Customer Reviews


303 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Let them known men did this!"
At the risk of not so much swimming against the tide as against a tidal wave, I thought the much-despised 2010 remake of Clash of the Titans was a terrific entertainment that managed to improve on many aspects of the now much-loved but itself initially disparaged Ray Harryhausen version. For a start it's barely a remake, sharing only the title and the subject matter,...
Published on 18 Dec 2010 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flash, Trash, or Car Crash?
I've read a few reviews here saying it's the worst thing they've seen all year. I think that's a shame. This is not an Oscar-winner by any definition, granted, but it's not the low point of 2010's cinematic output either.
I accept the point that Sam Worthington isn't a good enough actor to warrant the hype, but he looks the part, and it works for me. The characters,...
Published on 10 Jan 2011 by R. W. Merriman


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Let them known men did this!", 18 Dec 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
At the risk of not so much swimming against the tide as against a tidal wave, I thought the much-despised 2010 remake of Clash of the Titans was a terrific entertainment that managed to improve on many aspects of the now much-loved but itself initially disparaged Ray Harryhausen version. For a start it's barely a remake, sharing only the title and the subject matter, discarding the love story and family-friendly elements for an altogether grittier and bleaker view that's at least more true to the cruelty of Greek mythology even if the details aren't so well served.

If Sam Worthington's Perseus is a throwback to the typical beefcake hero of 50s peplum, the script at least is smarter than the average mythological adventure. Instead of than fulfilling a divine destiny, this version's demi-god Perseus - half man, half-god, all-Ocker - is raging against it, determined to defy the gods as a man. These gods are cruel and parasitic, dependent on the worship of men to fuel their immortality but unwilling to earn it, their arrogance sparking a war with the mortals who don't want them any more. Rather than taking a Richard Dawkins "there is no god" approach, this is more of a "the gods exist and they're a right bunch of bastards" attack, with the dawning realisation that they can ultimately kill them by denying them their prayers. The film does copout on this with the end used in the film, the Blu-ray offering an alternate but poorly executed original version that saw Liam Neeson's Zeus and Perseus still very much at loggerheads, and by losing the love story between Perseus and Andromeda it does lower the stakes somewhat. Perseus' quest is now fuelled by pride, arrogance and defiance, with an impressively bitter Mads Mikkelsen and his high-testosterone expendable Argonauts all manly men meeting manly deaths at the hands and claws and tentacles of mythological beasts.

The beasts themselves are generally a pretty impressive bunch, the CGi faring much better in the original 2D than in the clumsily converted 3D version released in cinemas. If Ralph Fiennes' Hades is better as a special effect than when overdoing the Uriah Heap routine in more human form, the impressively rendered giant scorpions, multi-tentacled Kraken and the serpent-like Medusa grab the limelight over some of the old favorites from the Harryhausen version: Jason Flemyng's Calibos has less to do this time round while Pegasus simply conveniently appears when needed without needing to be tamed in a rather lazy bit of deux ex machina. But then this is the kind of film where the human cast are mostly sidelined as well, actors like Pete Posthlethwaite, Elizabeth McGovern, Danny Huston and Polly Walker turning up for a minute or two as little more than walk-ons and most of the gods having nothing more to do than stand around a disappointingly designed Olympus whose exteriors are spectacular but whose interiors look like Las Vegas car showroom. But it keeps moving without feeling too chopped up and thankfully there's a minimum of shakeycam or MTV overediting to accompany the overdose of testosterone. Big on spectacle and short on charm, it's a very different animal to Harryhausen's film (there's even an injoke about that version's irritating mechanical owl), but as long as you're expecting that it's one of the better action adventures of recent years.

DVD buyers get short shrift yet again, with nearly all of the extras reserved for the BluRay release - 10 deleted scenes and alternate ending, 11 featurettes and additional picture-in-picture featurettes running throughout the film if you choose `Maximum Movie Mode' - which has a generally excellent transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flash, Trash, or Car Crash?, 10 Jan 2011
I've read a few reviews here saying it's the worst thing they've seen all year. I think that's a shame. This is not an Oscar-winner by any definition, granted, but it's not the low point of 2010's cinematic output either.
I accept the point that Sam Worthington isn't a good enough actor to warrant the hype, but he looks the part, and it works for me. The characters, although portrayed by decent actors, are shallow and/or predictable (a conversation on Charon's Barge reminded me of all that was crass about the Airport movies), so rather than rooting for them, you're just left trying to work out in advance which one will die in the next battle. But this isn't attempting to be educational or otherwise "worthy" in the Schindler's List vein... it's meant to be entertaining, and it manages that.
As a visual spectacle, it's worth watching, although movie effects usually translate poorly to the small screen. It's fair to say the Kraken is woefully underused, and the scorpions are average at best, but everything else passes muster, and the Pegasus is gorgeous!
Ultimately, I think this film isn't what the makers hoped it would be, but it isn't a stinker. It's always going to be compared (probably unfavourably) with the original, and rightly so, but it's still an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All style and no substance (except beards), 3 July 2014
This review is from: Clash of the Titans (2010) (Amazon Instant Video)
Some people with beards wander around dispatching a modest selection of mythical creatures for no apparent reason. In spite of having Gemma Arterton around to help out and look pretty, they are generally quite ineffective and lots of them die in surprisingly uninteresting ways. Then the film ends. It looks quite whizzy though which covers up the lack of any discernable plot and prevents you from dozing off completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hey, I thought it was a great film!, 18 Aug 2010
By 
I really don't know why so many people are slating this movie. It's a great action film. I think people are just over intellectualising films these days. Just watch it and enjoy. If you put it on then spend every second dissecting it then of course you won't enjoy it. So for one hour forty minutes, suspend disbelief and lose yourself in a world of myth, mythology and monsters. A very enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars big let down for me, 27 Sep 2014
This review is from: Clash of the Titans (2010) (Amazon Instant Video)
If you have never watched the original movie, know very little about the storyline, then this is an excellent movie

However, if you have watched the original movie, then this is a big let down as the storyline was changed. I can't believe the original movie was significantly better than something made in the 21st century. I preferred the monsters from the original to this. Did you see kalibos?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another insult to the classic that didn't need a remake, 23 Nov 2014
By 
V. Ierubino (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clash of the Titans (2010) (Amazon Instant Video)
Take a great film, strip out all its charm, fill it with mindless action scenes, and you get Clash of the Titans (2010). Not that I am against action scenes, but these are mindless ones. And not based in Greek mythology at all. What's the point? They even literally insulted the previous film by cameo-ing the mechanical owl... only to ridicule it and throw it aside... such disrespect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice steel at sale price, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
. . . . . . Got it part of the sales for around £10... decent steel for that money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clash of the Titans, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is OK, But if you have a Samsung 3D TV then the up scale to 3D does the same job.
Save your money and buy the 2D version and up scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a touch on Harryhausen, 10 Feb 2014
If you are looking for entertainment this will do, although it is annoying at times. Io comes over as somewhat of a know it all.

However if you want something of some quality & merit you can't go wrong with Harryhausen's original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a 3D film, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this film is not to everyone's taste, it will do for me. Great on blue ray, but it not a 3D film so I think it doesn't warrant the extra cost afforded to proper 3D films, just my opinion for what it's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clash of the Titans (2010)
Clash of the Titans (2010) by Louis Leterrier
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews