Customer Reviews


455 Reviews
5 star:
 (251)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a rare film, a must see
Of all the films I have seen so far this year, this is hands down my favorite. This really is a rare film. A film where the acting is nothing short of perfect and the script is hilarious. It's in my top three for Martin Scorsese's best work.

The film is such a fantastic depiction of the story about Jordan Belford. The insight throughout the film into the life...
Published 4 days ago by Scott Martin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, light romp
Funny at times but nothing else going on except that. One big cliché.It clearly glamourizes the egotistical debauched excesses ( I include salary here with sex, drugs.. etc..) of banking culture. The prostitute women (that's all of them apart from maid, Aunty and first wife) are glamourized too as in real life they are usually pale and thin and desperate; the sex...
Published 16 days ago by Miss S L Collins


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, light romp, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Funny at times but nothing else going on except that. One big cliché.It clearly glamourizes the egotistical debauched excesses ( I include salary here with sex, drugs.. etc..) of banking culture. The prostitute women (that's all of them apart from maid, Aunty and first wife) are glamourized too as in real life they are usually pale and thin and desperate; the sex money paying for their drug addictions. Leonardo isn't right; great acting, energy etc...but the character is one dimensional and cliché, almost cartoon-like. He just doesn't quite have the unnerving edge that Ray Liotta in Good fellas has. But ultimately, the film has no depth or anything interesting or insightful going on. If you are going to release a film about corrupt bankers whose lies, greed and dirty dealing has had a proven detrimental effect on the world economy, people's savings, businesses, mortgages then let the audience leave the film feeling something that's relevant to the crisis or at least something stimulating, a clever angle that can start discussion...something! Surely that's what film is about. It's the job of the director to Wow us with their cinema. I can only call this film a comedy...its 3 hours of the same entertainment throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'THE HIGHER YOU CLIMB - THE FURTHER YOU'LL FALL', 23 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based worryingly
on real events.
'Jordan Belfort' gets hooked by the cut and thrust of the world of stockbroking
at an early age, he's taught by a skilled fraudster, and soon gets used to the
high-life.
When the Stock-Market crashes, 'Jordan's new-found lifestyle seems to be on
the slide, however a newspaper advert noticed by his first wife gets him back
in the saddle.
What he'd learnt in his earlier position, he uses to feather his nest, corruption
had become a way of life.
Setting up his own trading centre, natural progression.
The money soon roll's in life-style changes take hold pretty speedily, there is in
truth more money coming-in than he and his staff know what to do with.
'Jordan' earning himself the name 'The Wolf of Wall Street' because of his
predatory style of trading.
Interest from the press draws unwelcome attention from the F.B.I.
The Film - a constant stream of partying, drug taking, mixing with prostitutes with
frequent nudity sequences, and of course dodgy dealing.
Crude, rude and loud......over confidence could well prove to be 'Jordan's' downfall.
Not sure I'd go along with the film being incredibly funny, though there are moments,
a sequence where 'Jordan' get's high and is trying to return to his car, is, in truth
absolutely priceless, and there is a certain irony to the story's outcome, it's actually
quite pleasing.
American humour does not always sit well with many this side of the 'Atlantic' I myself
did find the film 'a little in your face' so to speak, after watching the first two hours,
I left the final hour for another night, but am pleased to have taken time out to do so.

Special Features -
* The Wolf Pack.
* Running Wild.
* The Wolf of Wall Street.
* Round Table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a rare film, a must see, 11 Sep 2014
Of all the films I have seen so far this year, this is hands down my favorite. This really is a rare film. A film where the acting is nothing short of perfect and the script is hilarious. It's in my top three for Martin Scorsese's best work.

The film is such a fantastic depiction of the story about Jordan Belford. The insight throughout the film into the life and mind of someone so powerful and smart, yet deceitful makes it worth watching alone. However, the comedy throughout is icing on the cake.

It's not often as well where a film with this sort of genre is done so well. Leonardo DiCaprio is nothing short of flawless in his role as Jordan Belford. How he didn't win an Oscar, amazes me. He definitely feel like the right choice for the role and he portrays Belford incredibly well. Jonah Hill also pulled off a great, always hilarious, performance. I'm 100% sure that there was not a single piece of bad acting though this whole 3 hour long film.

For some, the amount of swearing, drugs and "mature themes" in the film was overboard. You need to take into account, however, this is Jordan Belfords life you're seeing, of course there were moments were it was over exaggerated, but it would be rude to tone it down to satisfy the needs of the few.

It's definitely my best film of the year and almost my favorite film ever. If you like a good, well done comedy...this is for you. It's a story that everyone needs to see, it's an insight into a life that none of us will ever experience personally, and that is what makes this film so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He’ll Huff and he’ll puff (but he won’t win an Oscar), 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Poor ol’ Leo, what does he have to do to get his Oscar? Here he teams up (yet again) with Martin Scorsese to play the real life (well, Hollywood adapted) tale of Jordan xcxcxcxc – a New York stock broker of dubious morales – who lives life in the fast lane (and swears a lot).

If you like Leo and/or Scorsese then this is for you. It’s an exercise in excess. From its excessive foul language to its excessive nudity and even its excessive (three hour) run-time – everything here is over the top. And it’s pretty good.

Scorsese does what he has been doing best lately, i.e. getting a good performance out of Leo and piles on his trademark monologues and tracking shots, while filming grown men behaving *very* badly. Leo seems to be on overdrive and cranks up his acting to the max, screaming, shouting and generally working himself up into a manic frenzy. Both of which are pretty fun to watch.

If you want to know what ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’ is like, think the characters from America Psycho and put them in the setting of ‘Wall Street’ and add the foul language from Goodfellas then you’re sort of in the right area.

It’s pretty entertaining. You may not like all the characters (in fact you probably won’t even like a single one), but you’ll probably enjoy watching them fall from grace with a bump. Just as long as you can tolerate the shouting, the drug-taking and the nudity then you’ll get something out of this.

My only complaint was the length. Yes, three hours was a little too long in my opinion (apparently it had been trimmed down from FOUR hours!); I felt a few of the scenes had been dragged out a little too long and a little more ruthless editing might have been in order. But, I’d certainly watch it again (once I’ve stopped swearing like a trooper and thumping my chest while at work).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disapponting, 12 Jun 2014
The last time DiCaprio made a film based on a true story, it was Catch Me if You Can, and it was wonderful. The Wolf of Wall Street does not live up to expectation.

The story is funny, but funny as in it would get a few laughs at a party where everyone had a bit too much to drink, but not funny enough to make a major film out of.

The length of the film is also a problem. It is nearly 3 hours long! That kind of length may work for a fantasy epic such as The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, but for a not particularly good film with a type of crude humour that stops being funny after about half an hour, it becomes very tedious.

Overall then, this film is really not worth watching. It doesn't remain funny for long, the plot isn't particularly interesting and it gets boring after 40 minutes, let alone 2 hours 50 minutes. Doesn't live up to the bar set by Catch Me if You Can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great acting, no plot, 26 July 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Brilliant acting throughout, but lots of swearing, sex and drug abuse. Basically the main characters get super rich by dishonest trading, behave horribly and get away with it with virtually no consequences. Not much story beyond lots of showcasing of how excessively you can live if you have lots of money. Very disappointed, considering the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I detested this movie and felt I had wasted my money, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I detested this movie and felt I had wasted my money. There was nothing clever about it - it's just a celebration of debauchery. Sorry ..... if there was a hidden meaning, I failed to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gordon Gecko Would Not be Pleased, 9 Aug 2014
Aside from a couple of notable acting performances, this take on greed in Wall Street just seems a little tired these days. The film is too long, and too self indulgent for me. In these post bank crash days, I was also left struggling to find any character that I’d be empathetic to.

If they’d made something like this in the eighties, it would have been much better. Oh wait, they did! Don’t bother with this, go watch Gordon Gecko at his finest… Forget the Wolves, and just watch Wall Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff but perhaps not for everyone, 3 Sep 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed The Wolf of Wall Street. I'm not convinced it's up there with the best of Scorsese but for a 3 hour movie it flew past in a whirlwind of excess and was certainly never dull.

It's based on the memoir of Jordan Belfort about his sky highs and depraved lows as a stock broker on Wall Street in the 1990's. It may be a lazy comparison but the film shares much with Goodfellas in terms of story arch and structure - Belforts rise and rise to become The Wolf and the inevitable crash and burn that must follow.

Leonardo DiCaprio of course plays Belfort and puts in another cracking performances, narrating and anchoring the tale in a similar fashion to Ray Liotta/Henry Hill from that previous Scorsese classic. There's great support elsewhere from Jonah Hill and a whole raft of familiar faces including a memorable cameo from Matthew Mcconaughey. It's all ably directed by Martin Scorsese, bringing the stylistic flourishes you'd expect, perhaps the main reason it all flies past so breezily.

Admittedly it's probably not going to be to everyone's taste - while there's not much violence of any description, there's a huge amount of bad language, shed loads of nudity, copious drug use and a distinct lack of a moral compass. Pretty much how I imagined Wall Street in the 80's and 90's to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars for me it was a turn off from what was actually brilliant acting by Di caprio and other actors, 4 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray)
I heard so much about this film, I almost went out and bought the blu ray the day it was released.
Thank God I didn't.
Un necessary swearing and profanity clouded realism in a film trying to depict a gritty cut throat real world.
No one swears as much as this, for me it was a turn off from what was actually brilliant acting by Di caprio and other actors.
Ok story line and poor conclusion after a length session left me wondering what the hype was all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews