Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhydian's back with a bang!
Several years after he first came to fame, Rhydian has delivered an album which is both rich in production and showcases his unmistakeable voice at its best. Whilst it does include a few tracks often recorded by those within the classical/crossover genre, he suceeds in making them different and his own. The Pearl Fisher's Duet has never been recorded by one artist capable...
Published 15 months ago by LadyBird

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not as good as the original one
Published 6 months ago by B. Everitt


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhydian's back with a bang!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
Several years after he first came to fame, Rhydian has delivered an album which is both rich in production and showcases his unmistakeable voice at its best. Whilst it does include a few tracks often recorded by those within the classical/crossover genre, he suceeds in making them different and his own. The Pearl Fisher's Duet has never been recorded by one artist capable of delivering both the tenor and baritone vocals to my knowledge. Few singers I would imagine have a range capable of doing so. Another example is his Danny Boy arrangement; unlike many versions so often heard.
All the more contemporary tracks are sweeping and majestic, stamped with Rhydian's dramatic style and delivery, which gives the listener the 'wow' factor for which he is renowned and excels. However, he easily switches to the sensitvity needed where other tracks call for it.
If you liked him during his early years in the limelight, then this album will give you back what impressed you about him. It shows off his versatility, a voice which has defniitely grown in strength and range since 2007 and is accompanied by one of London's finest orchestras. Both female duet partners have voices ideally suited to the tracks chosen.
His training shines through with the classical tracks; it's little wonder he won prizes during his days in the Conservatoire prior to coming to public attention.
I'd definitely recommend buying and turning up the volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic New Album by Rhydian, 14 April 2014
By 
Fay (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
Rhydian has previously made four interesting and varied albums all of which I have enjoyed in their different ways but this album far surpasses anything he has produced before.His voice is sublime,totally unique and instantly recognisable and the orchestration is imaginative and beautiful.

His rendition of the Pearl Fishers in which he duets with himself shows his incredible vocal range,sensitivity and feeling. Miserere sung with Bonnie Tyler is stunning and adds an extra dimension in the contrast between the traditional emotive Classical voice and the distinctive edgy rock voice.Nights in White satin is also dramatic and different and will leave you wanting to hear more.

This is a must for anyone who enjoys a beautifully executed and produced Classical Crossover album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for all music lovers, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
His voice is golden steel. The range of musical texture is inspiring. I've seen him live twice before and his voice blew me away. I can't wait to see him on his tour this year singing songs from this wonderful album. This is a perfectly produced album. The samples are not enough! You need to buy the album to hear its full majesty! Wow! He's unbelievably good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhydian back to doing what he does best!, 16 April 2014
By 
Mr. Barry J. Evans "bazmufc" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
As a big Rhydian fan, I wasn't sure what to expect from this album. His last album of Welsh songs was great though for a very particular audience and I had very mixed feelings about the 'Waves' album which I felt could have been better.

However, in my opinion, this is Rhydian's greatest release since his 1st self-titled album. I was particularly intrigued to see 'Nessum Dorma' on there which I've heard so many times. I have to say, Rhydian does it the world of justice!

There's some great duets with Bonnie Tyler and Kerry Ellis who I feel are very well matched when duetting with Rhyd.

I think this is a must buy for any fan of classical crossover music and I really hope this album gets the recognition it deserves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhydian's album is utterly amazing, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
Best Classical crossover album ever released! His voice is stunning, with such an amazing range. It's like velvet gold.
This is a must! You will love it. My daughter loves it too! She is 27 and proves that Rhydian appeals to all ages. His Music is therapeutic. What a Voice!! Thank you again Rhydian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful album by a great singer, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
This is Rhydian's fifth studio album and is clearly a labour of love. All 16 tracks are a delight and show off his wonderful baritone voice which just gets better and better. There is a great mix of the classical and the modern with excellent orchestrations and production. I love all the tracks but The Blower's Daughter blew me away! Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning vocals and orchestration, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
Rhydian's eagerly awaited fifth album certainly won't disappoint. Whether you want to hear new arrangements of iconic songs like Elbow's One Day Like This or Nights in White Satin, gentle classics like Ave Maria or traditional songs like Danny Boy they are all on this album with much more in between. In fact with 16 tracks there is something to please everyone. Collaborations with Bonnie Tyler whose gravelly rock voice adds a dramatic feel to Miserere and Kerry Ellis's pure, clear sound compliments Rhydian's rich voice perfectly in Vivo per Lei. This is a cd for all occasions but especially for shutting out the rest of the world whilst the exquisite orchestral sound washes over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class album, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
Rhydian returns to his classic roots, but as we have come to expect from this singer with a different slant, from Litanei to Nights in White Satin this is a superb album. It is a pleasure to hear such quality singing combined with beautiful orchestration throughout. Whether your personal favourite is the passionate rendition of Vivo Per Lei with the amazing Kerry Ellis or the classical english song Sleep, performed here with the orchestra rather than the traditional piano there is a whole range to appeal. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album yet, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (Audio CD)
We have Rhydian's previous albums which are great but this is definitely his best so far. He speaks of the freedom he enjoyed to create this album as he wanted and it is evident in all the tracks.
The variety of the solos and duets, both classical and modern, showcases his range and ability. He has created a real tour de force that I have already listened to five times and am enjoying more with every hearing.
It is at number one in the classical chart for its third week at the moment and deserves to stay there for a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant new album from a superb artist!!!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day Like This (MP3 Download)
Many others have already applied glowing tributes on this young Welshman's superb talent, I add my own to them, Rhydian just keeps getting better and better and now has an army of discerning admirers, what a voice, what a range, there's little in the different musical style's he cannot do from modern to classical to popera. I undoubtably believe that this is his best to date and its little wonder it went straight to the top of the charts virtually on release.

"One Day Like This" is a really excellent mix album with something for every mood and taste, since I bought it I've played it constantly, it is already among my all time favourite albums. I cannot give Rhydian enough praise or possibly recommend an album more highly...just go buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Day Like This
One Day Like This by Rhydian (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews