Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars13
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£16.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2014
A thrilling conclusion to the first series of Guilty Crown with twist and turns in the plot and an ending that kept me guessing till the final episode. Bring on season two hopefully.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
its a awsome serie...love the story love the music
buy it today so we can get another season (one can always hope right ;) )!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
this has been one of the best anime series i have seen in a long while very good story and picture quality you must buy this dvd
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Having fought to save the city from the Apocalypse virus the heroes must fight to survive a harsh quarantine but things are set in motion now that can not be stopped, cue double crossing, revelations and an all out finale to save the Earth from the Apocalypse that will cost the heroes dear.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Excellent Product!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
I like it good cartoon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Guilty Crown is not the best anime ever made however it is one of the best animes of recent years. on the good side guilty crown offers stunning animation, an interesting plot and one of the best soundtracks i have ever heard. The show however does reveal some flaws when it comes to it's pacing as some episodes are nicely paced and add to the development of the characters whereas others contain major parts of the story which should have been spread over two or three episodes. However Guilty crown still delivers plot wise as it get's all the important points across and ties everything up with a satisfying (albeit not very happy) ending. In my opinion the best aspect of this show is it's characters as it has a wide cast of characters all of which are very well developed.
When talking about the second part of the series specifically in my opinion it is as good as the first part if not better as the second part is where major elements of the plot develop and where the main character (Shu) really starts to develop.
Overall i would recommend this anime to anyone who liked code geass (same writers) as it has a similar feel. I would also say that it is the best anime release in recent years because unlike other series it is not an adaption from a manga or light novel and is original storyline meaning the series tells the entire story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
If I were to describe Guilty Crown in a sentence it would be "Evangelion meets Code Geass but not as good as either."

In fact the similarities to Evangelion and Code Geass are very marked. It's not even just similar plot developments but how those events impact the ongoing story. However, it's not really fair to simply dismiss Guilty Crown for borrowing, after all that's a long and honoured tradition. Code Geass itself has more than a few similarities to Evangelion and Evangelion to several works that came before it.

The animation is top notch the sound track is solid. The action sequences are well made, engaging and original. They stand out even among the best series of the last few years. Overall the presentation is of the highest quality.

As the series moves into the second half the previous status-quo has been completely blown apart and the new setting established leads to the series strongest episodes. Unfortunately a combination of poor characterisation and an inability to answer a mystery without generating more confusion quickly drags things down. Some characters are interesting, some get stuck on one note and others have nonsensical motivations. Character motivations are further muddied by being completely dependent on fine details of the show's setting which in itself is bad but made worse since many of those details are poorly explained if at all. To make matters worse it's at the finale where things go really wrong. To the very end the story throws new details into the mix until at the final hurdle collapsing into a mess of unresolved plot elements and clichés.

As for the release itself, it's derived from Funimation's US release so as per usual it's pretty solid. The Blu-ray is definitely a must on this one to justice to the show's visuals. Slightly worryingly, like the first part the subtitle options are locked so you can't have subtitles on the English soundtrack or no subtitles and watch in Japanese. I realise this isn't a problem for most people but it's not really ideal and it's not something I'd seen on a Funimation release before Guilty Crown.

Guilty Crown is a so so series. It's not awful and it certainly has it's strong points. However, a mess of ideas and plot lines which never pull together and characters completely impossible to relate to leave the show ultimately unsatisfying. The presentation and production values are top notch but that's the show's only consistent strength.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
My son is really please with this product, excellent graphics good value for the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
i first bought the Japanese version and love it so i decide to buy English dubbed hoping it would be as good sad to say it was just barely OK this is due to the English voice cast you expect the characters to unsure at first and then get stronger this doe not help the character development when you use voice actors who sound like lost kids it is all so a shame that the 2nd disc do not have the ova
episode were they could lead off an prequel on it also explains who Makoto Waltz Segai (aka A Major in the GHQ Anti-Bodies and A charming, eccentric man wearing clown-like make up and a prosthetic left eye) lost his eye
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)