Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick movie!
Just watched this today, can't wait to get it on DVD. Kevin Hart makes this movie, by bouncing off ice cube's cool stature. Amazing to switch off and let the comedy sink in. Loved every second!
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. S. C. Wall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes fun, not always funny
‘Ride Along’ is the definition of a ‘popcorn film.’ It’s something to watch, but not something you’re likely to remember for too long. It does the job. Just.

It’s about a tough cop who takes his (completely UN-cop-like) future brother in law along on – you guessed it – a ride along, in order to prove that...
Published 1 month ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick movie!, 8 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Ride Along [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Just watched this today, can't wait to get it on DVD. Kevin Hart makes this movie, by bouncing off ice cube's cool stature. Amazing to switch off and let the comedy sink in. Loved every second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seriously funny, 10 May 2014
This review is from: Ride Along [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting much from Ride Along. After I heard about the poor reviews, I thought it would provide me with a few laughs, but little else. But it was much funny than I thought. I laughed frequently throughout the movie, the most I have for sometime and had a great time. It's not a top-class movie, but if you look at it for what it is, there's little to fault. Recommended for comedy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Ride Along [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Saw this when it came out. Wasn't expecting much, as not seen either of these 2 before and was pleasantly pleased that we opted for this film. Small cinema and a lot of applause at the end. Been a long time since I've experienced that !! Kevin Hart is so funny and I cant agree with previous comments re Wil Smith, Martin Lawrence etc, thought he was much funnier than them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes fun, not always funny, 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Ride Along (DVD)
‘Ride Along’ is the definition of a ‘popcorn film.’ It’s something to watch, but not something you’re likely to remember for too long. It does the job. Just.

It’s about a tough cop who takes his (completely UN-cop-like) future brother in law along on – you guessed it – a ride along, in order to prove that he has what it takes to romance his sister. Of course things don’t go to plan when they’re forced to tangle with a major criminal gang.

It’s supposed to be a comedy., but is it funny? Sort of. In places. And that’s about all you’ll need to know. If you’re bored and want something to put on to rest your brain, you could do worse than this. Ice Cube is the ‘tough cop’ and he’s not really known for his acting (let alone his comedic talents), but he just about does the job okay. Kevin Hart plays his annoying soon-to-be relative. Sometimes he gets it right, i.e. he’s funny. Other times he plays it a little too over-the-top and becomes too annoying to be believable. Laurence Fishburne turns up. Doesn’t do much apart from progress the plot into clichéd territory.

So, like I say, if you’re bored and this one comes on the TV, then give it a watch. You’ll probably enjoy it. Whether you want to spend too much money seeking it out is another matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Entertaining, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Ride Along [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The beginning months of the year are never the greatest time for comedic films, but you certainly can't go wrong when Kevin Hart is your lead actor. He's quickly rising to the top, starring in popular movies like "Think Like a Man" and "The Five-Year Engagement" in the past few years. Though his new movie "Ride Along" never surpasses some of his more funnier work, that isn't to say it's not good. It had me laughing throughout, and I'm betting it will do the same to you.

The story centers around Ben (Kevin Hart), a fast talking security guard who wants to marry his long-time girlfriend Angela. The only thing standing in his way is her brother James, played by Ice Cube, a decorated police officer who isn't exactly fond of him. In order to prove he's worthy, Ben is forced to go on a ride along and is quickly wrapped up into the scary crime-scene of Atlanta. As you can imagine, the hilarity ensues.

This definitely isn't a movie to take too seriously, just sit back and enjoy it. Hart easily carries the film and provides most, if not all, of the laughs. It may not be the greatest comedy out there, but it would make a killer Friday-night rental. Rated PG-13 for violence and language, "Ride Along" is fun and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable comedy, 29 April 2014
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
You've got to like Kevin Hart's histrionic comedy to really enjoy this buddy movie. It is not my cup of tea but it was just about bearable for an hour and thirty nine minutes.
This is a watchable comedy about a wannabe cop in love with a hard nosed detective's sister who goes on a ride along to prove himself worthy. It is all very predictable even the 'twist' but it is well done and its a good HD print and soundtrack.
Ice Cube is still cool even despite his co-star and the cast do a good job but you really need to like Hart to enjoy this. Perhaps I'm just too old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..GREAT COMEDY..", 2 July 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very funny buddy cop movie, its almost like Ice Cube's character from 22 jump street got a full length movie role! Cube and Kevin Hart are both really great fun comedy actors on top form in this! Good simple story, maybe a bit predictable but great fun non the less, there's nothing bad to say really, if you love a good comedy this is really worth checking out for a night in of laugh out loud no brainer antics! roll on ride along 2.
Blu-ray picture is good and there are plenty of great features too for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Ride Along [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I love this film really funny from start to finnish and I wanna see it again and again so i rate this film a 5 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'M CRAZY, BUT IN A GOOD WAY,, 18 Mar 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ride Along [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Ben "The Black Hammer" Barber (Kevin Hart) is living with Angela (Tika Sumpter) the sister of super cop James Payton (Ice Cube). Ben works as a school security guard and aspires to be a policeman like James. Ben plays video games and is not highly thought of by James. When Ben asks James permission to marry his sister, James wants Ben to prove himself by going on a "ride along." While James puts Ben through the comedy ringer, he is looking for the elusive Omar (Laurence Fishburne), a major crime boss in the city.

The plot was fairly simple and didn't develop the complexity or irony I was hoping for, i.e. Omar being part of Ben's on-line gamers. The comedy was akin to skit comedy with scenes being almost unrelated and the comedy of one scene not building on another. Of course one shouldn't expect too much from the guy who brought us "Employee of the Month."

The movie is a good popcorn film good for a few laughs.

Parental Guide: 1 quick f-bomb. No sex or nudity. Sex talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and funny, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride Along (Amazon Instant Video)
this film was awesome I love Kevin Hart he was funny as when he shot that guy in the shoulder by accident Ice Cube said he was crazy and all so he held the gun to his head saying he was crazy that bit was funny I would recommend this film to anyone give this a watch you wont regret it you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ride Along [DVD] [2013]
Ride Along [DVD] [2013] by Tim Story (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews