Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robben's usual tasteful mix of blues, jazz and rock
Despite the title (and the country rock-ish opening track) this isn't a country album but is more of Robben's usual tasteful mix of blues, jazz and rock following on from his last studio album 'Bringing it back home'. The nine songs are all Ford originals and were all recorded in one day in a Nashville recording studio - amazing, considering that these aren't...
Published 5 months ago by G. E. Harrison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great
Not quite up to Robben's usual high standard - probably recorded too quickly? Robben normally spends more time in the studio.
Published 3 months ago by Am Gaulter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robben's usual tasteful mix of blues, jazz and rock, 7 Feb 2014
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
Despite the title (and the country rock-ish opening track) this isn't a country album but is more of Robben's usual tasteful mix of blues, jazz and rock following on from his last studio album 'Bringing it back home'. The nine songs are all Ford originals and were all recorded in one day in a Nashville recording studio - amazing, considering that these aren't straight-forward 12-bar jams but often quite complicated compositions. This must have been down in part to the band which turns in a a great ensemble performance, providing seamless backing throughout, with Robben contributing very professional guitar solos and vocals on top - with his jazz heritage really showing through. Honourable mentions go to the rhythm section of bassist Brian Allen and drummer Wes Little who really swing, Ricky Peterson from David Sanborn's band on keyboards who really shines on Hammond and trombonist Barry Green who is fantastic throughout. My favourite tracks were 'Different people' and 'Cut you loose' which I thought were both very original, and I also liked the closing 'Just another country road' - again not a country song but an uptempo jazzy romp. The quick recording time is evident in the record's freshness and immediacy but this is also a very sophisticated, tight performance with a layered production that stands repeated listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality blues from a quality blues man, 6 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (MP3 Download)
Robben Ford is a prolific blues man, he has many solo albums and has worked alongside such artists as Miles Davies, John Mayall and the Blues Breakers and Joni Mitchell, quite a pedigree!

I enjoyed this album but it didn't wow me. It consists of nine numbers and lasts about 45 minutes, it starts with 'Green Grass, Rainwater' which is a southern blues rock number a little slow though on which to start an album? The second track is titled 'Midnight comes too soon' this is a slow classic blues number which features a excellent guitar solo accompanied by Robben's accomplished vocals. 'Top down blues' and 'Thump & Bump' were both instrumental blues numbers featuring a New Orleans flavoured trumpet. My favourite track was 'Poor Kelly Blues' this I thought had everything that the blues is about in one, classic blues guitar riffs, excellent backing from the musicians and a bass line to die for.

I enjoyed this album and it is definitely a good listen recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's never a 'dud' from this man - the excellence just keeps on coming, 12 Feb 2014
By 
C. Heath (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
Given Robben's previous forays into various musical 'genres' (such as the jazzy 'City Life' and the 'covers' of Keep on Running') it's easy to be fooled into anticipating that this may be a venture into 'country' territory given its title.

However, nothing could be further from the truth as this album is a pretty seamless progression from last year's 'Bringing it back home'. I assume that the title merely refers to the location of the recording sessions. From the photos in the CD booklet, it appears that Robben continues to use the Epiphone Riviera 'semi' that first appeared on 'Bringing..etc.' and keeps faith with the use of trombone 'to the fore'. The previous album suffered some (in my opinion unjust) criticism for the choice of trombone as accompanying brass. I think it is generally viewed as a brassy 'bass substitute' rather like a tuba. However, as played here by the excellent Barry Green it is a tuneful and interesting addition - it's easy to imagine the trombone parts played by a trumpet (although that would actually be less enjoyable and less appropriate). Certainly, no 'bass substitute' is required when Brian Allen is thumping away on his electric upright - he was with Robben on his UK tour last year and although the instrument looks strangely 'home made' (perhaps it is!) his contribution was both tasteful and dynamic and provided conclusive proof that you can play 'electric blues' without a Fender Jazz Bass strapped on! That contribution continues on this album.

This then, is a pretty straight-ahead Robben Ford blues offering that will be enjoyed by anyone who liked the previous effort. He's broken very little new ground with 'Nashville' but his playing is so good (he's a guitarist who knows what to leave out - a rare quality indeed) and so perfectly fitted to the musical style that the old cliche of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" comes to mind.

Having said "if it ain't broke etc." I am now going to contradict myself and I've been very mean and deducted one star because this is a continuation of the previous album with nothing really added or changed - but then again 'Bringing it back home' was superb. Perhaps it's a 'four and a half' then!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to where I like him - the blues, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
Contrary to what you could expect from the title, this is mostly a return to the blues for Robben, and that's where I like him the most. I have all his records, solo or with others, and I find this one the most enjoyable in years. Guitar sound is crystall, solos beautiful, nothing to complain about. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
Fresh and creative and fun. Loved the trombone in a unexpected setting. Robin is engaging on both vocals and guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 21 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
Not quite up to Robben's usual high standard - probably recorded too quickly? Robben normally spends more time in the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robben at his best, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
As can be expected for an album (yes I still think of albums) recorded in a single day this is a little rawer (meaning more spontaneous?) than many other records.

For those that know Robben Ford, this is up to his usual excellent standard, and for those that like blues that tickles the ears, they should get to know him.

it's perhaps a little more rootsy than, say Tiger Walk, but that's not a criticism. It continues the direction set in "Bringing it Back home"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still more blues!!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
My third Robben Ford CD, it's just keeps getting better. I had the chance of seing him in Glasgow, but never made the effort. A bad choice & one I will have to live with. So if you are a blues fan, then add this one to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So talented, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
This is another fine album from a superb musician. It is refreshing to know that there are still musicians that are so talented they can record a studio album live. A truly wonderful blues guitarist, who matures with age. The album is sheer quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Sparkle (Rotherham, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day In Nashville (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing Midnight Comes Too Soon on a radio programme. Will be buying more of his albums for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Day In Nashville
A Day In Nashville by Robben Ford
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews