Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the complete series one....
As a big fan of Stargate SG-1, I was really pleased to see that finally, the good people at MGM decided on producing this set which includes all of season 1, and not just the best bits. Many times i was tempted to buy the complete set from America, which ofcourse would have meant getting a region 1 dvd player, but its here....and its great! The first season after the film...
Published on 21 Nov. 2002 by Jackal

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To call this the 'best of' Season 1 seriously undersells S1
Season One of Stargate SG-1 was undoubtedly a mixed bag. I think many if not most fans would agree that S2 and S3 were better. However, mixed bag or not, to call this tiny selection the 'best of' S1 seriously undersells S1. There are only four episodes on this DVD: Children of the Gods (the excellent sequel to the 1994 movie and pilot for the series); There But For The...
Published on 18 Feb. 2002 by E. Grey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the complete series one...., 21 Nov. 2002
By 
As a big fan of Stargate SG-1, I was really pleased to see that finally, the good people at MGM decided on producing this set which includes all of season 1, and not just the best bits. Many times i was tempted to buy the complete set from America, which ofcourse would have meant getting a region 1 dvd player, but its here....and its great! The first season after the film is in my mind, one of the best, it allows us to understand the characters and there development, and does very well in following on where the film left off. I would really love to give this set 5 stars but unfortunaely i can't. The epipsodes themselves are great, presented in dolby digital and widescreen, but there is a real lack of extras, well to be frank, there is none. Despite this, its a must for any Stargate fan, buy it now....!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Through the stargate, 14 Jun. 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Most TV shows spun off from movies are uninvolving and uninteresting ("Blade," anyone?), and hopefully die and are forgotten.

That wasn't the case with the spinoff of the 1995 movie "Stargate," an okay science fiction movie that spawned an excellent television series, "Stargate SG-1." The first season is not nearly as brilliant as the ones that followed it, but it's a welcome change from distant space operas -- excellent writing, acting, and a sense of humor about itself and its characters.

The Stargate has been inactive for a year -- until it is activated, and a bunch of Egyptian-styled warriors come through and kidnap a young officer. General Hammond (Don S. Davis) pulls Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) out of retirement to learn what really happened on the planet of Abydos, and where these mysterious aliens have come from.

O'Neill and a small team go to Abydos and find Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) who has been learning about a vast network of Stargates over the past year. But when Daniel's wife Sha're and brother-in-law Skaara are abducted by the same warriors, O'Neill, Jackson and Air Force scientist Sam Carter (Amanda Tapping) use the Stargate to venture to where they're being kept.

What they find is an alien race who inhabits human hosts, the Goa'uld, and their ruthless slave warriors, the Jaffa. Carter, O'Neill and Jackson are captured by the powerful Apophis -- but to escape, they must have the help of an unlikely ally: Teal'c (Christopher Judge), Apophis' First Prime. Since Earth has now annoyed the Goa'uld, several exploration teams are formed to go through the Stargate and find weapons and allies.

And SG-1 -- Carter, O'Neill, Jackson and Teal'c -- encounters some very strange problems: a plague that turns people into savages, a people who live only a hundred days, a Viking planet, a Stargate explorer stranded since 1945, a little girl turned into a bomb, the seductive Goa'uld queen Hathor, and coming back as robots. And when the military shuts down the SG program, Daniel reveals that the Earth is about to be destroyed by Apophis' armies...

The first season of "Stargate SG-1" isn't the most impressive, though the last three episodes hint at the series' future greatness. And thankfully, it drops the usual space opera stuff -- instead we get Stargates, real military, and a very plausible reason why everybody in the galaxy (more or less) looks just like us.

It's graced with kitschy Egyptian-styled sets, lots of shoot-em-up action from Marines and Air Force, and plenty of planets influenced by Earth cultures, like the Minoans and the Vikings. Best of all is the snappy dialogue, mostly from the tart-tongued O'Neill ("Temperature--ground 1700 degrees Fahrenheit. Air--seems to be in pockets, ranging from 1500 degrees down to 200." "Sounds like LA").

And the makers add some poignant and/or warm scenes, such as the eager Abydonian teenagers celebrating with O'Neill and his pals, Teal'c reunion with his outcast family, or Sam bonding with a doomed little girl. All the characters get these moments, which really makes them seem human.

Instead of Kurt Russell's suicidal O'Neill from the movie, Anderson does a quirky, disrespectful, pop culture-lovin' guy with a hidden tragic past -- his "Cold Lazarus"double role is one of the best of the show. Tapping and Shanks are also great, as an enthusiastic geek and a smart, capable military woman. Sadly Judge gets shortchanged as the stern, honorable Teal'c, but he's brilliant when he's spotlighted.

The first season of "Stargate SG-1" is not the best of the series, but it's still a solid, imaginative sci-fi story with some great writing and even better acting. A must-have for sci-fi buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good enjoyable start to SG-1, but DVD set lacks any extras, 8 Feb. 2006
Episode quality...
Well, it's the season where it all began. For the most part the season is consistent in quality. It's not brilliant, but it's certainly not bad. A few episodes drag in the early part of the season but most strike a nice balance of watchableness. However, the season starts to kick into a higher gear in the last five episodes. "Solitudes" is a very enjoyable episode, and a welcome break from yet another episode in Canadian woods (a problem which blights Stargate SG-1). More importantly it provides some interesting character interaction and a genuinely surprising outcome. The episodes that follow take on a stronger sci-fi theme, a move which benefits the show greatly. Stories start dealing with age-old sci-fi themes of "Who am I?", mirror universes and alien invasions.
Sadly, the final batch of episodes is positively derailed by a dreaded clipshow, which is even more tedious if you've just watched the episodes recently on DVD. So, the fast forward button was utilized a lot within this episode. Over the season the writers managed to occasionally give nods towards previous episodes (for example returns of friends and foes) which ultimately for a more rewarding viewing experience, but a clip show is never welcome. But it's not a major problem, as the season gets back on its feet with the season finale.
Overall the season could have done with some bigger arcs, and the "threat" of the government interfering never quite works and gets tired quite quickly. If the government gets Stargate Command shut down or replaced the show is over, and if they don't succeed then the government just looks silly and doesn't become a credible threat. But overall it's an enjoyable first season and of surprisingly even quality considering they were just getting started. Many shows' first seasons are a lot more uneven than what is offered here.
Quality...
The film quality is quite poor. The grain is very noticeable, particularly on dark scenes. But, I didn't find it was bad enough to spoil my enjoyment of the quality. Hopefully future seasons will improve, perhaps when the show gets a better budget (Buffy the Vampire Slayer was similar, switching to better quality filming in season three). It is presented in widescreen though, which is a definite thumbs up.
Sound quality is serviceable but unremarkable. It's Dolby 2.0, and there's not a lot more to say!
Extras...
This is the worst part of the set. There are NO extras at all. Nada. Zilch. There aren't even subtitles, whether they be English or other language. Menus on the DVD set have had effort put into them, but they are a bit drawn out and thus an annoyance. To play each episode you also have to see four scene shots from episode, so if you a new viewer be sure to be careful as you will see some moderately spoilerish images when starting the episode.
Overall...
Episode wise it's a great start to Stargate SG-1, with very few down episodes. It's not demanding TV, it's not particularly exciting. But if you want to sit back and watch uncomplicated yet ultimately good hearted fun then SG-1 is for you. The production qualities aren't great at this point (but should improve with future seasons) and the lack of any extras is a definite downfall. But it's a good price for the entire first season, and is obviously the best place to start watching the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To call this the 'best of' Season 1 seriously undersells S1, 18 Feb. 2002
By 
E. Grey (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season One of Stargate SG-1 was undoubtedly a mixed bag. I think many if not most fans would agree that S2 and S3 were better. However, mixed bag or not, to call this tiny selection the 'best of' S1 seriously undersells S1. There are only four episodes on this DVD: Children of the Gods (the excellent sequel to the 1994 movie and pilot for the series); There But For The Grace of God (another excellent episode); Politics (a pretty weak clip-show that nevertheless has to be included as it is part of a 4-episode arc) and the outstanding Within The Serpent's Grasp. However, there were many excellent episodes in S1 that are *not* included on this DVD and anyone trying to get a flavour of the first season from this DVD is going to end up feeling a little baffled and short-changed.
For a start, important themes from Children of the Gods are concluded in The Enemy Within which is not included on this disc. Also many episodes which begin far-reaching story arcs continued in later seasons (which are available on DVD) are not included here, leading to more bafflement for the viewer. Quite apart from their value as conveyers of important information about the team, there can be no excuse for not including such excellent episodes as The Nox, The Torment of Tantalus, Bloodlines, Fire & Water, Cor-Ai, Enigma, and Solitudes.
It's true that not every S1 episode was a winner. Some, like Emancipation are downright embarrassing, and Broca Divide, Brief Candle, and The First Commandment also have their less than stellar moments. However, with the exception of Emancipation, there isn't a single S1 episode that doesn't have *some* merit; something that can't be necessarily be said about some S4 and S5 episodes which are being granted a DVD release.
What is even more galling is that the far more 'patchy' fourth season of Stargate has been released in its entirety by MGM simply because it was filmed on 35mm and S1 wasn't. The film quality of S1 may not be quite as high as later seasons but there are scripts and stories in this season which are equal to anything produced since (Solitudes for one) and in some cases superior to almost every Stargate episode produced later (The Torment of Tantalus) in fidelity to the original themes of the Stargate feature film and originality of storyline.
So, great to have some S1 episodes on DVD, but how much more satisfying if MGM had released them all in a boxset for Region 2 viewers as well as for Region 1 viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series, bad DVD, 17 July 2004
By 
Eyal Teler (Jerusalem Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD contains the start (double episode) and end (three episodes) of series 1. The first episode is an expanded version of what I remember, and other reviews have commented about that. I like this version. This is a good series, which manages to end the episode with enough of a cliff hanger to make you want to see the next episode, which isn't on the DVD. The same problem exists with the last three episodes, whose story arc ends on the next season, and therefore isn't on the DVD. As a result the DVD isn't all that satisfying as is. Technically, this isn't a "best of" DVD, as it claims to be, but just the start and end of the season. Politics is a boring episode, mainly showing parts of previous episodes, and while it serves to give a glimpse of what's missing from the DVD, I skipped most of it.
The DVD itself is a pretty sorry example of its kind. First of all, the video quality is one of the worst I've seen. It's very grainy and quite distracting at times. The box says "widescreen version" but apart from the menu, it was fullscreen (this may be Amazon's fault -- the DVD wasn't shrink wrapped, unlike others, so it's possible that it's the wrong box). There are no extras, and it's even impossible to move from one episode to the next by skipping to the next chapter, which is what I usually do when I don't want to see the end credits. At least there are subtitles for the hearing impaired (which, as sometimes happens with DVDs, take an occasional license to deviate a bit from the actual words being said).
I bought this DVD on a sale at Amazon, and for that price I think it's decent value. The normal price seems too high to me for the value that this DVD provides. It allowed me to refresh my memory about the first season, and was enjoyable for that. It's also a good way to tie in to the second season for those who want to buy just the second. However, I doubt there are many such people. Most people would prefer buying the complete first season, which provides over four times the number of episodes for a little over twice the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic season, great to see the team as they were..., 5 April 2003
I have been patiently holding off buying individual dvds of sg1 for years, waiting for the individual series' to come out as a whole. Well, I finally got my hands on it, and all I can say is, it was a FANTASTIC 15 hours! It was so good to see the first episodes, and compare the characters. Despite it being the first season of a show the writing is superb and the acting even better. A great continuation from the film, its funny, adventurous, thrilling and touching! Richard Dean Anderson is one of the strongest male leads in a sci fi show I have seen for a while, and the rest of the team do him a great credit. If you are a fan of the show this is a MUST! If not, then I would still recommend this item as a fantatic introduction to one of the best action/adventure shows (let alone sci fi) around. OK, so the lack of extras IS dissappointing, but they will come with later seasons. Buy it, buy it now, adventure awaits on the other side of the Stargate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start, Great Finish!, 17 April 2002
By A Customer
Although this DVD only has 4 of the episodes from Season 1, it does make up for this by including the special uncut version of the pilot. This alone makes it worth buying as the video release was different. There are many extra scenes, including a touching scene at Jack's home where Jack and Daniel talk about the recently captured Sha're. Another scene included shows Sha're's possession in it's entirety. Putting aside the graphic, full-frontal nudity, this scene is so shocking, it's great. I feel that this version is the definitive version as without the extra scenes, the episode doesn't work. As for the other episodes, they are great and action-packed too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Stargate SG-1 at all it's glory.. but poor quality DVDs, 25 Oct. 2002
By 
Bruno Pascoal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For any hardcore fan of the series, this is a must-have DVD pack. All episodes of Season 1 are present, each of them divided into multiple chapters, which makes it very easy for you to search for a specific part. As I said, any hardcore fan should have this as soon as possible to make his collection worth of a place in a Museum! The package looks great, and so do the covers. But as a DVD product it fails in almost every other aspect. The picture is poor and very grainy. The animated menus look like a videogame... an average 3D videogame, with nothing resembling the sights that the show offers us in every episode. And what about extras?! Where are them? No backstage footage, no biographies, no extra credits, no production art, no subtitles, no nothing. Just the first season episodes, plain and simple. Anyway, it's presented in widescreen and Dolby Digital sound, which is fine. Maybe I'm being too hard on the guys, but as a real fan I expected more. Even so... I would NEVER give away or sell this stuff, now that I've got my hands on it! Even if I read this harsh review before I paid it, I'd still buy it. Let's be realistic: it's more than 15 hours of one of the best show's ever made on TV. I reccomend it to everyone who likes SG-1, for, as it says in the cover art, "at the edge of the universe lies a gateway to adventure"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There can be 0 quibbles with the show, 26 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
and that fact (absolutely no quibbles with the show) mean, that this gets 5 stars. With no questions askde. Quite simply, this is the best Sci-Fi show to ever grace our screens, but is severely under-rated and under publicised, and in part, suffers from it's American roots.
Despite this, it's a first class show, with a top notch cast, and brilliant writers and the show really has a feeling of warmth and care and affection plastered all over it. It has a nice buf=dget and good SFX, and though not my favourite series, is a great way to introduce anyone to the cast and the characters, as this series does have some tour-de-force episodes for some of the cast, notably Michael Shanks, who excels as Daniel. And topped up with O'neill's dry wit, this show really has something for everyone.
A great starting point, and an overall must have- though I hope MGM will realese a better set in the future as this set is severely lacking in extra's when the potential for them is so great.
Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Through the Stargate, 11 Sept. 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Most TV shows spun off from movies are uninvolving and uninteresting ("Blade," anyone?), and hopefully die and are forgotten.

That wasn't the case with the spinoff of the 1995 movie "Stargate," an okay science fiction movie that spawned an excellent television series, "Stargate SG-1." The first season is not nearly as brilliant as the ones that followed it, but it's a welcome change from distant space operas -- excellent writing, acting, and a sense of humor about itself and its characters.

The Stargate has been inactive for a year -- until it is activated, and a bunch of Egyptian-styled warriors come through and kidnap a young officer. General Hammond (Don S. Davis) pulls Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) out of retirement to learn what really happened on the planet of Abydos, and where these mysterious aliens have come from.

O'Neill and a small team go to Abydos and find Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) who has been learning about a vast network of Stargates over the past year. But when Daniel's wife Sha're and brother-in-law Skaara are abducted by the same warriors, O'Neill, Jackson and Air Force scientist Sam Carter (Amanda Tapping) use the Stargate to venture to where they're being kept.

What they find is an alien race who inhabits human hosts, the Goa'uld, and their ruthless slave warriors, the Jaffa. Carter, O'Neill and Jackson are captured by the powerful Apophis -- but to escape, they must have the help of an unlikely ally: Teal'c (Christopher Judge), Apophis' First Prime. Since Earth has now annoyed the Goa'uld, several exploration teams are formed to go through the Stargate and find weapons and allies.

And SG-1 -- Carter, O'Neill, Jackson and Teal'c -- encounters some very strange problems: a plague that turns people into savages, a people who live only a hundred days, a Viking planet, a Stargate explorer stranded since 1945, a little girl turned into a bomb, the seductive Goa'uld queen Hathor, and coming back as robots. And when the military shuts down the SG program, Daniel reveals that the Earth is about to be destroyed by Apophis' armies...

The first season of "Stargate SG-1" isn't the most impressive, though the last three episodes hint at the series' future greatness. And thankfully, it drops the usual space opera stuff -- instead we get Stargates, real military, and a very plausible reason why everybody in the galaxy (more or less) looks just like us.

It's graced with kitschy Egyptian-styled sets, lots of shoot-em-up action from Marines and Air Force, and plenty of planets influenced by Earth cultures, like the Minoans and the Vikings. Best of all is the snappy dialogue, mostly from the tart-tongued O'Neill ("Temperature--ground 1700 degrees Fahrenheit. Air--seems to be in pockets, ranging from 1500 degrees down to 200." "Sounds like LA").

And the makers add some poignant and/or warm scenes, such as the eager Abydonian teenagers celebrating with O'Neill and his pals, Teal'c reunion with his outcast family, or Sam bonding with a doomed little girl. All the characters get these moments, which really makes them seem human.

Instead of Kurt Russell's suicidal O'Neill from the movie, Anderson does a quirky, disrespectful, pop culture-lovin' guy with a hidden tragic past -- his "Cold Lazarus"double role is one of the best of the show. Tapping and Shanks are also great, as an enthusiastic geek and a smart, capable military woman. Sadly Judge gets shortchanged as the stern, honorable Teal'c, but he's brilliant when he's spotlighted.

The first season of "Stargate SG-1" is not the best of the series, but it's still a solid, imaginative sci-fi story with some great writing and even better acting. A must-have for sci-fi buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children Of The Gods
Children Of The Gods by Mario Azzopardi
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews