Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ghosts of the present haunt this book about the past.
The ghosts of the present haunt this book about the past. William Dalrymple is far too an intelligent and subtle a writer to make too many overt references to the currennt War in Aghanistan but The Return of A King cannot help but resonate in light of our recent invasion of Afghanistan.

The book is grand in scope, encompassing court life, the Great Game and...
Published on 28 Jan. 2013 by Nelson

versus
21 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but flawed
Similar to another reviewer, I regrettably didn't find much new in this work on the First Anglo-Afghan War. Perhaps I was hoping for too much. However its a systematic and comprehensive narration of the events and as such does the job well.

What gives the book it's bulk, and which I found a tad annoying, is the never ending quotes that fill almost every page...
Published on 16 Feb. 2013 by Romulus


‹ Previous | 114 15 1620 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RETURN OF A KING, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book by a brilliant writer. I have read all of his other travel and history books.

The copy that I bo0ught was second hand but in very good condition. No complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 23 April 2014
All the wars in Afghanistan seem to be repeats of previous disasters - this book deals with the first and shows how incompetent the British were. A great shame we never learnt from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written but odd, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
W. Black "Bill Black" (Scarborough UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
William Dalrymple's new book is about the first Afghan War, a well known historical disaster that everyone who knows anything about South Asia knows the basic facts about, if not in any great detail.

Dalrymple goes into enormous detail about the series of political and military disasters that led to the wiping out of a British army and the destruction of the puppet state they'd set up in Afghanistan.

The problem is, and it is often a problem with Dalrymple's books, that he's far too sympathetic to the various monsters doing monstrous things on both sides. He's been accused of a form of neo-colonialism in the past and in this book, while it isn't as bad as in 'White Mughals', it's pretty clear that his sympathies lie with the Afghan Muslim traditionalists and assorted British public schoolboys involved playing lethal games with each other and he ignores almost everyone else involved.

He also spends quite a lot of time trying to show how the First Afghan War is similar to the current mess in Afghanistan, a comparison that stretches even his considerable skills as a writer.

This is a book worth reading, if only because he's managed to get hold of some of the original Afghan government records from the period that nobody else has but, as always with Dalrymple, you have to remember that the author has a very definite point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant return of a King, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Mrs. Imogen M. Skirving "Imogen Skirving" (LANGAR NR NOTTINGHAM UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book should be compulsive reading for anyone studying history. The research is exceptional. A brilliant, shocking, compelling book. Can not recommend it to highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book for my husband,, he certainly enjoyed reading,it, very interesting factual book, very well written,informative great. Certainly makes you think!,!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets break the habit., 28 July 2014
By 
rod nelson 48 (Stroud, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. Extraordinary how history seems to compel Britain to keep on invading Afghanistan with not exactly positive results. I wish we could give up this habit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of a King. The Battle for Afganistan, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Alan Marples (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
William Dalrymples Return of a King. The battle for Afghanistan is a very good read, It shows what a difficult place it is to drag into the Twenty First Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the King by W. Dalrymple, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't read it yet, but my husband absolutely loved it and wouldn't
let me have a peek.
I now look forward to a fascinating and well research oeuvre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping true yarn, 28 May 2014
By 
Brian Cleaver "brian" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful book that quickly takes you to a different world and level of reality. The major players are all larger than life which they live to the full
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last I Understand it, 25 Feb. 2014
By 
Brian Cove (FELIXSTOWE, Suffolk, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent publication Written in a style which is wholly comprehensible without being too chatty.I have not read this Author before but will do so again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1620 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews