Customer Reviews


924 Reviews
5 star:
 (533)
4 star:
 (123)
3 star:
 (98)
2 star:
 (50)
1 star:
 (120)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SELL ME THIS PEN
Golden Globe winner Leonardo DiCaprio stars in the title role of Jordan Belfort. Belfort works his way up the ladder making money in penny stocks, i.e. "selling garbage to garbage men." His scheme is to sell these garbage stocks to rich investors due to the high commissions. Along the way he does some illegal transactions as he runs his corporation like a frat...
Published 14 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'YOU'LL EITHER 'LOVE-IT' OR INDEED 'HATE-IT'
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based...
Published 10 months ago by rbmusicman


‹ Previous | 1 293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'YOU'LL EITHER 'LOVE-IT' OR INDEED 'HATE-IT', 23 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based worryingly
on real events.
'Jordan Belfort' gets hooked by the cut and thrust of the world of stockbroking
at an early age, he's taught by a skilled fraudster, and soon gets used to the
high-life.
When the Stock-Market crashes, 'Jordan's new-found lifestyle seems to be on
the slide, however a newspaper advert noticed by his first wife gets him back
in the saddle.
What he'd learnt in his earlier position, he uses to feather his nest, corruption
had become a way of life.
Setting up his own trading centre, natural progression.
The money soon roll's in life-style changes take hold pretty speedily, there is in
truth more money coming-in than he and his staff know what to do with.
'Jordan' earning himself the name 'The Wolf of Wall Street' because of his
predatory style of trading.
Interest from the press draws unwelcome attention from the F.B.I.
The Film - a constant stream of partying, drug taking, mixing with prostitutes with
frequent nudity sequences, and of course dodgy dealing.
Crude, rude and loud......over confidence could well prove to be 'Jordan's' downfall.
Not sure I'd go along with the film being incredibly funny, though there are moments,
a sequence where 'Jordan' get's high and is trying to return to his car, is, in truth
absolutely priceless, and there is a certain irony to the story's outcome, it's actually
quite pleasing.
American humour does not always sit well with many this side of the 'Atlantic' I myself
did find the film 'a little in your face' so to speak, after watching the first two hours,
I left the final hour for another night, but am pleased to have taken time out to do so.

Special Features -
* The Wolf Pack.
* Running Wild.
* The Wolf of Wall Street.
* Round Table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scorsese's most stupid film, 18 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
I generally really enjoy Scorsese's films: I love a good "rise and fall" epic with a great soundtrack, and having rewatched The Departed recently, I was very conscious of how interesting, intelligent and emotionally affecting his work can be. This film? Not so much. None of the characters resemble real people, which is weird since it's based on a true story. They're all just so extraordinarily two dimensional, (and don't even get started on the female characters) - and spending three hours in the company of a bunch of self-and-money-obssessed people becomes very tedious. Yes they spend lots of money and do lots of drugs and have sex with lots of prostitutes - well it just seemed like a pretty unimaginative way to spend a load of cash to me - and summed up why the characters are essentially uninteresting people. It's entertaining enough (well it's a Scorsese film!) but I feel I could've learnt as much about shallow, money obssessed people by watching the Kardashians - and that would have more emotional depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SELL ME THIS PEN, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Golden Globe winner Leonardo DiCaprio stars in the title role of Jordan Belfort. Belfort works his way up the ladder making money in penny stocks, i.e. "selling garbage to garbage men." His scheme is to sell these garbage stocks to rich investors due to the high commissions. Along the way he does some illegal transactions as he runs his corporation like a frat party in "Animal House." Having not known money, he and his crew are ill equipped to handle it.

I thought that Jonah Hill gave one of his best performances. The production is awfully long, not wanting to miss out on any details. The film goes into detail to explain to the audience things like IPO and the history and effects of quaaludes. If you note the ludes he took early in the film were crumbly. Those were non-prescription ludes made from a pill press in uncle Vinnie's garage and not too potent. Later they score some real ludes. Having taken the fake ones for so long, they didn't know how to handle them causing them to crash, like the money it was too much too fast.

The main criticism of the film is that it featured over 500 F-bombs. It really didn't seem like that many due to the length of the production. Besides you get numb to it after the first few hundred or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinematic perfection, 15 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
An adaptation of Jordan Belfort's memoir chronicling his rise and fall on Wall Street and his hard-partying, addiction-fuelled personal life.

Welcome to Martin Scorsese’s 22nd feature film, another of his examinations of the rites and rituals of a particular sect, be it the wiseguys of ‘70s Little Italy ( Mean Streets ) or the society scions of late 19th-Century New York ( The Age Of Innocence ).

With its rise-and-fall arc, its hedonism and hubris, its gleeful exploration of the dark side of the America Dream, its money, crime and narcs, its sex, drugs and rock’n’roll (though the soundtrack also takes in Madness, Simon & Garfunkel and a fair bit of Euro pop), The Wolf Of Wall Street forms a loose trilogy with GoodFellas and Casino. And if it can’t quite match the energy and quality of those classics, it nonetheless stands as Scorsese’s finest for 15 years.

When we first meet Jordan Belfort, he’s more pup than wolf, his lowest-rung job at L.F. Rothschild requiring him only to “smile and dial”. A first-day lunch with big boss Mark Hanna (Matthew McConaughey, hilarious) sows the seeds of the chaos to come, though: Hanna advises him that the stock market is “all fugazi” while preaching the worthlessness of morals and the necessity of greed, cocaine and, to stay relaxed, jerking off twice daily. Then, on 19 October, 1987, the very day Jordan becomes a licensed broker, the market crashes and Rothschild goes under.

Jordan joins a penny-stocks firm in Long Island, employing a bunch of expert salesmen (mainly weed) from his old Queens neighbourhood and making Donnie Azoff (Jonah Hill, terrific) VP despite his phosphorescent teeth and shoulder-slung pastel sweaters.

The triumphant result is named Stratton Oakmont, and if there’s one thing these guys know how to do, besides sell, it’s party – Jordan blows $26,000 on a lunch, is married to a model, shags prostitutes five, six times a week, and hoovers Quaaludes, Xanax, cocaine and morphine. It’s only a matter of time before the FBI (in the form of Kyle Chandler) come calling…

Perhaps deciding the crazed behaviour is enough, perhaps thinking he took stylistic verve as far as it could go in GoodFellas , Scorsese shoots largely with a static camera. His use of whip pans, crash zooms, freeze frames and tracking shots proves so infrequent that Spielberg, visiting the set, suggested he might want to move the camera. But TWOWS is far from muzzled.

It is, of course, all part of Scorsese’s plan to charm viewers into accepting Belfort’s outrageously selfish, unthinkingly cruel behaviour. It works, too – more so because Terence Winter’s ( Boardwalk Empire , The Sopranos ) screenplay cleaves to our anti-hero, refusing to investigate the fallout of his misdeeds as he steals from rich and poor alike to line his own pockets (and mirror). It’s a decision some will take issue with, just as some, justifiably, accuse Scorsese of being in thrall to his gangsters.

But this is Jordan’s tale, and it’s sold by a magnetic, never-better DiCaprio.

A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.

Despite the US censors trimming back the screwing and swearing, this is an audacious, riotous epic. Scorsese and DiCaprio’s fifth and best pairing, it’s liable to give the Academy a heart attack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wall Street Wolf Pack, 27 July 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
"The Wolf of Wall Street" is an overly long black comedy about a crooked Wall Street broker who makes his fortune in the 1990's. The lead role is played with gusto by Leonardo DiCaprio who seems to have subscribed to the Jack Nicholson school of acting.

The whole movie is so completely over the top with a large amount of foul language, sexual depravity, drug abuse and general bad behaviour that it is hard to believe that it is supposedly based on a true story. Its this outrageous behaviour that gives the movie its best moments though as you can't help but laugh at the hedonism on display.

Unfortunately though for most people with any sense of morality the characters portrayed in the movie are a group of the most unlikeable, unethical, greedy and dispicable people you can possibly imagine. If you consider that people like these were responsible for the worlds financial difficulties in the new millenium you wonder who it is you are supposed to empathise with. There are many similar movies dealing with the rise and fall of drug dealers, and it seems that anti-heroes are popular with cinema audiences at the moment. I found it difficult though to sit through a three hour long movie where all the main characters were scumbags and there seemed to be little moral judgement of their behaviour.

"The Wolf of Wall Street" has its moments, but it is far from being a classic Scorsese movie. The film never convincingly feels like it is set in the 80's and 90's and while they obviously had fun filming it I noticed a large number of continuity errors between shots which was surprising for such an experienced director. You can't help but compare this movie to the old Michael Douglas film "Wall Street" of which it seems to be an updated, more exagerrated version but one with a lot less charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't watch it with your mother........within a 30 mile radius, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply one of the greatest movies ever. It holds no punches. No topic is taboo. No scene is too vulgar.

This won't be for everyone. I'll give you a taste. There is one scene where a person in a not even slightly shy manner describes his masturbation habits. Another where one of the cast describes his "relations" with the woman who gave him his kids who also happens to be his cousin. One scene where a man has sex with a hooker while about ten people in casual work attire stand around and watch/wait their turn. Scenes of drug taking. Also more breasts than I think I've ever seen in a movie in my life, as well as plenty of lady parts and even a man's prosthetic penis.

If that doesn't say everything there is to say about this movie I really don't know what will. If any of that doesn't sound like it is for you then chances are it probably isn't and there is probably about ten other things in this movie that I haven't mentioned that WILL offend you in that case.

Everyone else though seriously BUY THIS MOVIE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Wolf" With A Lot of Bite, 24 Oct. 2014
I can't claim to be the biggest fan of either director Martin Scorsese or star Leonardo DiCaprio, but in the case of "The Wolf of Wall Street", both men really do push all the right buttons.
DiCaprio is simply outstanding as "hero" Jordan Belfort in this saga of gross hedonistic excess and sleazy corruption in wheeler dealer New York in the 90s. It's a long film, but Scorsese keeps a firm hand on the tiller, and the pace, and with it the viewer's interest, never flags. Throw in a sassy, intelligent script, and some wonderful ensemble playing from the supporting cast, and you've got a winner.
"The Wolf" is by turns cynical, coarse, bitterly satirical and very funny. It may offend some of those of fainter heart, but it's an enormously entertaining and satisfying piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Making money = mainlining adrenaline.", 15 April 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The above quote is attributed to Jordan Belfort, the real life rogue trader who set up "pump and dump" Long Island stockbroking firm and who is portrayed in 'The Wolf of Wall Street" as a daredevil sybarite with an appetite for drugs and prostitutes (both A-list). The film is a crazy, more often than not over-the-top black comedy staring our boy Leonardo DiCaprio (simply put: amazing), Jonah Hill (a good laugh) and Matthew McConaughey (charismatic as always).

In theory, Belfort is an American anti-hero, he embraces the destructive and obnoxious side of the late twentieth century America with its obsession on all things material and capitalism generally. Belfort's extravagant antics (from illegal money making machine to money laundering) in the nineties helped, it is believed, to get the financial crisis of 2008 on its way.

The three-hour saga of life (and near-death, a number of times) of the sexist, witty, self-deprecating and occasionally romantic Jordan Belfort is deranged and exhilaration, everything about his life (and the film itself) is excessive. Yes, the screen play is witty and the characters are all fantastic (and fantastically portrayed), the film is enjoyable, but only, I found, in the first 90 minutes or so. Then it becomes somewhat tiresome. And the moral? Is there one? Vanity Fair accused 'The Wolf of Wall Street" of praising and glorifying criminal behaviour and lack of morals in the finance, food for thought, eh?

The bottom line: Leonardo DiCaprio is fantastic, when you are tired of the repetitive imagery of endless cocaine parties and naked women, he shines his artistic star. DiCaprio carries the film to its glorious (and long-awaited) finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff but perhaps not for everyone, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed The Wolf of Wall Street. I'm not convinced it's up there with the best of Scorsese but for a 3 hour movie it flew past in a whirlwind of excess and was certainly never dull.

It's based on the memoir of Jordan Belfort about his sky highs and depraved lows as a stock broker on Wall Street in the 1990's. It may be a lazy comparison but the film shares much with Goodfellas in terms of story arch and structure - Belforts rise and rise to become The Wolf and the inevitable crash and burn that must follow.

Leonardo DiCaprio of course plays Belfort and puts in another cracking performances, narrating and anchoring the tale in a similar fashion to Ray Liotta/Henry Hill from that previous Scorsese classic. There's great support elsewhere from Jonah Hill and a whole raft of familiar faces including a memorable cameo from Matthew Mcconaughey. It's all ably directed by Martin Scorsese, bringing the stylistic flourishes you'd expect, perhaps the main reason it all flies past so breezily.

Admittedly it's probably not going to be to everyone's taste - while there's not much violence of any description, there's a huge amount of bad language, shed loads of nudity, copious drug use and a distinct lack of a moral compass. Pretty much how I imagined Wall Street in the 80's and 90's to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 4 Mar. 2015
The best film I saw in 2014.

There aren't many films that I have uncontrollably laughed at but this is one of them! I thought it was utterly brilliant and so funny! There is one scene in particular that had me literally crying with laughter for the best part of 10 minutes.

It didn't feel like a 3 hour film at all, it was gripping enough that it went really quick. The whole cast were perfect, Leonardo DiCaprio is a genius (the man deserves an Oscar!!).

If you want something moral and emotional then this isn't for you, if you want something that will make you laugh until you can't breathe then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wolf of Wall Street - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
£27.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews