Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, tender and refreashing piece of TV
In The Flesh offers something different from the usual take on the zombie apocalypse. Instead of focussing on the actual event, it takes a look at what happens afterwards when a cure is found and zombies (the Undead/ Partially Desceased Syndrome Sufferers) are returned to society.

The first season of ITF is a somewhat quiet show focussing on guilt, trauma and...
Published 9 months ago by Angela

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, disappointing Blueray box set
This show is deeply moving, elegantly written and has a slow burning intensity that build to a beautiful climax. The portrayal of the PDS sufferers is heart wrenching and my favourite character Amy brings a vitality to the show that you would not expect from the undead. The topics covered in the show range from the tragedy of suicide to prejudice against the minorities in...
Published 3 months ago by J. L. Carter


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, tender and refreashing piece of TV, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In The Flesh offers something different from the usual take on the zombie apocalypse. Instead of focussing on the actual event, it takes a look at what happens afterwards when a cure is found and zombies (the Undead/ Partially Desceased Syndrome Sufferers) are returned to society.

The first season of ITF is a somewhat quiet show focussing on guilt, trauma and redemption. Focussing on character growth and internal drama rather than action, the character protrayals and acting is fantastic. Everyone is a fully-rounded character with understandable motivations. It also deals with some highly sensitive issues with tenderness and hope.

The second season moves its scope a little as outside influences begin to shape the local community where most of ITF takes place. In that sense, it feels more dramatic, but it never loses its core as a well-written character-driven piece, Indeed, the second season sets itself up nicely for a lot of mysteries and intruigue in the (hopefully) third season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV series I've ever seen., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This BAFTA award winning drama really is the BBC at it's best. Writer Dominic Mitchell is on typical blazing form with this show, which crackles and shimmers with quality. Not usually a fan of zombie-type things, I didn't know what to expect with this show, but within the first 10 minutes of the first episode, I could see that this would be a drama on a whole other level, which would use the post-apocolyptic zombie theme as a conduit, rather than a shallow focus. A conduit for some of the most gripping, emotional, political, sensitive, complex, and intelligent drama I've seen in a long while. The main character, Kieren, is simply beautiful, and Mitchell's writing of the characters gives so much credit to the viewer's own intuition. Nothing is shoved in your face, and that makes the emotional impact of this show, and Kieren's story, so much more intense. Bravo, BBC. I can only hope that this gets renewed for a third season. I can't think of a show that deserves one more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chomping at the bit (or brains) for Season 3!, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A big lover of zombie flicks, I was let down by the Walking Dead which I still watch albeit a little pointless and predictable. Following this I picked up Les Reverents or the Returned which is a French Zombie-ish boxset which is absolutely wonderful. Picking this up, I thought The Returned would be tough act to follow.

But to my pleasant surprise and complete amazement it was a completely different take on the Zombie Apocolypse, for a start it is not really a Zombie Apocolypse but a post event, after the humans had got everything under control.

For Zombie fans, you will love it - for none zombie fans, you will love it also.

An 18 classification for it is well over the top by the way as there are scenes of gore but it is so isolated, it might be two minutes per episode at most and generally it is not OTT graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping plot, perfect characters, and written with care, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Please don't be put off this show if you aren't a huge fan of zombie films, because it is so. much. more. Equally, don't turn around now if you love them because this show is for everyone, and I think that it is important for everyone to watch it.
If you are unsure, please listen to me and watch it - you will not look back for a second. It is DEFINITELY the best programme that I have ever seen.
'In The Flesh' not only has a gripping plot and BEAUTIFULLY written script, but could actually be honestly life and attitude-changing and perhaps have the power to make the world a better place.
In only nine episodes, there is more plot and character development than many shows manage to achieve in far more series. This character development not only allows you to connect, thereby drawing you in, but also emphasises the effect the show has on you.
Probably most importantly, the show addresses issues which no other does, such as sexuality, suicide and discrimination, and handles them beautifully and with great care. DONT BE PUT OFF WITH THIS EITHER - such issues are addressed without making them the main plot line or over-emphasising them, and also without putting a hugely depressing spin on the show - there is always light and hope and beauty. These issues are merely present: important, but not utterly defining the characters through whom they are shown - characters are so much more than their sexuality, or mental struggle.
I want to emphasise that this is for everyone, and you will realise once you watch it that everyone around you must, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOVINGLY COMING TO TERMS, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One night thousands rose from their graves and set about satisfying their craving for blood. Authorities rounded them up and began to experiment. Many of the "Partially Deceased" responded to treatment, the results dramatic. Surely they can now be returned to their homes, looking almost human thanks to contact lenses, makeup and daily medication. Just one major problem. Will they be accepted...?

This is the story of young Kieren and others who came back, their attempts to reintegrate.

Be assured this is not typical zombie fare. Here are not the traditional lurching, grunting brain-dead, but ones who are as sensitive and articulate as they used to be. Take Kieren (Luke Newberry excellent). What was the secret that drove him to suicide? What will he make of this second chance? What about Amy? Is she really so cheerful or this an act to disguise fears? All have their stories - they individuals, not to be lumped together and condemned

What hope of successful rehabilitation with a firebrand vicar whipping up hostility and local trigger-happy hotheads like Bill, who want to get rid? (That is until Bill learns his own son Kirk is back, he who was killed in Afghanistan....)

Involving and highly unusual, here is a sensitive exploration of attitudes towards minorities, how the unscrupulous and misguided can inflame in-built prejudices. Who will be first to offer the hand of friendship, create bonds that unite?

Two seasons. 3+6 episodes, each an hour. No bonuses (this disappoints). Throughout there is much to admire. (Some, though, may have doubts about the visiting MP's secret agenda, this perhaps unconvincing.)

Welcome here a series thought-provokingly different. Yes, there is horror, but not nearly as much as one might expect. Many may be surprised at how often they are genuinely moved. Example? Note Kieren's mother in Season 1's final episode, twice her contributions heartrending.

How good to learn of so much praise and an award, recognition that here is something special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eatenders!!!, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
wolfers "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is tv drama at its best, even though it involves zombies who have been treated and reinstated back into the community.So you could draw parallels, or a social commentary on todays society, of being different, or from a different culture.It just so happens that the prejudice here is zombies, albeit zombies with emotions. Yes folks its a soap opera with a bite(haha).Yes there are some quite graphic scenes but what carries this series is the quality of the writing. So these rotters(as they are called), move around the community dealing with prejudice, bigotry, problems and emotions within the family unit.Told you it was a soap.
No spoilers here, but I have to say this series,1 and 2 is a refreshing change and utterly compelling, funny in parts, gory in parts, but utterly rewarding.Fingers crossed for a season 3.
You really dont know what your missing.
NOW FOR MY ONLY GRIPE
The set is devoid of any extra, s-shameful
And when you select PLAY ALL you still get the PREVIOUSLY showing what you've just seen.Surely when releasing a series to dvd/blu this is would be an easy thing to remove.I just find it annoying.I am aware some series releases do this or atleast give the option to omit it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars #saveintheflesh, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This programme is wonderful. Not only is it by far the most original media about 'Zombies' that I have come across in a long time but it also uses it's created world for a bunch of really interesting allegories about oppressed minorities, and it's wonderful. Dom (writer/creator) and Luke (protagonist) came to my student union as part of the Radio 1 Academy over the summer and did a Q&A and are both really lovely guys. Something which came up is that Dom's background is actually as a playwrite and in my opinion that's really apparent in the feel of the show, in a really fantastic way with the sorts of symbols and settings that are used, and the way the characters are written. This is a widely loved show but clearly not enough outspoken support has been given for it because it's yet to be renewed for a Third Season and it would be so sad to see such a great show die. If you love this show - buy it! if you think this show could even remotely be your sort of thing - buy it and give it a chance! In The Flesh needs, and very very much deserves, all the support that it can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most touching show I've ever seen, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show so much. I will not even try to put it in words because others have done so better than I ever could. Please give this show a chance, it will grip you tight and never let you go. It will make you howl with laughter and cry your eyes out. If you have ever been part of a minority, felt excluded from society, felt depressed, felt suicidal, have known anyone suicidal/who killed themself, have had to do more and be stronger than you really could and felt it break you, felt pressured by peers or parents, etc etc you will have someone on this show to identify you, you will learn a lot about what all of these things feel like.

This show, I swear to god. I've seen a lot of good ones but none of them touched me in the way this one did.

Please give it a chance I swear you will never regret it - "cross my heart and hope to die" ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing on tv, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In the flesh is without a doubt the best thing on tv I have followed it rit from the start. It is not a typical zombie series as the zombies or partially deceased syndrome suffers are able to interact and feel like other humans. It follows the story of kieren walker who rose from the grave after comitting suicide a few years previously he feels severe guilt after what he did in his untreated stage which isn't helped by his sister being involved in the ant zombie group the man volunteer force. The pds sufferes have make up and contact lenses to appear normal but there is a lot of abuse especially in Roarton where kieren lives.

It also shows relationships between different characters which in a way feel more real then any other show. There are many touching scenes which I have had a good cry over and I really hope for this sake there will be a series 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is worth the money!!, 17 Jan. 2015
This review is from: In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In "In the Flesh" is so much more than just another Zombie show! Because it takes place after the "Zombie Apocalypse". A time when Zombies become human again due to medication and resocialisation. But the question is: how do the survivors react to them?
Maincharacter is Kieren, a teenager who killed himself and now is send back to his family and old village. To a life he once escaped from.

This show is intelligent, gripping, emotional and deep. It handles with a lot of themes usually get ignored or laughed about in other shows. Also there are unique characters, strong female characters, villains who have true motives.... I don't want to spoiler. Just watch it and get pulled into the dark world of "In the Flesh".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD]
In the Flesh - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] by Damon Thomas (DVD - 2014)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews