Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy and a ruthless public dissection of TV and Hollywood
Without doubt one of the funniest programmes on TV at the moment - and like all the best comedy, although it contains grotesques, it also has characters that you really care about.

I missed this first time around, but discovered it via a streaming service that only carries Seasons 1 & 2 at the moment, so had to buy Season 3 to keep going. Anyone who has had the...
Published 3 months ago by Brian Clegg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Series 3 is not as funny. I wasn`t laughing as much
Series 1 and 2 are hilarious. I was having a laughing fit when watching them.
Series 3 is not as funny. I wasn`t laughing as much. They kind of run out of gags.
Published 10 days ago by suzan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy and a ruthless public dissection of TV and Hollywood, 22 Sep 2014
By 
Brian Clegg "Brian Clegg" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Without doubt one of the funniest programmes on TV at the moment - and like all the best comedy, although it contains grotesques, it also has characters that you really care about.

I missed this first time around, but discovered it via a streaming service that only carries Seasons 1 & 2 at the moment, so had to buy Season 3 to keep going. Anyone who has had the slightest contact with TV or the movie industry will realise just how effective and pointed the portrayal of the false nature of the business is, the two main characters are superb, and Matt Le Blanc parodies himself and slightly faded stardom with relish.

A truly brilliant piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cynics may say that is due to the only modest success most projects LeBlanc has undertaken since Friends have enjoyed. Whatever, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tightly written and, as per the first two series, superbly acted. So refreshing to see an American who truly appears not to take himself too seriously. Cynics may say that is due to the only modest success most projects LeBlanc has undertaken since Friends have enjoyed. Whatever the truth, the man has great comic timing and Tamsin Greig and Stephen Mangan's characters are brilliant foils to the ridiculousness of Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect. It's difficult to describe this as I don't ..., 18 Aug 2014
By 
I. Burgess - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Just perfect. It's difficult to describe this as I don't think there's been much like it before. Series one was utterly brilliant, series two was a disaster and lost the plot and any direction it had but this series three is pure quality. Matt leBlanc and all the cast are fabulous and the pace of it is perfectly weighted. There are some killer one liners and scenes. Just buy it and relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Episodes - Series 3, 12 July 2014
By 
RM Gallon (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
When you get to the third season in any series, there's the worry of things getting stale, and in the case of a comedy series that jokes will not be as funny as ideas start to run dry, signalling the end. With Episodes Series 3, the jokes are as strong as ever, particularly with the main plot of it possibly being the end; for "Pucks!", for Tamsin Greig and Stephen Mangan's Beverley and Sean Lincoln's marriage, and for Matt LeBlanc's career.

Finality plays a big role in this season, particularly with the return of most of the cast members from the previous two seasons, including a cameo from a pivotal character from Series 2 near the end, and also in the beefing up of Oliver Kieran-Jones' former assistant to Sean and Beverley, turned-protégé-turned-mortal-enemy Andrew Lesley. That doesn't mean that there aren't new characters introduced, with Chris Diamantopoulos' hotshot new network executive Castor Sotto providing great comedy and managing to stand his own with characters we've known from the very beginning.

What makes this series shine however is not just in the comedy, but also in the dramatic moments, especially as Sean and Beverley try to fix their marriage after the events of Series 2. It's these poignant moments that offer real humanity in this playfully cynic look at the American television industry by people who know all too well about that world.

That's not to say it's without fault as there are some, mostly with the three main characters. The relationship arc between Sean and Beverley is long and arduous, and while it's as accurate a portrayal as you can get with a show like this, at times it feels like it was the only thing the writers could think of for these characters to do, instead of dealing with the ridiculousness of making their fledgling show get more viewers or more zany culture clashes as their show is tampered with. As it's hot topic, why not have a situation where they're forced to look at possible replacements for star Matt LeBlanc? For a show based around how American television is so different from British television, we don't see that in this series apart from one instance in this nine-episode season. In the case of Matt LeBlanc, again we watch as he spirals down, and after two seasons of seeing him as this self-destructive entity ruining everyone's lives as well as his own; it would be nice to see him doing something different, particularly as it's well established now that he's good friends with the two writers after such a rocky start back in the first season.

Overall, if you've been a fan of the series so far; it's more of the same, and while it doesn't try to reinvent itself or offer anything new, it's another solid entry that, like with Series 2, ends leaving you wanting to see a Series 4 but also wrapped up nicely in case this is the end. While the show hasn't made leaps and bounds since Series 1, it's continued to be a steady comedy series that tides you over, leaving you content rather than disappointed at a lacklustre season or bowled over by an amazing one, and in today's age of thousands of series on television and online streaming, a steady comedy series is nothing to scoff at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as seasons 1 and 2, but still definitely worth a watch, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first two season of Episodes. Season three isn't quite as good, but still definitely worth the watch. The comedy is very well done, and the chemistry between LeBlanc, Greig and Mangan is still excellent. Definitely worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show. Well worth watching, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Mike (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great show. First season starts out a bit slow (like all pilot episodes they're a bit safe) but it dies get good. Matt Le Blanc is brilliant in this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Series 3 is not as funny. I wasn`t laughing as much, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 and 2 are hilarious. I was having a laughing fit when watching them.
Series 3 is not as funny. I wasn`t laughing as much. They kind of run out of gags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in every respect, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent in every respect. Good story lines, sharp writing and top class acting all round. The quality was obvious in series one and has continued throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, extraordinarily funny, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series ,extraordinarily funny ,great cast,though an adult only experience which is also a plus.Glad to here a fourth series has been commissioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
By 
Julie Buck (Burnley, Lancashire, Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Just get better and better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Episodes - Series 3 [DVD]
Episodes - Series 3 [DVD] by Iain B MacDonald (DVD - 2014)
£8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews