Customer Reviews


653 Reviews
5 star:
 (368)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (72)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Wolf" With A Lot of Bite
I can't claim to be the biggest fan of either director Martin Scorsese or star Leonardo DiCaprio, but in the case of "The Wolf of Wall Street", both men really do push all the right buttons.
DiCaprio is simply outstanding as "hero" Jordan Belfort in this saga of gross hedonistic excess and sleazy corruption in wheeler dealer New York in the 90s. It's...
Published 1 month ago by DavyG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and unentertaining!
This must be one of the worse films I've seen. I've enjoyed most films with Leonardo Dicaprio so I thought this would be good. How wrong I was. It was so bad I switched it off in the end, and even the bad films I normally persevere with hoping for them to get better. The film is utterly boring, and continues to show sex and drugs throughout. It glorifies it. OK we get the...
Published 3 days ago by Leicester bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Wolf" With A Lot of Bite, 24 Oct 2014
I can't claim to be the biggest fan of either director Martin Scorsese or star Leonardo DiCaprio, but in the case of "The Wolf of Wall Street", both men really do push all the right buttons.
DiCaprio is simply outstanding as "hero" Jordan Belfort in this saga of gross hedonistic excess and sleazy corruption in wheeler dealer New York in the 90s. It's a long film, but Scorsese keeps a firm hand on the tiller, and the pace, and with it the viewer's interest, never flags. Throw in a sassy, intelligent script, and some wonderful ensemble playing from the supporting cast, and you've got a winner.
"The Wolf" is by turns cynical, coarse, bitterly satirical and very funny. It may offend some of those of fainter heart, but it's an enormously entertaining and satisfying piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a rare film, a must see, 11 Sep 2014
Of all the films I have seen so far this year, this is hands down my favorite. This really is a rare film. A film where the acting is nothing short of perfect and the script is hilarious. It's in my top three for Martin Scorsese's best work.

The film is such a fantastic depiction of the story about Jordan Belford. The insight throughout the film into the life and mind of someone so powerful and smart, yet deceitful makes it worth watching alone. However, the comedy throughout is icing on the cake.

It's not often as well where a film with this sort of genre is done so well. Leonardo DiCaprio is nothing short of flawless in his role as Jordan Belford. How he didn't win an Oscar, amazes me. He definitely feel like the right choice for the role and he portrays Belford incredibly well. Jonah Hill also pulled off a great, always hilarious, performance. I'm 100% sure that there was not a single piece of bad acting though this whole 3 hour long film.

For some, the amount of swearing, drugs and "mature themes" in the film was overboard. You need to take into account, however, this is Jordan Belfords life you're seeing, of course there were moments were it was over exaggerated, but it would be rude to tone it down to satisfy the needs of the few.

It's definitely my best film of the year and almost my favorite film ever. If you like a good, well done comedy...this is for you. It's a story that everyone needs to see, it's an insight into a life that none of us will ever experience personally, and that is what makes this film so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He’ll Huff and he’ll puff (but he won’t win an Oscar), 30 Aug 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Poor ol’ Leo, what does he have to do to get his Oscar? Here he teams up (yet again) with Martin Scorsese to play the real life (well, Hollywood adapted) tale of Jordan xcxcxcxc – a New York stock broker of dubious morales – who lives life in the fast lane (and swears a lot).

If you like Leo and/or Scorsese then this is for you. It’s an exercise in excess. From its excessive foul language to its excessive nudity and even its excessive (three hour) run-time – everything here is over the top. And it’s pretty good.

Scorsese does what he has been doing best lately, i.e. getting a good performance out of Leo and piles on his trademark monologues and tracking shots, while filming grown men behaving *very* badly. Leo seems to be on overdrive and cranks up his acting to the max, screaming, shouting and generally working himself up into a manic frenzy. Both of which are pretty fun to watch.

If you want to know what ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’ is like, think the characters from America Psycho and put them in the setting of ‘Wall Street’ and add the foul language from Goodfellas then you’re sort of in the right area.

It’s pretty entertaining. You may not like all the characters (in fact you probably won’t even like a single one), but you’ll probably enjoy watching them fall from grace with a bump. Just as long as you can tolerate the shouting, the drug-taking and the nudity then you’ll get something out of this.

My only complaint was the length. Yes, three hours was a little too long in my opinion (apparently it had been trimmed down from FOUR hours!); I felt a few of the scenes had been dragged out a little too long and a little more ruthless editing might have been in order. But, I’d certainly watch it again (once I’ve stopped swearing like a trooper and thumping my chest while at work).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff but perhaps not for everyone, 3 Sep 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed The Wolf of Wall Street. I'm not convinced it's up there with the best of Scorsese but for a 3 hour movie it flew past in a whirlwind of excess and was certainly never dull.

It's based on the memoir of Jordan Belfort about his sky highs and depraved lows as a stock broker on Wall Street in the 1990's. It may be a lazy comparison but the film shares much with Goodfellas in terms of story arch and structure - Belforts rise and rise to become The Wolf and the inevitable crash and burn that must follow.

Leonardo DiCaprio of course plays Belfort and puts in another cracking performances, narrating and anchoring the tale in a similar fashion to Ray Liotta/Henry Hill from that previous Scorsese classic. There's great support elsewhere from Jonah Hill and a whole raft of familiar faces including a memorable cameo from Matthew Mcconaughey. It's all ably directed by Martin Scorsese, bringing the stylistic flourishes you'd expect, perhaps the main reason it all flies past so breezily.

Admittedly it's probably not going to be to everyone's taste - while there's not much violence of any description, there's a huge amount of bad language, shed loads of nudity, copious drug use and a distinct lack of a moral compass. Pretty much how I imagined Wall Street in the 80's and 90's to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but people said it was funny which is something I don't really think Leonardo DiCaprio ..., 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was unsure about the film, but people said it was funny which is something I don't really think Leonardo DiCaprio even does. It's been a long time since I've watched a film from him, but this was so good! Sometimes it feels like they are just filling in to make the movie last longer, but it was just amazing. I got a real buzz from this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and unentertaining!, 14 Dec 2014
This must be one of the worse films I've seen. I've enjoyed most films with Leonardo Dicaprio so I thought this would be good. How wrong I was. It was so bad I switched it off in the end, and even the bad films I normally persevere with hoping for them to get better. The film is utterly boring, and continues to show sex and drugs throughout. It glorifies it. OK we get the gist but how many times do we have to see it. You could cut this film down in half and still be bored with it. If this is what is considered as successful, and being rich then I'd be poor any day of the week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excess, 22 Oct 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Based on the real life memoir of Jordan Belfort, we follow the rise of this young, hungry stockbroker (DiCaprio) who learns the quick way to the top unscrupulously. From living on the poverty line, to living a lavish life of wild parties, drugs, sex, fast cars & his inevitable downfall by the FBI.

The Wolf of Wall Street's almost 3 hour run time is an excessive charting of the eccentric people Belfort comes into contact with or surrounded by in the industry, that indeed he himself soon turns into an equally eccentric, unrecognizable person from that young, hungry stockbroker he started out as. Initially for the first hour it is an interesting journey of rags to riches with a little skirting of the law & bad boy behavior. As the next hour & 45 minutes delves deep into the greed & mass excess lifestyle of drug addiction, sex addiction, relationship implosion & FBI/SEC agencies coming knocking as things spiral out of control. This movie isn't a serious dramatic offering like 1987's Wall Street but instead a satire with a mixture of silly & subtle comedy styles spread through the film. The comedy scenes with DiCaprio & Jonah Hill in particular were the ones that i enjoyed the most. The satirize approach means the drug addiction & sexual content goes way over the top, from snorting cocaine from hookers bottoms, to mass orgies etc... with little time passing without scenes of one or the other & F-bombs every other word. Indeed it is more a film about focusing on the excess & greed , than it is a film with characters you actually care about or follow much in the way of development after the first hour. Martin Scorsese behind the camera is pretty spot on in immersing you into this lifestyle, from the rowdy trading floor to the mansions & excessive parties. Along with some neat touches of Goodfellas-esque narration & one particular funny car journey from the country club with an interesting twist.

Leonardo DiCaprio (Titanic) carries the film impressively as you can't take your eyes off him, featuring in pretty much every scene, his acting quality is consistent & never wavers. He has a great supporting man in Jonah Hill (21/22 Jump Street) whose acting chops are well & truly established, he's given a chance to show off his unique silly comedy style here in different extremes & gives you an idea of the realms of excess the movie goes into with his more outre humor. There is a host of good supporting talent including Matthew McConaughey (Mud) as an eccentric stockbroker, Jean Dujardin (The Artist) as a shady Swiss banker, Kyle Chandler (Super 8) as a dogged FBI agent & Joanna Lumley (The New Avengers) as an English cougar...i mean rose.

In conclusion, The Wolf of Wall Street is a satire on the life of Jordan Belfort which succeeds in charting the macho, unscrupulous methods & excessive lifestyle route to the top as these untouchables come crashing down to Earth. But at almost 3 hours long it was too indulgent, repetitive & morally hollow. Contains strong language, violence, mature themes & sexual scenes (full frontal nudity). Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'THE HIGHER YOU CLIMB - THE FURTHER THERE IS TO FALL', 23 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based worryingly
on real events.
'Jordan Belfort' gets hooked by the cut and thrust of the world of stockbroking
at an early age, he's taught by a skilled fraudster, and soon gets used to the
high-life.
When the Stock-Market crashes, 'Jordan's new-found lifestyle seems to be on
the slide, however a newspaper advert noticed by his first wife gets him back
in the saddle.
What he'd learnt in his earlier position, he uses to feather his nest, corruption
had become a way of life.
Setting up his own trading centre, natural progression.
The money soon roll's in life-style changes take hold pretty speedily, there is in
truth more money coming-in than he and his staff know what to do with.
'Jordan' earning himself the name 'The Wolf of Wall Street' because of his
predatory style of trading.
Interest from the press draws unwelcome attention from the F.B.I.
The Film - a constant stream of partying, drug taking, mixing with prostitutes with
frequent nudity sequences, and of course dodgy dealing.
Crude, rude and loud......over confidence could well prove to be 'Jordan's' downfall.
Not sure I'd go along with the film being incredibly funny, though there are moments,
a sequence where 'Jordan' get's high and is trying to return to his car, is, in truth
absolutely priceless, and there is a certain irony to the story's outcome, it's actually
quite pleasing.
American humour does not always sit well with many this side of the 'Atlantic' I myself
did find the film 'a little in your face' so to speak, after watching the first two hours,
I left the final hour for another night, but am pleased to have taken time out to do so.

Special Features -
* The Wolf Pack.
* Running Wild.
* The Wolf of Wall Street.
* Round Table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Long, 1 Jun 2014
By 
N. Baseley (Haslemere, UK) - See all my reviews
Can I say Martin Scorsese is ill-disciplined?! Maybe I missed something, but it felt to me like a good movie was struggling to get out of this one. Twice as long as it felt it needed to be. Some wonderful scenes contained herein, particularly one featuring three foot of water!

So for me a shame that I was largely bored. Can't say I agree with those who say the main character is unlikeable - I really liked him. I didn't mind the language, sex, party scenes. Just too long between plot points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gordon Gecko Would Not be Pleased, 9 Aug 2014
Aside from a couple of notable acting performances, this take on greed in Wall Street just seems a little tired these days. The film is too long, and too self indulgent for me. In these post bank crash days, I was also left struggling to find any character that I’d be empathetic to.

If they’d made something like this in the eighties, it would have been much better. Oh wait, they did! Don’t bother with this, go watch Gordon Gecko at his finest… Forget the Wolves, and just watch Wall Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wolf of Wall Street - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
£22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews