Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FEAR ME AS YOU FEAR GOD
This is a somewhat interesting mystery as a who-dun-it as we piece together clues from found footage. Reese (Stephen Moyer) and Burquez (Radha Mitchell) exam cell phone camera and camera films of killings from a scene for clues. We know two people have survived the ordeal, but we are not allowed to know who they are until late in the film.

The plot does give...
Published 22 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A "Found Footage" Horror that Flatters to Deceive
A mass murder takes place in a deserted scrapyard, somewhere in the desert just outside of Las Vegas. The film opens with a very stylish sequence, where a camera pans around a frozen snapshot of the crime scene, the viewer sees charred and dismembered body parts lying on the ground, and a forensics crew gathering evidence.
The U.S. homicide authorities discover and...
Published 8 months ago by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FEAR ME AS YOU FEAR GOD, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a somewhat interesting mystery as a who-dun-it as we piece together clues from found footage. Reese (Stephen Moyer) and Burquez (Radha Mitchell) exam cell phone camera and camera films of killings from a scene for clues. We know two people have survived the ordeal, but we are not allowed to know who they are until late in the film.

The plot does give you enough clues as to figure out the culprit, but also throws in some head fakes. There are things which I thought was just bad film making, such as who films someone burning them, but may in fact be a clue.

This isn't the greatest found footage film or mystery out there, but will do in a pinch as a rental. Fair acting and plot.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A "Found Footage" Horror that Flatters to Deceive, 6 Oct. 2014
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evidence [DVD] (DVD)
A mass murder takes place in a deserted scrapyard, somewhere in the desert just outside of Las Vegas. The film opens with a very stylish sequence, where a camera pans around a frozen snapshot of the crime scene, the viewer sees charred and dismembered body parts lying on the ground, and a forensics crew gathering evidence.
The U.S. homicide authorities discover and watch some handy cam video film of the circumstances of the massacre, and hence, the movie basically becomes a Blair Witch style "found footage" montage of what took place - Blair Witch Project [Blu-ray] .
A group of passengers, including students and would be actors, go on a bus trip through the Nevada desert, and get stranded when the vehicle crashes. They happen across the apparently abandoned scrapyard, and start to explore the empty buildings and storage huts.
One by one the group come to grievous harm by an assailant wearing a welder's mask, a killer who doesn't use his blowtorch just for metalwork. The acting is a bit amateurish and wooden, and the shaky film footage becomes irksome after a while. You are told very little or nothing about the individual bus passengers, which sadly means that you don't care what happens to them. The scenes of horror are frustratingly mild (which explains the 15 certification).
One kill sequence with the blow torch is well shot, but a lot of the violence is suggested rather than witnessed. There is no film score, but then, there very rarely is in a found footage film. Most disappointingly, the killer is completely underdeveloped as a character - you learn nothing about him or her (until the very end), which means that they're never in the same league as a Freddy Krueger, or Leatherface, or Ghostface.
There is a twist in the tail, which comes in the last 5 minutes of the movie and I enjoyed it, but it doesn't quite manage to salvage the film from mediocrity. With the twist in the tail, I would give the movie 2.5 stars, but the insipid acting deters me from giving a 3 star rating. Overall, the film simply fails to satisfy as a slasher or gore-fest movie.
Furthermore, it is not insidiously scary - I didn't bolt upright from my seat, not once. I felt like I was watching an extended episode of CSI, and given that the film is supposed to be a work of horror, that's not a good thing. As most serious horror fans will know, if you want a to see a really good found footage horror, you need to watch a film like REC (the Spanish and American versions), or else VHS and VHS2 - Rec 1 [Blu-ray] [2007] V/H/S [Blu-ray] V/h/s 2 [DVD] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another ‘found footage’ film, 21 Sept. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evidence (DVD)
Although, to be fair, it tries its best to do something different. By now everyone who’s vaguely into horror films will be aware of the B-movie dumping ground which is the ‘found footage’ genre. You get the first half of the film where you meet whichever shallow, one-dimensional characters are about to get killed in the second act. Then, towards the end, there’s plenty of shaky camerawork and holding the camera right up close into people’s faces.

Here, we have all that, only it’s made clear at the beginning of the film that everyone has died in some weird massacre at a petrol station in a lonely part of America and we have ‘proper’ film-making where we see the detectives watching the footage recovered from the crime scene. Therefore you have the obligatory character who just won’t put the damn camera down. No matter how many people are chopped up in front of her, she still insists on filming every last second for... well, because the movie wouldn’t work unless she did, right?

‘Evidence’ sells itself as ‘not just a found footage film’ because there are segments of film where it’s not found footage. However, despite the bits with the officers being filmed ‘normally’ the movie could probably have been made without them.

Yeah, you get a little more to the story than just the regular shaky camera and people running through woods in the dark, bur, ultimately, there’s not that much more here than your average (or VERY average) found footage film.

If you’re a fan of the genre in general then you might like this. If you’re bored of found footage then there’s not an awful lot here that will change your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly different take on found footage, 16 Dec. 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evidence (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought this was a watchable little twist on the whole found footage concept. It comes at things from a slightly different angle which keeps an otherwise standard tale pretty interesting.

The film essentially follows a team of detectives trying to solve the mystery of a massacre at an abandoned truck stop outside of Las Vegas. The cops have to sift through recordings from various devices found at the scene in an attempt to piece together what actually happened. This footage adheres to the usual rules of found footage films - cameras, phones etc being used by a bunch of mostly pretty young things to record almost everything they're doing.

If you're not a fan of the shaky-cam style then perhaps this won't be for you - most of is is indeed very shaky. Much of the footage was "damaged" during the massacre so there's added glitches which provide an air of authenticity but can be a little annoying. There's a few jumps along the way, usually of the LOUD noise making you jump variety. The central mystery comes together reasonably well with an ending that just about makes enough sense to work. The acting is decent enough throughout, Radha Mitchell being the most familiar performer to me but she admittedly doesn't do a huge amount as one of the cops on the case.

Overall, a decent stab at a cross between found footage, police procedural and slasher pics even if certain elements (the setting, the technology, the freeze frame opening) sometimes make it feel like a glorified episode of CSI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shaky-cam whodunnit, 7 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evidence [DVD] (DVD)
US Law enforcement agencies use film and photographic evidence to solve thousands of cases; this is one such case - so the introductory blurb tells us.

I must admit - being a sucker for whizz-bang special effects - I was highly impressed with the opening scene, as the camera pans round the crime scene. I'm not technically minded enough to know how it's done though it is a wonderfully stylised introduction to the film; however I was a little disappointed once it segued into another first-person shaky cam number.

So the film establishes that there has been a mass murder in the middle of the desert, with a number of charred and part dismembered bodies as gruesome testamony. Amidst the carnage a camcorder recording is found; the only clue the detectives have to track the killer. So essentially it's a mixture of race-against-time whodunnit and found footage thriller.

I think what surprised me most was that despite a very able cast and a director with some decent films under his belt, it didn't really hit the mark for me. In hindsight I would have preferred a straightforward narrative (albeit) retrospectively rather than the found footage route - perhaps akin to Usual Suspects, which Evidence reminded of at times. Due to fact most of the 'killing scenes' are shot in the dark - coupled with usual disorientation from such genre - it's hard to make out what is happening in some scenes.

On the other hand, it's certainly worth a watch if you're stuck for something to do. Some scenes work well, and it does well to ratchet-up the tension in the right parts; the blow-torch scene is a particularly good scene, especially as the viewer gets to 'enjoy' it from two perspectives. Lastly, the ending; I had mixed feelings to be honest, it's not exactly expected then again I felt it still raised a few unanswered questions.

In short, a reasonable and diverted film which will entertain, though detractors of the shaky-cam genre might not be appealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tiresome, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Evidence (Amazon Instant Video)
This film had the potential to be good (obvious but good) but then the director decided to go for a plot twist at the end (which doesn't even seem to have been part of the original story) and managed to take all the film's potential and throw it out of the window. Quite frankly what I'd like to say to the people who made this film is that if you're going to have a plot twist, you have to work backwards from the end. It's so apparent that this film was supposed to end differently, that's why you're surprise ending created more plot holes than it filled. I gave this film three stars because of the acting which I thought was good for some of the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Found footage slasher, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence [DVD] (DVD)
You may have seen V/H/S. There's another Evidence film, a horror, different story. Stephen Moyer (True Blood) Radha Mitchell (Silent Hill) Caitlin Stacey (Neighbours) amongst others do a great job. A nice twist, gruesome deaths, hot girls. I'm selling my copy, seller: Solitarymaninblack. From the makers of The Fourth Kind. A massacre had taken place and it's upto the police to see the photo, video evidence to solve this case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 9 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Evidence [DVD] (DVD)
Finally a found footage child that doesn't disappoint. By being interspersed with the police team trying to solve the crime it kept things interesting when the fairly standard found footage stuff doesn't stray too far from the normal, but the real treat comes at the end with a nice twist. What would have been a fairly generic film suddenly throws it all back in your face which is a pleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, 14 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Evidence (Amazon Instant Video)
I was impressed with the visual effects at the start, full camera panning. I think this is done by taking multiple shots of the same area and stitching them together. Not your normal plot, I liked it, that's all I will say about the film. I would never have guessed the plot so for that, I gave it 4 stars because I was surprised, and I have seen a lot of these type movies so that's saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars an ok movie, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence [DVD] (DVD)
I quite enjoyed this dvd after it 'got going'.A little unsure of what to expect, I persevered.---and it was ok in the end.Another 'found footage' dvd,but I don't mind them at all.I am not going to tell a great deal about the story,suffice as to say---stick with it.No-one should be presumed guilty because everything fits!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evidence [DVD]
Evidence [DVD] by Stephen Moyer (DVD - 2014)
£1.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews