Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave your preconceptions at the door...
I caught this duo some time ago on the Jules Holland show, and made a mental note..."Buy this album!". I didn't until recently, and it's been my loss. What a breath of fresh air it is. I can't say I was even aware of Rod and Gab until Jules' programme, but they've got a few albums out now, and they're hugely popular live performers all over the world. A quick look...
Published 10 months ago by Spuds

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice stuff, but...
Having seen them in a very enjoyable concert at the Royal Albert Hall I ordered this album the following day.
It's good - Gabriela's 'percussion' technique on her guitar is pretty much unique, but ultimately all the tracks on the album feel a bit 'same-y'.
Published 11 months ago by Philip Connor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave your preconceptions at the door..., 16 July 2014
By 
Spuds (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
I caught this duo some time ago on the Jules Holland show, and made a mental note..."Buy this album!". I didn't until recently, and it's been my loss. What a breath of fresh air it is. I can't say I was even aware of Rod and Gab until Jules' programme, but they've got a few albums out now, and they're hugely popular live performers all over the world. A quick look on Wiki confirms they've been together about 14 years, and started off busking in Ireland as they were told that's where street music is really appreciated. I can't argue with that.
Whichever version of "9 Dead Alive" you buy (I believe there are 2...the deluxe includes a vinyl version and specially commissioned "art" prints) it's fantastic value...I bought the basic one but it still includes a DVD which features quite a long "live" performance, studio performances of several tracks from the album, and some quite difficult, broken-english commentary from Rod and Gab. The only drawback is that the double gatefold cardboard sleeve is a bit unwieldy with the two discs AND the booklet containing the stories behind each track. Not enough to complain though.
The concept of the album is interesting...9 people (all dead) who changed the world and whose legacies will remain forever, inspired the tracks. Yes, it's a bit deep, and sometimes it's hard to pick up the link through the music, but it's a great idea, and it can even lead to some interesting Googling to learn more about the subjects.
Anyway, the music...
Well, if you like your guitarists to be blonde rock gods straddling the stage with solid body electrics strapped on, playing power chords through distorted pedals and amps, and singing dodgy harmonies, you're in for a shock. This is intimate, soulful, passionate playing, and it's incredibly addictive. Some reviewers have said it's "samey"...well, I can understand that, but I think you need to go a bit deeper than the surface with this music. Both artistes say they wanted a total collaboration on this album...normally Rodrigo produces on his own, but this time it's a partnership. And Gabriella adds that they wanted to create a contact with the listener...like an intimate "live" performance, not just an album.
The two guitarists have separate roles which come together so powerfully. Gab supplies the engine... she attacks the guitar in a percussive way I've never seen before, shaping chords while she slaps and batters out the foundation of the song across the entire front of the instrument. It can be quite violent and she's visibly exhausted at the end of some songs on the DVD. Rod's role is to form the melody, but it's no less physical work, but with a dexterity, speed and, yes, SUBTLETY that is intoxicating. Guitarists will watch both performers and wonder how they do it, particularly live, night after night. This album is just a sample of those skills, and I do wonder whether it would have the same impact without the accompanying DVD...I have to say in my case it may not, because these people are LIVE performers. You really need to watch them to appreciate them, and the chemistry between them is quite moving.
The album though, is still a masterpiece of virtuosity, passion and expression, and it would still be, even without the DVD.
With it, it's a fantastic package and a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice stuff, but..., 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Philip Connor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
Having seen them in a very enjoyable concert at the Royal Albert Hall I ordered this album the following day.
It's good - Gabriela's 'percussion' technique on her guitar is pretty much unique, but ultimately all the tracks on the album feel a bit 'same-y'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
Good, but a little bit 'samey' in some numbers as previous recordings, but, still a very good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT as good as their first 2 albums - pleasant listening though!, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
Tony from Ireland (BELFAST, ANTRIM United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
Certainly not their best!
This is ok, quite bland and not the fabulous vibe of their first 2 albums. Many songs are very tame.
It's also a short CD, 9 songs total 41 minutes. CD doesn't come even in a proper plastic CD case, only card envelope.
It's pleasant listening for sure but reading the other reviews which made me buy it I expected it to superb. Not so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Summer, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
Fantastic, Summers day magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing guitarists. Great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect album, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
This album is amazing, very deep in the way songs were written and played. Yo can hear rock riffing but on acoustic guitars and with the touch and flavour of two great musicians. It is very different from previous albums but add another item to their excellent catalog. Highlights are the soundmaker, misty moses, sominium, and the russian messanger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guitar, including quite unbelievable percussion sounds using the ..., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
Never heard of this duo before catching them on a Glastonbury broadcast last month. Fantastic guitar, including quite unbelievable percussion sounds using the body of the guitar. Will buy more, and attempt to see live at some point..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flamenco meets Jazz., 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
A bit different and good for Saturday night listening to in our conservatory. And booked to see them live ,in Manchester ,in December. So fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod and Gab back to their roots., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 Dead Alive (Audio CD)
I'm a long time fan of Rodrigo y Gabriella and this album does not disappoint
A must for every music collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

9 Dead Alive
9 Dead Alive by Rodrigo y Gabriela (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews