Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game
It's a good game, brilliant story line and new upgrades are cool. But it was a short storyline, apart from that I loved playing the game. And the new suits that comes with it too.
Published 2 months ago by Hassan Hussain

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sometimes Amazing Spider-man
I'm a huge spider-man fan having read 30+ years of the web head's comic book adventures, so I'm naturally intrigued by any new game offering. Having played and completed this game I can honestly say it isn't a bad game, but it isnt an amazing one either. I still had fun web-slinging around Manhattan but there are a few issues which spoil this games potential.

I...
Published 4 months ago by Jonny


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
Great but lasts a few days only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Typical movie/game tie in., 5 May 2014
By 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
When you buy a movie video game, you know not to expect the best. But this game is just awful on a new level.

In past Spiderman games, you have had a choice of fighting the crimes in the city or not. However in this game, you are heavily penalized for not doing them. You are actually given a wanted level (well Menace level but you still get shot at until you either die or fight enough crimes to remove your menace level.

The lighting engine is awful. Shadows don't exist where they should. You are also not allowed to leave the city like it is a pre-PS2 game. The gameplay is glitchy as hell. Your web just spins continuously around a building and no longer snaps as if Logic no longer exists.

The voice acting is just lazy and shoddy as well. The art in the city is just horrendous. It feels like you're playing a PS2 game, only with less features as even Spiderman 2 on the PS2 had more leniency than this.

I think my rating of 1/5 is fair. Luckily I borrowed this from a friend but I really feel sorry for those who spent more than £50 (hell ANY amount of money on this) because you have just wasted your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but nothing 'amazing', 4 May 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
If you're a big spider-man fan like me then you'll enjoy this game. Expect much of the same from the first ASM game but slightly improved visuals and much more fun and realistic web swinging mechanics.
Story-wise it's average the voice acting is alright the character models look awful if you ask me but doesn't bother me too much. I bought this game mainly to just swing around the city collecting comics and that's exactly what you can do! :) unlike the first game, the side missions constant pop up all over the map so you will always have something to do once you've finished the game and it's fun collecting all the suits and leveling them up. The game is still short though however, but if you're a completionist you'll have plenty to get on with. If you're looking at getting this game just for the story I wouldn't bother until the price drops. The game looks best and plays best when you're free roaming the city and that's all I wanted pretty much. Don't expect an amazing batman arkham clone cos this isn't it but there is still some fun to be had in this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 3 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
If you liked the first Amazing Spider man game then you will like this. It feels much the same except the swinging mechanics are now done with the left and right triggers which works great in my opinion. It is fun just swinging around the city, the game runs smooth and looks good although lacking anything amazing or as somebody else said "wow factor" there is however a nicely made environment with nice lighting and ok textures and ok character models. I haven't had any frame drops or screen tearing and no crashes or other bugs.

The combat is much the same as the last game and very similar to the Batman games, most encounters have you bashing square and then countering and dodging with triangle when you notice the "spider-sense" flash around Spideys head. There's nothing great but it works.

Spider Man now has the ability to use spider sense by pressing up on the D-pad, this shows enemy locations and their field of view, I think this is great and allows you to be a more stealthy Spidey if that is what you want to do.

There are quite a few suits to unlock which are done by completing stealth missions in closed locations you have to take out guards without being seen and then activating a terminal of sorts which holds the suit. The first time I tried one I thought it was annoying how you had to do it all again pretty much if you are caught, but once you upgrade your spider sense to allow you to see enemies properly then they're actually quite fun.

The most annoying part of the game for me is the new menace/hero system where by saving citizens and performing heroic tasks gives you hero points which give a boost to your costumes abilities (each costume has different boosts). This works good in concept however the game quickly degrades your hero meter and then goes into menace which gives you negative boosts to your costumes abilities.. so basically the game is forcing you to continually do boring repetitive side missions which are very tedious and unrewarding. That is my biggest gripe with the game really.

I'm having a lot of fun with it, could of been a lot better but thankfully it wasn't worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No wow factor, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
This game should be excellent, but it's not. The visuals are ps3 sharp, it seems rushed the lighting is awful. Sure it's fun...but it's not next gen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
The amazing spider-man game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PS3 game in a ps4 box, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
Looks the same as ps3 game not ps4 quality but 7 year old son loves it , not good value for £40
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
fast delivery I recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never thought I'd one star a game...., 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
Just an awful game, poor gameplay, bad graphics and buggy as hell. Not worth £40. If you really want it buy the last gen. version as this is 30fps and doesn't come close to next gen. Sad waste of potential in this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) (Video Game)
Worst game EVER!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4)
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (PS4) by Activision (PlayStation 4)
£37.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews