Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced
Dead Man's Gift by Simon Kernick is written as a three part series and is a joy for the commuter at a reasonable price.
Part one: Yesterday opens with the murder of an au pair and the abduction of her charge, politician Tim Horton's son Max. The kidnappers request a strange and horrific fee for the safe return of the boy and realising that he and his wife are being...
Published 4 months ago by liz Mistry from The Crime Warp

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Part two
Hard to give opinion yet based on the fact it is part two, but it does feel slightly rushed,although I hate waffle,I will give my judgement in part three.
Published 11 months ago by Mw


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
Dead Man's Gift by Simon Kernick is written as a three part series and is a joy for the commuter at a reasonable price.
Part one: Yesterday opens with the murder of an au pair and the abduction of her charge, politician Tim Horton's son Max. The kidnappers request a strange and horrific fee for the safe return of the boy and realising that he and his wife are being observed by the kidnappers Horton enlists the help of his brother- in -law, Scope which brings us neatly on to...

Part 2: Last Night
Scope, reluctantly dragged into helping his brother-in-law soon becomes involved in a series of violent events in the company of Horton's mistress Orla . As time runs out and the deadline approaches Kernick moves us on to...

Part 3:Today

As Political events unfold and things don't go to plan for the kidnappers Scope desperately follows the only clue he has and in an adrenalin packed race chases the kidnappers to a suburban village for a showdown.
This mini series is as gritty and fast paced as Kernick's Seige - they yank you into the moment and leave you breathless and desperate for the next part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have always enjoyed Simon Kernick, his books are always fast paced and grab my attention from the first page. These short stories are of the same calibre, a fantastic read and a great way to be introduced to his style of writing if you have not come across him before, and if you haven't then you won't miss him again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Part two, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Mw "jenwin" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
Hard to give opinion yet based on the fact it is part two, but it does feel slightly rushed,although I hate waffle,I will give my judgement in part three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping installment, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
Kernick doesn't slow down the pace at all in the second part of his Dead Man's Gift serialised novel. I read this part pretty quickly and even though I'd left a few weeks since reading the first part, I had no problem picking up the plot again. The plot is neat and contained and with a small number of characters, you get to follow the action closely.

I'm not sure that Snope is my favourite Kernick character but he's up there with the best. Unencumbered by the regulations of the police force like many of his character (although come to think of it, many of his police characters seem unencumbered by their own rules and regulations), Snope knows how to get things done, and does what is necessary.

The book ends with...well, let's just say that time is ticking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The excitement continues in part two, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
Christine M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
The story continues at a fast pace in part two. Scope has been secretly brought in to help Tim and his family. Scope is a sort of relation of the family and the only one Tim trusts to get to the bottom of the kidnapping. Time is slowly running out.

I really like Scope, our action hero of the story. He is courageous, with a decency about him. He is not afraid to bend the law to get a result or kill if he has to. We see rescuing girls, defending himself against attack, in disguise and doggedly pursuing the truth.

I couldn’t help but smile at the way the kidnapper treats Tim, the MP!

Simon Kernick has written a great little thriller. Roll on part three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Split into 3 for no good reason., 3 Aug. 2014
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
When his son is kidnapped the father, MP Tim Horton, turns to the one man who can help which then leads to another in the mould of the lone hero who can rescue nearly any situation. But how will he do going against a ruthless gang who have covered all the bases.

This is not really a book but a third of a part with the other 2 parts available to buy. A bit gimmicky as all 3 parts only just about make a halfway decent book.

If you are planning to get part 1 you may as well get the other 2 parts at the same time.

As parts 1,2 and 3 are parts of the same book this review has been copied to all 3 parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant thoroughly gripping from end to end, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. E. Jessel "gardenmad" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
Read all three parts of this story in one sitting, found I just could not put it down. Absolutely brilliant thoroughly gripping from end to end. What I cannot understand is; how have I spent a lifetime of reading and not come across Simon Kernick before now, I feel that I have an awful lot of catching up to do. Simon is a great writer and storyteller, I want lots more like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fast paced, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
Neat storyline. But don't like having to wait for the next bit. Would rather it be released as one story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2) (Kindle Edition)
still couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Man's Gift: Last Night (Part 2)
£0.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews