Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Triumphant Return! It's back and this time it's worth buying.
First off a big thank you to BFI for coming to the rescue of this delightful and wonderful film. The first feature by Bill Forsyth and the subject of some dreadful past treatment on video and (most recently before this) DVD.

This is a top notch addition to the wonderful Flipside range. Presented in its original 1:33;1 ratio the picture is outstanding. This film...
Published 12 months ago by Si Parallel Universe

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible film - don't waste your money buying it
Purchased this as it was recommended by a friend. Never watched so much rubbish in all my life! Advertised as hilarious - well if that's the case I must have had a sense of humour bypass as I never laughed once! Persevered to the end hoping it would improve but was left thoroughly annoyed that I had wasted 93 minutes of my life. Severely dated and amateurish.
Published 4 months ago by Gillzer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Triumphant Return! It's back and this time it's worth buying., 7 May 2014
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
First off a big thank you to BFI for coming to the rescue of this delightful and wonderful film. The first feature by Bill Forsyth and the subject of some dreadful past treatment on video and (most recently before this) DVD.

This is a top notch addition to the wonderful Flipside range. Presented in its original 1:33;1 ratio the picture is outstanding. This film was made on a budget of less than £30,000 but you wouldn't know that to look at the end result. The cinematography and the framing are joy to behold. The soundtrack is the original Scottish one and quite rightly so (they include the dubbed for comparison and you'll see why people including myself were outraged by the dubbed one being the only option on DVD by a small listen).
Not only that but you get a commentary track with the director himself and Mark Kermode and a veritable feast of extras which document Bill Forsyth's early film making, which are fascinating in themselves. 'Glasgow 1980' (made in 1971) is a fascinating short in and of itself.

Support the release of this by snapping up a copy for yourself. You'll be thankful you did. It's wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I owe the BFI so much, 29 April 2014
By 
Simon Martindale (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
This is such an important film for so many reasons. Bill Forsyth and many of the cast cut their teeth here before moving on to the rightly much loved Gregory's Girl. A lot of of the charm of that film is evident, but drenched in late 70's Glasgow rain, That Sinking Feeling quickly immerses us in the boredom of the core characters. That the plot is driven by a very low key heist is pretty much secondary. These wonderful actors, the dry whimsy, I could listen to them day and night.

Previous release formats have been deeply flawed, so I could not be more chuffed. This is brilliant, brighter both in definition and audio. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saved from obscurity, 29 May 2014
By 
J. L. Alberti "Just A Film Fan" (Southwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
Saw this after Gregory's Girl because it had the same director and cast. I'm sure it's because I identified with all the guys and did some crazy stunts too. Not anything near the elaborate heist but just a bunch of young guys hanging out coming up with things to do.

A brief history I found out listening to the commentary and the budget short. He,originally went to BFI with Gregory's Girl and they turned him down. Too commercial for them. Went back with this movie and they approved. He did have to secure additional funding but was able to release it. He says it's in the Guinness book for least expensive movie released commercially.

To the video quality: Damn good. This was shot on 16mm and blown up to 35 mm. The grain is to be expected and the contrast and color are a good balance. Being remastered I think they may have used the original print. The soundtrack is very clear and no noticeable hiss. This is presented in the original full frame and looks correct. There was a widescreen version on Netflix but it looked wrong. Too tight on the top and bottom. I have the Laserdisc but its just one step above VHS.

The bonus shorts are interesting as a history of his filmmaking. The commentary is very good and there are few gaps.

Don't bother with the dubbed version. It sounds like people standing in a room talking into a Mic. Very bland.

Great little movie and an affordable disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That sinking feeling [review], 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
this was the cheapest british film ever made to get a general release there . I saw it many years ago and thought it was very funny had to buy it to see if it still held up and it dose, a very funny film indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original - A Joy To The Ears..., 16 April 2014
By 
Paul Watters (Hermitage, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
Saw the newly restored BFI print at the Glasgow Film Theatre last night (15/4/14).

What a difference. The video holds up pretty well, considering the age and source of the original material. The real joy was the soundtrack...the original voices are now back where they belong.

The sold-out performance, presented by the BFI and introduced by Robert Buchanan (Ronnie), John Hughes (Vic), Douglas Sannachan (Simmy) and Gerry Clark (The Watchman) - Margaret McTear (Ward Nurse) who was not onstage but was in the audience - was a great success. Eagle eyed audience members also caught director Bill Forsyth, who appeared after the showing and could be found loitering on the stairs.

A great, important Scottish movie, now restored to it's original glory...and belongs in every collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny low-budget film, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
A very funny low-budget film, unfairly criticised by some as amateurish. A good caricature of an aspect of life in the mid 20th century scottish industrial midlands, seen through the eyes of a group of bored unemployed youths seeking a quick path to wealth. Lots of subtle little visual jokes that might easily be missed. The restored original dialogue is very welcome - I haven't yet watched the version with the dubbed "posh" dialogue but don't much relish the idea. A triumph for Bill Forsyth's principle of understatement ("less is more").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Local Hero is my favourite film, Comfort and Joy is brilliant and Gregory's ..., 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
The one that got away. Local Hero is my favourite film, Comfort and Joy is brilliant and Gregory's Girl excellent. Missed this one completely until it was mentioned in the Telegraph. Having now watched it - if you like any of the other Bill Forsyth films you'll love this. Plus a lot of the things that are in the later films are first seen here being developed. Just sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAHOOOOOO!!! The original soundtrack, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
The original soundtrack version is re-released at long last

What a film this is, brilliant script, acting and backdrop - Forsyth's best film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Dead Brilliant, By The Way!, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
This is a must see film, and not just for people from the West of Scotland. A funny and charming film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cornflakes under the statue ..., 16 Feb. 2015
This review is from: That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
So happy to see this released properly. No film has ever given me more pleasure; it set a benchmark that has served me well ever since. Somehow 'That Sinking Feeling' touched me very, very deeply in a way that no other film or programme ever had up to that point. And ever after, anything that fell short of that measure was promptly discarded.

I was 14 and working on my grandad's farm on the week-ends. Late on Saturday night, I came in from the milking parlour and settled in front of the telly with my grandparents and two best friends (one of whom was my uncle though only four months older); we were tight and life was one laugh after another (at least from where I was sitting). My grandparents were the archetypal kind; they didn't just make you feel good; they made you feel you were on top of the world!

So, there we are dozing in front of the telly. There's a fire in the grate and I'm post-hot bath, with a full belly. Then something called 'That Sinking Feeling' comes on the telly. We start watching and within a matter of moments we were all laughing our socks off. I've never remembered any film so clearly in my life and oh, the frustration when trying to describe its wonder in the years 'til now. People would generally just look blank; if they hadn't seen it, they didn't know. I may have met two other people in the years between then and now who had also seen it; and in each case, their response was the same as mine. What a piece of work!

It's warm, it's quick, it's really, really daft and it exudes a deep and sincere love of the people it portrays. The filming is just wonderful; the acting and casting inch perfect and Glasgow almost steals the show as an extra character.

Possibly the film that moved me most in this lifetime. And that, because it made me laugh from my heart. Groovy!

"I've got one word to say to you all" ... pause ... "sink" ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

That Sinking Feeling (Remastered) (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray)
£15.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews