Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better
This is a welcomed device for the XB1, and helps it be the multimedia device it is sold as.

The pros
1. Feels like a quality piece of kit
2. Soft touch feel
3. Backlit buttons
4. turns on/off your TV and audio devices

Th Cons
1. Uses IR, not blue tooth technology (like the old PS3 remote which was great), so you have to point...
Published 8 months ago by O. A. Kowlessar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it does the job
it works but the buttons can require quite a lot of pressure to activate so when scrolling through things on netflix etc can get tiresome and the transmitter isn't very powerful either - i've kinda got used to being able to point my sky remote damn near anywhere and it works - with this remote it seems highly directional and needs to be pointed at the xbox - but the...
Published 5 months ago by John Pattullo


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
This is a welcomed device for the XB1, and helps it be the multimedia device it is sold as.

The pros
1. Feels like a quality piece of kit
2. Soft touch feel
3. Backlit buttons
4. turns on/off your TV and audio devices

Th Cons
1. Uses IR, not blue tooth technology (like the old PS3 remote which was great), so you have to point the remote at your xbox for it to work

A worthy investment only if you are using your Xbox One as a multimedia device
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for a media focused Xbox One, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
My Xbox One has quickly overtaken everything in my living room, and has become the centre of my entertainment system. Having found that the voice commands are a little touch and go on occasions, and turning on the controller to perform a command, I wanted something that worked first time every time. I use the media features of the console to a far greater extent than the gaming features, and so this became a must-buy to get the best experience possible.

The remote itself feels absolutely lovely to the touch, has a soft feel to the plastic all the way round. The package includes the AAA batteries to run it, and lit up as soon as I picked it up. The backlight behind the buttons is very subtle, not overwhelming like the 360's white universal media remote, and will slowly dim after around 3 seconds. The buttons themselves are clearly arranged, and mostly clearly labelled. The exception to this being the menu key and the OneGuide key (top right and bottom right of arrow buttons respectively), which are very similar in appearance. However, this is something that will soon be forgotten once you have become accustomed to their functions.

The IR commands are sent to the Xbox one, and are handled as the console sees fit. Unlike the universal media remote, control of the TV, setup box and speakers are controlled by the console itself. This means that if you've set your Xbox One up to control these, and you have a Kinect plugged in, then everything will work as expected straight from the box. If you do not have a Kinect plugged in, then an IR blaster plugged into the repeater port on the back of the console will allow volume and channel up/down to work correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it does the job, 19 Jun 2014
By 
John Pattullo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
it works but the buttons can require quite a lot of pressure to activate so when scrolling through things on netflix etc can get tiresome and the transmitter isn't very powerful either - i've kinda got used to being able to point my sky remote damn near anywhere and it works - with this remote it seems highly directional and needs to be pointed at the xbox - but the backlight is a nice feature and turns on when you move the remote so wont waste batteries

so its much better than having to turn on your gamepad and wait for it to sync etc (yeah i know its just a second or 2 but somehow annoyed me enough to buy the remote) but its not perfect by any means - it does the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job required, and a great build, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
The remote does the job, my only complaint about the functionality is that it uses the console and not the Kinect Sensor.

The product itself is a very nice build, and the back light functionality (buttons light up when you pick up the remote) is very useful when in a dark room; and it looks cool!

Recommended for anybody who uses their Xbox as a Bluray/DVD player and/or uses the streaming functionality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't let Kinect get you hoarse, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
If you're fed up shouting at your Kinect sensor when it's time to settle down and watch some TV or streaming service, this media remote is a handy alternative - especially as it contains a motion sensor which lights up the buttons when you pick it up.

The one downside is that it's a "line of sight" IR remote control which requires it to be pointed at the Xbox One in order to work, unline the Xbox 360 remote which paired with the console and could be operated from any position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad little device, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Not bad little device, just doesn't have an eject button that I can easily find. Xbox One not the most user friendly device to be watching Blurays on in the first place, so remote helps out way more than using controller. Like the buttons being lit up when batteries inserted. Small, nice looking, handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really nice, small, backlit remote, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
This remote is quite small at 12½ x 5 centimetres. The underside of it is curved and the back slides off revealing the battery compartment. It takes 2 AAA batteries and 2 Duracells are supplied.

The remote is backlit and has a motion sensor in it so that when you pick it up, the buttons light up, making this great for use in low light. There's no need to sync the remote with the Xbox One - it just works right out of the box.

As the remote is quite small, it's not exactly bristling with buttons, but it does have all of the buttons you'd want from a media remote so I see the size as a good thing.

All in all, I really can't fault it. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good First Impressions, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Bambinobear (Warrington, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Just received my Xbox One Media Remote. Took it out of the box, plugged in the batteries, pointed it at the Xbox One and bingo it worked straight out of the box. No syncing or pairing to be done.

Remote feels very robust with a nice rubbery feel. Not too many button so nice and easy to use. Very simple to use and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works great, Nice Backlighting, but design could be better., 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I really like the remote. A great quality item, worked right away and feels nice in your hand. It works well, but I do find compared to the 360 media remote (later glossy black version), the up down left right seem a bit spaced out. Its a bit far to move my thumb to change from one direction to another. The curved back is rather unusual, as it tend to rock around on the table compared to the other remotes, and I often find the automatic backlighting coming on if it gets knocked slightly. You can place it face down, as the soft touch material probably wont scratch too easily, and it has a nice xbox logo on the back. but I like it to be face up like all my other remotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little device that has made my xbox much more ..., 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Great little device that has made my xbox much more enjoyable as a media device... significantly more girlfriend friendly than the standard game controller too, and much less frustrating than trying to use kinect for navigation. Quality is good and the automatic illumination when you pick it up is a neat touch.

I do wish that there was a one touch "system off" button, seems a little unnecessary to have to hold the home button then select switch off and confirm it each time.

If you use your Xbox One for video/music etc then you need one of these in your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Xbox One Media Remote (Xbox One)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews