Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix competes for Olympic glory
'Asterix at the Olympic Games' is the 12th of 31 adventures published between 1961and 2001; This adventure is from 1968, now re-released in a re-inked and re-coloured edition. The story is set in the time of the ancient Athens Olympics (and this review is written during the modern Athens Olympics). The Gauls travel to Greece to compete in the Games, intending to win a...
Published on 3 Sep 2004 by Ad van der Rest

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good enough but not enough Legionaires beaten up
A good enough Asterix story, not enough legionnaires getting beaten up by our Gallic friends. Nothing like Obelix with a pile of Roman helmets
Published 9 months ago by Climateman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix competes for Olympic glory, 3 Sep 2004
By 
Ad van der Rest (Maidenhead, Berkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
'Asterix at the Olympic Games' is the 12th of 31 adventures published between 1961and 2001; This adventure is from 1968, now re-released in a re-inked and re-coloured edition. The story is set in the time of the ancient Athens Olympics (and this review is written during the modern Athens Olympics). The Gauls travel to Greece to compete in the Games, intending to win a Palm of Victory with the use of their magic potion. A classic adventure, which I would rate in the top 10 stories. Highlights include the Gauls travelling to Greece, behaving as if they are on an 18-90 holiday; The demoralising of the Roman athletes; The picturesque descriptions of the local Greek populace and the Olympic stadia. There is satirical comment on drug taking in Sport, and thirty years after first reading this book, I finally got the joke about the athlete from Rhodes. This adventure is so good because it has a strong story, in which not everything appears to go the Gauls' own way. This re-inked and re-coloured edition improves little on the original 1972 UK edition, but is still fresh and pleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix and the Gauls head to Greece, 28 Oct 2003
In this exciting enstallment of Asterix's adventures, the Gauls find out that Romans from a local Garrison are planning to compete in the Olympic Games, and they can't resist the opportunity to take on the Romans once again. The story follows the villagers time in Greece, essentially that of a football away trip with the supporters going along and annoying the locals. It includes the usual humour contained in all the good Asterix books and it can easily be considered one of the best installments of the Asterix saga. A must for read for all fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 27 Mar 2006
I loved Asterix when I was a boy, now my son loves them. Of all the books this is the one I remember most fondly. It has some of the very best characters, classical allusions and gags. And all so educational too..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value., 14 July 2012
By 
Mrs. M. Fairgrieve "printer" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It arrived in time for my grandson's birthday. He's a big fan of Asterix and Co.He enjoys reading it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix and the Gauls head to Greece, 28 Oct 2003
In this exciting enstallment of Asterix's adventures, the Gauls find out that Romans from a local Garrison are planning to compete in the Olympic Games, and they can't resist the opportunity to take on the Romans once again. The story follows the villagers time in Greece, essentially that of a football away trip with the supporters going along and annoying the locals. It includes the usual humour contained in all the good Asterix books and it can easily be considered one of the best installments of the Asterix saga. A must for read for all fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game for a laugh, 12 May 2004
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This is one of the small, pocket sized editions of the Asterix stories. Our hero sets out to win the Olympics - OK, there is a certain amount of historical latitude here, but then, it is fantasy ... and timeless. Of the usual high standard, graphically and as a narrative fantasy, a perennial delight to the fan ... and a wondrous discovery for anyone new to the character and the surreal world of Goscinny and Uderzo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good follow up to the Olympic games, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter enjoyed the Olympic games and this tied together her love of history and reading together in a popular theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gr8, 15 Dec 2013
Fantastic books lived this as a child even more as an adult lol and the books prices are cheap too thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good enough but not enough Legionaires beaten up, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good enough Asterix story, not enough legionnaires getting beaten up by our Gallic friends. Nothing like Obelix with a pile of Roman helmets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars riveting read, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i got the book as a gift and it was loved. It came clean and well presented. A great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asterix at the Olympic Games
7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews