Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential
Universal have done right by Ms Grace Jones' magnum opus, "Nightclubbing": the remaster by esteemed Kevin Reeves is truly superlative. The album's wide stereo sound field is beautifully crisp, clear and transparent, with plenty of bottom end from Sly & Robbie - and so many delicate, iridescent touches from Wally Badarou's keyboards and Sticky Thompson's...
Published 13 months ago by Jack

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Music / Apalling Vinyl
Never heard Grace Jones' music before, but really like this album. However, the state of the vinyl is appalling. As is usual with Universal releases, the vinyl is pressed at GZVinyl in Czechoslovakia. And as is usual for GZVinyl pressings, the vinyl itself looks appalling. Held up to a bright light there are a myriad of defects, most notably finger marks from latex...
Published 13 months ago by Paul Derrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightclubbing Blue Ray Audio Review., 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Blu-ray Audio)
This is for the Blue Ray audio version. Due to the high resolution of 24 bit at a sampling rate of 96khz this 2014 re-release sounds as good if not better than my original vinyl version purchased circa 1981. It has all the bonus remix tracks of the double CD version on the single Blue Ray Disc. Very smooth sounds from Blue Ray none of the harshness sometimes on CD. Lets hope this format is marketed better than DVD Audio was in the early millennium. Only criticism is its not a new 5.1 remix from the multi track tapes, only in 2.0. But still a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous., 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great introduction to Grace Jone's music, a classic from the first note, get this cd, volume up to 10..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NightClubbing, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
I had this CD before but was tempted to purchase the Deluxe Edition with two CD's (The first CD is a repeat of the single I owned already and the 2nd one was a couple of re-mixed tracks - "Pull Up To The Bumper" and three new tracks - "If You Wanna Be My Lover" and "Me! I disconnect from you" and "Peanut Butter" - (which is the instrumental to PUTTB).

All in all - for purists - like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a delight!, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
I have such a sweet tooth for Grace Jones and this release brings home the cookies!
Great mixes and simply her BEST album ever........
The hoolahoop dance she does every time she performs NIGHTCLUBBING life is jawdropping. ... Get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars State of Grace!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
What an absolute delight to hear the original album remastered with such clarity of sound! Disc two is a must have for serious Grace Jones fans. It's great to have these long, extended and remixed versions; many of which I have never owned and some versions I am hearing for the first time. Of course, the two previously unreleased songs are gems to add to my Grace collection. I love the sleek packaging and the informative booklet. This is a set befitting the iconic queen of the culmination of fashion, art, and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-issue of a classic!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Simply put, the best album released by Grace Jones (to date), now with an extra disc of extended versions, remixes and a couple of new tracks. I thought the original could not be beaten but with the additional versions of songs it makes the full album more complete. The cover of the Gary Numan song is excellent and sounds nothing like the original, the extended versions are fun and for me make this the essential album to own. It does not sound dated at all, fresh and ready to burn into your mind for a long time, the soundtrack of my life would not be complete without this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graceful Masterpiece, 3 Jan. 2010
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Nightclubbing is the best entry point for those wishing to investigate Ms Jones immediate post-disco phase. This 1981 album followed the previous year's groundbreaking Warm Leatherette and was a commercial triumph. More accessible than both Warm Leatherette and Living My Life, this second work in the Sly & Robbie trilogy is packed with outstanding songs of lyrical and melodic distinction. They include compositions by Bill Withers, Astor Piazzolla, Sting, David Bowie/Iggy Pop, Barry Reynolds and Grace herself. The sound is crystal clear and despite the Jamaican influences the album has a bohemian European air about it.

Varied yet cohesive, Nightclubbing successfully explores different directions but gives the overall impression of a concept album. It is polished and sophisticated, displaying none of the raw edges of Warm Leatherette and offers a broader appeal than Living My Life. On the opening track Walking In The Rain Grace applies her semi-spoken vocal style over a light pop-reggae beat. Notorious for its risqué lyrics, Pull Up To The Bumper with its jerking Jamaican rhythms and car horn samples is a perennial club favorite which has seen a multitude of remixes and covers down the years.

The slower numbers are Bowie & Iggy's Nightclubbing which is sinister rather than celebratory and I've Done it Again which is romantic and soulful as opposed to the title track's menacing undertone. Speaking of which, her interpretation of Sting's Demolition Man takes menace to new dimensions; it's the most explicitly rock-influenced song here and packs a punch. Bill Withers' Use Me & her own composition Feel Up are both buoyant uptempo tracks, the first being a show of defiance with an infectious reggae beat and the second a Caribbean feast with rattling percussion, choral vocals, what appears to be flutes & whistles and a dialogue in French patois between Grace & a male vocal.

The magnificent Art Groupie is the most poetic & literary track with a flowing rhythmic lilt and a synth that resembles the golden age of Human League or Eurythmics. Reggae meets an accordion on the bouncy Libertango, a catchy bilingual track on which Grace speaks and sings elegantly in French and English. The album concludes with the wistful ballad I've Done It Again where an introspective lyric and an understated sound create a delicate gem. In retrospect, Nightclubbing contains several tracks that resemble what ZE Records, the NYC label which was thriving at the same time, was pursuing. Artists like Cristina Monet and Kid Creole made the exquisite types of music that this magnificent album offers in such abundance.

The follow-up Living My Life concluded the Sly & Robbie trilogy and therewith the reggae & dub phase of her career. On her 1986 and 1989 albums -- Inside Story & Bulletproof Heart -- Ms Jones focused on soulful pop music. Then followed 19 years of silence. It was only in 2008 that Grace worked with Sly & Robbie again, on the challenging and ultimately rewarding Hurricane where Brian Eno and Tricky count amongst the other contributors. In my opinion, Nightclubbing remains Grace's masterpiece, a work that best demonstrates her distinctive styles as vocalist, interpreter and composer via an exceptional set of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grace's masterpiece, 26 July 2009
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nightclubbing (1981) (Audio CD)
Nightclubbing of 1981 followed the previous year's experimental Warm Leatherette and was a triumph sales-wise. More accessible than both Warm Leatherette and Living My Life, this second work of the Sly & Robbie trilogy is packed with outstanding songs of lyrical and melodic distinction. They include compositions by Bill Withers, Astor Piazzolla, Sting, David Bowie/Iggy Pop, Barry Reynolds and Grace herself. Nightclubbing is the best entry point for those wishing to investigate Ms Jones immediate post-disco phase. The sound is crystal clear and despite the Jamaican influences the album has an artistic European air about it.

Varied yet cohesive, Nightclubbing successfully explores different avenues but gives an overall impression of a concept album. It is polished and sophisticated, displaying none of the raw edges of Warm Leatherette and offering a broader appeal than Living My Life. It opens with Walking In The Rain where Grace applies her semi-spoken vocal style over a light pop-reggae beat. Notorious for its risqué lyrics, Pull Up To The Bumper with its jerking Jamaican rhythms and car horn samples is a perennial club favorite which has seen a plethora of remixes and covers down the years.

The slower numbers are Bowie & Iggy's Nightclubbing which is sinister rather than celebratory and I've Done it Again which is romantic and soulful as opposed to the title track's undertone of menace. Speaking of which, her interpretation of Sting's Demolition Man takes menace to new dimensions; it's the most explicitly rock-influenced song here and packs a punch. Bill Withers' Use Me & her own composition Feel Up are both buoyant uptempo tracks, the first being a show of defiance with an infectious reggae beat and the second a Caribbean celebration with rattling percussion, choral vocals, what appears to be flutes & whistles and a dialogue in French patois between Grace & a male vocal.

The magnificent Art Groupie is the most poetic & literary track with a flowing rhythmic lilt and a synth that resembles the golden age of Human League or Eurythmics. Reggae meets an accordion on the bouncy Libertango, a catchy bilingual track on which Grace speaks and sings elegantly in French and English. The album concludes with the wistful ballad I've Done It Again where an introspective lyric carried by an understated sound provides a delicate result. In retrospect, Nightclubbing contains several tracks that resemble what ZE Records, the NYC label which was thriving at the same time, was pursuing. Artists like Cristina Monet and Kid Creole created the exquisite types of music that this magnificent album has in such abundance.

The follow-up Living My Life concluded the Sly & Robbie trilogy and therewith the reggae & dub phase of her career. On her 1986 and 1989 albums -- Inside Story & Bulletproof Heart -- Ms Jones focused on soulful pop music. Then followed 19 years of silence. It was only in 2008 that Grace worked with Sly & Robbie again, on the challenging and ultimately rewarding Hurricane where Brian Eno and Tricky count amongst the other contributors. In my opinion, Nightclubbing remains Grace's masterpiece, a work that best demonstrates her distinctive styles as vocalist, interpreter and composer via an exceptional set of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, 19 Jun. 2014
By 
W. Murdock "murdman" (Salt Lake City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Blu-ray Audio)
It's great. Don't hesitate. If you love Grace, you'll salivate. I could go on but I'm preaching to the choir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Her Best, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
This release and its bonus disc is the best way to introduce a novice uber-coolness of Grace Jones. When this disc was first released, it crossed over so many radio barriers. It has the R&B rhythm but with a "new wave" cool which made it such an interesting release then and now. Recommend highly for the fan but also for the novice to her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightclubbing
Nightclubbing by Grace Jones (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews