Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered and deluxe
Nightclubbing is my favourite Grace Jones album and arrived this morning and comes beautifully packaged,with a great little booklet containing photos and info.Now the good news,i owned the previous release of this which i bought around 1990,which sounded terrible even then.so putting this deluxe version on today was pure bliss,sounds absolutely amazing.had it on my ipod...
Published 2 months ago by Pablo Leone

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Music / Apalling Vinyl
Never heard Grace Jones' music before, but really like this album. However, the state of the vinyl is appalling. As is usual with Universal releases, the vinyl is pressed at GZVinyl in Czechoslovakia. And as is usual for GZVinyl pressings, the vinyl itself looks appalling. Held up to a bright light there are a myriad of defects, most notably finger marks from latex...
Published 2 months ago by P. Derrick


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered and deluxe, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Nightclubbing is my favourite Grace Jones album and arrived this morning and comes beautifully packaged,with a great little booklet containing photos and info.Now the good news,i owned the previous release of this which i bought around 1990,which sounded terrible even then.so putting this deluxe version on today was pure bliss,sounds absolutely amazing.had it on my ipod and there were sounds that i have never heard before,such as the thunder on "walking in the rain".Includes lots of 12" mixes.pull up to the bumper being the most famous.some b-sides but the real star of the show are 2 previously un-released tracks one being a superb jones-esque cover of gary numan/tubeway army,me,i disconnect from you,which is worth the price of the album itself!The whole album is superb and should take pride in any serious music aficionado collection.superb release 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Universal have done right by Ms Grace Jones' magnum opus, "Nightclubbing": the remaster by esteemed Kevin Reeves is truly superlative. The album's wide stereo sound field is beautifully crisp, clear and transparent, with plenty of bottom end from Sly & Robbie - and so many delicate, iridescent touches from Wally Badarou's keyboards and Sticky Thompson's percussion! Ms Jones' Island trilogy was always aural nirvana, but now "Nightclubbing", at least, is absolutely compulsive listening. All the mixes on the second disc sound flawless, also.
The packaging is indeed fairly flimsy with no outer sleeve, but the booklet is well-produced and Darryl Easlea's liner notes detail the album's context, along with some great pix of La Jones.
Now Universal need to get cracking on "Warm Leatherette", "Living My Life" and "Slave To The Rhythm"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TORCH SINGER, 14 July 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Nightclubbing is the best starting point for those wishing to explore Ms Jones' immediate post-disco phase. This 1981 album followed the previous year's groundbreaking Warm Leatherette and was a commercial triumph. More accessible than both Warm Leatherette and Living My Life, this second work in the Sly & Robbie trilogy is packed with outstanding songs of lyrical and melodic distinction. They include compositions by Bill Withers, Astor Piazzolla, Sting, David Bowie/Iggy Pop, Barry Reynolds and Grace herself. The sound is crystal clear and despite the Jamaican influences the album has a bohemian European air about it.

Varied yet cohesive, Nightclubbing successfully explores different directions but gives the overall impression of a concept album. It is polished and sophisticated, displaying none of the raw edges of Warm Leatherette and offers a broader appeal than Living My Life. On the opening track Walking In The Rain Grace applies her semi-spoken vocal style over a light pop-reggae beat. Notorious for its risqué lyrics, Pull Up To The Bumper with its jerking Jamaican rhythms and car horn samples is a perennial club favorite which has seen a multitude of remixes and covers down the years.

The slower numbers are Bowie & Iggy's Nightclubbing which is sinister rather than celebratory and I've Done it Again which is romantic and soulful as opposed to the title track's menacing undertone. Speaking of which, her interpretation of Sting's Demolition Man takes menace to new dimensions; it's the most explicitly rock-influenced song here and packs a punch. Bill Withers' Use Me & her own composition Feel Up are both buoyant uptempo tracks, the first being a show of defiance with an infectious reggae beat and the second a Caribbean feast with rattling percussion, choral vocals, what appears to be flutes & whistles and a dialogue in French patois between Grace & a male vocal.

The magnificent Art Groupie is the most poetic & literary track with a flowing rhythmic lilt and a synth that resembles the golden age of Human League or Eurythmics. Reggae meets an accordion on the bouncy Libertango, a catchy bilingual track on which Grace speaks and sings elegantly in French and English. The album concludes with the wistful ballad I've Done It Again where an introspective lyric and an understated sound create a delicate gem. The follow-up Living My Life concluded the Sly & Robbie trilogy and therewith the reggae & dub phase of her career.

On her 1986 and 1989 albums - Inside Story & Bulletproof Heart - Ms Jones focused on soulful pop music. Then followed 19 years of silence. It was only in 2008 that Grace worked with Sly & Robbie again, on the challenging and ultimately rewarding Hurricane where Brian Eno and Tricky count amongst the other contributors. In my opinion, Nightclubbing remains Grace's masterpiece, a work that best demonstrates her distinctive styles as vocalist, interpreter and composer via an exceptional set of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nightclubbing - If Only All Deluxe Edition Remasters Were This Good, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Good album made great by extended mixes. Take a lot of funk and add reggae, blues, soul and jazz plus spice up with some pizzaz and you have a unique combination. This album was made in 1981, but it hasn't aged and will it still sounds fresh in 2021.

Remastering adds extra kick and zing (like it should) and gives sinewy, throbbing muscle to the sound. I have been playing CD2 constantly since receiving it. Like any good CD it reveals hidden layers on each listen. A lot of care went into the recording, and it shows. Credit to Kevin Reeves at 4th Floor Studios for a good remaster.

'The Compass Point All-Star band' really hit their stride here. Sly & Robbie’s drum and bass give sympathetic rhythm whilst Wally Badarou’s keyboards shimmer over the top and the guitar and, and… Check out the compilation ‘Funky Nassau’ for more.

Disc 1 (38:26) Original album, no extras even though there are more out there.

Disc 2 (76:59)
All good to fantastic - but the quiet tracks sound really great and allow the music space to 'breathe':
• I’ve Seen That Face Before (Libertango) 12” version (5:40)
• I’ve Seen That Face Before (Libertango) Spanish version (Esta Cara Me Es Conocida) (4:33)
• Walking in the Rain 12” version

Pull Up to the Bumper was the lead single – great track with multiple mixes that are all essential variations on the original:
• Long Version UK 12” (5:45) definitive
• Remixed Version (7:17) – mostly instrumental – often found on 80s compilations.
• US Party Version (5:00) – good – straight into vocal intro(?)
• Instrumental ‘Peanut Butter ’ (5:11) – extra funk factor.
• 1985 remix (6:26) re-released after ‘Slave to the Rhythm’
Sly & Robbie think it’s their best groove – and these versions show that they are right.

Extra tracks are good, but the remixed tracks are even better.

Sleeve notes are comprehensive - a full essay. Covers the story of some of the covers - Bill Withers 'Use Me' is unrecognisable. Shame the sleeve notes missed out on a few factors e.g. giving credit to the gay audience who were the foundation of her initial success; no record sleeve images; the album and singles were not big 'pop hits in 1981 - they were ahead of their time. But hey these are small gripes for such a great reissue.

If you already have the ‘Private Life – Compass Point Session’ (‘PLCPS’) and are wondering whether it is worth taking the plunge on this version – then just do it. I'm so glad that I did! Points to consider are:
1. The sound is better again that the good sound on ‘PLCPS'. Really throbs through a good sound system. ‘PLCPS’ was good for it’s time but was released 16 years ago!
2. The mixes are different, in a good way. The mix of ‘Walking in the Rain’ from ‘PLCPS’ is not on here.
3. CD2 is 77 minutes of great stuff plus you get a free album!
4. The sleeve notes are really informative.
In other words just buy it - they may give her other albums the same deluxe treatment!
P.S. 1981 was a diverse year for music – for another extreme check out the 4CD box set of ‘The Sound’.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (MP3 Download)
A great introduction to Grace Jone's music, a classic from the first note, get this cd, volume up to 10..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NightClubbing, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
I had this CD before but was tempted to purchase the Deluxe Edition with two CD's (The first CD is a repeat of the single I owned already and the 2nd one was a couple of re-mixed tracks - "Pull Up To The Bumper" and three new tracks - "If You Wanna Be My Lover" and "Me! I disconnect from you" and "Peanut Butter" - (which is the instrumental to PUTTB).

All in all - for purists - like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a delight!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
I have such a sweet tooth for Grace Jones and this release brings home the cookies!
Great mixes and simply her BEST album ever........
The hoolahoop dance she does every time she performs NIGHTCLUBBING life is jawdropping. ... Get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars State of Grace!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
What an absolute delight to hear the original album remastered with such clarity of sound! Disc two is a must have for serious Grace Jones fans. It's great to have these long, extended and remixed versions; many of which I have never owned and some versions I am hearing for the first time. Of course, the two previously unreleased songs are gems to add to my Grace collection. I love the sleek packaging and the informative booklet. This is a set befitting the iconic queen of the culmination of fashion, art, and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-issue of a classic!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Simply put, the best album released by Grace Jones (to date), now with an extra disc of extended versions, remixes and a couple of new tracks. I thought the original could not be beaten but with the additional versions of songs it makes the full album more complete. The cover of the Gary Numan song is excellent and sounds nothing like the original, the extended versions are fun and for me make this the essential album to own. It does not sound dated at all, fresh and ready to burn into your mind for a long time, the soundtrack of my life would not be complete without this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
Excellent album - bonus tracks superb. Gary Numan would love her version of Me I Disconnect From You.
Don't be fooled by the picture of the supposed book. It's just like any other CD insert. But the music is what counts and that's great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightclubbing
Nightclubbing by Grace Jones (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews