Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the film not the DVD/Blu-ray - MASTERPIECE OF THE 1970s
I'm delighted this film has finally got the release treatment it deserves. For too long it was only available on imported Region 1 from the States.

Truly ones of the top 10 American films of the 1970s, which in my opinion, is the strongest decade in film history.

Can't wait to get my hands on this set, as I own quite a few Masters of Cinema releases...
Published 3 months ago by PeterB

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1975 - a different world?
I watched this after discovering it was the initial inspiration for the TV series - but this film is a 1970's art house movie which mainly serves to illustrate that the past is a different country. There are clunky dated plot elements - for example a pointless political assassination (obviously prompted by the Kennedy Assassination). One character (the free loving hippy...
Published 9 days ago by Vodka Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the film not the DVD/Blu-ray - MASTERPIECE OF THE 1970s, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Nashville (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] [1975] (Blu-ray)
I'm delighted this film has finally got the release treatment it deserves. For too long it was only available on imported Region 1 from the States.

Truly ones of the top 10 American films of the 1970s, which in my opinion, is the strongest decade in film history.

Can't wait to get my hands on this set, as I own quite a few Masters of Cinema releases and they do a top job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Altmans masterpiece and the digital transfer is excellent given the films age, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nashville (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] [1975] (Blu-ray)
After 40 years this classic finally available on DVD and only available on amazon where I live in Ireland.
This is Altmans masterpiece and the digital transfer is excellent given the films age.
Amazons delivery performance was incredible - I pre-ordered on Sunday night, the day before official release and I had it on Tuesday morning in Ireland - amazing Amazon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest American films of the 70s, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nashville (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] [1975] (Blu-ray)
Not quite sure why it's a three disc release. The third disc has little on it & the content could have easily been put on one of the other discs. Apart from this a stunning Blu-Ray / DVD release of a wonderful masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The need for mediocre., 30 Aug 2014
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nashville (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] [1975] (Blu-ray)
Having a tannoy as a narrative thread is a masterstroke. It persists in telling us what is wrong with the USA. We watch certain individuals on a journey of complete ordinaryness in a land of fake. Singing bland sentimentality. Socially approved. Desperate people.

This blu ray is immaculate. I watched this widescreen depiction of the clamour to be average on projection. It is quietly compelling. It is a statement about the Kennedy assassinations. The desire to be bland together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nashville (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] [1975] (Blu-ray)
The best Altman-Movie - one of the best Movies ever. At last as BD/DVD region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1975 - a different world?, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Vodka Brown (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nashville (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] [1975] (Blu-ray)
I watched this after discovering it was the initial inspiration for the TV series - but this film is a 1970's art house movie which mainly serves to illustrate that the past is a different country. There are clunky dated plot elements - for example a pointless political assassination (obviously prompted by the Kennedy Assassination). One character (the free loving hippy chick) especially shows how the film makers didn't understand the cultural revolution (and don't we all know how the current news headlines are full of 1970's ex-celebrities who mistakenly thought they could act however they wanted and not face any consequences). It all feels painfully naive especially as it thinks its being cutting edge and dangerous but only really achieves shallow and misguided. This film is a long way from the cinematic accomplishments of series like The Wire & Breaking Bad; both of which make Nashville's pretense of fly on the wall reality quite awkward to watch. On the surface it has a similar feel to True Detective - but where True Detective forces the viewer to become the (true) detective because the characters flaws and unreliability are laid bare; in Nashville all the viewer is invited to do is agree with the film makers perspective that these characters/times are flawed and wrong. I got that the point that the characters are meant to be flawed and unlikeable with shallow aspirations but they are also one-dimensional and unbelievable - instead of condemning them I simply got more frustrated with the film. In trying to portray the characters as self centered nihilists the film makers come across as reactionaries, threatened by a changing world they are unwilling to understand. Only worth watching as a time travel experiment - 1975 as it sort of looked but not actually as it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nashville (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] [1975] (Blu-ray)
Absolute rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nashville (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] [1975]
£17.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews