Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camera
Smart and so easy to use. Purchased as a gift for a 70 year old's birthday who also finds it very easy to operate. Delivered promptly and before the expected delivery date.
Published 10 months ago by PKE

versus
88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a super budget entry compact
This is Nikon's newest entry level compact, at a wallet friendly price and with a simple operation that anyone can pick up and use.
Don't get too over excited about this, as most models in this range are merely passable for smaller print quality and very basic.

But they do at least offer a very cheap way to pick up a camera, and they also make reasonable...
Published 10 months ago by Mr Baz


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a super budget entry compact, 3 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
This is Nikon's newest entry level compact, at a wallet friendly price and with a simple operation that anyone can pick up and use.
Don't get too over excited about this, as most models in this range are merely passable for smaller print quality and very basic.

But they do at least offer a very cheap way to pick up a camera, and they also make reasonable first cameras for kids without the worry of damaging a more expensive camera.

My quick summary of the L29 is as follows

Pros:
+ Simple and easy to use pure point and shoot
+ 5x zoom lens giving an equivalent of 26-130mm on 35mm full frame, not a bad wide angle view
+ 720p HD video recording, mono sound but not too bad quality wise
+ Image quality is acceptable for a budget compact and making smaller prints, don't pixel peep at 100% or try making wall posters, for normal users prints are quite decent up to A4 in good light and 8x6", 5x7" etc. Images can be a bit mushy at 16mp resolution 1:1 as most compacts are in this price range.
+ Pretty consistent metering and ok flash exposures, colours are quite punchy overall
+ 2.7" 230k LCD is par for the course on these models it's not bad really usable in most lighting, contrast drops off a bit in harsh sunlight

Cons:
- Battery life is poor with the supplied AA alkaline cells, Nikon say you get 200 shots I got just over 150. Don't waste your time with Alkaline batteries just pick up a pack of decent Ni-MH batteries. (you'll get about double the number of shots over 300)
- Min focus of 10cm isn't that close in line with others in this price range but if you want a budget macro camera look for a model with at least 5cm min focus
- Lens is slow at the telephoto end (f/6.5) so avoid zooming in too much in darker environments
- No optical zoom during video recording, just digital which degrades the quality significantly

Other notes:
This doesn't have lens or sensor based image stabilisation (no shocks at this price) just the Electronic VR (vibration reduction) which can help but it's not as effective
You have a min shutter speed of 4 seconds, not bad but look for longer if you want to do night exposures
There are no manual modes just scene and auto modes, but you do have control over white balance and exposure compensation (use this to lighten/darken any pictures)

Operation is very simple with a video record button, the usual 4 way selector that does duty for macro/flash/timer and exposure compensation. Easy to use main menu and you have a button to pick scene modes from.

Build is basic plastic but it should survive a bit of normal use day to day no problems.

Colours out of the camera are fairly saturated, some might like that look. Sky colours can be a bit "cyan" looking at times so make sure to adjust the exposure to darken them down as required.

Do yourself a favour and ignore the 16mp spec set the camera image size to 8mp this won't have any impact at all on the print output as the lens nor the sensor are capable of anywhere near the quoted resolution. This is common on many compacts so I won't mark it down for that.

It's not a bad little compact bar a few niggles mostly down to the video modes lack of zoom and rather unimpressive battery life. Still all that aside if you want a cheap no frills simple compact that anyone can use, and you don't make huge prints, it's worth a look. Also a decent choice for a kids camera, the images will be quite a bit better than most kids toy cameras are capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camera, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
Smart and so easy to use. Purchased as a gift for a 70 year old's birthday who also finds it very easy to operate. Delivered promptly and before the expected delivery date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty little camera - as pretty as a picture!, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
What an excellent little camera! I use a Nikon P510, and bought this for a friend who (all of my friends seem to be) a technophobe. It arrived well packed, fully boxed and protected. The camera itself is simple to assemble out of the box - add memory, add batteries, fit wrist strap and away you go! There are oodles of extra things that you can set up on the camera for those of you that want to change parameters for more 'advanced features' including face recognition, aperture settings etc. But the beauty of this camera is that it has a setting which works brilliantly (best picture mode), gives you a good picture and you just use the zoom if you want to and then press the shutter button. Another great thing is the large size bright LCD display on the back which is very useful for framing the photograph and also review them after they are taken. The lenz is a good quality and lets in plenty of light even when light is fading. Battery life is good (2 supplied with the camera) and it is happy to use off the shelf single use alkaline type or rechargable batteries. The memory is a nice low cost SD card, so 16GB is only a few pounds to buy! All in all its a great little camera thats much better than its price lends you to believe. Why only 4 stars then? I hear you ask. Simples! It comes with a Nikon non standard usb connector (camera end) instead of a standard micro-usb that is becoming an international standard. Still, you do get a lead which fits, and you can buy them at low cost from Amazon for less gthan £3 if you break lose it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coolpix, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
W. Ball "williamball" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
Excellent light easy to use ..good colour match light compact easy peas brilliant love it buy it ..I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and simple, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
It is easy to use and looks good the quality of the image is as expected from Nikon clear and sharp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good at macro photos, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
i bought this camera for taking close up pictures for selling items on ebay and the picture quality i found was poor, i don't know much about cameras but next time i will check, my phone actually takes better pictures then this camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon Coolpix, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
Excellent camera and the only hiccup being no English language in the accompanying booklet. My wife is enjoying usage.
Thank you
you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit extra than a phone camera, 28 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
got this for a present for a friend who had their camera stolen. not expensive but really good little camera. we all have cameras on our phones but if you want a little bit more this is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Jan. 2015
By 
Mrs. C. Colbert (Blackburn, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
We bought this camera for our son for Christmas.
It is a very very good camera. It comes from Nikon, a major brand in cameras.
It is so easy to use and has lots of functionality.
All the operating instructions, if anyone has a problem, can be found on line. A full manual is available which puts to bed all the gripes about this.
The positives far outweigh any negatives for this camera.
Great price for a really good branded camera.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice starter camera, 24 Dec. 2014
By 
Hazel Vicary "Hazel" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Coolpix L29 ( 16.44 MP,5 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Electronics)
nice little camera - very easy to use even for someone like me who is a complete dunce with anything vaguely electronic (or even mechanical). This is my second one, the first developed a problem with the zoom thingy so I am hoping this one will last a bit longer. I would say that if you are the type of person who takes wonderful, in focus pictures, all beautifully placed, then perhaps you should go for something more technical and expensive but I just want it to keep in my bag and take pictures for reference purposes for my textile work so I don't need anything too fancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews