Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of the standard features on the Galaxy Note 3
If you have just bought a Samsung Galaxy Note 3, and need to know more about it, then you will find this book very useful. All the standard features and menu systems are examined in detail with comprehensive photos, and if you never expect to do anything deeper or non-standard - but still possible - then it is an ideal introductory guide.

The table of contents...
Published 12 months ago by R. F. Stevens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Some good tips
Published 7 months ago by MRS J E RIGLIN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of the standard features on the Galaxy Note 3, 17 April 2014
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have just bought a Samsung Galaxy Note 3, and need to know more about it, then you will find this book very useful. All the standard features and menu systems are examined in detail with comprehensive photos, and if you never expect to do anything deeper or non-standard - but still possible - then it is an ideal introductory guide.

The table of contents is well laid out and clear and easy to follow. The Index likewise is very useful. Finding what one is looking for is quick and easy, provided one knows what the name of the feature in question is, and with a Note beside the book it all becomes very simple.

Taking photos and videos is covered in great detail, making the most of your music, syncing to other devices, making local wifi and rf connections to adjacent compatible devices without using a network, using the facilities to best advantage, all this and much more is discussed in depth, even how to work around some of the limitations.

However this is book just an overview, and many of the deeper features are not mentioned, nor are methods for accessing them even though they are actually quite simple. For example: if one happens to be in an establishment with a wi-fi network that uses fixed IP addresses and does not allow DHCP, then it is necessary for the Note to be able to have a 'Static IP address' assigned manually for that particular network, which is quite simple if you know how, but not mentioned in the book.

If you are used to a PC with a nicely visible directory structure for storing files and docs and photo and songs, then you'll need to learn a new way of thinking about the filing system. The book helps a lot because while there is no filing system as such visible instead there are predefined named directory structures already available in the form of a search database; eg for music once into Library we need to choose across Genre, Artist, Album, Songs; eg for photos once into Gallery we can choose across Albums, All, Time, Locations, People, Favourites. It is a new way of thinking about how to use the machine, at first nice and simple but in the limit very restrictive; and again this can be changed if you go looking for the Files folder, but is not yet covered in the book.

The guide's text and photos are so tightly focused on the Note 3 with such a strong emphasis on all its excellent phone features that the book is actually much less use for some other Samsung Note devices, such as a wi-fi-only Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 edition, even though they share the same OS and many other facilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good guide, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought my first smartphone and although used to PCs this was all new to me. It was therefore good to be able to have a guide specific to my phone and this is well set out and answers most questions I would have wanted to ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was amazed with the amount of information that was contained in this book clearly the writer had researched this extremely well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some good tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars galaxy 3, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has helped me with some bit's but struggled to understand it as i have learning problem's i still read things like peter & jane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (My...)
£8.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews