Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla vs. the Smog Monster
Godzilla vs. Hedorah (aka Godzilla vs. the Smog Monster) is defiantely one my favourites and IMO (In My Opinion) is one of the best Godzilla films of 70s and the classic Showa series (all the Goji films from 1954-1975). It has all kinds of cool stuff, like those funny/cool animated sequences. The plot is great and very original (Too bad Banno didn`t get to make his...
Published on 1 Feb 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What were they smoking?
Godzilla vs Hedorah is insane even by later Showa era Godzilla standards, a surreal mix of monster mash, message movie, kiddie flick, 1960s educational shorts, groovy protest songs, go-go dancers wearing fish masks, terrible special effects and basic Sesame Street style animated inserts as Friend of the Earth Godzilla takes on a giant toxic flying tadpole that craps acid...
Published on 11 May 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla vs. the Smog Monster, 1 Feb 2003
By A Customer
Godzilla vs. Hedorah (aka Godzilla vs. the Smog Monster) is defiantely one my favourites and IMO (In My Opinion) is one of the best Godzilla films of 70s and the classic Showa series (all the Goji films from 1954-1975). It has all kinds of cool stuff, like those funny/cool animated sequences. The plot is great and very original (Too bad Banno didn`t get to make his planned sequel Godzilla vs. the Smog Monster II, I would have liked to see that). And the monster is definately one of the best with a unique design. Godzilla vs. the Smog Monster is a classic, and a must see Godzilla film for any fan who has not seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great upgrade, 12 May 2014
By 
E. R. Marsh "Ernie Marsh" (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series of 3 movies are a great upgrade over all the previous releases, but unlike the new Gamera Collections Vols.
1 & 2 which are REGION FREE, these Blu-Ray discs are LOCKED REGION 'A' so you will need a Multi Region Blu-Ray Player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Godzilla films, 26 Jun 2008
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
After the comical Son Of Godzilla and All Monsters Attack Godzilla was brought back to its more series roots in Godzilla vs Hedora aka Godzilla vs The Smog Monster. Yes, some of the effects are pritty laughable but I think the Hedorah is one of the more convincing monters in the series.

As I said this is a much darker film. You see alot of people killed (quite graphically in some cases) by the Hedorah which makes it all the more frightening. There is an anti pollution message in the film (Hedorah is made from pollution) and the shots of various polluted areas are pritty disturbing. Made over two decades before the current debate over global warming this is a thought provoking film rather than just a "men in rubber suits" slug fest. For those fans who enjoy a good fight (let's face it the fights are one of the best things in a Godzilla film) there are still plenty of fight scenes between Godzilla and the Hedorah.

So in my opinion this is one of the best Godzilla films - I wish the Hedorah had made a return appearance. This dvd is region 1 coded so you will need a player that is compatable to watch this dvd. Thank you for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What were they smoking?, 11 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Godzilla vs Hedorah is insane even by later Showa era Godzilla standards, a surreal mix of monster mash, message movie, kiddie flick, 1960s educational shorts, groovy protest songs, go-go dancers wearing fish masks, terrible special effects and basic Sesame Street style animated inserts as Friend of the Earth Godzilla takes on a giant toxic flying tadpole that craps acid on him, drowns mah-jong players in excrement and farts deadly toxic fumes over the population of Japan. Avante garde doesn't cover it: this is Godzilla on acid and it's a real happening, baby. The big feller even gets to fly in one scene.

Despite getting a great entrance in front of a rising sun while introduced with a slide trombone theme straight out of a Laurel and Hardy get drunk comedy, Godzilla has never looked camper (well, at least until Godzilla vs. Megalon), mincing his way through his underpowered punchups with the allegorical scheissencritter - Hedorah is basically just a vertical turd with a tail and glowing red eyes. It's tempting to believe from the number of times Mr G wipes his nose that this was during the big feller's cocaine period, but he seems all too aware of the humiliation: at one point he even turns to the camera and shakes his head to the audience in disbelief.

Co-writer-director Yoshimitsu Banno had been an assistant director on Kurosawa films before being hired to revitalize the Godzilla series while its producer Tomoyuki Tanaka was in hospital only to be suspended from the studio after they looked on with horror what he had wrought, but also wrote the planned Japanese IMAX Godzilla 3D. The mind boggles...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the craziest Godzilla movie ever., 14 Jun 2009
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please, whatever you do, don't take the 5-star rating as indicating the quality of this film. This isn't one of the best Godzilla movies but it is one of the most memorable.

We're in the goggle-eyed, round featured, saviour of Japan Godzilla period which means it features a cute kid (though personally I prefer cute kids roasted by Godzilla's breath) with a psychic link to Big G. We have lots of cool young adult kids, dancing to excruciating pop music containing a soupcon of psychedelia, all of whom wear the most hideous movie-cool-kids clothing -thankfully most of them get it from Hedorah while holding a protest on Mount Fuji. We've got cartoon inserts illustrating various parts of the movie -pollution, Hedorah's evolution, etc. And, of course, the message that pollution is bad is not just lain on with a trowel, it is dumped on us viewers with a giant JCB. Pollution is not cool, man.

We also get the wonderful sight and one, as far as I'm aware, never repeated in any other Godilla movie, of Godzilla trying to bend double and then blasting into the air, flying backwards clutching his legs, propelled by his radiation breath. If that doesn't have you collapsing with laughter, I don't know what will.

Hedorah or, as it was known in the UK on its cinema release where I originally saw it, The Smog Monster (though Sludge Monster would be more accurate) is a wonderful creation. See the giant tadpole version smash ships! See the land stage inhaling smoke from a dozen factory chimneys at once -way to get high, man! See the flying version dissolve people and metal with its sulphuric acid wind! See Hedorah drown Godzilla in a mass of poison sludge!

I love this movie. For all the wrong reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What were they smoking?, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Godzilla vs Hedorah is insane even by later Showa era Godzilla standards, a surreal mix of monster mash, message movie, kiddie flick, 1960s educational shorts, groovy protest songs, go-go dancers wearing fish masks, terrible special effects and basic Sesame Street style animated inserts as Friend of the Earth Godzilla takes on a giant toxic flying tadpole that craps acid on him, drowns mah-jong players in excrement and farts deadly toxic fumes over the population of Japan. Avante garde doesn't cover it: this is Godzilla on acid and it's a real happening, baby. The big feller even gets to fly in one scene.

Despite getting a great entrance in front of a rising sun while introduced with a slide trombone theme straight out of a Laurel and Hardy get drunk comedy, Godzilla has never looked camper (well, at least until Godzilla vs. Megalon), mincing his way through his underpowered punchups with the allegorical scheissencritter - Hedorah is basically just a vertical turd with a tail and glowing red eyes. It's tempting to believe from the number of times Mr G wipes his nose that this was during the big feller's cocaine period, but he seems all too aware of the humiliation: at one point he even turns to the camera and shakes his head to the audience in disbelief.

Co-writer-director Yoshimitsu Banno had been an assistant director on Kurosawa films before being hired to revitalize the Godzilla series while its producer Tomoyuki Tanaka was in hospital only to be suspended from the studio after they looked on with horror what he had wrought, but is currently writing next year's IMAX Godzilla 3D. The mind boggles...

For those who want to watch the film dubbed, the English soundtrack is one prepared by Toho rather than the one used for AIP's re-edited US version of the film, Godzilla Vs The Smog Monster. However, it's worth seeking out the Region 4 PAL Australian DVD, which also includes the original Japanese trailer and keeps the original Japanese credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great picture quality and REGION FREE!, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First: Indeed all the content (save for the menus) is available by selecting the right titles on your remote control.

The picture quality on these new releases is – considering the age of the movies – almost excellent. Colours are rich and all the grain is retained. I see no DNR whatsoever and no compression artifacts show up.

Extras are thin with only the original Japanese trailer, however, the original Japanese audio and subtitles are included. Audio is solid as well.

"Godzilla Vs. Hedorah" features a especially beautiful transfer, which is sure to please any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the most bizzare Godzilla films in the series, 31 Oct 2000
By 
B. Mustafa "yamcha" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A reasonable attempt, but this Godzilla film is very different from other Godzilla movies. Again its the same routine, Godzilla is the hero and yes he is the winner (after so much headache of sludge and pollution). Then again, if you are a diehard fan of Godzilla its reasonable (that is if you have a strong stomach!!!). Also look out for a rather unusual japanese song at the beginning and at the end of the film. Enjoyable but could have been slightly better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla does his recycling!, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Starring: Godzilla, Hedorah, Japanese people, a cat with sludge on its fur

This is the eleventh Toho outing for the Big G and this time he`s turned green. Okay, so he was always kind of green [apart from in the b/w pics], but here he`s envoironmentally green. Ah! But instead of helpfully sorting out his trash, using re-cycled toilet-paper and taking his empties back, he`s chosen instead to come to Japan and beat up Hedora, a shape-changing sludge-filled, flying-about, muck-slinging, smoke-guzzling monster who has emerged from Japan`s industrial pollution. He appears in the forms of a giant sea-going tadpole, a river of sludge, a flying stingray thing, and a vaguely humanoid reptillian dude. The Japs attempt to beat him off first with oxygen bombs, then with a truly terrifying anti-pollution pop song, and then some invented device that will hopefully fry him into an omellette. But they don`t work, so Godzilla has to beat him up, set him on fire, throw him around, pull his eyes and internal sludge out, stomp him into the ground and generally save the day.

Ok, ok, as a self confessed Godzilla fan, this in both painful and fun in parts. The first half hour is interesting and fun, but the middle bit is very ponderous, leading to a slightly better punch-up between the title monsters. Scatterred through the film is some bad animation and the title song is repeated several times. As usual, the token little kid is annoying, the dialogue funny and the acting is just plain odd. There are no spacemen this time, although there is a bizarre segment that alludes Hedora came to Earth on a comet [even though he apparently came from sewage and pollution - er!]. The special effects seem slightly weaker than usual, and the film as a whole is either for big Godzilla fans or insomniacs. The previous film, GODZILLA`S REVENGE [hopefully on the film-makers] was crap, too, being filled with stock footage battles, but the next one, GODZILLA VS GIGAN proved to be minutely better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bad subtitles, weird film, 28 Jan 2011
By 
C. Patten (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like Godzilla movies this is a strange one.

I was bought this (and several others from the collection) for Christmas and they all have a major flaw - the subtitles are incomplete.

The film itself is different, Godzilla is the good guy in this one if it matters to you, lots of silliness and people dressed in strange costumes - especially the smog monster. My favourite scene would be when Godzilla tut's and rolls his eyes at the stupid humans who can't even rig an electrical circuit. This film has strange animation in it, and a truly bizarre soundtrack.

More importantly - in my opinion watching a dubbed version of this, or any Godzilla movie, is horrid.

Unfortunately I had no choice, the subtitles were beyond rubbish.

Whole scenes were forgotten, sentences were only partly conveyed, and if two people were talking at once you had no chance of following what was going on. Maybe I got one from a bad batch but if I could I'd be returning it to buy an older version, one where the picture may be a bit more grainy but at least I could watch the film as it's intended.

If you're someone who needs subtitles then this is not the disc for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla Vs. Hedorah [DVD] [1971] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
8.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews