Customer Reviews


425 Reviews
5 star:
 (235)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars He’ll Huff and he’ll puff (but he won’t win an Oscar)
Poor ol’ Leo, what does he have to do to get his Oscar? Here he teams up (yet again) with Martin Scorsese to play the real life (well, Hollywood adapted) tale of Jordan xcxcxcxc – a New York stock broker of dubious morales – who lives life in the fast lane (and swears a lot).

If you like Leo and/or Scorsese then this is for you. It’s...
Published 2 days ago by Albatross

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'THE HIGHER YOU CLIMB - THE FURTHER YOU'LL FALL'
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based...
Published 3 months ago by rbmusicman


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'THE HIGHER YOU CLIMB - THE FURTHER YOU'LL FALL', 23 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based worryingly
on real events.
'Jordan Belfort' gets hooked by the cut and thrust of the world of stockbroking
at an early age, he's taught by a skilled fraudster, and soon gets used to the
high-life.
When the Stock-Market crashes, 'Jordan's new-found lifestyle seems to be on
the slide, however a newspaper advert noticed by his first wife gets him back
in the saddle.
What he'd learnt in his earlier position, he uses to feather his nest, corruption
had become a way of life.
Setting up his own trading centre, natural progression.
The money soon roll's in life-style changes take hold pretty speedily, there is in
truth more money coming-in than he and his staff know what to do with.
'Jordan' earning himself the name 'The Wolf of Wall Street' because of his
predatory style of trading.
Interest from the press draws unwelcome attention from the F.B.I.
The Film - a constant stream of partying, drug taking, mixing with prostitutes with
frequent nudity sequences, and of course dodgy dealing.
Crude, rude and loud......over confidence could well prove to be 'Jordan's' downfall.
Not sure I'd go along with the film being incredibly funny, though there are moments,
a sequence where 'Jordan' get's high and is trying to return to his car, is, in truth
absolutely priceless, and there is a certain irony to the story's outcome, it's actually
quite pleasing.
American humour does not always sit well with many this side of the 'Atlantic' I myself
did find the film 'a little in your face' so to speak, after watching the first two hours,
I left the final hour for another night, but am pleased to have taken time out to do so.

Special Features -
* The Wolf Pack.
* Running Wild.
* The Wolf of Wall Street.
* Round Table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He’ll Huff and he’ll puff (but he won’t win an Oscar), 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Poor ol’ Leo, what does he have to do to get his Oscar? Here he teams up (yet again) with Martin Scorsese to play the real life (well, Hollywood adapted) tale of Jordan xcxcxcxc – a New York stock broker of dubious morales – who lives life in the fast lane (and swears a lot).

If you like Leo and/or Scorsese then this is for you. It’s an exercise in excess. From its excessive foul language to its excessive nudity and even its excessive (three hour) run-time – everything here is over the top. And it’s pretty good.

Scorsese does what he has been doing best lately, i.e. getting a good performance out of Leo and piles on his trademark monologues and tracking shots, while filming grown men behaving *very* badly. Leo seems to be on overdrive and cranks up his acting to the max, screaming, shouting and generally working himself up into a manic frenzy. Both of which are pretty fun to watch.

If you want to know what ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’ is like, think the characters from America Psycho and put them in the setting of ‘Wall Street’ and add the foul language from Goodfellas then you’re sort of in the right area.

It’s pretty entertaining. You may not like all the characters (in fact you probably won’t even like a single one), but you’ll probably enjoy watching them fall from grace with a bump. Just as long as you can tolerate the shouting, the drug-taking and the nudity then you’ll get something out of this.

My only complaint was the length. Yes, three hours was a little too long in my opinion (apparently it had been trimmed down from FOUR hours!); I felt a few of the scenes had been dragged out a little too long and a little more ruthless editing might have been in order. But, I’d certainly watch it again (once I’ve stopped swearing like a trooper and thumping my chest while at work).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disapponting, 12 Jun 2014
The last time DiCaprio made a film based on a true story, it was Catch Me if You Can, and it was wonderful. The Wolf of Wall Street does not live up to expectation.

The story is funny, but funny as in it would get a few laughs at a party where everyone had a bit too much to drink, but not funny enough to make a major film out of.

The length of the film is also a problem. It is nearly 3 hours long! That kind of length may work for a fantasy epic such as The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, but for a not particularly good film with a type of crude humour that stops being funny after about half an hour, it becomes very tedious.

Overall then, this film is really not worth watching. It doesn't remain funny for long, the plot isn't particularly interesting and it gets boring after 40 minutes, let alone 2 hours 50 minutes. Doesn't live up to the bar set by Catch Me if You Can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, light romp, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Funny at times but nothing else going on except that. One big cliché.It clearly glamourizes the egotistical debauched excesses ( I include salary here with sex, drugs.. etc..) of banking culture. The prostitute women (that's all of them apart from maid, Aunty and first wife) are glamourized too as in real life they are usually pale and thin and desperate; the sex money paying for their drug addictions. Leonardo isn't right; great acting, energy etc...but the character is one dimensional and cliché, almost cartoon-like. He just doesn't quite have the unnerving edge that Ray Liotta in Good fellas has. But ultimately, the film has no depth or anything interesting or insightful going on. If you are going to release a film about corrupt bankers whose lies, greed and dirty dealing has had a proven detrimental effect on the world economy, people's savings, businesses, mortgages then let the audience leave the film feeling something that's relevant to the crisis or at least something stimulating, a clever angle that can start discussion...something! Surely that's what film is about. It's the job of the director to Wow us with their cinema. I can only call this film a comedy...its 3 hours of the same entertainment throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I detested this movie and felt I had wasted my money, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I detested this movie and felt I had wasted my money. There was nothing clever about it - it's just a celebration of debauchery. Sorry ..... if there was a hidden meaning, I failed to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Making money = mainlining adrenaline.", 15 April 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The above quote is attributed to Jordan Belfort, the real life rogue trader who set up "pump and dump" Long Island stockbroking firm and who is portrayed in 'The Wolf of Wall Street" as a daredevil sybarite with an appetite for drugs and prostitutes (both A-list). The film is a crazy, more often than not over-the-top black comedy staring our boy Leonardo DiCaprio (simply put: amazing), Jonah Hill (a good laugh) and Matthew McConaughey (charismatic as always).

In theory, Belfort is an American anti-hero, he embraces the destructive and obnoxious side of the late twentieth century America with its obsession on all things material and capitalism generally. Belfort's extravagant antics (from illegal money making machine to money laundering) in the nineties helped, it is believed, to get the financial crisis of 2008 on its way.

The three-hour saga of life (and near-death, a number of times) of the sexist, witty, self-deprecating and occasionally romantic Jordan Belfort is deranged and exhilaration, everything about his life (and the film itself) is excessive. Yes, the screen play is witty and the characters are all fantastic (and fantastically portrayed), the film is enjoyable, but only, I found, in the first 90 minutes or so. Then it becomes somewhat tiresome. And the moral? Is there one? Vanity Fair accused 'The Wolf of Wall Street" of praising and glorifying criminal behaviour and lack of morals in the finance, food for thought, eh?

The bottom line: Leonardo DiCaprio is fantastic, when you are tired of the repetitive imagery of endless cocaine parties and naked women, he shines his artistic star. DiCaprio carries the film to its glorious (and long-awaited) finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trash on Wall Street, 26 July 2014
By 
A. Stratton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
If you like sex, violence and drug taking, sex, violence and drug taking, sex, violence and drug taking for three hours, this is for you. If you like a plot, tension, emotion and character development, don't waste those three hours of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kanye West, 28 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray)
This film make's you feel like a God, it's a really good film and has a lot of funny parts, it has Shane in it, from the walking dead witch is also a good series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 7 Jun 2014
This film is simply brilliant. Lots of people have said it before but they're completely correct- it's a modern day Goodfellas. The rise and dramatic fall of a character who you may even have sympathy with at the end (although sympathy is a very strong word) pays testament to the brilliance of yet another Sorcese/DiCaprio megacombo. The manner in which DiCaprio encapsulates the antihero is astounding and a doff of the (hooker filler drugs) cap goes to Jonah Hill for a brilliant supporting role. I cannot recommend this to (over 18's!!!) enough. At three hours long, you'll wonder how the time flew by so quick....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 3 hours of my life I'm not going to get back!, 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray)
This film is all you would expect of a money grabbing megalomaniac with no morals.....the only upside is the fantastic acting by Mr. DiCaprio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews