Customer Reviews


620 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (149)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An 'Amazing' New Era of Spider-Man Begins!
This review is for Timelord007, who is a fan of the Andrew Garfield era of `Spider-Man'.

With the 'Spider-Man' movie series in doubt, it was unclear whether there would be another movie featuring the web-slinging superhero. It seemed like Spidey's days were numbered, but the web-slinging superhero's days on the big screen were far from over as a new era was...
Published 10 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
I wasnt blown away by this, im a spider man fan in context and was eager to get my eyes on this. It fell on its knees on a few issues for me. I wasnt wild about the villain in this, the cgi is too obvious for me, he isnt sadistic enough for me. Spiderman throwing out puns and jokes as he battles wasnt that hot for me especially as they werent funny hey.
The...
Published 23 months ago by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 140 41 4262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I expected more 4k-ish, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I expected too much, watched it on a 55" 4k samsung, and compared to real 4k it was the same as standard blu ray. Packaging was perfect though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor 3D effects, 21 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most of the film is in 2D and the 3D bits were a bit disappointing. Glad I didn't pay full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing but does the blu-ray come with DVD? Er no..., 18 Nov. 2012
Amazing film, the best Spiderman yet, but...............no DVD or digital copy in pack?

Triple Plays and Double plays, were the best features of most Blu-rays. Now these film companies have backed the UV copies i can only think i'm not alone in feeling ripped off.

UV copies are not compatible with itunes, so another 'software' is required to use this version. Where is the simplicity of the digital copy, the flexibility of DVD for various players?

We want Blu-ray for front room, DVD for upstairs and in-car DVDs. The UV copy has no place, so until these companies drop them, i can only envisage poor Blu-ray sales.

Buy the DVD versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very, Very Good Film, 16 July 2012
Like many of the reviewers here, I did have my own personal fears about watching this. Myself, being a lifelong Spidey fan (thanks Dad...!), can you really blame me?? Anyhow, I must say that the film turned out to be very, very good.

In my opinion, the film was not a straight-up remake of Raimi's original; I was gearing up for that sense of direction. No, it is a nice, fresh brand new rendition to the Spiderman story.

Some things to comment on:

-The Cast. I wasn't mad about Andrew Garfield's performance, to be very honest. It's just that Tobey Maguire 'looked like' Parker to me. Anyway, putting that aside, fans will really enjoy Garfield's take on Peter Parker/Spiderman. Basically, now, he is beat-near 'exactly' like the comics. He's funny (hilarious, in fact!), both in and out of costume and delivers Spidey's immortal one-liners very much like a pro. Still, while watching the film, I couldn't escape the fact that Garfield was missing something. Oh, too, he reminds me too much of Hayden Christensen (Star Wars Prequel films, anyone??)!!
Rhys Ifans was superb as Curt Connors/The Lizard. He had never been portrayed onscreen before, so this was his first outing, and I thought the casting choice to the character's final portrayal onscreen was superb, top drawer stuff. Also, just to point this out, it has been said that Michael Fassbender was first choice to play Connors, that is, until he opted to play Magneto in X-Men: First Class. Fass, you did the right thing!!
Sally Field, it had been years since I'd seen her in a movie role. Her portrayal of Aunt May was nice, warm, but underused. I also admired Martin Sheen's portrayal of Uncle Ben, but as another reviewer states, he does lack Cliff Robertson's warmth.
Emma Stone, I thought she was a pretty good Gwen Stacy, while Denis Leary was absolutely on top form in the role of her father, Captain Stacy.

- The Costume. I've not got much better to say than what others have already mentioned. Somebody mentioned that the Costume looked as though it had been constructed from old basketballs... well, whatever turns you on!! Thing is, when Garfield dons the suit, he is clearly 'built' to play Parker and it really works very well. One thing, I didn't like how Parker kept on removing his mask throughout the film. Yes, KEEP IT ON!
Then, there's The Lizard. Well, in fairness, he had been getting some stick from day one, hadn't he, really? To be frank, I thought he looked rather good, nothing to complain about. Besides, it was his first portrayal onscreen (to my knowledge), so be gentle, guys!

-The Plot. Overall, the plot is very, very good, despite some obvious flaws. I don't want to dive too much into it because, no doubt, not everybody has seen the film at my time of writing. So, I shall drop some hints. Basically, Norman Osborn, why his advisor, why not the man himself??? Peter, as he is bitten by the Spider... should have been more faithful to the Comics, I felt, even bang on the same as what happens in Raimi's movie. In this rendition, it is simply too far fetched.

-Character Negligence. This, for me, is the film's biggest flaw, although I knew about it from the beginning. There's no Mary Jane, no Norman Osborn and no Harry Osborn. Also, there's no J. Jonah Jameson. I know that there's always room for a sequel, but it still would have been nice to see these characters first time out, even if they didn't play a major role in the plot. I refer to the characters of M.J., Harry and Norman Osborn, specifically.

Overall, The Amazing Spiderman is a very, very good film. I really do recommend seeing it. As I've pointed out here, there are some flaws, but that is to be expected. People will have their own expectations and so on. Either way, it is a very, very good reboot, so go watch it.

Thanks for reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..QUALITY COMIC BOOK MOVIE, BEST SPIDERMAN YET!!..", 5 July 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an amazing film all round, great story that covers the origin again to start with but adds a few twists to it, for a 2hr movie its very well paced with plenty of thrills and action and packed full of quality visual effects, the cast was perfect, Garfield made a very good Peter Parker, its safe to say you can forget about the last three Spiderman films this is a bigger better and more badass marvel offering, the web slinger has now found the right balance, the lizard was an awesome villain too, make sure you check this out, along side the avengers 2012 has been pretty sweet for comic book movies!! This also has to be the most perfect use for 3D in a while with all the swinging around its top notch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok film good cgi lizard good download with no glitches, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ok film good cgi lizard good download with no glitches.spider man 2,is not so entertaining..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item., 19 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christmas Present.
Great Item...
Great Price...
Well Enjoyed by the receiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly Awful, 11 Dec. 2012
If you've enjoyed many a good comic transition to the big screen and particularly the last Spiderman adaptation with Tobey Maguire, well at least the first one with him, we all know 2, then 3 carried on the usual sequel issues of getting worse.
Then do not watch this attempt. Poor at best is a fairly kind assessment of this tawdry movie. At its best it is simply a brilliant money making scam by the studio to part work weary parents with their hard end money, so their children can go to see the movie. Whilst no genuine attempt has been made on behalf of the scriptwriters or it must be said actors, to make this a well delivered and genuine movie, irrespective of the customers who go to see it.

If you consider the recent Hulk movies, well this one is definitely down there with the Eric Bana version.

Truly Awful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Amazing, 24 Aug. 2012
I am a Sam Raimi fan, and was grateful for his efforts to bring Spiderman to the big screen.However, I always thought that Tobey M. was a poor choice as was K.Dunst.
This new film has corrected those errors,and has stuck much more closely to the original comic.Devotees of the comic all know that Spidey's first girlfriend was Gwen Stacy, and here she is in this movie potrayed by the wonderful Emma Stone.She does such a good job that we even forgive her awful,fake blonde hair. Ifans also manages the part of the "Lizard" with tact and pathos which is unusual for him.
The special effects are excellent, and Garfield is a lot more credible in the role than Tobey M ever was.On screen, Garfield and Emma Stone have some good chemistry.
By the way, you have to keep watching until the very end i.e. beyond all the credits to see a little hint about the next installment.So don't switch off as the credits start, fast forward if you can, to catch a further set of scenes that set the stage for the next film.
Roll on the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you're expecting Spider-Man to be amazing, think again..., 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a huge Spider-Man fan, this film delivers everything that the Sam Raimi trilogy didn't: long scenes full of angst and inner turmoil; shallow character development; more angst; bad visual design with drab cityscapes and poor Spidey costume; disappointing lacklustre casting; poor design for the lead antagonist - the Lizard never looked so lame; extremely poor script (SPOILER: fetching or not fetching eggs for Aunt May doesn't really work as a plot device or as a turning point in character development...); and the worst let-down of all... hardly any Spider-Man action. He's absent from most of the movie, and when he is there it seems that he can't wait to take his mask off and remind us (and everyone else..!!) that he's really Peter Parker. Oh, and [SPOILER] what the hell happened to Uncle Ben's killer...? More like a long and dull episode of a bad TV show than a decent wallcrawler movie. So bad, I'll probably give the sequel a miss. The franchise should have stuck with Tobey Maguire and Raimi...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 140 41 4262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man [DVD] [2012]
The Amazing Spider-Man [DVD] [2012] by Marc Webb (DVD - 2014)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews