Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SELL ME THIS PEN
Golden Globe winner Leonardo DiCaprio stars in the title role of Jordan Belfort. Belfort works his way up the ladder making money in penny stocks, i.e. "selling garbage to garbage men." His scheme is to sell these garbage stocks to rich investors due to the high commissions. Along the way he does some illegal transactions as he runs his corporation like a frat...
Published 3 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How much is that doggy..?
Martin Scorsese's latest retains all of the energy that is his signature, but fails to fill its overgenerous duration with enough substantial content. The emptiness and lack of ethical backbone holding up U.S. capitalism in the eighties is explained in the first fifteen minutes, with Matthew McConaughey's Mark Hanna telling us it's nothing but "fairy dust" - empty...
Published 2 months ago by R. J. Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Making money = mainlining adrenaline.", 15 April 2014
By 
The above quote is attributed to Jordan Belfort, the real life rogue trader who set up "pump and dump" Long Island stockbroking firm and who is portrayed in 'The Wolf of Wall Street" as a daredevil sybarite with an appetite for drugs and prostitutes (both A-list). The film is a crazy, more often than not over-the-top black comedy staring our boy Leonardo DiCaprio (simply put: amazing), Jonah Hill (a good laugh) and Matthew McConaughey (charismatic as always).

In theory, Belfort is an American anti-hero, he embraces the destructive and obnoxious side of the late twentieth century America with its obsession on all things material and capitalism generally. Belfort's extravagant antics (from illegal money making machine to money laundering) in the nineties helped, it is believed, to get the financial crisis of 2008 on its way.

The three-hour saga of life (and near-death, a number of times) of the sexist, witty, self-deprecating and occasionally romantic Jordan Belfort is deranged and exhilaration, everything about his life (and the film itself) is excessive. Yes, the screen play is witty and the characters are all fantastic (and fantastically portrayed), the film is enjoyable, but only, I found, in the first 90 minutes or so. Then it becomes somewhat tiresome. And the moral? Is there one? Vanity Fair accused 'The Wolf of Wall Street" of praising and glorifying criminal behaviour and lack of morals in the finance, food for thought, eh?

The bottom line: Leonardo DiCaprio is fantastic, when you are tired of the repetitive imagery of endless cocaine parties and naked women, he shines his artistic star. DiCaprio carries the film to its glorious (and long-awaited) finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SELL ME THIS PEN, 14 Jan 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Golden Globe winner Leonardo DiCaprio stars in the title role of Jordan Belfort. Belfort works his way up the ladder making money in penny stocks, i.e. "selling garbage to garbage men." His scheme is to sell these garbage stocks to rich investors due to the high commissions. Along the way he does some illegal transactions as he runs his corporation like a frat party in "Animal House." Having not known money, he and his crew are ill equipped to handle it.

I thought that Jonah Hill gave one of his best performances. The production is awfully long, not wanting to miss out on any details. The film goes into detail to explain to the audience things like IPO and the history and effects of quaaludes. If you note the ludes he took early in the film were crumbly. Those were non-prescription ludes made from a pill press in uncle Vinnie's garage and not too potent. Later they score some real ludes. Having taken the fake ones for so long, they didn't know how to handle them causing them to crash, like the money it was too much too fast.

The main criticism of the film is that it featured over 500 F-bombs. It really didn't seem like that many due to the length of the production. Besides you get numb to it after the first few hundred or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo DiCaprio was amazing, 25 Feb 2014
Leonardo was the perfect person to play the role of Jordan Belfort! He was funny, enthusiastic and very very sexy! i love him so i instantly loved the movie but for being a biography it wasn't boring. Dispite the fact it felt like i was watching porn half the time i really liked it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just epic in every way, 25 Feb 2014
So entertaining all the way through de caprio is in blistering form for the entire film and is not let down by anyone. This film was long but it was so good i cud of happily sat through another couple of hours! Not even joking. Watch it, its amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Root Of All Evil, 26 Mar 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
'The Wolf Of Wall Street' is a film that is so darn long, you think it will never end. I understand it was cut by two hours from the original four. It could have been cut by at least another 30 minutes. It is one darned thing after another, but some of the action is so drawn out and repetitious that I lost interest at one point. The last 30 minutes picked up and carried the film.

We meet Jordan Belfort on his first day on Wall Street. One of the traders, played by Matthew Mc Conaughey, takes him under his wing, and teaches him how to make millions. He also teaches him a crazy chest beating chant that Jordan Belfort carries with him throughout his life. He loses the job in the 1987 depression, but then starts up his own firm in Long Island and started making millions and millions of dollars. We are privy to his actions, his under the counter transactions, excessive lifestyle, booze, drugs and women. The Bacchanalian actions of the entire team are on display. Money, it seems, lends itself to every habit known to man.

Leonardo DiCaprio plays Jordan Belfort to perfection. Jonah Hill plays Donnie Azoff, one of the more unlikable men in the group - that man was without a conscience. Rob Reiner as Belfort's father tries to help his son stay on the straight and narrow. Many characters in this film, and most are as bad as the next. This is an entertaining film, but much too long.

The sex, violence and drugs are what occurred during this time in the 80's and 90's. If you do not like sex, drugs, rock'n'roll and four letter words, forget this film. It is not for you. Martin Scorsese directed this film, and it is a good one, good not great. This film was taken from the book written by Jordan Belfort, who is not a fan of the film. It depicts him as the greedy, unlikable man he is. He is now on the speaker's circuit after spending a short time in prison.

This is an entertaining, if not too long film. Funny at times, but sad at others. Money really is the root of all evil.

Recommended. prisrob 03-26-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
One of the best films of all time in my opinion. It's an Instant Classic. Di Caprio at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for all the family., 25 Mar 2014
If you want a nice film to sit down with all of the family; your children and your grandparents, this is the film for you. It is tasteful and very discrete. It gives a factual and literal insight into the doings of the calmest of New York Stock Brokers.

A must see for anyone..

Joking aside, this is a fantastic film, Leo is fantastic in it, as is Jonah Hill. Very funny, absolutely would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 20 Feb 2014
This is the best 3 hour films ever, i have been to see blue is the warmest colour and that is was so boring i fell asleep. But this film was funny, rude and very interesting. Leonardo DiCaprio is a world class actor. This is a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazily energised, entertainingly immoral, full of fantastically bad taste!, 18 Jan 2014
WOLF OF WALL STREET REVIEW

If you dislike films glamorising hedonism and debauchery, look away. Based on a memoir by former stockbroker Jordan Belfort - what makes this already ridiculous story even more so is the fact it actually happened.

Jordan Belfort (played fantastically by Leonardo DiCaprio) went from a nobody to a multi-millionaire by selling fraudulently inflated stocks in his self made brokerage firm Stratton-Oakmont. He used the money to fund his excessive lifestyle filled with prostitutes, drugs, fast cars, huge mansions, and general excess. This film is the story of how he made his fortunes through illegal activities, and how the law came to catch up with him.

Let me just say that this film is absolutely, undeniably fantastic. It is crazily energised, entertainingly immoral, full of fantastically bad taste and definitely one of the best films I have seen in a long, long time.

There has been a lot of talk about the morality of this film. Despite the protagonist's hedonistic lifestyle, overflowing with illegal activities, prostitutes and drugs (all the while having a wife and 2 kids at home), Belfort is definitely portrayed in an undeniable sympathetic and positive light. We see not only Belfort's ambition, intelligence & undeniable talents, but also his humanity, the fact he uses his power and unlimited money not just to fund his debaucherous life, but to help other people, to give them opportunities to change their life that no one else has. There is no moral comeuppance in this film, no real sense that Belfort ever really learns any lessons, or wishes to change his ways. In a way it's refreshingly morality free, and whether it is irresponsible to paint a criminal in this way is questionable. However, the Telegraph review on this film sums it up perfectly - 'Scorsese is treating the audience like adults, trusting that our moral sense will compensate for his character's lack of one'.

Touching on the acting a bit more, for me, this may be Leonardo DiCaprio's greatest role (which, considering his past CV, is saying a lot). The range of emotions demonstrated here, from a young man's first experience on Wall Street, to a motivational speaker in front of hundreds of employees, from acting high and almost-paralytic from the effects of too many Quaaludes, to screaming and shouting at his trophy wife Naomi (played by the positively stunning Margot Robbie), having a tantrum uncanny in resemblance to that of a toddler's, DiCaprio proves time and time again just why he's one of the biggest names in acting. Someone please give this guy an Oscar ASAP. Also, it was a nice touch to have the real Jordan Belfort make a cameo at the end of the film (he's the guy who introduces DiCaprio's Belfort for his motivational speaking seminar).

At 180 minutes this film is long, and towards the end when the energy, enthusiasm, fun and games is replaced with indictments, lawyers, court and prison you do start to feel the length and your attention wandering, but that is my only real criticism. Apart from that, this film near on perfect.

So, incase my review hasn't made it clear already, this is a fantastic film that is a must watch. Looking forward to reading the biography it was based upon now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Mar 2014
Leo and Marty do it again. If you like Departed then you'll love Wolf of Wall Street. A must have for any collection of DiCaprio or Scorsese. Don't listen to the negative reviewers. This is Marty at his best. People we're moaning just as much when raging Bull and Goodfellas we're first released. Over time they have grown on people and we forget how much they we're once attacked as 'Filth'. because WOWS is new it does not have the aura of being a classic. Time will correct that. don't let the naysayers force you to miss out on owning a classic in the making. This is vintage Scorsese and DiCaprio just keeps getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews