Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40th Anniversary Edition
Unquestionably a five star album, we should all know by now just how good it is. Obviously some of Elton's finest work on the labum, Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding is an epic song worthy of inclusion on any classic rock list and this lengthy double album just rolls out great song after great song. Some people claim some tracks on this album are just 'fillers'...
Published 7 months ago by Guitar_lover

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy a Pure Audio Blu-ray if you're expecting to be able download the content in high resolution
You know the album, so nothing needs saying about that.

I bought the High Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-ray version which comes with a code to access all the tracks as a digital download. When you go to www.hfpureaudio.com/redeem - you can download the tracks as MP3s!

This seems to be a feature of all Pure Audio albums not just this particular one...
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 18 9 1017 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars elton john at his best, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the first track,Funeral for a friend (love lies bleeding) this is Elton John and BernieTaupin producing quality intreresting sounds which has and will continue to face the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous 1973 release, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gorgeous album, which certainly ticks all the boxes, for me, in terms of quality. Don't be put off by the fact that this was originally released as a double album on vinyl; the re-mastered 'Classics' packages from the 1990s puts it all on a single CD and the 76 minutes doesn't drag. The title track and 'Candle In The Wind' are gorgeous ballads whilst 'Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting' and 'Bennie And The Jets' rock things up marvellously. The opening salvo of 'Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding'' is a masterpiece and the likes of 'Grey Seal', 'I've Seen That Movie Too', 'All The Girls Love Alice' and the lovely 'Harmony' are, in their various styles, quite superbly crafted songs. Definitely an album that any fan of 'Reggie' must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retrieved for my collection, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think that this is his best album by far and stands out for brilliant tracks that have stood the test of time. I bought it as a replacement for a missing CD. Can't fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was delighted with this CD. Arrived very quickly, good condition and very good value for money. Will get a lot of enjoyment from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Elton John's songs.
I would tell everyone to listen to them, even my family listens to him Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have album, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought to replace vinyl copy purchased when the album first came out. Still fresh and still his best album overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The old ones are the best., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Takes me back to my youth when we had great acts singing proper songs that you could sing along to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic early elton john, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1 of eltons early albums but surely 1 of the best of all time in my opinion as the songs just keep rolling back the years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The second album I ever bought and great to have on MP3, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of Elton.s best ever albums, will probably get the rest of his albums on MP3 as getting the vinyl out is not as easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elton at the top of his game., 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many moons ago I had this album on vinyl. Bereft of a tuntable, I have wanted to replace this record. So when I saw Amazon's irresistible MP3 offer at £3.99, I jumped at the chance.
This is a wonderful album, full of light and shade. Elton J. and Bernie T. were at the top of their game. "Candle in the Wind ; ""Funeral for a friend"; "Sweet painted Lady"; to name but three of the tracks.
Once of the best double-albums ever released IMHO and importantly it stands the test of time. I dare you not to purchase this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1017 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
Goodbye Yellow Brick Road by Elton John (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews