Customer Reviews


314 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance
This film is simply brilliant. Lots of people have said it before but they're completely correct- it's a modern day Goodfellas. The rise and dramatic fall of a character who you may even have sympathy with at the end (although sympathy is a very strong word) pays testament to the brilliance of yet another Sorcese/DiCaprio megacombo. The manner in which DiCaprio...
Published 1 month ago by Mr E P T Wright

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wall Street Wolf Pack
"The Wolf of Wall Street" is an overly long black comedy about a crooked Wall Street broker who makes his fortune in the 1990's. The lead role is played with gusto by Leonardo DiCaprio who seems to have subscribed to the Jack Nicholson school of acting.

The whole movie is so completely over the top with a large amount of foul language, sexual depravity,...
Published 4 days ago by Neil Lennon


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 7 Jun 2014
This film is simply brilliant. Lots of people have said it before but they're completely correct- it's a modern day Goodfellas. The rise and dramatic fall of a character who you may even have sympathy with at the end (although sympathy is a very strong word) pays testament to the brilliance of yet another Sorcese/DiCaprio megacombo. The manner in which DiCaprio encapsulates the antihero is astounding and a doff of the (hooker filler drugs) cap goes to Jonah Hill for a brilliant supporting role. I cannot recommend this to (over 18's!!!) enough. At three hours long, you'll wonder how the time flew by so quick....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!!, 8 Jun 2014
Most I've laughed at a movie for a long time, DiCaprio and Jonah Hill had me cracking up with their drug fuelled degenerate ways, brilliant film!! Scorsese at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wall Street Wolf Pack, 27 July 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
"The Wolf of Wall Street" is an overly long black comedy about a crooked Wall Street broker who makes his fortune in the 1990's. The lead role is played with gusto by Leonardo DiCaprio who seems to have subscribed to the Jack Nicholson school of acting.

The whole movie is so completely over the top with a large amount of foul language, sexual depravity, drug abuse and general bad behaviour that it is hard to believe that it is supposedly based on a true story. Its this outrageous behaviour that gives the movie its best moments though as you can't help but laugh at the hedonism on display.

Unfortunately though for most people with any sense of morality the characters portrayed in the movie are a group of the most unlikeable, unethical, greedy and dispicable people you can possibly imagine. If you consider that people like these were responsible for the worlds financial difficulties in the new millenium you wonder who it is you are supposed to empathise with. There are many similar movies dealing with the rise and fall of drug dealers, and it seems that anti-heroes are popular with cinema audiences at the moment. I found it difficult though to sit through a three hour long movie where all the main characters were scumbags and there seemed to be little moral judgement of their behaviour.

"The Wolf of Wall Street" has its moments, but it is far from being a classic Scorsese movie. The film never convincingly feels like it is set in the 80's and 90's and while they obviously had fun filming it I noticed a large number of continuity errors between shots which was surprising for such an experienced director. You can't help but compare this movie to the old Michael Douglas film "Wall Street" of which it seems to be an updated, more exagerrated version but one with a lot less charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a film, and what a life that man had simply amazing good good great amazing cool exciting amazing good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wolves, Lions, and FBI don't mix..., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best Scorsese movie you'll ever see, but it's still worth the risk. We've seen Glen Gary Glen Ross, we've seen Boiler Room, we've seen Rogue Trader, and of course, we've seen Wall Street. How does this compare? How does this hold up? It does just fine, but is fine enough for Scorsese? No....Goodfellas did it a lot better. Cape Fear did it somewhat better. Raging Bull did it much better. i read somewhere this being a 'return to form' after the mediocre Shutter Island, that's a plausible evaluation....

I don't have to tell you the truth do I? I just tell you what you want to hear, right? That means anything I tell you will make you and me a whole bunch of cash. But I don't care if I'm lying about it. I'll tell you anything to get your money off you. Why? Because you don't say no to me....loss of gain is greater than the fear of rejection. Get them so they feel guilty about saying no. Classic sales techniques. 'I could sell artificial snow to the eskimos, and they'd still come back for more'

We hear lots of speeches, to justify his ostentation, his totally hedonistic and materialistic lifestyle and when, at the end of the movie we see the FBI guy look at the ordinary people on the subway, he doesn't look down on them, why? because they didn't get what they've got illegally. Other people have the same lifestyle - footballers, F1 drivers, musicians, etc. so why pick on a stock-broker? What's the big deal? 9 out of ten US bank notes are said to have traces on cocaine on them...how did they get there? Money makes the world go around right?

Wrong. It will cost you your marriage and kids and, eventually, like one Nick Leason found out, six years in jail. Belfort did 22 months in real life - yes he is a real person and yes people actually think the way he does in real life. But he still got his comeuppance. It wasn't that big because the scale of what he was doing wasn't that huge.... Leeson did far worse. But the movie Rogue Trader was already made...was DiCaprio aware of that?

The underlying message of this movie is about the justification for wanting to make money - anyway possible to enable one to lead such a hedonistic lifestyle, But it also tries to tell us about risk, about selling, about financial ethics. Does it succeed? Not really. Those speeches are minor quips and how he whips up the adrenalin and testosterone of the 'shop floor' to try harder, to not give up... that money can make a difference in people's lives. It can improve the quality of them.... But at the end of the day our mr Belfort is just, sadly, another womanising, drugged-up sex addict, who wants everything right now... and he mostly gets it - all be it illegally.

The film is a bit long, the soundtrack is no where near as good as Goodfellas, there are numerous naked scenes and lots of drug taking scenes... are they all necessary. No. And in my view that's where the movie fails... we see too much of that, and not enough of how it actually went about it...it his a biopic, yes, and we see what Belfort does - but we don't really get to see much of his underlying character... the film is as superficial as the subject matter, the black humour comedy elements get in the way too much...even if the movie is essentially a black comedy.... either do one or the other... Capitalism itself is never that interesting or funny.

You could say Joe Pesci should have been in this movie, as should Alec Baldwin as the FBI guy too, the rest of the cast weren't that well known... But Margot Robbie is a stunner as his wife though, and holds her own, despite being much younger in real life.

Overall, this is every enjoyable to watch, and I would recommend it, DiCaprio is very convincing as usual, but don't expect too much. ps. The best scene for my money (no pun intended) was when he threw lobsters at the FBI when they first saw him on his boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I wish I didn't like it as much as I do, 20 July 2014
By 
Version I saw: UK cinema release
Actors: 8/10
Plot/script: 8/10
Photography/visual style: 7/10
Music/score: 7/10
Overall: 8/10
I am very conflicted about The Wolf of Wall Street. You see, accidentally or deliberately, it pulls the strange trick of making me enjoy it while simultaneously making me feel bad for enjoying it.
Like many Scorsese films (Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, The Aviator), The Wolf of Wall Street is a deftly drawn portrait of an exceptional character, who faces pressures and trials very different to those of everyday people, and reacts in ways no ordinary person would. Jordan Belfort (Leonardo DiCaprio) is uniquely driven, but he is also self-centred, greedy, shallow and essentially immoral. As played by DiCaprio, he also has enormous reserves of charisma.
The film follows the essential plot of Goodfellas, charting Belfort's rise and fall. He does abhorrent things to gain success, enjoys that success, and eventually has his comeuppance. Part of me hated him and delighted in his downfall, but another part was drawn in by his personal magnetism, and I found that my gut reaction was to smile when he did well, and be unhappy when he did badly. I was slightly angry with myself for siding with this monster against his victims, and slightly angry with Scorsese and DiCaprio for making me feel this way, no matter how subtly and impressively it was that they did so. I left the cinema feeling a little bit soiled.
For my full review, see my independent film blog on Blogspot, Cinema Inferno: http://cinemainferno-blog.blogspot.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Making money = mainlining adrenaline.", 15 April 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The above quote is attributed to Jordan Belfort, the real life rogue trader who set up "pump and dump" Long Island stockbroking firm and who is portrayed in 'The Wolf of Wall Street" as a daredevil sybarite with an appetite for drugs and prostitutes (both A-list). The film is a crazy, more often than not over-the-top black comedy staring our boy Leonardo DiCaprio (simply put: amazing), Jonah Hill (a good laugh) and Matthew McConaughey (charismatic as always).

In theory, Belfort is an American anti-hero, he embraces the destructive and obnoxious side of the late twentieth century America with its obsession on all things material and capitalism generally. Belfort's extravagant antics (from illegal money making machine to money laundering) in the nineties helped, it is believed, to get the financial crisis of 2008 on its way.

The three-hour saga of life (and near-death, a number of times) of the sexist, witty, self-deprecating and occasionally romantic Jordan Belfort is deranged and exhilaration, everything about his life (and the film itself) is excessive. Yes, the screen play is witty and the characters are all fantastic (and fantastically portrayed), the film is enjoyable, but only, I found, in the first 90 minutes or so. Then it becomes somewhat tiresome. And the moral? Is there one? Vanity Fair accused 'The Wolf of Wall Street" of praising and glorifying criminal behaviour and lack of morals in the finance, food for thought, eh?

The bottom line: Leonardo DiCaprio is fantastic, when you are tired of the repetitive imagery of endless cocaine parties and naked women, he shines his artistic star. DiCaprio carries the film to its glorious (and long-awaited) finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problematic, 28 Jun 2014
Honestly, this is a big "hmmmm..."

If you mash up Limitless with Wall Street you get this... and at 3hrs, it is a looong film. Broadly speaking, a biopic, we see the debauched and immoral lives of stock-traders from the end of the 80's through to the mid 90's. And of course, it is supposed to echo the nonsensical trading that went out before the current recession.

The problem with this movie is that it suffers from exactly the same problem as Wall St and Limitless - the central character is a drug addled, amoral, criminal. There is no coverage on the effect that his action had (all the blue collar workers who lost their life savings), and it just seems to revel in its debauchery as a pale imitation of Scarface or Blow. I spent three hours wanting Di Caprio wanting him to get badly hurt.

Did he? Not really - three years in jail and then a successful speaking career. Wholly dissatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, brilliant film, 28 July 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
I love Scorcese Di Caprio collaborations and was looking forward to this, it didn't disappoint. From the opening scene showing stockbrokers in an office throwing dwarves at a dartboard it was a roller coaster ride of excess. I haven't laughed at a film this much since, well I don't think I've ever laughed this much at a film and given that it's not a comedy that's some result.

People have commented that it is morally reprehensible and disgraceful, c'mon folks it's not Mary Poppins anyone renting this must surely know what they are in for. Brilliant acting/directing/storytelling. De Caprio has never been better, the scene on the plane and the one with the Lamborghini are possibly the funniest in any film.

Absolutely agree it doesn't feel like 3 hours, the time flies by, the end part is less enjoyable but inevitably so.

Just a brilliant film and so much fun to watch, get a few beers and a takeaway and a few mates round - you'll have a ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'WHAT GOES UP - MUST COME DOWN' ??, 23 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based worryingly
on real events.
'Jordan Belfort' gets hooked by the cut and thrust of the world of stockbroking
at an early age, he's taught by a skilled fraudster, and soon gets used to the
high-life.
When the Stock-Market crashes, 'Jordan's new-found lifestyle seems to be on
the slide, however a newspaper advert noticed by his first wife gets him back
in the saddle.
What he'd learnt in his earlier position, he uses to feather his nest, corruption
had become a way of life.
Setting up his own trading centre, natural progression.
The money soon roll's in life-style changes take hold pretty speedily, there is in
truth more money coming-in than he and his staff know what to do with.
'Jordan' earning himself the name 'The Wolf of Wall Street' because of his
predatory style of trading.
Interest from the press draws unwelcome attention from the F.B.I.
The Film - a constant stream of partying, drug taking, mixing with prostitutes with
frequent nudity sequences, and of course dodgy dealing.
Crude, rude and loud......over confidence could well prove to be 'Jordan's' downfall.
Not sure I'd go along with the film being incredibly funny, though there are moments,
a sequence where 'Jordan' get's high and is trying to return to his car, is, in truth
absolutely priceless, and there is a certain irony to the story's outcome, it's actually
quite pleasing.
American humour does not always sit well with many this side of the 'Atlantic' I myself
did find the film 'a little in your face' so to speak, after watching the first two hours,
I left the final hour for another night, but am pleased to have taken time out to do so.

Special Features -
* The Wolf Pack.
* Running Wild.
* The Wolf of Wall Street.
* Round Table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews