Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wartime Sexual and Political Intrigue
In October, 1942, in Bordeaux, Superintendent Jean Lannes is summoned to a murder. The respected Gabrielle Peniel appears to be the victim of a crime of passion. Lannes is not convinced. His investigations open the floodgates to a scenario of intrigue. Set against a background of a German presence and threat of occupation, where anti-Semitism is rife, the author...
Published 6 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gnomic
I enjoyed this slightly less than the two earlier parts of the trilogy (Death in ... / Dark Summer in ... ). Again, the murder (of an unpleasant piano teacher) is merely the maguffin that gets the ball rolling. The main business, of course, in the moral greyness that characterises life in occupied France. In order, though, to capture the obliqueness and necessarily...
Published 2 months ago by JK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars part of a series....read in order, 29 April 2014
By 
Russell (Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading these books ..this is the third and would definitely buy the 4th if it comes out. The story is more meandering at times than gripping but Massie has a knack of holding your interest with all the various strands to the story. It is rich in background to the angst that gripped the French people during occupation and how divisive this was for their sense of identity. To get the best of them you need to read them in order so that the main character, Lannes, becomes like a familiar friend and you share his introspection and develop an understanding of the presures he is under to do the right thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuing high standards, 30 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Winter in Bordeaux (Kindle Edition)
I bought the series of 3 books when I read the review in the Spectator. The second book continued and was just as enjoyable as the first and I am now on the third. A really interesting social study as well as an interesting police procedural and detection as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Winter in Bordeaux (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book - in fact the series to date and can't wait for the next episode. Authentic dialogue created a real atmoshere of war time France and the storyline reflected the history in a stark but informative way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on the list, 26 May 2014
By 
C. J. Driver "Jonty" (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Winter in Bordeaux (Kindle Edition)
I haven't got round to reading this one of the series yet. A lukewarm review in the TLS is what sent me in search of the first two novels in the series; I love them, so have this to look forward to, and I hope a fourth novel in due course, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So - how will it all end?, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Winter in Bordeaux (Kindle Edition)
Eagerly awaited third book in the trilogy. Characters,location details and story lines as good as ever but felt somewhat cheated at the end as there are so many loose ends which have not been resolved. There is a real need for a fourth book in the series to satisfy my and other readers' curiosity. How about it Mr Massie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Read the earlier books first, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read lots of atmosphere but doesn't really solve the problem of writing a sequal without to some degree repeating the content. To a large extent this is acceptable as the novel needs to be able to stand alone yet refer back to the earlier novels but at the same time ther are for me too many similarities to the earlier novels .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great atmosphere and background, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Winter in Bordeaux (Kindle Edition)
Alan Massie serves up a genuinely interesting mystery against a fascinating background of Vichy France, thus proving once again that there is much to be learned via a good thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cross that I'd wasted time reading the 3 books, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Winter in Bordeaux (Kindle Edition)
Slow going but waded through the trilogy but unsatisfactory ending. Left you in mid air with no knowledge of what happened to any
of the characters towards the end of the war. Cross that I'd wasted time reading the 3 books. A fourth book is needed to follow each
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the "Bordeaux " series., 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recommended this series of books to all my reading friends. Well written,accurate,I live 100 Kms, north of Bordeaux ,Vichy France is still missed by some people in France!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Winter in Bordeaux (Kindle Edition)
I got all 3 of the Bordeaux books but I got them in the wrong sequence - didn't really matter.
For me, these are a great read - policing & killings yet free of that current fad for gruesomeness, and delightfully without results - sounds odd probably but so 'real'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold Winter in Bordeaux
Cold Winter in Bordeaux by Allan Massie
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews