Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Tyler Carter is flawless
Absolutely loving it, downloaded this album around half a year ago and still haven't got sick of it, Tyler's RnB style vocals are extremely well done and give Issues something different to put them apart from other metalcore bands. Another reviewer stated 'if you want metal, this aint it' and well pointed out, if you are into heavy metal but not metalcore, don't buy it...
Published 8 days ago by radicool

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you want metal, this 'aint it
Issues. The first i heard of them was the opening minute or so of their single 'Stingray Affliction', which sounded like a mash up of Limp Bizkit, Slipknot and metalcore bands like of mice & men. And its true, the heavy side of the band, e.g. the broken vocals and nu-metal influenced areas are incredible. BUT. The clean vocals are abhorrent. Whoever thought putting...
Published 2 months ago by Harry Higginson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Tyler Carter is flawless, 13 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
Absolutely loving it, downloaded this album around half a year ago and still haven't got sick of it, Tyler's RnB style vocals are extremely well done and give Issues something different to put them apart from other metalcore bands. Another reviewer stated 'if you want metal, this aint it' and well pointed out, if you are into heavy metal but not metalcore, don't buy it! There is a difference between metalcore and other metal sub-genres, and I think the low rating given by the other reviewer is incredibly biased, don't let it phase you. The songs are extremely catchy, and it is one of those rare albums where you don't need to skip a single song. My personal favourite track is probably The Langdon House, i'm not sure why it stands out for me, I just find it impossible to listen to it without it getting stuck in my head. Although as I said before, every track delivers. My only fault is that the guitar work is very well done, but on this album you don't hear much of it, and it kind of gets overpowered by the vocals and electronic aspects at times.
Overall it's an amazing electronicore album with RnB influences and flawless vocals from Tyler, incredibly catchy songs and well-written lyrics. Honestly can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album that delivers on a promising EP, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
Don't let the 4 star rating mislead, I do highly recommend this album and love listening to it, however for reasons I'll explain this album doesn't quite hit 5 stars for me. Firstly it's just nice to hear something that's a bit different and is taking metal down a sightly alternative path to many other bands out there. The mixture of electronics and rap music with metal has been happening for a while now and some bands have really found a great formula for delivering some great fusion metal (Skindred, Crossfaith and TRC to name a few), but even then Issues have done well to introduce elements of R&B to metal. Tyler Carters beautifully pitched voice works well in contrast with Michael Bohns rasping screams that are pleasingly legible and not too murky to understand. The album has some seriously catchy hooks and some great samples. It's also nicely varied with hard hitters like sad ghost and borderline Club tunes like Late (don't worry this track's still plenty metal enough). However whilst this a great listen overall and a particular earworm of mine at the moment, it doesn't quite hit 5 stars for me. Certain lyrics such as "Jager got you faded, societies got you jaded" kinda kill the vibe for me a bit and show some of the more boring and less impressive parts of R&B culture seeping into their writing. Overall the lyrics aren't anything inspirational, although they are catchy and on the whole good enough to get me singing along. Also the album lacks a big riff or a killer breakdown, their all good but none really stand-out and the lack of musicality also means I can't realistically give this 5. Finally it's worth noting that I feel like the album starts to drop off towards the end after such a good opening 7 or so tracks the last 4-5 don't hold my attention as well. Still it' important to note that these are more minor Issues (don't hate me) and that overall the album is a triumph and delivered on the promise shown by their EP of a year and a half or so ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My girlfriend loved it., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Issues [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I purchased this product as a gift and it arrived swiftly and well packaged as it is a delicate item. I wasn't aware that it came with the CD as well as the vinyl which was a nice surprise. No faults whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
I bought this for my well fit girlfriend and she loves it :D
The album is aiiight in my eyes...

#worldpeace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pressie, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
Another one of my daughter's fave bands and she is in process of listening to this band who I believe supported many bands such as A Day to Remember, Of Mice and Men and Sleeping with Sirens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. B. Smith "Grey_orange_grey" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
Really fresh sounding album with a mix of influences that never sounds contrived. I guess some people will dislike the fairly prominent R&B influence but realistically it's where issues sound their best. The guitar work doesn't vary greatly but in my opinion it's got some nice technical stuff and never sounds too similar song to song. The new drummer is phenomenal , though i don't envy him trying to keep up with the riffage. Tyler's vocals are on point and the screaming never misses. Its also nice to hear a decent use of scratching and synths that feel natural within the mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dope!!!!, 20 Feb 2014
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
After having loved the Black Diamond EP and the single 'Hooligans', I had high hopes for their debut full-length. Issues didnt dissapoint, fantastic album from start to finish with the stand out tracks for me being 'Sad Ghosts', 'The Langdon House', 'Late', 'Old Dena' is a great interlude at the half way stage and 'Never Lose Your Flames', to be honest every song is an absolute banger and am soooo stoked to be seeing them in April.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you want metal, this 'aint it, 18 July 2014
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
Issues. The first i heard of them was the opening minute or so of their single 'Stingray Affliction', which sounded like a mash up of Limp Bizkit, Slipknot and metalcore bands like of mice & men. And its true, the heavy side of the band, e.g. the broken vocals and nu-metal influenced areas are incredible. BUT. The clean vocals are abhorrent. Whoever thought putting boybandish vocals that sounded fresh off of 1D's new single into the mix with incredibly heavy nu-metal needs their head looking at. The electronic sections are pointless and give a 'synthy scene-core' feel to every song they make an appearance in and there are bands who do this nu-metalcore thing much much better.
If you really like dubstep or electronic music as well as metalcore, you'll love it. But if you want some decent nu-metalcore bands, look no further than 'Restoring Force' by Of Mice & Men, 'Strangers Only' by My Ticket Home and 'Disgusting' by Beartooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Issues
Issues by Issues
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews