Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend to others
I needed this as my current USB cable is not long enough to connect my MacBook to my printer adequately. I have to position the MacBook sideways on the desk when printing. This 1.8 M cable is of a good length, meaning now, I don't have to move anything. It's of a good quality and comes neatly packaged in a small cardboard box which was posted through my letter box as I...
Published 8 months ago by P. Dhinsa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its a usb lead
this lead, part of amazon basic range, is of good quality, as can be expected from amazon.
Comes in a small brown recyclable cardboard box, the lead does exactly what you would hope it to, the 1.8m length is good, and gold plating in plug ends gives assurance of quality...even if it doesnt really serve a purpose.

recommended if youre after a usb...
Published 8 months ago by S. Hammond


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend to others, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
P. Dhinsa (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I needed this as my current USB cable is not long enough to connect my MacBook to my printer adequately. I have to position the MacBook sideways on the desk when printing. This 1.8 M cable is of a good length, meaning now, I don't have to move anything. It's of a good quality and comes neatly packaged in a small cardboard box which was posted through my letter box as I wasn't in for the delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic not budget!, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Skypilot "Skypilot" (Sedbergh, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Dependable quality and first class performance at a sensible price and simple, recyclable packaging.

A USB 3.0 lead that can be used to link your PC to any device with a USB 3.0 'B' Standard socket. If you are not sure what this is check the image I've uploaded to note the differences in the 'B' standard plug between USB 2 and USB 3. All USB 3 plugs and sockets have a blue plastic inlay.

Don't be confused by the 'backwards compatibility' claim. You can only use this lead with a USB 3 device, BUT you CAN plug your device into an older USB socket on your computer and it will work, albeit at a lower data transfer rate. You cannot use this lead with a USB 2 device - as the plug on the device side is too big to fit into the socket on the device. Only the plug on the computer side is compatible with both USB 2 and 3.

So do NOT buy this lead if your device is an older USB 2 device as it will not fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good USB 3 cable, 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB 3.0 A to B Cable (3 ft / 0.9m) (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a good quality cable, as it is well made, has gold plated tips and works well where we have needed. A keenly priced cable, it has the nice touch of the Amazon logo – not over the top and adds to Amazon own branded range.

This is the perfect cable for connecting your digital cameras, card readers, USB hubs, etc. If you're looking for a longer cable to replace a proprietary one for your USB accessories using the mini-b connection, or need a good quality spare give these a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good cable - good price!, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really good value cable – well made and a decent length at six feet. It is USB3 and carries the SS (SuperSpeed) logo on each plug. The USB A end looks like a standard USB connector and will fit in earlier USB versions, but the USB B end is USB3 only – check it carefully in the illustration to be sure it will fit your device! It probably wouldn't fit an older printer for example. This cable sometimes comes up as a Lightning Deal but is still good at it's usual price. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anything but basic, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
Tech 2.0 "impulsive gadget buyer" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB 3.0 A to B Cable (3 ft / 0.9m) (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You would use this cable to connect a scanner or printer directly to your pc via usb. Having used Amazon Basic’s items before I can happily say they are anything but basic.

It comes shipped in Amazon’s frustration free packaging that is exactly that. There’s no fancy stuff here, just a neat brown box and a label. I wish more retailers would package their products this way.

The cable itself is very well constructed and feels premium in hand. The usb connectors are both solid and don’t feel as though the cable will break away after a few months use.

The connectors themselves are gold plated though I have never had any problem with regular ones, I assume these will be optimum for data transfer and last longer in terms of corrosion resistance before they fail..

USB the cable is backwards compatible with 2 and 1 etc and it had no problems at all with my scanner. The benefit of superspeed/usb 3 being that where supported you will get faster throughput such as an external hard drive caddy for instance you’d really see the benefit.

An exceptionally well built cable that performs as it should at a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly acceptable cable for a variety of devices., 10 Sept. 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB 3.0 A to B Cable (3 ft / 0.9m) (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Perfectly functional 3ft long USB 3.0 A to B lead at a very affordable price. Not sure what difference the gold makes apart from it lasts longer and won't tarnish. I keep the cable to connect to a variety of different devices requiring a USB 3.0 B standard socket. Can't really say much more. Happy with purchase and it's a functional piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cable., 28 Oct. 2014
By 
debbie8355 (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Good quality, sturdy cable. The gold connectors have a snug fit between my printer and computer. 9ft length means plenty of room to position, move the printer and cable tie the excess off if in a fixed position. Much better than my old grey cable. It comes in a great quality, solid cardboard box so should arrive in pristine condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well made cable at a reasonable price, 27 Aug. 2014
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There's nothing basic about this cable. It's a well made decent length cable (I got the 2.7m one) that delivers at a fraction of the price of one bought on the high street. I got it to replace an older cable that had developed a fault between my printer and PC and quite simply it works

It's backwards compatible with USB2 so even if you haven't got the latest equipment to connect at the moment it's future-proofed should you decide to upgrade in the future.

Amazon Basics have become by 'go to' supplier for most recent cable purchase as they provide good quality cables at a reasonable price

An added bonus, their frustration free packaging means no blister packs or wasteful packaging to dispose of as it comes coiled neatly in a small box that is easily disposed of in recycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent USB 3.0 cable with measured speed of 121.4MB/s with WD green HDD, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the strength of the reviews here I purchased this (9ft, 2.27m) to connect to an external hard drive. I'm pleasantly surprised with the quality. As others have said, this cable is quite thick, the connectors look fine and appear quite strong, I doubt they'll break anytime soon.

The most important thing though is what's the speed like? Some other USB cables on here have bad reviews because they are very slow. Using CrystalDiskMark with my ICYBox external HD the WD Green 2TB HDD shows a sequential read speed of 121.4MB/s and a write speed of 117.7MB/s. This compares very favourably with SATA 3.0 speeds for a WD Green HDD.

So I'm very happy with the speed achieved with this cable. Highly recommended. Next time I need a USB cable I'll definitely buy Amazon Basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another reliable Basics item, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As always with Amazon Basics products, this cable came in excellent packaging - a simple to open, sturdy little cardboard box that fits through the letterbox. The cable has the orange Basics logo on it, but it's not too obtrusive.

The cable itself is good quality, performs as it should and has decent transfer speeds. It's very handy for connecting devices to your laptop, PC or USB charger plug, and given the length of the cable I chose (2.75 meters), it is especially useful for long range connections. For example, if you have your TV on the chimney breast and want it connected to an external hard drive down on a cupboard, this is a good choice of cable.

I have no complaints about this product - it's a well-functioning item at a reasonable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AmazonBasics USB 3.0 A to B Cable (3 ft / 0.9m)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews