Customer Reviews


1,988 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,171)
4 star:
 (352)
3 star:
 (188)
2 star:
 (92)
1 star:
 (185)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1,634 of 1,705 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chromecast: What it is, what it does well, what it doesn't do well, and what it doesn't do at all
Update30: Amazon Video adds support for android phones on Sept 10th. With a phone supporting official android mirroring, the stream can sent to chromecast.

[After 29 updates, and much time spent on answering questions and clarifying misunderstandings, I really wasn't going to spend any more time on chromecast. Especially when some people objected to being...
Published 5 months ago by Michael_G

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful
I have a subscription to Amazon Prime but can't use it on my Nexus 10. Have now signed up for Netflix and needed Chromecast for my non-smart TV. Bit bizarre that I can't watch Amazon prime content and would need to buy a Kindle Fire or a smart TV to do so. Will be cancelling my Amazon Prime subscription.
Published 5 months ago by J. Canning


‹ Previous | 1 2199 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,634 of 1,705 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chromecast: What it is, what it does well, what it doesn't do well, and what it doesn't do at all, 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
Update30: Amazon Video adds support for android phones on Sept 10th. With a phone supporting official android mirroring, the stream can sent to chromecast.

[After 29 updates, and much time spent on answering questions and clarifying misunderstandings, I really wasn't going to spend any more time on chromecast. Especially when some people objected to being straightened out. However, I'll make an exception for yesterday's announcement from Amazon that they've added support on android phones. With a newer phone supporting official android mirroring, this means that Amazon Video can now be sent to chromecast. Looks pretty good on my setup, but phone, CC, router, and TV are all close.]

Some folks prefer to live in an alternative universe when it comes to Chromecast.

Just some recent complaints in reviews:

It needs internet. It needs power. It doesn't stream audio. It doesn't support Airplay. It only works with Google apps. It's not as good as the 79 box I've already got. It doesn't work in a different country.

If I've robustly commented and offended anyone, I'm sorry.

I set out clearly what it did, what it didn't do, and answered many questions.

But my work here is done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


686 of 723 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Selling Media Streaming Dongle ....... Here's why, 19 Mar 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
I have shortened this review in order to leave space for other reviewers to voice their opinion.

After numerous unsuccessful attempts to penetrate the HDMI dongle streaming market, Google finally nailed it ..... and the competition for that matter.
The fact that the Chromecast has taken Europe by storm, becoming a best seller in under a month speaks for itself!

Many simply cannot afford or justify upgrading to a new Smart TV. Others might be fed up with wires associated with set top boxes and just want to view online media. This 30 dongle will do the job in style. And the good news does not end there.... It is very cheap, sticks to the back of your TV and can be controlled via a myriad of devices.

Very true, the market is flooded with HDMI dongles, yet the Chromecast is the clear winner and a best seller thanks to "Heavy weight" Online Media companies embracing it into their apps. Since releasing the SDK (Software Development Kit) in February 2014, many app developers are hopping aboard the Chromecast wagon, in the hopes of getting a slice of the market. Terrific news for the Chromecast owners!

Pros:
○ Does what it promises on the tin ...
○ Converts your conventional TV to a Smart TV
○ Package comes bundled with everything you could possibly need to get you up and running in no time (including a UK mains adapter)
○ *Automatically switches on your TV and tunes to the CC channel when media is routed to it. *USB must be powered from mains adapter and not from TV itself
○ Provides seamless streaming of high definition web media such as Youtube, Vimeo, Netflix, Vevo, Realplayer Cloud, BBC iPlayer (for UK only), Google Play movies, and more (depending on country)
○ Cross platform compatibility (Windows/Android/Mac/iOS Computers, Tablets and Smartphones)
○ Can be controlled via your smartphone rather than a dedicated wireless keyboard, which would probably cost as much as this device itself
○ Tiny and portable. Great for taking to a friends or family house to share media on the big screen
○ Negligible power consumption. Plug and forget. Uses no bandwidth when on standby (except for the occasional firmware upgrade)
○ Maximum Stealth. Plug and forget.
○ Unbeatable Value

Limitations:
- Single band Wi-Fi antenna operating on 2.4Ghz (802.11b/g/n). The inclusion of the 5GHz band would have been welcome, albeit few phones support it.
- Amazon LOVEFiLM subscribers will find that they cannot view their movies. This is not a limitation of the Chromecast itself ........ Amazon has launched its own Amazon Fire TV in the US (2nd April), so it is highly unlikely to ever see CC support. Yet never say never... as mentioned before.

Current limitations:
- Windows 8 /8.1 phones limited support. Tubecast partially addresses streaming of youtube videos
- Streaming of local media stored from certain devices .... Update :Being addressed by Plex, BubbleUPnP, Allcast among others.
- Mirroring of the Google browser screen is still in Beta version. UPDATE: Much faster now

----------------------------------
THE CHROMECAST (In a few words) :
----------------------------------
The CC is a 3inch dongle which plugs into an HDMI port on an HD TV or a/v equipment and is powered via the provided USB cable (a mains adapter is also included just in case the TV lacks a USB port). Once set up it automatically connects to the internet. It provides seamless streaming of many "popular" web media services. The Chromecast can be controlled via smartphones, Android & iOS devices and desktop computers. No need for some clunky remote controller!

* As Trustedreviews website rightfully pointed out.... QUOTE "Google Chromecast does not come with a remote control at all. Instead, you use a phone or tablet to act as the middle man between streaming services like Netflix and your TV." UNQUOTE.

What it does best is what it was designed to do: streaming of media stored on the web.

---------------------
INSTALLATION & SETUP:
---------------------
Locate a free HDMI port on your TV (or a/v equipment). You might find that there is not enough room to plug the device due to its relatively thick base. The included extension interface is narrow enough to fit next to existing occupied HDMI ports, and the Chromecast will snugly fit over it. The next step powering the device. If you do not have a USB port on your TV, or are using it for a keyboard (you won't need it any longer most probably), a mains adapter is included in the package. The micro USB power supply needs to be connected to the device itself. The unit will spring to life, indicated by a flashing LED light on the unit itself.

Setting up the CC is very easy and straight forward, An app named "Chromecast", available for iOS and Android will aid you in configuring password settings for your home Wi-Fi. The Chromecast will then automatically log on to the internet and remain connected. That's it!

---------------
HOW IT WORKS:
--------------
When viewing online media, the Chromecast will use your broadband connection directly, and not hop the signal through the device you chose to stream from. The controlling device is just a remote control. This is particularly handy when using a smartphone. There is no battery drain on the phone and it can be used as a keyboard whilst still being able to function as a phone.

However if you chose to stream local media (ie stored on a phone or computer) things get a bit more complex. Yet to be fair, the CC was not designed to handle such content.

The following apps have varying degrees of success in streaming local media:
"Plex" works on any platform and is free
"BubbleUPnP" (Chromecast/DLNA)- Android phones and tablets
"EZCast" app has partially addressed seamless streaming of media stored on iOS/Android devices.
"PlayOn" Paid subscription is required, yet it comes with a 30 day money back guarantee.

-----------
CONCLUSION:
-----------
I personally consider this device the best, unobtrusive, cost effective solution for steaming web media on your TV. Yet that is only my humble opinion.... Check out PC Advisor and TechAdvisor "Best free apps for Chromecast you don't know about" for some cool apps. There's no denying that this tiny device does what it was designed to to really well.

Highly recommend, especially to those who do not have a Smart TV, Apple TV or a Roku box.

I hope you find this review helpful. Please feel free to comment or ask any questions :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


208 of 223 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Peasy TV upgrade, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
So easy to set up!
Open box, remove dongle and power cable (there's a flexible HDMI adaptor in there too if you need the dongle to sit flush with the TV, if you're TV is wall mounted for example) plug dongle into HDMI inlet, power cable into USB port (or plug into mains adaptor if you don't have a USB on your TV - also supplied) connect power lead to dongle, then open your Chromecast app (I'm using the iOS version) It then locates your device, you confirm your network password and bosh!
That's it! Good to go...
You get a wonderful crisp 1080p picture, (I have experienced no buffering issues so far either - and that's on a measly 3 Mbps connection, so much better than is the norm on my YouView box :-$)
You've got UK support for YouTube, Netflix, BBC iPlayer, BT Sport (!) Vevo and some others too, which will work from their native apps on your phone/tablet similar to AirPlay.
In addition, if you use Chrome as your browser on your PC/laptop then unsurprisingly there is a free browser extension available from which you can beam your browser screen to your TV screen, which effectively gives you access to all of the other players available or pretty much anything else you wish to view.
Purchased as a cheap alternative to the AppleTV on our main TV, this works just as well on a technical level and the browser extension gives me potentially just as much content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best value things I've ever bought. Incredibly simple to use., 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
There's literally nothing I can criticise about this; it's well made, well packaged, incredibly easy to use, and superb value for money.
And there seem to be new third party apps coming every week now to extend the functionality. If you read a review from a week ago that says "great, but it's a shame you can't.....", then have another look today and chances are someone has made an app for it.
Really impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and reliable, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
My boyfriend forced me to buy this as he'd just discovered casting and gets really excited by new technology - even though he has no idea how it works. He was clueless about how casting worked and I had to explain to him in words of one syllable that it didn't just happen by magic so we would need a dongle.
Researched a few wireless dongles and this one seemed the best for the price. Easy enough to set up (just download and install the Chromecast app on your mobile device and it takes you from there).
Only thing to watch out for is that everyone's wireless router (which this operates through) has a different security set up so you may have to go in and change the actual router settings if the Chromecast can't find a wifi network. I had to do this with my BT wireless router but it was easy enough to change it to a lower security setting (and once the Chromecast had found the network just went back in and 'upped' the security again).
Also, works well with most free casting apps.
Now I can't stop my boyfriend casting all sorts to the telly - we've already gone over our whole month’s broadband data allowance in a week - but I suppose it keeps him out of trouble!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


403 of 445 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but..., 23 Mar 2014
By 
Richard H (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
Superb device, and so cheap. Works brilliantly. An absolute must buy. But... Pathetic Amazon won't allow the tab browsing function of desktop Chrome to sream Lovefilm videos to Chromecast. Absolutely fed up with Amazon and their petty refusal to work with Google, especially as the whole Kindle operating system is a knocked down version of Google's own Android OS. As well as refusing to allow me to access my Lovefilm account on any Android device, this latest petty stance from Amazon makes me mad. Closing Lovefilm account and getting rid of any Kindle software and devices. Had enough. Sort your politics out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Kit, 16 Aug 2014
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
Very pleased with this item. Not having a smart TV and no desire to upgrade, this was a good solution. Just plug it in a spare HDMI port (If you don't have a spare, buy a splitter), connect it to your wi-fi with the app and you're good to go. Was a bit confused as to exactly how it works before purchase but in use it is actually dead easy. Just load e.g. iPlayer on your android tablet/phone as you would normally and once up and running hit the cast icon and off it goes. The phone/tablet is then out of the loop as it were so will not run down its battery and can safely be used for other things.

Works well with BT Sport (slightly blocky but my broadband is slow) and even better with BBC iPlayer even over my 1.2Mb connection. A much better picture and no buffering compared to the PS3 iPlayer app. The only inconvenience is having to plug it into the mains otherwise it's a cheap (keep an eye out for deals at it is sometimes as low as twenty pounds) and effective way to give your TV smart capabilities with more being added regularly.

For the record, the splitter I use with this is the DIGIFLEX 3 Port HDMI 1080p Auto switch Splitter Hub Pigtail 1.3b
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid device, great for so many different things., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
I now own 2 of these! I have been a big fan of Chromecast since the start. These are super cheap and super functional. Having said that, at the moment Chromecast users are almost in a 'niche'. I say this because as much as I love Chromecast, I feel they are somewhat limited. The range of apps available are decedent and I use many of them. The only downside I can see is that the better apps require purchase, for example Netflix. I feel that this is really a device is really for users that already use OD services such as Netflix and BBC iPlayer. Using your mobile phone or tablet as a controller is extremely smart, my phone has an IR blaster built in, so now I operate my TV, STB and Chromecast with just one device. Very cool. My only major gripe with Chromecast is the fact it doesn't support WPA-2 authentication. Not a massive deal but would be helpful if it did.

The screen mirroring is nice to (only supported on a handful of devices currently), I like that I can quickly and easily show photos and videos on the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture and sound and plays BT Sport perfectly, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
What a bargain! Ordered it from Amazon at 20 and it had dropped to 18 by the time it shipped. Great picture and sound and plays BT Sport perfectly. It also plays BBC channels live as well as catchup. There are no UK commercial channels but I don't watch ad-supported stuff anymore anyway. It also lets you cast your media from your tablet to TV using the free AllCast app. Tip - sign up for the free Wuaki and Netflix months and get 2 free months of movies and TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great device!, 5 Sep 2014
By 
Choggy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (Personal Computers)
Our TV doesn't have a Netflix app (and the manufacturer has said that it won't be getting one) and Virgin Media took so long to install at our new house that we gave up (meaning we no longer had access to Netflix through our Set Top Box either). A colleague had a Chromecast and said it worked well, so I decided to try it.
We've only really tried it with Netflix so far, but it's a great little device! We've streamed Netflix from an Android phone and from the Chrome browser on our laptop and both work beautifully, giving a good quality, smooth, HD feed. The pause functionality was a bit iffy at first (unworkably so) but once we added the HDMI extender, so that the Chromecast had better access to the WiFi signal, it worked a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2199 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews