Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 2 is a cut above!
Love this series - in my opinion, series two is better by far than series one. Has evolved into a lovely little undemanding period drama. Although Mark Williams might not be the Father Brown of Chesterton's canon (no pun intended) he plays it with integrity and grace, Highly enjoyable.
Published 9 months ago by Tracey Bonell

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Browned off
this series is supposedly based on the father brown stories by G.K. Chesterton, but bears no resemblance to them at all. the character of father brown, as portrayed by mark Williams, is nothing like Chesterton's brown, and the other characters are wholly invented. The plots have nothing to do with Chesterton either. Possibly none of that would matter if the series was...
Published 2 months ago by L O'connor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 2 is a cut above!, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
Love this series - in my opinion, series two is better by far than series one. Has evolved into a lovely little undemanding period drama. Although Mark Williams might not be the Father Brown of Chesterton's canon (no pun intended) he plays it with integrity and grace, Highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Comforting as English Breakfast Tea, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked Father Brown Series 1 so I bought Series 2 sight unseen - and the whole show seems to be turning into something rather special now. Father Brown is as comforting as English Breakfast tea, but it also has the most brilliantly written crime plots (I couldn't guess any of them, damn it). This series is lovely to look at, with all the gorgeous 1950's clothes - but also a bit deeper than that. Mark Williams as the philosophical man of faith, Father Brown, elevates the series so it becomes far more than a whodunnit. I really hope we see this go into a third series. A fourth. A fifth...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new Father Brown series, 15 July 2014
By 
Robert K. Green Jr. (Dallas, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
We have watched Series 1 and 2 and liked them both. Kinda reminds us of the pace and style of Midsommer Murders (nice mystery storyline but light on the violence and gore. We will purchase Series 3 if it shows up on Amazon.co.uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
A beautifully crafted series. Sorcha Cusack brilliant as ever. Mark Williams brought depth to the title character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal tonic for those missing Poirot., 24 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
A Superb series and a very welcome addition on DVD & BluRay.
(but why do the BBC hide it away during the daytime?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Father Brown Series 2, 19 Jun. 2014
By 
Jacquelene Murphy (Morayfield, Queensland, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
Have watched my DVDs of Father Brown, fantastic as always. This is a great series and I am certainly hoping for more to become available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Recommended!, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
Such a fantastic series. Mark Williams is perfect for the role of father brown. This series has the perfect mix of suspense with just the right amount of comedy in certain places make it wonderful viewing. Would definitely recommend all 3 series of this and really hope they continue to make more. Definitely the best murder mystery series in a long time! 5 out of 5 for every episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series, 18 July 2014
By 
Ms. GD Thomas (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this on TV and just had to get the DVD as I know someone in the cast.
Super series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brown wins through., 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
The second series of Father Brown keeps up the high standard of the first. Can you imagine anyone better than Mark Williams in the title role ably assisted by a wonderful bevy of actors. This is a must buy. Top rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series , arrived quickly and was well packaged . Just pure nostalgia and a joy to watch . The actors are very well cast , especially the lead characters . Made my Christmas go with a swing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD]
Father Brown Complete Series 2 - BBC [DVD] by Mark Williams (DVD - 2014)
£8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews