 7 months of usage, there were some black spots on the screen. On being reported to HP they took the laptop and returned it unrepaired saying it's customer induced and they won't cover it under warranty. They are asking £279 for fixing.. I have used the laptop very carefully, there has not been any manhandling and no accident still they are blaming me rather than fixing it. Non sense product and service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Beautifully finished laptop. Performs very well and fast. Not too happy with Windows 8.1, but in time I will probably get used to it. The laptop was delivered to my door just a couple of days after ordering and was informed by Amazon within minutes of it arriving.

All in all I am very happy about the whole order.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)