Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come to Daddy, Come to the Concrete Grove
In the Concrete Grove, Gary McMahon successfully fuses grim urban realism with the spiritual mysticism of Machen and Blackwood. There are other echoes here too; creatures wander abroad in the grey environs of the Grove that made me recall late-night sessions of playing Silent Hill and a particular breed of demon evokes the grotesque visuals of Aphex Twin. The characters...
Published on 12 July 2011 by G.R. Yeates

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The concept reads better than the novel - not great.
I enjoy my fiction on the dark and surreal side. The Concrete Grove takes dark and surreal to a whole new level. Praise for Gary McMahon for placing his story in the solid, real environment of a housing estate/project. Had he played out this tale of haunting and ancient evil in the more usual setting of a Gothic house or Victorian asylum there'd been little to hold it...
Published 3 months ago by JK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come to Daddy, Come to the Concrete Grove, 12 July 2011
In the Concrete Grove, Gary McMahon successfully fuses grim urban realism with the spiritual mysticism of Machen and Blackwood. There are other echoes here too; creatures wander abroad in the grey environs of the Grove that made me recall late-night sessions of playing Silent Hill and a particular breed of demon evokes the grotesque visuals of Aphex Twin. The characters who inhabit The Concrete Grove are, on the face of it, familiar types but they are soon fleshed out as the story goes on until they become people. They are distinctive, damaged and none of them come to quite the end you might well expect.
The Concrete Grove is a work of thoroughly contemporary horror whilst not being knowingly modern or hip. The influences, literary, cinematic and pop culture, are all blended together to create an environment that becomes as real as those depicted on the evening news and as disturbingly imaginative as you could hope for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urban horror at its best, 2 Aug 2011
By 
Concrete Grove is my first experience of Gary McMahon's work but it definitely won't be the last. This is a dark urban horror which isn't afraid to take its readers into the shadows.

We all know those areas of towns to stay away from. They're full of criminals and dealers, and we're happy to not live there. But what about the people who don't have a choice? What about those who have to live there? Concrete Grove concerns a few of these people, principally the mother of a teenage girl who's in debt to the local crime boss, and the man who might be the one to help her or the one to make things worse.

McMahon's creation is a frightening place. Crime boss Monty Bright has a tight hold on the area and the police don't appear too interested in doing much about him. A woman, Lana, is recently widowed and struggling to look after her daughter Hailey. She's in debt to Bright, Hailey seems to be suffering from an illness which causes blackouts and the only positive in her life is her developing relationship with Tom, the man who helps Hailey home after one of her episodes. While all this is occurring, an evil force is growing in the centre of the Grove and Hailey knows much more about it than Lana realises.

On the surface, Concrete Grove might sound like a fairly straight horror complete with a teenage girl in danger and a vile figure in the shape of Monty Bright, but McMahon takes the story into much deeper places. There are also several passages of gorgeous writing which bring to life the characters in a way lacking from some horror fiction.

Overall, this is a superb read. I'm looking forward to the sequel next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Concrete Hell!, 8 Jan 2012
By 
RT Twinem "freeloader" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The word concrete, the overpowering image of the Concrete Grove, the shear struggle for survival in a world full of harsh, bitter and destructive influences is what flows through this book making it an unbelievable and at times difficult read. The content is bleak, the subject matter is bleak and the characters we meet, for the most part are people at the bottom of the food chain struggling for some form of survival and existence. The story takes place in a run down council estate somewhere in North East England, and in such a locality there lives the takers and those who are taken from. The author must surely draw upon his knowledge when he introduces us to Monty Bright, evil personified who together with his associates Terry (whose prosthetic limb lends itself to one of the most enduring and horrific scenes)and Francis Boater a murdering psychopath for most of his life but finally finds some sort of peaceful conclusion. The only real hero, in an otherwise pitiful list of characters, is Hailey whose bad luck it is to find herself living in this concrete hell, but has the good fortune to be drawn to a form of magic that may prove her redemption. Hailey's mother Lana Fraser is a woman who will do anything to remove herself from the burning fires of this living nightmare and when she finds herself in debt to Monty Bright hopes that her friendship with Tom will be her escape. Tom receives very little sympathy from the reader as he is fundamentally a weak character and bemoans his life and his non existent marriage to the grotesque Helen. Gary McMahon graphically shows what life must be like living in the gutter style existence of the concrete jungle where only the takers succeed and the taken from survive by eking out an existence in a world that largely chooses to ignore them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the concrete jungle, 21 Oct 2011
It seems that, lately I am focusing on UK horror. the next load of books in my reading pile are all UK authors. There is a welcome renaissance in the genre, and leading the charge, in my opinion, anyway, is Gary McMahon. Gary is an author with an exceptional talent, his stories are in the main very downcast, gritty that elicit powerful emotions in the reader. Up hear we have a word that sums up this sort of thing "dour" At times Gary's work his hard to read, he doesn't shy away from the darker side of life, and what he puts his characters through is heart wrenching. Yet for all this doom and gloom, you'll keep turning the pages, captivated and caught up with an author who is truly gifted with an expectational talent.

The Grove, is an unnamed estate in the north of England, a place full of people who are lost from society, stuck at the bottom of the pile, trying desperately to eke out some form of life. From Hailey, and her her mother Lana, trying to build a new life, Tom desperate to escape from his duty bound care of his paralysed cheating wife, to Monty Bright a disgusting loan shark and his gang of truly despicable cronies. These characters are real, unlike those of your typical Koontz novel, the wearing of white or black hats, do not distinguish the good guys from the bad guys. For the most part these people are not likeable, they are full of flaws and shortcomings, so it says a hell of a lot about Gary's writing, that these characters enagage, and you do end up caring about them.

The fact that you end up caring for, and rooting for Francis Boater, Monty Bright's main enforcer, is a revelation. This is a big violent, brute, an evil man, with no remorse, who has done really despicable acts. Yet the journey he sets out on leads to some form of redemption, you will feel sorry for him.

This is Urban Horror at it's finest, that's Urban horror folks, not urban fantasy, you not find some spunky teenage girl battling demons here. This horror that is firmly rooted in the real world, for the main the horror that the people of the Grove face, comes not from some supernatural source, but from the horror of their day to day lives. This is one of those stories that even if you took away the supernatural element, you would still be left with a great story, yes the writing is that good. That's not to say the supernatural element feels tagged on. It deftly threads it's way through the novel, giving an otherworldliness to the proceedings, a parallel world, that has been twisted and shaped into a weird mirror of our own.

The ending of the is story is perfect, just when you think it's heading in one direction McMahon, kicks your legs from underneath you, and finishes the only way in which it could.

Everyone needs to buy this book, it is brilliant, if you want a point of reference, imagine the gritty urban realism of Ray Banks, mixed with twisted imagining of Clive Barker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The concept reads better than the novel - not great., 28 May 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concrete Grove (The Concrete Grove Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy my fiction on the dark and surreal side. The Concrete Grove takes dark and surreal to a whole new level. Praise for Gary McMahon for placing his story in the solid, real environment of a housing estate/project. Had he played out this tale of haunting and ancient evil in the more usual setting of a Gothic house or Victorian asylum there'd been little to hold it down and stop the whole thing floating right off the page.

It's all a bit random to be honest and I couldn't take it too seriously. You need to be a fan of the likes of Joe Hill and Adam Nevill, I'm not making a comparison!, to stand a chance of getting into the concept however; there are some decent ideas here and plenty of supernatural/horror elements.

I was intrigued with the idea of a portal or 'doorway' sitting right at the heart of somewhere as bland as a housing estate/project. I looked forward to the mystery of Hailey and her connection to an ancient evil reaching out to consume her. I was disappointed. Concrete Grove promises everything I love most in fiction but the reality is much different.

I can't happily recommend The Concrete Grove. It's OK in parts but I can't give it more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Thanks, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concrete Grove (The Concrete Grove Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
Really tried to get into this one but got no where and when I found it was the first book in a set of books I gave up. To me there seemed to be too many complicated and depressing stories going on, I gave up before I found the actual link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inner City Horror, 7 July 2011
By 
Hailey and her mother, Lana are trying their best to get by. They have fallen on hard times after a family tragedy and each have ended up way out of their depth. Hailey is in thrall to the strange powers that control the Grove while Lana has fallen foul of the local gangster, Monty Bright.

Lana is put through the emotional and physical ringer as she attempts to break the hold that Monty Bright has over her family. She also has to try and protect Hailey at all costs. The violence that Lana is exposed to is as graphic as it is harrowing, those of a delicate nature take note. Lana, however, has an incredibly strong personality and her determination shines through, making her a truly compelling character to read. Lana meets a man called Tom, who has dark demons of his own, and the dynamic of their relationship adds extra layers of insight into the novel's narrative.

The other character that really intrigued me was Francis Boater. At first glance, when the reader is initially introduced to Francis he seems to be quite a flat, one-dimensional character. He appears to be nothing more than a violent enforcer type who acts as the right hand man to Mr. Bright. It quickly became evident, as the story developed, that there is far more to Boater than I had first assumed. He is filled with anxieties and regrets, and I eventually found myself pitying him. He wants to change, he wants to be a better person, and he has had enough of being the 'Bad Man'. Kudos to Gary McMahon for creating a supporting player who starts off being loathsome but turns into someone you end up wanting to see succeed.

As soon as I saw the cover for The Concrete Grove, spookily depicted by Vincent Chong's evocative artwork, I knew I had to read it. It triggered a childhood memory that I hadn't thought about in decades. My maternal grandmother used to live in a tower block at the centre of a rundown council housing estate. Her home was a small flat high on the 12th floor. I recalled that I always dreaded visiting as some of the strange characters that lived elsewhere in the building frightened me. The claustrophobic lifts and stairwells also filled me with terror. The promise of a novel that touched upon my childhood fears of the unknown was too strong to resist

My favorite thing, in a book crammed full of favorite things, were the intricate lives that the author has crafted. All the characters that live in and around the Concrete Grove are wonderfully realised. I was struck by the fact that in various different ways everyone was lost or adrift. They are all looking for something whether it is escape, love, hope or redemption. McMahon really has a keen eye when it comes to characterization.

The Concrete Grove is a must read for all self-respecting fans of horror. The blending of ancient evils and the problems of modern society seems so obvious now I'm stunned no one has touched upon this before. I couldn't tell you the last time a read a novel in a single sitting. More often than not, I am distracted by real life and need to dip in and out of anything that I read, not so with The Concrete Grove. There is something wonderfully compelling about McMahon's writing. I genuinely found it difficult to tear myself away. My usual cry of 'just a few more pages' swiftly became `just the rest of the novel'.

The best news is, this is a trilogy, so there will be another two books. The second book, Silent Voices, is due to be released in April 2012.

The Concrete Grove is published by Solaris and released on 7th July 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange imagery, 1 Jan 2013
A ghost having sex with a manatee? Strange imagery abounds in Gary McMahon's The Concrete Grove, the first part in a trilogy about a rundown housing development that's apparently also a portal into another dimension.

Single-parent Lana, her daughter Hailey and another resident of the area called Tom come into contact with the effects of this another realm while dodging a local loanshark and dogs wearing human faces. It's a slow boil, and murky throughout; things progress very slowly and not much is revealed. What are the hummingbirds? Or the things in the TVs? By the end of the book I'm not much wiser about any of what I read.

While the writing is reasonably fluent, the pacing is a bit odd. Stylewise it seems like a cross between young adult fantasy and dark fantasy. It's all very disconcerting, but not in a nice, giggly way. I admit I may have issues with this sort of suburban fantasy; while unicorns in bars might be intended to inspire awe, my own reaction is more on the lines of damn, that's just ridiculous.

In the end the book just seems like a mess. There're many ideas here but none of them are reasonably well explored or explained. Sure, weird for weird's sake can be ok, but not if the weirdness comes consistently in such droves that it overwhelms everything else. The Concrete Grove just overdoes it all, it becomes a smorgasbord of manatees and hummingbirds, yet it doesn't amount to much more than the sum of its ingredients.

A special mention must go to the surprise appearance of Arthur Machen, it's a nice tip of the hat but sadly so very incongruous. But so's everything else in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't float my boat (sorry), 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concrete Grove (The Concrete Grove Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
Have to have this book when read about it, sounds right up my alley. However the story just didn't float my boat. I found the fact of birds eating a dog far fetched, i like my horror much more...scary, and the author constantly calling the tower block needle annoyed me. The author was very good at setting the tone though, all in all would recommend but just wasn't my cup of tea in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concrete Grove (The Concrete Grove Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
Wow so different!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews