Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars96
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2014
Love this series - in my opinion, series two is better by far than series one. Has evolved into a lovely little undemanding period drama. Although Mark Williams might not be the Father Brown of Chesterton's canon (no pun intended) he plays it with integrity and grace, Highly enjoyable.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I really liked Father Brown Series 1 so I bought Series 2 sight unseen - and the whole show seems to be turning into something rather special now. Father Brown is as comforting as English Breakfast tea, but it also has the most brilliantly written crime plots (I couldn't guess any of them, damn it). This series is lovely to look at, with all the gorgeous 1950's clothes - but also a bit deeper than that. Mark Williams as the philosophical man of faith, Father Brown, elevates the series so it becomes far more than a whodunnit. I really hope we see this go into a third series. A fourth. A fifth...
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
We have watched Series 1 and 2 and liked them both. Kinda reminds us of the pace and style of Midsommer Murders (nice mystery storyline but light on the violence and gore. We will purchase Series 3 if it shows up on Amazon.co.uk.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
A beautifully crafted series. Sorcha Cusack brilliant as ever. Mark Williams brought depth to the title character.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Such a fantastic series. Mark Williams is perfect for the role of father brown. This series has the perfect mix of suspense with just the right amount of comedy in certain places make it wonderful viewing. Would definitely recommend all 3 series of this and really hope they continue to make more. Definitely the best murder mystery series in a long time! 5 out of 5 for every episode!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
A Superb series and a very welcome addition on DVD & BluRay.
(but why do the BBC hide it away during the daytime?)
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Series 2 far exceeds series 1. The story lines are more gripping and now Tom Chambers has taken over the role of police inspector, the stories have more 'realism'. However, never forget that these are stories 'for fun' rather than realism and the lack of violence and gore make them effective but easygoing period dramas
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
Just as good as the first series. They have really got the right mix of actors. G K Chesterton would be proud to see the latest screen efforts based on his books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Have watched my DVDs of Father Brown, fantastic as always. This is a great series and I am certainly hoping for more to become available.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Watched this on TV and just had to get the DVD as I know someone in the cast.
Super series
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)