Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bona fide classic!!!
What can one say about True Romance? The film is absolute class. It has action, humour, a little depth and an unbelievable all star cast (there's Christopher Walken, Gary Oldman, Brad Pitt, Dennis Hopper, even the guy who played Balki in that eighties comedy show Perfect Strangers). What probably adds to the greatness of the movie is the fact that it is Tony Scott...
Published on 16 Jun 2001 by joel.vandenbroek@btinternet.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Should say if comes in diferent languages.
Bought this film for a present, and I was pretty sure that will bring subtitles, but it doesn't.
I love the film, but should say on the description languages and subtitles. Apart from that, great film. Cheap and lovely for a gift!
Published 7 months ago by maria


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bona fide classic!!!, 16 Jun 2001
This review is from: True Romance (1993) [DVD] (DVD)
What can one say about True Romance? The film is absolute class. It has action, humour, a little depth and an unbelievable all star cast (there's Christopher Walken, Gary Oldman, Brad Pitt, Dennis Hopper, even the guy who played Balki in that eighties comedy show Perfect Strangers). What probably adds to the greatness of the movie is the fact that it is Tony Scott directing, not Tarantino, who never really seems to get the best out of his own material when he is directing it himself, as he likes to fragment the narrative a little too much at times. True Romance, in the original script, kept on flashing back and forward a la Reservoir Dogs, but Tony Scott decided to make it linear and the movie is probably a lot tighter and better for it. I could not recommend this movie highly enough and the best thing about the DVD version is when it says it's uncut, that's exactly what it is, whereas the VHS version says it's uncut, when, in actuality, it has been cut pretty heavily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Romance - Only in motorcity Detroit, 24 Oct 2003
By 
This DVD exxceeded all my expectations!! I had never seen the film before and brought it under the conception that anything by tarantino is worth watching and is it ever!! Gary oldman as drexl the drug pedelling pimp of alabama (who's been a call girl for "exactly 3 days") is a classic bit of casting, brad pitt as floyd the druggie roomate and christopher walken as the scilian mafiosa are fantastic. The special features are well worth a look and anyone who enjoyed the film shouldn't miss out. But the ultimate addiction for me is the love and chemistry on set of clarence (christian slater) and alabama (patricia arquette) its stunning and outshines films such as natural born killers where violence takes the spotlight although there is plenty of it too say the least. Their love story takes twists and turns so unbelivable that you'd never belive that they'd survive which just leaves you praying that they will. this is definately one of my favorite films and i don't regret buying it for 1 moment. it will remain a classic, obviously not restrained by the stereotype, for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine, Tarantino inspired movie, 31 July 2003
By 
Marco Busani "Proven Intellect" (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a great action/romance movie that doesn't pull any punches. Congratulations, to director Tony Scott for assembling such an all star cast of quality actors for this film; very few obscures here, in fact many of the smallest parts are taken by big stars of the acting industry like: Christopher Walken, Samuel L.Jackson, James Gandolfini, Brad Pitt etc. The movie benefits from an excellent script created by Quentin Tarantino. The movie is fast-paced, soaked in violence and has some moments of real humour. The characters of Elliot Blitzer and Floyd provide many of the comic elements. The Q&A scene is one of the highlights of this film. It has some hilarious dialogue and is acted superbly by Chris Walken and Dennis Hopper. Walken plays the part of Mafia mobster Vince Coccotti and looks like evil incarnate. Furthermore, Christian Slater & Patricia Arquette play the lead roles of a lovestruck couple on the run and in peril very well. The notion of Clarence being inspired by the voice of Elvis in True Romance also functions finely. We even have Tony Soprano or should I say Virgil a mafia hitman played by James Gandolfini, thrown in to further spice things up. Chris Penn returns to team up with Tarantino again as Officer Dimes, having played the part of Nice Guy Eddie in Reservoir Dogs. The Special Edition Dvd is crammed with specials to complete the package. The 3 commentaries accompanying this dvd are all interesting to watch, you have a featurette, trailers,Tarantino's alternate ending, aswell as many deleted scenes. True romance doesn't disappoint and neither does the dvd,top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film - Great Transfer, 29 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic film, but I'm sure that if you're bothering to read this review, you'll already be well aware of that. The script is certainly one of Tarantino's finest, and the direction is superb. As for the quality of the transfer, it's everything you'd expect from a transfer of a film that's over 15 years old. In terms of visual quality, it's not on a par with some of the more recent films, such as Kill Bill, but that's the case universally and I wouldn't expect anything more. It looks better than ever and sounds better than ever. The special features are nice, I particularly enjoyed Tarantino's audio commentary. If you like the film and have taken to Blu-Ray as a format, this certainly deserves a place in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarentino's First - Possibly His Best, 4 Jan 2005
I recently read Tarantino's original screenplay to "True Romance". Apart from the change in narrative structure (non-chronological), it hints to a bleaker, grittier urban drama, with a tragic ending. It would have been very interesting to see the final film in Tarantino's vision.
Tony Scott's sugar-coated adaptation works wonders though. It was made very clear in the script that the relationship between the two leads was very strong. Scott took this unison and gave the film a fairy-tale tone. The villains in the film are very colourful, contributing to the feel that Scott has established. Hans Zimmer's score does nothing better, than to enforce this vision.
The cast is one of the most impressive line-ups I've ever seen. Much of the film rests on the shoulders of Christian Slater and Patricia Arquette, both characters come off very likable with clear, clean, simple motives. These are career performances. Dennis Hopper gives good in his limited screen-time as Christian's ex-cop, ex-alcoholic father. It is in his time shared with Christopher Walken (being a one-scene wonder, like in "Pulp Fiction"), that he comes off at his best. The Sicilian scene is Walken's most intense since "Deer Hunter". Gary Oldman also gives another deliciously evil and memorable performance, the man is a chameleon, he is yet to unimpress me.
But one of my favourite things about the cast is seeing then-relative-unknowns Samuel L. Jackson, Brad Pitt and James Gandolfini in small, but memorable roles. A real shame that Jackson's performance was cut down heavily from the script, some of the dialogue in his one scene was very amusing, if maybe a little offensive to some.
"True Romance" is a brilliant crime drama, and a perfect (if phased) introduction to Tarantino's work, it is probably the most accessible film he's penned. People will always ponder over whether or not Tarantino's directorial version would have been better, but they can always rest-assure that Scott has given a wonderful adaptation, supported by a very strong cast. It could have been much, much worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Absorbing Trash, 3 Sep 2006
This review is from: True Romance (1993) [DVD] (DVD)
Give it ten minutes, thats what I did and was not dissapointed. The first ten minutes is a cheesy love story and i nearly turned it off, but once the premise for the plot is founded all hell breaks loose. When a lonely comic book store clerk bumps into the girl of his dreams while watching a kung-fu film in the cinema it seems too good to be true. They fall in love and he saves her from a life as a call girl, only to end up with a suitcase containing a million dollars worth of cocaine and some verry angry mobsters on his back. The film is one of those easily absorbed and understood plots that humbly give way to the action and drama of the idea and allow the film to run smoothly without having to pause to figure out what the hell is going on. The dialouge is masterfull and the conversation between Christopher Walken and Dennis Hopper about the formers heritege is unforgettable. The Charachters are well realised and fit well to the plot and the epic shootout is probably the best film gunfight that has ever been shot save for the final moments of Heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QT's best work, 6 Oct 2005
By 
I love this film. Pure and simple.
It's easily the best film Christian Slater has ever been in. The choice of casting Gary Oldman as Drexyl, a white man trying to be a black pimp is pure genius. Patricia Arquette is well suited to the role of Alabama. The supporting cast of Brad Pitt as the stoner, Dennis Hopper as Chrisitian Slater's father, James Gandolphini as the Mafia heavy & Christopher Walken as the Mafia boss are amazing. Tom Sizemore as a cop is a welcome addition as well (seems to be exactly the same character as Jack Skagnetty from Natural Born Killers).
It's a film that relies on the on-screen chemistry between Slater & Arquette throughout the film, and it works perfectly. The dialogue is fantastic, especially the scene with Hopper & Walken. Violence seem to take a back seat in this film, except for the scene where Arquette beats the crap out of Ganolphini.
All in all, it's easily up there with Tarantino's best work, Resevoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction. It's a shame it didn't do well at the box office because it is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars true romance:a classic, 25 July 2005
By 
K H "k21h" (Galway ,Ireland) - See all my reviews
one of the best movies i have ever seen! The Tony Scott film written by Quintin Tarantino follows Clarence(christian slater)and Alabama(patricia Arquette)as they set off to L.A. trying to offload $500,000 of stolen mafia cocaine. True Romance boasts one of the best casts ever in a film co-starring Dennis Hopper,Gary Oldman,Brad Pitt,Christopher Walken,Tom Sizemore and Val Kilmer . Excellent performances from everyone throughout the film is definitely the main reason i love this film so much and the screenplay is truly Tarantino. A true classic and must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do not miss out on this film, 20 May 2007
this is a film that has gripped me like no other, in the space of just over an hour i cried, laughed, dreamed and fell in love! i first watched it about 5 years ago and since then is at the top of my dvd pile and have watched it probably over 200 times! i love this film so much so that i am using wounded bird a song in this film as one that i wish to play at my wedding...not very romantic song but god it related to me so much! i have lent this film out to dozens of friends and not one has come back with dislike! but hands off...hes myn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing says I love you like a big bag of coke..., 6 Oct 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an awesome film about ''Love conquers all''. It always has been, and always will be one of my favourite films. If you haven't seen it, really, you must.

It features amazing performances by some of the best actors around (Walken, Pitt, Oldman,Hopper) and is written, if not directed by Tarantino. In my opinion it's his best story. Call me sentimental or a romantic but the film theme of love, wins my heart every time (which is why I'm such a fan of another little known Tarantino Gem - Killing Zoe: Killing Zoe [DVD] [1994]). I hope one day I'm lucky enough to meet a girl as sweet, loyal and simple as Alabama.

But don't let the 'love' put you off - there's plenty of drugs and guns for everyone. I think, if your girlfriend's pestering you and wants to watch some soppy rom-com on your anniversary or something, stick this on. It'll keep you both happy.

This is Tarantino's first film - and I find it quite interesting to watch with that in mind too. You can really see what he had in mind with it, with certain lines and a style of writing which makes much more sense now we know who Tarantino is: all the talk of the Sonny Cheeba films at the start for instance... Anyway, a great film which everyone must see, and having owned 3 or 4 copies of this on various formats over the years, I can say that this Blu Ray is the perfect format for you to see it on.

Full marks - 10/10. Using a slightly modified turn of phrase from the film might be best here: It's so cool, it's so cool, it's so cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Romance (UK Exclusive Limited Edition Blu-Ray Steelbook)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews