Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend to others
I needed this as my current USB cable is not long enough to connect my MacBook to my printer adequately. I have to position the MacBook sideways on the desk when printing. This 1.8 M cable is of a good length, meaning now, I don't have to move anything. It's of a good quality and comes neatly packaged in a small cardboard box which was posted through my letter box as I...
Published 2 months ago by PD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its a usb lead
this lead, part of amazon basic range, is of good quality, as can be expected from amazon.
Comes in a small brown recyclable cardboard box, the lead does exactly what you would hope it to, the 1.8m length is good, and gold plating in plug ends gives assurance of quality...even if it doesnt really serve a purpose.

recommended if youre after a usb...
Published 2 months ago by S. Hammond


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend to others, 3 Sep 2014
By 
PD (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I needed this as my current USB cable is not long enough to connect my MacBook to my printer adequately. I have to position the MacBook sideways on the desk when printing. This 1.8 M cable is of a good length, meaning now, I don't have to move anything. It's of a good quality and comes neatly packaged in a small cardboard box which was posted through my letter box as I wasn't in for the delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good USB 3 cable, 9 Sep 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amazon Basics USB 3.0 A to B Cable (3 ft / 0.9m) (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a good quality cable, as it is well made, has gold plated tips and works well where we have needed. A keenly priced cable, it has the nice touch of the Amazon logo – not over the top and adds to Amazon own branded range.

This is the perfect cable for connecting your digital cameras, card readers, USB hubs, etc. If you're looking for a longer cable to replace a proprietary one for your USB accessories using the mini-b connection, or need a good quality spare give these a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anything but basic, 23 Aug 2014
By 
Andrew "impulsive gadget buyer" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Amazon Basics USB 3.0 A to B Cable (3 ft / 0.9m) (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You would use this cable to connect a scanner or printer directly to your pc via usb. Having used Amazon Basic’s items before I can happily say they are anything but basic.

It comes shipped in Amazon’s frustration free packaging that is exactly that. There’s no fancy stuff here, just a neat brown box and a label. I wish more retailers would package their products this way.

The cable itself is very well constructed and feels premium in hand. The usb connectors are both solid and don’t feel as though the cable will break away after a few months use.

The connectors themselves are gold plated though I have never had any problem with regular ones, I assume these will be optimum for data transfer and last longer in terms of corrosion resistance before they fail..

USB the cable is backwards compatible with 2 and 1 etc and it had no problems at all with my scanner. The benefit of superspeed/usb 3 being that where supported you will get faster throughput such as an external hard drive caddy for instance you’d really see the benefit.

An exceptionally well built cable that performs as it should at a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly acceptable cable for a variety of devices., 10 Sep 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Amazon Basics USB 3.0 A to B Cable (3 ft / 0.9m) (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Perfectly functional 3ft long USB 3.0 A to B lead at a very affordable price. Not sure what difference the gold makes apart from it lasts longer and won't tarnish. I keep the cable to connect to a variety of different devices requiring a USB 3.0 B standard socket. Can't really say much more. Happy with purchase and it's a functional piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well made cable at a reasonable price, 27 Aug 2014
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There's nothing basic about this cable. It's a well made decent length cable (I got the 2.7m one) that delivers at a fraction of the price of one bought on the high street. I got it to replace an older cable that had developed a fault between my printer and PC and quite simply it works

It's backwards compatible with USB2 so even if you haven't got the latest equipment to connect at the moment it's future-proofed should you decide to upgrade in the future.

Amazon Basics have become by 'go to' supplier for most recent cable purchase as they provide good quality cables at a reasonable price

An added bonus, their frustration free packaging means no blister packs or wasteful packaging to dispose of as it comes coiled neatly in a small box that is easily disposed of in recycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another reliable Basics item, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As always with Amazon Basics products, this cable came in excellent packaging - a simple to open, sturdy little cardboard box that fits through the letterbox. The cable has the orange Basics logo on it, but it's not too obtrusive.

The cable itself is good quality, performs as it should and has decent transfer speeds. It's very handy for connecting devices to your laptop, PC or USB charger plug, and given the length of the cable I chose (2.75 meters), it is especially useful for long range connections. For example, if you have your TV on the chimney breast and want it connected to an external hard drive down on a cupboard, this is a good choice of cable.

I have no complaints about this product - it's a well-functioning item at a reasonable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Basic not budget!, 6 Sep 2014
By 
A. B. Mcmullon "Skypilot" (Sedbergh, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Dependable quality and first class performance at a sensible price and simple, recyclable packaging.

A USB 3.0 lead that can be used to link your PC to any device with a USB 3.0 'B' Standard socket. If you are not sure what this is check the image I've uploaded to note the differences in the 'B' standard plug between USB 2 and USB 3. All USB 3 plugs and sockets have a blue plastic inlay.

Don't be confused by the 'backwards compatibility' claim. You can only use this lead with a USB 3 device, BUT you CAN plug your device into an older USB socket on your computer and it will work, albeit at a lower data transfer rate. You cannot use this lead with a USB 2 device - as the plug on the device side is too big to fit into the socket on the device. Only the plug on the computer side is compatible with both USB 2 and 3.

So do NOT buy this lead if your device is an older USB 2 device as it will not fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A to B, 6 Sep 2014
By 
D Deacon "pixist" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Arrives well packaged. Inside the box is good value USB 3.0 cable with gold plated connectors for a better connection. The 'funny end' is a USB 3.0 standard B cable and is usually meant to attach a usb item to a device. It's like a USB 2.0 standard B plug too and both will work. These cables, because the are physically alike, use colour coding to distinguish between USB 3.0 and 2.0. This USB 3.0 standard B is blue.

In use it works fine. It's a nice length not too long or short and a good price. Lots of cheapos this one is durable. The quality of a cable is important to get he best performance form ones device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another solid Basics range product, 11 Sep 2014
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have several products – mostly cables – from the Amazon Basics range and have not had a single problem yet. This excellent quality USB 3.0 A to B cable lives up to that quality.

The cable transitions smoothly into the end connector coverings smoothly, without any of those gaps you find in some other cables (that can become frayed into holes with repeated connection/disconnections). The connectors themselves are gold plated with light blue inserts and are easy to put in and remove.

I find the length of the cable (6 foot) to be ample for the job in hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly good cable at a bargain price., 4 Sep 2014
By 
Amazoniac (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Perfectly good cable at a bargain price.
Nice plain packaging means it's easy to separate out and recycle - no bits of plastic, just a plain brown cardboard box and a paper label.
The cable feels like a decent weight and works with both my Canon and Kodak printers as well as my Canon scanner.
The gold is a nice touch, but as copper is a better conductor than gold it is a bit pointless as, in reality, it would be just as good without the gold plating.
I suspect that manufacturers use gold because it doesn't tarnish like copper, so looks nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amazon Basics USB 3.0 A to B Cable (3 ft / 0.9m)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews