Customer Reviews


28 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just like being there, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a hot, dry, calm and midge free tour around Barra, Uists, Lewis, Skye and the highlands last July, the sound of Julie's voice brought the beauty of the isles back. Great to see her in Salford with Duncan Chisholm too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Converts the sceptics, 23 May 2014
By 
Bought this in Lochmaddy, North Uist (well, a release on Machair Records ought to be bought near some machair - sorry, Amazon!) the other day, while it was playing in the background.

As others have commented, I cannot tell what the songs are about (yes, I know, I could read the translations in the liner notes...), but am content to listen to the voice as an instrument in its own right...And a fine instrument it is too!

This is just lovely and is even convincing the strange woman I live with that there is some merit to Scottish traditional music (it's only taken me 25 years to get to this point, so thank you Julie Fowlis).

So, if this album can do that I am struggling to think of higher praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Julie Fowlis., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gach Sgeul / Every Story (MP3 Download)
If you want genuine, honest, Gaelic music, you must get this album, and her others. She is a wonderfully natural Gaelic singer/musician and a great down to earth person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning sounds, 2 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful folk music that supplies energy and relaxation in equal measure. Very talented musician. I was worried my not understanding the language would lessen my appreciation but that was unfounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet?, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Discovered Julie Fowlis back in 2007, and have collected her work since then. She gathers a small number of superb musicians, whose expertise melds beautifully with the purity of her vocals. I think this album, in its content, arrangement and production, is possibly her best one so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars angelic crystal-clear voice of a true artist, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent CD with beautiful music - Celtic music at its best! We rate Julie Fowlis highly but haven't bought a CD of her music before, and we are pleased we did this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great energy and production, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
Thom Robert "Robert of Burgundy" (Burgundy France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Greta traditional Scottish music keeping up to date with this fast moving world. Great production and energy from the musicians and Julie Fowlis, well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Follow her for great music, 5 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sensational, I first heard her on the Terry Wogan show and could not wait to get the disc. The disc is far better than the MP3 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, what a lovely voice. If you are into Gaelic soulful songs this is a cracker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant soulful sound - translations on cover, excellent recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gach Sgeul / Every Story
Gach Sgeul / Every Story by Julie Fowlis
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews