Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising read!
I hadn't realised that this book was from the same Seth MacFarlane who is the man behind Family Guy and Ted, so I was quite surprised at the tone at first, but quickly got used to it and was laughing from the first page onwards!

Albert is the main character - a kind of anti-hero, and his inner monologues were one of my favourite parts of the narrative. He gets...
Published 5 months ago by booknut86

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and entertaining
It's not that sheep farmer Albert Stark doesn't work hard - he's just not very good at his job. Or his life, but so far he's managed to stay alive in the West, which is no easy task when everyone and everything want to kill you. (Don't chance it with the doctor. You're better off letting things be.)

The plot is very basic: Girl dumps boy; and boy tries to earn...
Published 1 month ago by Tez Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising read!, 12 Mar 2014
I hadn't realised that this book was from the same Seth MacFarlane who is the man behind Family Guy and Ted, so I was quite surprised at the tone at first, but quickly got used to it and was laughing from the first page onwards!

Albert is the main character - a kind of anti-hero, and his inner monologues were one of my favourite parts of the narrative. He gets into trouble in the first chapter of course - which drives the story from there, and you get everything you would expect from a western - a showdown, a beautiful but unobtainable love interest, a bar fight etc, but not in the way you might expect. There's also an escaping sheep called Bridget who hilariously pops up at different points throughout the book.

If you're looking for an in depth novel, this isn't for you - but if you are looking for a really fun and funny read that you can devour quickly and carry around easily - or are looking to but a gift to cheer up a friend, then this is definitely it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Wild West!, 12 Mar 2014
Bought this for my boyfriend, but ended up reading this too and zooming through it- really hiliarious, if you love Family Guy you'll love this take on the Wild West. It's almost as if Brian and Stewie have been transplanted into smalltown cowboy America. The characters are brilliantly drawn- goodies versus baddies, but it's Seth MacFarlane's humour that's the real clincher here- he is a comic genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PlusQuite a Few Ways to Cringe !, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best described as a spoof Western and very funny with the 'hero' actually a coward who cheats at gun fights -(always at High Noon' on the main street) but marred by excessive use of bad language by both sexes and one or two over- graphic situations. The movie was exactly the same - not surprising since the author also starred and directed the film. Film was enhanced by superb cinephotography mainly of John Ford's favourite domain- Monument Valley, and sound-alike Elmer Bernstein music.
Both recommended but not for the squeamish !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Seth does best..., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Million Ways to Die in the West (Kindle Edition)
Good funny story, very much in the style of Family Guy and American Dad so if you are a fan you're onto a winner here! It won't take you long to read but that somehow makes it more appealing. A short, easy and light read. But... I felt the swearing was a bit over the top at times which let it down a bit. Out of the two films of this one and 'Ted' I'd say Ted was the better, but this one goes better as a book. Keep up the funny work Mr MacFarlane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fandabedozy, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Million Ways to Die in the West (Kindle Edition)
An amazing book and I found this great please read this this book deserves more readers if that is the profound way of saying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short and entertaining, 8 July 2014
It's not that sheep farmer Albert Stark doesn't work hard - he's just not very good at his job. Or his life, but so far he's managed to stay alive in the West, which is no easy task when everyone and everything want to kill you. (Don't chance it with the doctor. You're better off letting things be.)

The plot is very basic: Girl dumps boy; and boy tries to earn back girl...until he realises that girl isn't really worth the effort. Especially considering there's a mysterious new woman in town who's willing to help Albert, instead of just criticise. His relationship with Anna is more symbolic than anything else (she gives him self-confidence), so I don't really think they have chemistry.

The more believable and heart-warming romance is that of Albert's best friend, Edward, and his girlfriend. Ruth's career may seem at odds with their chaste relationship, but they really are sweet together.

The first act of the novel is fabulously fun, and the second act's pretty good, too. At this point, I considered watching the film before it left my local cinema. But the final act just doesn't measure up (too many excretions and trips).

I'm not one for historical fiction, but A MILLION WAYS TO DIE IN THE WEST feels so contemporary that it goes down well. It's short and entertaining, with no skim-reading required. And it's fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars meh, 1 April 2014
I normally like Seth McFarlane's writing, for tv shows ateast. But I can't say I enjoyed this book. Its just not very well written, and didn't make me laugh. I wasn't expecting Shakespeare, but I thought it might be a little more clever and less predictable. Its also expensive for the size of book, you can read it in a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Million Ways to Die in the West (Kindle Edition)
Hi , really enjoyed this book a good story and characters set in the wild west , it sure as made my train journeys more happier , well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Million Ways to Die in the West
3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews