Customer Reviews


416 Reviews
5 star:
 (230)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Making money = mainlining adrenaline."
The above quote is attributed to Jordan Belfort, the real life rogue trader who set up "pump and dump" Long Island stockbroking firm and who is portrayed in 'The Wolf of Wall Street" as a daredevil sybarite with an appetite for drugs and prostitutes (both A-list). The film is a crazy, more often than not over-the-top black comedy staring our boy Leonardo DiCaprio (simply...
Published 4 months ago by Lola

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'THE HIGHER YOU CLIMB - THE FURTHER YOU'LL FALL'
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based...
Published 3 months ago by rbmusicman


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars 'THE HIGHER YOU CLIMB - THE FURTHER YOU'LL FALL', 23 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based worryingly
on real events.
'Jordan Belfort' gets hooked by the cut and thrust of the world of stockbroking
at an early age, he's taught by a skilled fraudster, and soon gets used to the
high-life.
When the Stock-Market crashes, 'Jordan's new-found lifestyle seems to be on
the slide, however a newspaper advert noticed by his first wife gets him back
in the saddle.
What he'd learnt in his earlier position, he uses to feather his nest, corruption
had become a way of life.
Setting up his own trading centre, natural progression.
The money soon roll's in life-style changes take hold pretty speedily, there is in
truth more money coming-in than he and his staff know what to do with.
'Jordan' earning himself the name 'The Wolf of Wall Street' because of his
predatory style of trading.
Interest from the press draws unwelcome attention from the F.B.I.
The Film - a constant stream of partying, drug taking, mixing with prostitutes with
frequent nudity sequences, and of course dodgy dealing.
Crude, rude and loud......over confidence could well prove to be 'Jordan's' downfall.
Not sure I'd go along with the film being incredibly funny, though there are moments,
a sequence where 'Jordan' get's high and is trying to return to his car, is, in truth
absolutely priceless, and there is a certain irony to the story's outcome, it's actually
quite pleasing.
American humour does not always sit well with many this side of the 'Atlantic' I myself
did find the film 'a little in your face' so to speak, after watching the first two hours,
I left the final hour for another night, but am pleased to have taken time out to do so.

Special Features -
* The Wolf Pack.
* Running Wild.
* The Wolf of Wall Street.
* Round Table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not my type of film, wish I'd taken advice and not bought it., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worst film I've seen in a long time, didn't make me laugh, hated the script and the constant swearing. Only redeeming feature was Leonardo di Caprio who was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trash on Wall Street, 26 July 2014
By 
A. Stratton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
If you like sex, violence and drug taking, sex, violence and drug taking, sex, violence and drug taking for three hours, this is for you. If you like a plot, tension, emotion and character development, don't waste those three hours of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I detested this movie and felt I had wasted my money, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I detested this movie and felt I had wasted my money. There was nothing clever about it - it's just a celebration of debauchery. Sorry ..... if there was a hidden meaning, I failed to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disapponting, 12 Jun 2014
The last time DiCaprio made a film based on a true story, it was Catch Me if You Can, and it was wonderful. The Wolf of Wall Street does not live up to expectation.

The story is funny, but funny as in it would get a few laughs at a party where everyone had a bit too much to drink, but not funny enough to make a major film out of.

The length of the film is also a problem. It is nearly 3 hours long! That kind of length may work for a fantasy epic such as The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, but for a not particularly good film with a type of crude humour that stops being funny after about half an hour, it becomes very tedious.

Overall then, this film is really not worth watching. It doesn't remain funny for long, the plot isn't particularly interesting and it gets boring after 40 minutes, let alone 2 hours 50 minutes. Doesn't live up to the bar set by Catch Me if You Can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Making money = mainlining adrenaline.", 15 April 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The above quote is attributed to Jordan Belfort, the real life rogue trader who set up "pump and dump" Long Island stockbroking firm and who is portrayed in 'The Wolf of Wall Street" as a daredevil sybarite with an appetite for drugs and prostitutes (both A-list). The film is a crazy, more often than not over-the-top black comedy staring our boy Leonardo DiCaprio (simply put: amazing), Jonah Hill (a good laugh) and Matthew McConaughey (charismatic as always).

In theory, Belfort is an American anti-hero, he embraces the destructive and obnoxious side of the late twentieth century America with its obsession on all things material and capitalism generally. Belfort's extravagant antics (from illegal money making machine to money laundering) in the nineties helped, it is believed, to get the financial crisis of 2008 on its way.

The three-hour saga of life (and near-death, a number of times) of the sexist, witty, self-deprecating and occasionally romantic Jordan Belfort is deranged and exhilaration, everything about his life (and the film itself) is excessive. Yes, the screen play is witty and the characters are all fantastic (and fantastically portrayed), the film is enjoyable, but only, I found, in the first 90 minutes or so. Then it becomes somewhat tiresome. And the moral? Is there one? Vanity Fair accused 'The Wolf of Wall Street" of praising and glorifying criminal behaviour and lack of morals in the finance, food for thought, eh?

The bottom line: Leonardo DiCaprio is fantastic, when you are tired of the repetitive imagery of endless cocaine parties and naked women, he shines his artistic star. DiCaprio carries the film to its glorious (and long-awaited) finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 7 Jun 2014
This film is simply brilliant. Lots of people have said it before but they're completely correct- it's a modern day Goodfellas. The rise and dramatic fall of a character who you may even have sympathy with at the end (although sympathy is a very strong word) pays testament to the brilliance of yet another Sorcese/DiCaprio megacombo. The manner in which DiCaprio encapsulates the antihero is astounding and a doff of the (hooker filler drugs) cap goes to Jonah Hill for a brilliant supporting role. I cannot recommend this to (over 18's!!!) enough. At three hours long, you'll wonder how the time flew by so quick....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 3 hours of my life I'm not going to get back!, 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray)
This film is all you would expect of a money grabbing megalomaniac with no morals.....the only upside is the fantastic acting by Mr. DiCaprio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Gordon Gecko Would Not be Pleased, 9 Aug 2014
Aside from a couple of notable acting performances, this take on greed in Wall Street just seems a little tired these days. The film is too long, and too self indulgent for me. In these post bank crash days, I was also left struggling to find any character that I’d be empathetic to.

If they’d made something like this in the eighties, it would have been much better. Oh wait, they did! Don’t bother with this, go watch Gordon Gecko at his finest… Forget the Wolves, and just watch Wall Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A poor mans goodfellas!, 22 Aug 2014
This is just a rubbish version of goodfellas! Sex drugs throughout the movie not a lot else happens! First half an hour is interesting and I was wondering what else is in store, well not a lot else just more of the same for three hours, by the end I couldn't wait for it to end and it was the worst end to a film imaginable! Goodfellas is a film I would recommend over this, same director similar approach but a lot better movie trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews