Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small actions bring big consequences
First Sentence: In the darkened room, the man's shattered body gave a final convulsive jerk.

Sir Baldwin Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and Bailiff Simon Puttock must leave their families and travel to the village of Gidleigh. The beautiful daughter of the town's miller has been found dead, the young monk, by whom she was pregnant, the obvious suspect...
Published on 3 Dec. 2008 by L. J. Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good
Published 24 days ago by KIM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small actions bring big consequences, 3 Dec. 2008
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First Sentence: In the darkened room, the man's shattered body gave a final convulsive jerk.

Sir Baldwin Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and Bailiff Simon Puttock must leave their families and travel to the village of Gidleigh. The beautiful daughter of the town's miller has been found dead, the young monk, by whom she was pregnant, the obvious suspect. This wouldn't have involved Simon but that a miner has also died, and that is under his jurisdiction.

Upon their arrival at Wonson Manor, they find Sir Ralph is the new owner and his son Esmon in charge of a band of mercenary soldiers. Tension in the village increases as truths are exposed and more die.

Jecks is one of the better historical writers. There is excellent attention to period detail and a very strong sense of time and place.

All the characters are fully dimensional and well drawn. I like that the two protagonists' lives have changed through the series. They come through as real people with great strengths and realistic weaknesses and consequences. They are not the only characters who change, others do as well.

The story is very well plotted. Just when I thought I knew where it was going, it turned. I particularly liked that the point was made that small actions can have big consequences.

This was another very good book in an excellent series and I'm happy to know I've many more books to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mad Monk of Gidleigh., 25 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. Ma Dormer "moremed" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All of Michael Jecks medieval mystery novels are first class, particularly so if you know the area where so many are set - Dartmoor, Exeter. The time in which they are set (Edward Second) I knew nothing about, but have now become so interested in that time in history. The backgrrounds are authentic and the fictitious characters of Baldwin and Puttock fit in marvellously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mad monk of Gidleigh, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mad Monk Of Gidleigh: (Knights Templar 14) (Knights Templar Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
I have already read this book, but i wanted it on my kindle, so that I could read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just received a recommendation for this title. Amazon apparently ..., 30 Jun. 2014
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Just received a recommendation for this title. Amazon apparently doesn't know that I have every title by Jecks. A remarkable author is worth collecting and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 25 Jan. 2012
This book was just what I had ordered and delivered quickly. I have no complaints about anything to do with the order at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet more to enjoy, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the other Michael Jecks, i have not read it but am looking forward to it when i get round to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews