Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Magnum Sounds
Right from the start this Album oozes classic Magnum with some some great keyboards from Mark Introducing the first track "live Till You Die". Then it just gets better and better as you listen to it with the great vocals from Bob and guitar riffs from Tony. With great solid rock tracks like "Too Many Clowns" and the moving Ballad's like "Don't Fall...
Published 12 months ago by Back Street Kid

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Typical Magnum
As a longtime fan it disappoints me to have to write this. Firstly, nothing wrong with the songs, the passion of the band nor the production.

My problem is with Bob Catley. His voice is clearly shot ( and this is even more evident on recent youtube videos) and that detracts from the excellence of the songs.

I would give the music 4 stars and the lead...
Published 9 months ago by Samuel Houston


‹ Previous | 16 7 812 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum are back!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've loved Magnum ever since the 80s, I've found many of their later albums a bit hit & miss, but this was a true return to magnum of old and worthy of Rodney Matthews art work!
A really great album, all the songs are strong. Just need to find it on gate-fold vinyl now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To me playing the best music out today, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a melodic rock masterpiece,by a most underrated down to earth english band.,To me playing the best music out today..awesome riffs,soaring melodies and emotive lyrics.Also if you get the chance go see them live.you wont be disappointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Magnum of the Future, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A blast from the past - a group I watched in the 80's! New CD and some good distinctive tracks, unmistakable as the Magnum of old but with a modern style. Will appeal to a wide audience and a great addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape to Victory, 30 Mar. 2014
By 
milphogg (Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (MP3 Download)
I think it prudent to wait a week or so before posting any review of an album given that first/second listens can often produce overly enthusiastic or hyper critical comments. So, over seven days since i first heard the album, here goes..

A fine addition to the Magnum catalogue.. with standout rockers "Live til You Die" (Do I hear a familiar NWOBHM riff?!) and "Too Many Clowns"- a number of "slow, quick, quick ,quick slow" tracks including the superb "The Art of Compromise" - and ballads including the immense "The Valley of Tears". And the bonus DVD contains a cracking live version of Storytellers Night.

Wonderful stuff! Easily the best melodic rock release of the year so far for me which sits as a fine companion piece to the previous "13th Day" release of 2012..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
Andrew Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album takes me back to the style of Magnum during the early to mid 80s. But it is brought up to date with some great melodies, modern lyrics, really emotional singing by Bob. Superb guitar playing by Tony Clarkin too. Too many Clowns has a mega riff !

Keyboards are excellent, like some of the older style Albums. Great lyrics, very well thought out.

Plus you can see a great album cover, of which the front of the cd is only half of the full drawing seen on the booklet inside. Rodney Mathews at his best again.

I have given this a 5 star because it tops all my expectations and needs only 1 listen to get hooked, again a bit like some of the older Magnum tunes.

Vintage Magnum styles , instantly catchy with a modern sound and plenty of pace when required

If they haven't quite floated your boat since they reformed, lyrics like "So let your magic lantern Burn" will get you hooked once again, this is the one you have been waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Album great (have it on CD as well), 30 July 2014
By 
D. R. Chesney "DCMan" (Wigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Album great (have it on CD as well), but quality of vinyl press seems ropey. May need a proper clean, but was very noisy even when compared to some of my older albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK......but there's nothing new, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have listened to this album a number of times now and I think that it is a bit of a mixed bag. I really like the first five tracks, which gel together nicely, helped by a fabulous production. Of particular note are 'Crying In The Rain' and 'Too Many Clowns' (the latter being a lively, fun number) Unfortunately, what follows is a bit bland and uninspired - a situation not helped by Harry's continued insistence on using the same drum beat on every song since the Moonking album

In short, after enjoying all of the recent albums, this one just seems formulaic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent album.must get for, any magnum fan., 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From The Shadow Garden (MP3 Download)
i,ve been a magnum fan for many years and have got most of their albums.this is certainly the best one for quite some time.i liked all the tracks.did,nt seem quite as heavy as :on the thirteenth day: .which suited me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum Masterpiece, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan of Magnum for ever. They have had their ups and downs but this album is a true return to form. It has been coming. The clues were there during the previous albums like Princess Alice, the 13th Day etc. Classic opening track with "Live til you die". great follow up tracks namely Too Many Clowns and Burning River and my favourite "Midnight Angel"
If you liker any Magnum at all you should get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic!, 24 Mar. 2014
Just had my 1st listen!
And wow what an album. It does what Magnum do best the 4/6 min melodic rock masterpiece that takes you through a wonderfully atmospheric story telling lyrical journey full of pomp and majesty with vocals, guitar, drum and keyboard working in perfect harmony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 812 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews