Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40th Anniversary Edition
Unquestionably a five star album, we should all know by now just how good it is. Obviously some of Elton's finest work on the labum, Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding is an epic song worthy of inclusion on any classic rock list and this lengthy double album just rolls out great song after great song. Some people claim some tracks on this album are just 'fillers'...
Published 7 months ago by Guitar_lover

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy a Pure Audio Blu-ray if you're expecting to be able download the content in high resolution
You know the album, so nothing needs saying about that.

I bought the High Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-ray version which comes with a code to access all the tracks as a digital download. When you go to www.hfpureaudio.com/redeem - you can download the tracks as MP3s!

This seems to be a feature of all Pure Audio albums not just this particular one...
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40th Anniversary Edition, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
Unquestionably a five star album, we should all know by now just how good it is. Obviously some of Elton's finest work on the labum, Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding is an epic song worthy of inclusion on any classic rock list and this lengthy double album just rolls out great song after great song. Some people claim some tracks on this album are just 'fillers' which is complete nonsense. The album flows beautifully and a particular favourite moment comes when Your Sistser Can't Twist blasts straight into Saturday Night's Alright. Just brilliant.

Anyway, this 40th Anniversary edition has been nicely remastered (and while not in this package the new vinyls also sound fab) and comes beeutifully presented in a VHS kinda sized box, with a glorious hardback book. The CDs and DVD are all in slim card sleeves with nice artwork for each. Great to have the 70s docu on DVD and the Live discs are fantastic. The only downside to the bonus content is the revisited section, most of the covers are distinctively average at best with only John Grant, Imelda May and the Zac Brown Band standing out, struggled to listen to the rest. However the other bonus material on this disc is great concluding with Elton's brilliant version of The Who's Pinball Wizard. All in all a fantastic package commemoration 40 years of a true classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton's Versitility Shines, 13 April 2007
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
While it is possible to argue that there are perhaps a couple of Elton John albums which may rival (or even better) 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' in terms of song quality, there aren't any that have managed to match it in stylistic range. In other words 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' successfully manages to encompass every facet of Elton's musical styles in a double album package that is sharp and bright in tone with enough variety to never seem boring. It also makes a strong case against those who feel Elton's forte is in being a bland balladeer.
Rock 'n' roll - ' Your Sister Can't Twist ..', 'Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting', reggae - 'Jamaica Jerk Off', and soul - 'Bennie And The Jets', sits perfectly alongside Elton's more traditional ballads such as the well known 'Candle In The Wind' and 'Harmony' in an album that works on every level.
Bernie Taupin's lyrics are also varied in terms of theme ranging from his tribute to Marilyn Monroe - 'Candle In The Wind', prostitution - 'Sweet Painted Lady', cowboys - 'Roy Rogers', the film 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' and the unusual, futuristic 'Bennie And The Jets'.
Not every song is prime Elton though - 'Social Disease' and 'All The Girls Love Alice' aren't particularly striking but to be fair they're not exactly bad either.
Versitility is the key to the greatness of 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road', whether musically, lyrically and also in Elton's vocal performance. In fact it's refreshing to hear what a really fine and versitile voice Elton had in his youth and it's an album like this that blows away any hint of the personality driven Elton in more recent years who's forte when he does record tends to be more often than not, boring and overblown ballads. On 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' he has greater scope which, whatever he does in the future he'll never be able to match. Elton's range had diminished with age to such an extent that there's no way he could ever record an album so diverse and varied as 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' again - that's why it's an album that deserves to be cherished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant absolutely brilliant, 27 Mar 2014
By 
P. O'Flynn "Palyniam" (Leeds West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just got this at £14 ish as I ordered it early. Its in 5.1 and the sound is amazing. I have loved this album since my brother used to play it on cassette on his mono cassette player under his pillow till we fell asleep, he also played it on his record player.
I bought it on all formats when I left home and now on bluray audio format which if you have 5.1 you will hear things you have never heard before. A must to get. You will not be dissapointed at all.
Tried to let people know what it sounds like, not great like this but it is a great sound when your in the room.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant classic, no style left unturned!, 18 Jan 2002
By 
Mr. M. A. Tomlinson (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's rare to find an album, let alone a double album, where one cannot find a bad track but Goodbye Yellow Brick Road is that album. From the sweeping and atmospheric 'Funeral for a Friend' to the heartbreaking 'Harmony' (it was special to me way back in the 70's!) via 'Roy Rogers' cod country (check out Eltons twang!)and the rocky little 'Your Sister can't twist' and 'Dirty Little Girl' all the bases are covered, no style left unturned. Even if I wasn't such a fan (and I own EJ albums that only his mum bought!)this one would be in my collection. It should be in yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece? Definately., 6 Dec 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Sutton Coldfield, England) - See all my reviews
As a reasonably young and recent newcomer to Elton John's music I admit I didn't have very high expectations. Well what can you expect when all you'd hear for 6 months was the insipid "Candle In The Wind '97"? I'm delighted to have been proven wrong about the man, particularly with respect to the jewel in his crown - this album.
From it's barnstorming 11 minute opener, to the appropriate group vocals of the closing track, the album is a delight. Whilst it's probably too much to expect that all 17 tracks will be perfect - I believe there are a couple of duffers (Jamaica Jerk-off, All The Girls Love Alice), the magnificent quality of the rest easily offsets them - heck, even the "duffers" aren't that bad and still have me singing along in my car. Particular highlights are the aformentioned opener - "Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding", the title track, "Danny Bailey", "Roy Rogers" and "Harmony". It's definately a classic & well worth owning.
And in case your wondering - I love the original "Candle In The Wind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect information, disc WILL play on a CD player!, 1 Mar 2004
By A Customer
chrissy_mouse is wrong, this SACD WILL PLAY in ALL CD players! (it's actually written on the case too.) HYBRID SACDs will play on both SACD and CD players alike, dedicated SACDs will only play on an SACD player. If you play it on a regular CD player, you won't experience the multichannel surround sound or high resolution sound that the SACD layer provides. The SACD stereo version on this recording has been both remixed and remastered.
The accompanying DVD, edited down from the Classic Albums version (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00005Q2Z4/qid=1078147727/sr=1-7/ref=sr_1_7/102-9312547-0003344?v=glance&s=dvd), is a standard DVD-Video, so will only play in DVD-video compatible players.
I think this goes to illustrate the level of confusion over formats like SACD. The music induustry needs to get its act together if they want multi-channel formats to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel in the crown of the "real Queen of England", 2 Aug 2007
By 
Paul (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Definitely one of the best albums that Elton and Bernie have ever done. This was the first really cohesive album, though it covered a fantastic range of styles so well that most other artists couldn't even come close to the breadth of this album. From the out and out prog rock of "Funeral For A Friend" to the absolutely beautiful closing ballad "Harmony", you feel as if you are going on a journey with Elton, Bernie and the band. And this line up was without doubt the best band that Elton has ever had behind him. The rhythm section of Dee Murray and Nigel Olsson was truly magical, and suited Elton's music so well. Not to mention Davey Johnstone who is still an Elton John fixture.

Basically, there are so many truly classic songs on here, that to single out one or two would be just plain wrong. Yes, the album has it's weaker tracks (All The Young Girls Love Alice being a good example),but the quality of the other songs more than makes up. Even though this album is now more than 30 years old, it puts a lot of others made in the meantime to shame - in such ways as lyrics, songwriting craft, and musicianship.

To my way of thinking, this album was only bettered by Elton et al once - on the absolutely sublime masterpice that is Captain Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one!, 27 May 2000
By A Customer
Other reviewers select Bennie and Candle, but this starts so well with Funeral for a friend that all the songs seem brilliant. Grey Seal, a redo from earlier times is excellent as is Dirty little girl. Of course this is the album that gave us Saturday Night's Alright for fighting, so why wait for any more recommendation! The CD doesn't feel like the original double album. If you can then find one and buy it just for the pictures, but buy the CD for the sound quality. I'v'e been listening to this album since it came out and it often surprises me with new detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a classic album, not so classic set, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Wolfers "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
I love this album so it goes without saying I forked out my hard earnrd for this, primarily for the Hammersmith show, Elt at his prime, great show.
The new remaster does improve the previous remaster, not hugely,so thats a bonus.
The hardback book is nice with some good photos but the info within doesn't really give much that is new.
My pet hates now:
1.The cover versions on the Revisited cd I could really do without, they add nothing new and pale in comparison to the originals so WHY WHY WHY?
2.The dvd, at this price should have been on blu ray, remastered and with some bonus extras.Most fans probably already own the dvd separately anyway so thats a disappointment.
and
3..The crappy thin card sleeves that house the discs are diabolical, I had to be really really careful to remove the shrinkwrap, fearing to either rip the sleeve or damage the discs within.
So overall if your a fan of this album in particular you no doubt will, like me, buy, but I would suggest that the casual fan should keep their dough and just purchase the previous remaster or the slimmed version of this release.
I would really like to see a nice deluxe edition of Honky Chateau and Madman with perhaps a nice early concert of that period when Elt really kicked ass and didnt worry to much about what he wore, fun though that was.
And here we go again, Amazon mixing old reviews with this new release!!!
REVISED OPINION OF REMASTER
HAVING NOW HAD 3 RUN THROUGHS OF THIS REMASTER AND THE OLD ONE, THIS IS MUCH BETTER, PARTICULARLY ON THE LUSH ORCHESTRAL MOVIE TOO.MUCH MORE SONIC DEPTH OVERALL.ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Most Classic Album! The Peak!, 8 Jan 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Elton John reached his first peak in 1973 with this originally two record recording. Now on one disc, it's a masterpiece. Yielding four major singles and plenty of concert standards, this CD surpasses anything he has ever recorded in originality and versatility. "Funeral For A Friend" is everyone's favorite and "Candle In The Wind" later became a "live" single (although it charted poorly). Who can forget "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road" with it's plaintive lyrics and the concert stopping "Bennie And The Jets"? "Grey Seal" was rerecorded from four years prior with a more complex arrangment and "Jamiaca Jerf-Off" is the precursor to "Island Girl" with it's Jamaican lilt. ... attitude comes through with "All The Girls Love Alice", a song he included on his rich Box Set. Every song is a master and it's not surprising that Elton John had way too many great songs at one time. Plenty of ballads, hard rockers, sweet melodies and lyrics that turn your ear, this is one of Elton John's classics! A great leaflet with all the lyrics is included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
Goodbye Yellow Brick Road by Elton John (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews