Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars22
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2014
Having read this with much anticipation I was very disappointed most of the stories were rubbish and I was very disappointed with the inaccuracies of the habits of S.H and Dr Watson reread the best before you try to write this
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
The best story so far actually dares to challenge A. C D's real life belief in spiritualism. I was pleasantly surprised by it, well told from Mrs Watson's point of view - pity the Kindle PW doesn't permit italics. One story has several characters refer to the deceased as "the lord"; as if praying to a lesser god - note the lower case. A few minutes research, even on wikipedia, would show how to refer to the dead man, by name, title or rank. No educated English person of the time, nor the uneducated, would dream of speaking of him in this way; not Holmes nor Watson and certainly not His Lordship's Butler. On another story, Watson uses American names for his hat and a wagon and quotes distances in kilometers - which he would never spell on that way. Britain may use the metric system for weights, however, not then, in Watson's day it used miles and still does. I think 300 km from London doesn't get to Lancashire; which is a county and not a district. English characters ought to sound, well, English; especialy educated Victorians. Some stories are also a bit too obvious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I always find it difficult when Holmes stories are written like this to know whether they are written for everyone or just for the USA. Some stories written by Americans are superb but some lack even the most basic research or reading. This is a mishmash of such. Some excellent stories with some very badly written so you wonder if the editor went on holiday at some point.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
An excellent book of tales. I recommend it to anyone who likes Sherlock Holmes or detective stories. I do have one critism however, and that is all stories written in pre decimal times should refer to `old English measurements`.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
A mixed bag but for the price well worth it. Some if the storys are not typically Holmesian, The giant squid tale was ludicrous but others were very good. Just enjoy the storys you like and move on from the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
I loved these stories, and have become addicted to S Holmes.Kept me busy for quite a while - I limited myself to three stories a day to make the book last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Considering it was only 37p, it's well worth it! Some good pastiches, some not so good but none that are so bad as to render the collection unworthy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Not bad. Mixed bag of works. But a pleasant variety of adaptations.

Some I liked, some I didn't. But for 25 short stories, worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Most stories are entertaining enough , couple are just poor , Holmes the time-traveller or Homes the cowboy NO thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Very good set of stories written from different perspectives. Worth a read if you love Sherlock Holmes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)